Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Wateroak shaded home with screened porch one direct block from beach

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3BR/2Ba home with screened in porch and fenced in back yard

Relax in a cozy beach cabin named 'Everything's Just Beachy' located in the heart of Oak Island on a shaded lot. This home is an easy one block direct walk to the beach and is extremely convenient and within walking distance to grocery store, shops, ice cream, putt putt, arcade, bars, clubs, restaurants and much more. Chill out under the Water Oaks and relax in a porch swing on our spacious screened in porch that is perfect for taking in the beach air when the day is done in the sun. Kids room has full chalkboard wall for creating and drawing pictures. All new cheerful decor and hardwood flooring just added in 2013. 3BR/ 2Ba - Br1 Queen; Br2 Queen; Br3 Twin Bunk beds; sleeper sofa sleeps additional guests.

Amenities include: Fenced in back yard, screened in porch with swing & couch, open porch with chairs, outdoor table, outdoor rinse off, digital cable, flat screen TV, DVD, sleeper sofa, washer/dryer, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, 2 showers/2 tubs, some kid games and puzzles and full chalkboard wall for kid and adult drawing fun!

IMPORTANT RATE NOTIFICATION:

Rates quoted on VRBO are for rental home only. Additional fees include departure cleaning fee, Linen fee, pet fee (if applicable) and taxes. Therefore quote given here is base rental quote. Travel insurance is offered, so please ask when you call if it is included in the quote.

Please call 888-703-5469 for booking and final quote.

Trained and well behaved pets Welcome. Pet fee applicable. Please clean up yard after pet as children play there too. Summer months are strict Saturday - Saturday rentals.

More Details

Property Manager
Owner of Everything's Just Beachy
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 7, 2017

About Owner of Everything's Just Beachy

We are a family of four with two children age 10 and 8 and they love it here. We have wanted a place at the beach since we were married and finally took the plunge in 2012.

We welcome our guests to our home and hope that you will treat it as your own and help us keep our things nice. Everything is new as of 2013.. even the floors. Come enjoy and when you leave, write us a note and tell us who you are and what you liked about it.. and what we can do better as well to get you to come back!

Owner of Everything's Just Beachy purchased this house in 2012

Why Owner of Everything's Just Beachy chose Oak Island

We love mountain homes and love being around trees and shade but our hearts are at the beach as we love the sun and sand. So with this home, we got the best of both worlds. When you are hot and are done with the sun.. our house and lot is shaded so that you can sit out and enjoy the summer at the home... without sitting in the sun. The walk to the beach is a direct, one block walk.

What makes this house unique

This is not your typical beach house. Our beach cabin is a santuary and 'Everything's Just Beachy' when we are here and life stops. The skylight in the kitchen and open kitchen/livingroom floor plan adds plenty of light throughout the day. The fenced in back yard is perfect for kids and for pets. The home is located entirely on one floor and has only three steps up to the door of the home and is perfect for families with smaller children, older adults, and pets that stairs become a concern. There is no doubt that you will enjoy this little shaded piece of heaven.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Broken Water Handle: The handle does turn the water off and on normally, but the wood handle on the end is loose. We will have it secured.

Dog Gate: We had no idea the dog gate was damaged and I basically threw it in the trash upon arrival. It appears maybe a larger dog may have chewed on it at some point and pulled some of the lattice sections off. We do have someone coming to resolve that. It is our goal to have every guest enjoy the property as much as we do. Thank you for noting the items and bringing them to the attention of us and the property management company. We hope you enjoy your summer.



Owners: Matt and Katina
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Tranquil Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Master Bedroom has a Queen bed, dresser, Large closet and two chairs, and a TV. Master bathroom is connected to bedroom and has a shower and a big tub for soaking the sun and day away.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Wateroak shaded home with screened porch one direct block from beach
average rating of 4.25 based on 10 reviews
Winston-Salem, NC
1

Nice Location, very badly maintained

  • 1 of 5

Everything's Just Beachy is conveniently located, has a nice, enclosed dog lot, and screened in porch--everything we were looking for. The problem is that we have never stayed at a rental property so poorly maintained. The night we arrived none of the porch lights worked (we replaced them the next day, but before we did, my wife ran into the storm door, hurting her already injured shoulder). The next day, I took the dog down the three steps from the porch to the dog lot and my foot went completely through the second step of rotted wood sending me sprawling into the yard. The metal mesh lint catcher on the dryer was so rusted and torn that it caught very little lint and constitutes a fire hazard as well as a hazard to anyone trying to clean it out. The gate to the dog lot is inoperable with one side held on by one screw. The sky light also leaks when it rains. The problems with the guest bathroom (broken water handle, no spool on toilet paper holder) mentioned by another renter in August 2013 have still not been fixed. Though there is cable to the TV in the living room the bedroom