Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beautiful apartment with pool and sea view of Kotor

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 699 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom apartment, sleeps 4, Muo, Kotor. Released in March 2010.

A top floor apartment with magnificent uninterrupted views of the sea, Kotor Old Town & the swimming pools. It has a premium position within this small complex with 3 balconies not joining any neighbouring apartments so it is quiet & private. The apartment has its own internet connection. The master double bedroom has a sea view, entrance to the front balcony with en-suite Jacuzzi bath & built in wardrobes. The back bedroom has a private balcony with a green mountain view, 2 single beds, built in wardrobes & air-con. The living room has a double aspect view of Kotor Bay, sliding doors leading to the front & side balconies. Leather sofas, wood furniture, flat screen TV. Marantz Blue Ray DVD/CD, Monitor HiFi Speakers, air con & floor heating. The kitchen area has an oak dining table & 4 chairs, quality appliances, dishwasher, cookware & utensils, Nespresso coffee machine. Sturdy beds, deep mattresses, white cotton bed linen, quality duvets & pillows offering a perfect night's rest. 2 folding mountain bikes are provided & can be used at your own risk to explore.

Travelling from Tivat Airport – 10Km : Turn right out of the airport, follow the E65 for 2km towards Budva. Turn left on the Tunnel Road signposted Kotor. This will take you through the mountain tunnel coming out just above Kotor town. At the coast road turn left around the bay road towards Muo. Look for the Kotor Vista apartment sign. Turn left, 50 yards and then right again, up the hill which bends left and onto the flat car park area. D5 is your car parking space. Montenegro airlines fly from London Gatwick direct to Tivat in the summer months. Ryanair air are under negotiations for direct flights from London to Montenegro in 2012-13. Check their web site. BA fly to Dubrovnik from London Gatwick all year round. From April to October Easyjet fly from London Gatwick, Liverpool & London Stansted. See below for directions to the apartment from Dubrovnik.

Travelling from Dubrovnik Airport by car: Leaving the airport you turn left onto the main road E65 then a straight drive for 20km to the Croatia boarder and in to Montenegro. Continue on the main road for 8km you will pass through the town of Hercig Novi. A further 20km will bring you to the village of Kamenari at the mouth of Kotor Bay. Here you can take the short ferry crossing at a cost of 4 euros. Leaving the ferry at the other side you turn left onto E65 and follow the small lake road for a further 15km until you reach the village of Muo. You will see Kotor Harbour and Old Town across the Fjord to your left and at night the illuminated medieval mountain wall. Look for the Kotor Vista apartment sign. Turn right, 50 yards and then right again, up the hill which bends left and onto the flat car park area. With reasonable notice we can arrange to pick you up from the airport for direct transfer to our apartment at a cost of about 70 euros.

Travelling from Podgorica:

About 1.5 to 2 hours. Taxi €70 or hire a car from the airport. Take the E65 via the Sozina tunnel to the coast road then head north on E80 through Petrovac and Budva then onto Kotor.

Travelling from Dubrovnik, Croatia by Bus: Bus link to Dubrovnik from the Airport. Then buses leave Dubrovnik for Hercig Novi & Kotor in Montenegro. You can not take a bus directly from the airport into Montenegro. There are about 3 buses to Kotor daily from Dubrovnik bus station but you should check times as they do change. Drop off at the bus station in Kotor. Get a Red Taxi from here to the apartment, tel. 19719 Cost 2 euros, 4 min. If you’re adventurous, in the holiday season, any bus going to Hecig Novi and beyond (Kotor, Budva) will eventually get you to the ferry crossing as above. (Tell them you want to get of at Kamenari ferry crossing) There, you can get the ferry across the bay as a foot passenger for free and pick up a local mini bus down to Muo for 2 euros. The mini bus leaves from outside the small shop on the coast road, turn left as you leave the ferry

More Details

Owner
Kerry Nanji & Andrew Newman
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Kerry Nanji & Andrew Newman

We have owned the property since 2009. Bought as a holiday home after visiting the Kotor region in 2006 and experience some of the most beautiful and breath taking scenery of our lives. We both live and work in the UK and take regular holidays at the apartment. We have chosen not to accept on-line payments with HomeAway because they will charge you between 5 and 12% to do this. Please make your enquiry through the web site and we will confirm availability and confirm the price. You will only pay a 20% deposit direct to us to confirm your booking and the balance is due 2 months before your arrival. We have been renting out our apartment successfully since 2009 and prefer to manage the booking and payments ourself and build a personal relationship with our guests. If you have any concerns please make contact by email or by the phone details provided. I live in the village of Burley, New Forest, Hampshire, UK. Our agents in Montenegro will also make contact with you after booking to arrange details for arrival and any needs you may have such as airport transfers etc. Please do provide feed back on the web site and do let us know if you would prefer to book on line with HomeAway and pay their additional charges. We may consider this in 2018 if our guest value this facility and piece of mind.

Kerry Nanji & Andrew Newman purchased this apartment in 2009

Why Kerry Nanji & Andrew Newman chose Montenegro

Kotor Vista apartments enjoy some of the best views across the sea bay. Situated directly across from the old town of Kotor you can experience the views of the old town, the medieval wall that lights up at night and reflects like a mirror in the water. The first rays of sun light stream into the apartment in the morning as the sun rises over the mountain and stays until 2-3pm depending on the time of year. After that the spectacular views of the old town set against the towering mountain offer a sunset performance of colour changes from orange to deep red, giving way to a starlight sky

What makes this apartment unique

We have tried to make the apartment 'a home, away from home,' focusing on good quality furniture, a great nights sleep with the extra deep mattresses and toppers, quality kitchen ware, Nespresso coffee machine (please bring your own pods) and a very high quality music and entertainments system. Dedicated internet connection. This top floor apartment enjoys uninterrupted double aspect views of the bay, standing more forward and with a deeper balcony than other apartments within the small complex. It also benefits from a rear balcony to the mountain behind.

Amenities

Muo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 699 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , jetted tub , Removable shower head
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 has private en-suite to master bedroom with a Jacuzzi bath, sink, toilet and extractor fan. Bathroom 2 has a shower cubicle, sink and toilet. The Washing machine is located here. Hair dryer is also provided. It has a high window where you can see the green tree lined mountain to the rear of the apartment. Montenegro does sometimes experience power and water shortages. In high season you may occasionally experience a slight interruption to these services but they tend to be for a short duration.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , UK King Size
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Enjoying your holiday means a good night sleep. As a feature of this apartment we have provided sturdy beds, deep quality mattresses, high quality Hungarian down duvets, luxury pillows and white cotton linen. The Master bedroom has a beautiful arched window which captures the wonderful view and can be seen from the king size bed. The room is airy and bright with access to the main large front balcony where you can enjoy breakfast with a spectacular view. It has built in wardrobes, side tables and lamps, wall mirror and private en-suite bathroom. The back bedroom has 2 large single beds, air conditioning & built in wardrobes. The sliding doors open to the back balcony which is a rare feature in this small complex. This balcony is ideal for relaxing in the shade but captures the last of the sun at the end of the day. It is peaceful and secluded looking on to the tree lined mountain to the back and the swimming pool to the side. It is ideal for drying washing on the dryer provided.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Child's Swing
  • 2 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please note this is a top floor apartment with clear sky views. Please bring in the cushions from the balcony at night and when you go out .As with any apartment please take care and supervise children on the balconies. Please smoke on the balconies only. Please use the ashtray provided and dispose of on a daily basis. Please do not smoke in the apartment. Mountain bikes are provide at your own risk and we cannot be held responsible for the maintenance or safety of the bikes. These are quality folding mountain bikes, £400 each and new as of September 2009. You should ensure the safe-keeping of the bikes and against any loss or damage. Please clean after your stay, fix any tyre punctures and fold back into their storage bags. Pump is stored in each seat post. The heated pool is open mid April - Mid October but it cannot be garanteed and may vary with weather conditions. We hope you have a great holiday and please do let us know of any improvements we could make.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful apartment with pool and sea view of Kotor
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
sheffield,england
5

Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely apartment with amazing views over the Bay of Kotor. It is situated on the opposite side of the bay from the old town, but only a 20 min walk, or a €2 Euro taxi ride, yes €2. We had a car which we collected at the airport but unless you intend to travel around a lot it is not necessary as taxis are so cheap and the apartment is only 15 mins max from the airport ( Tivat ).

The apartment is well stocked with all the essentials, kettle, toaster pans etc should you wish to eat in but again the prices in the locality are as cheap as you'll find anywhere in Europe. One real bonus was the bed, which was as comfortable a bed as we have stayed in for a long time.

There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and it was rarely busy, pick your spot, even at 11am.

Our dealings with the owners were quick and efficient, as was our dealings with their agent in Montenegro, and don't worry about having to pay direct rather than through Home and Away, it makes it cheaper for us to visit this wonderful place

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. Please do come back and stay with us again. We love the beds too. In fact we get a better nights sleep on holiday than we do at home. An important part of a holiday home and often under estimated when furnishing an apartment. We love going out for the evening with great food and wine. Then back to the apartment to enjoy music on the balcony through the quality sound system and watch the mountain lights reflecting on the water. Then a great nights sleep! Andrew & Kerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic view to die for!

  • 5 of 5

It was a little stressful trying to meet this apartment's agent as we only got a message that his phone was out of service and no-one knew who he was at the pre-arranged meeting point, making us think that we had been scammed! A kind Montenegro lady got hold of him on her phone, a huge relief for us. I would suggest that holiday makers arrange to meet him at an arranged time as he said that the UK mobiles often don't work in Montenegro.

The apartment itself was beautiful with a fantastic view. It was so lovely sitting on the balcony watching the cruise ships, canoes and boats in the day time and Kotor lights at night. The highlights of our holiday was driving up to Lovcen for the fantastic views of the mountains, canoeing on the fjord, walking up the steps behind Kotor, having a look around Porto Montenegro at the extremely huge and expensive yachts, visit to Perast and the Lady of the Rocks, lazing by the pool with that fantastic view, and boating on Lake Skadar to see lots of wild birds including pelicans.

We didn't like the look of Budva as it looked very built up and too busy.

The apartment itself had most things that we needed. You do need to buy things like dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc as none of it is provided. There were no swimming pool towels or gowns on arrival, we had to contact the agent who brought them a couple of days later. There were plenty of sun loungers around the pool and there was always one for us. There are plenty of little coves to swim in, though not many beaches.

Our biggest disappointment with the apartment was that the DVD was broken on arrival. We were at the apartment for two weeks, but the owner decided not to replace it whilst we were there or have it mended! We had brought a couple of box sets with us to watch in the evenings as you can only get BBC news channel on the TV, so we're bitterly disappointed at his decision. On return from our holiday I emailed him, but he did not reply!

Don't let this put you off this apartment though, hopefully it would have been mended by now, the apartment is fantastic, we would highly recommend it. Relax and Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and feedback. Yes the marantz blue ray player is now fixed. It's a £1000 piece of kit with high powered amplifier to drive the separate Monitor speakers so just buying a stand along DVD player would not amplify through the speakers and the high fidelity music / iPod facility would have been lost. The DVD draw was Jammed due to two DVD being inserted. Our apologise that this was out of action for your stay. Nicky (our agent) did try to get it booked into a chap in budva to get it fixed that week but he was away. Thank you for your understanding and your kind words about our apartment and the detailed review. Gowns and beach towels should have been provided and we will replace these items on our next visit. They have tendency to get lost! Kind regards Andrew & Kerry (owners)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Truly Great Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had stayed in this group of apartments the year before and had a great holiday but we had heard while staying there that this particular apartment was the best one in this development. It also came with 2 very good bicycles, which is good for us being a cycling family. If you have 16 year-old daughters it is a very safe place to stay as you can happily let them go by themselves into Kotor, which is close by at any time of the day (except late at night).

There was everything you could possibly need in this apartment and it was extremely clean. The photos do not do it or the view justice. The beds, pillows and bed linen are of a high standard and fantastically comfortable. There is an excellent sound system, which you can watch films through much to my daughters delight. I could sit on the balcony for hours watching the boats come in and out while feeling very relaxed.

This was our 9th visit it Montenegro and this is the best place so far we have stayed with our children and we have already booked to stay here again next year.

I have seen other reviews about this apartment saying that the steps would be too much for someone ill. So I thought I would mention that I had just started to recover after being very ill and having an operation. I found all the steps very useful in starting to get me back onto the road to recovery, though there are quite a lot of them.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

'Try writing a review without mentioning the view'

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Kotor Vista, although our first time in D5. For us the position at the top of the building gave this apartment the edge. It is good to be unconnected to neighbouring balconies, and of course 'The View' (there. I went and mentioned it) is enhanced by the height. Some reviewers disliked the stairs, but this was simply not an issue for us as four averagely fit adults.

The photos are a very accurate representation of the property, and all the facilities were of an excellent quality, notably the sound system which we made good use of. Just to mention that the air con in the second bedroom doesn't function properly but we coped okay without it. Personally, without getting super picky, I would find it very difficult to fault theapartment. However I would say that it would have been helpful to have been told that we needed to make a 150 euro deposit on arrival. I'm sure this is somewhere in the small print, but unfortunately we don't have a powerful enough magnifying glass:)

Some have said that a car isn't necessary to stay here, but in our experience, as people who choose to get out and see the area, we felt it was essential. There are some lovely hidden 'Beaches' on the Lustiche peninsula, for which you need a car and a strong nerve to reach, the roads being somewhat tricky. Also we went up to the Lovcen national park, which is certainly worth the car rental. A fun thing to do is to take kayaks out from Kotor town. Look out from the apartment window to a big sign saying Primorac - the kayak hire place is on the beach to the right. It's inexpensive and very well run - a great way to see more of the Boka.

In short, we loved it, would most certainly return, and have already heartily recommended it to friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Leatherhead Surrey
5

AMAZING HOLIDAY

  • 5 of 5

What can I say! Absolutely perfect in every way. We only got home yesterday after staying for two"baking hot" weeks in your superb apartment. The view took your breath away & we enjoyed both breakfast & pre dinner drinks on the balcolny. We did have a hire car for the whole time & did much travelling around & even stayed up in the mountains near Zabljak for one night & drove down the Tara kanyon which was fantastic. The bikes were an absolute joy & we got a lot of use out of them cycling around both sides of the bay & stopping for a swim & drinks at various times. The highlight has got to be Monty B which we were lucky enough to sail on twice. We did a sunset cruise on our first Sunday & then Katie & Tim (the owners) managed to fit us in with our friends who were staying in Dabrota, during our second week. It was a truely amazing experience & Katie & Tim are a delightful couple & were perfect hosts.

Although we were out & about most days , it was so nice having such a wonderful apartment to come back to each evening plus extremely comfy beds to give you a perfect nights sleep.

Many, many thanks for the use of fabulous apartment that is extremely well equiped, & we would definately recommend your property. Kotor is an amazing hidden gem!

Wishing you continued success

Liz & Graeme Brown

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Liz & Graeme Thank you for your your wonderful review it is most welcome, your enjoyment is evident from what you have written. Your sailing trip on Monty B sounds amazing. Do you have any more details of this, as I am sure other guests would also embrace this experience? Kindest Regards Kerry
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Pretty good, however...

  • 4 of 5

In general, we would endorse previous reviews. There are, however, a few qualifications, but we’ll concentrate first on the positives, which are many.

The apartment is well-equipped and comfortable, and we particularly appreciated the excellent sound system; it was a delight to sit on the balcony in the evening with a glass or three of wine, watching the ever-changing Kotor bay, with Bach in the background. There are plenty of decent restaurants in the Old Town, although there was a distinct lack of local cuisine.

To be honest, we didn’t explore much, partly due to the summer heat and partly due to feeling extremely comfortable, relaxed and lazy in the apartment. Tivat is worth a few hours, but Porto Montenegro is a soulless concrete abomination. (Incidentally, the local buses plying the Kotor–Tivat route look pristine externally, but they are not air-conditioned. Although they were fun, in the peak season and in the early afternoon they can very hot and slow.)

Generally, then, we enjoyed our time in Kotor, which is an astonishing place. However, we have a few reservations:

1. Although we would guess that less than half the apartments were occupied, there were not nearly enough sunbeds around the pool; moreover, the parasols are of such poor quality that anything more than a hint of breeze made them unusable (and it does get quite breezy). With temperatures in the low 30s, this made pool-lazing difficult;

2. The apartment description rightly states “not suitable for elderly or infirm”, however, this somewhat understates the situation. Approaching on foot, once you leave the coast road, you are faced with a sharp incline for perhaps 100 metres, after which you have 120+ steps to reach the apartment (which does, nevertheless, afford you with fantastic views from its elevated position). It is true that you can circumvent some of this by getting a taxi back from town, but it is often nice to stroll back after a meal. Although we are approaching retirement age, we would certainly not describe ourselves as “old or infirm” – indeed, we regularly walk in the Peak District over challenging terrain – but we found the ascent hard going at times. Would we have still booked had we known about this? Hard to say, although if we hadn’t have come, we’d have missed what was in general a very good holiday.

In summary then, a great place if you’re fit and healthy, but don’t bank on relaxing by the pool (at least in August).

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Kilometres
Tivat
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Muo
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Kotor
Nearest Train
65 Kilometres
Podgorica to Serbia
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Kotor
Nearest Ski
170 Kilometres
Kolasin or Zabljak
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Small pebble beach 100 metres. Orahovac Beach
Car: not necessary

Within walking distance around the spectacular bay is the old town of Kotor a UNESCO world heritage site. Here you can enjoy historic and cultural treasures of this medieval town. The old city walls spiral up the mountain and make for some breathtaking walks & views of the bay. Kotor also offers a unique shopping experience with many individual boutique shops. Foodies among you, can enjoy the excellent cuisine and local wines along the waterfront or in the narrow cobbled streets and piazzas of the old town. Small pebble beaches surround the sea lake. Day trips to Perast, Hecig Novi, Budva, Becici & Sveti Stefan make for some good days out. There is excellent skiing in the winter months at Kolasin and Zabljak 170 km away. The 4 national parks, Lake Skadar, Lovcen, Biogradska Gora and Durmito, offer a paradise of flora and fauna to around 280 bird species. Durmitor with its impressive Tara Canyon is the second deepest canyon in the world & is renowned for its White Water Rafting.

Other Activities: Boat rides

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

We accept payment in pounds sterling. Make your enquiry via this web site or phone us. We will confirm availability and price. You should e-mail again in writing to confirm your booking. We will then e-mail you confirming our acceptance and pass on our bank details for you to make your deposit payment. We will then confirm receipt of payment when it arrives. Thank you

20% deposit is required on confirmation of booking within 5 working days
The balance is due 2 Calendar Months before arrival
€250 deposit is required on arrival and returned on a quick inspection on departure

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties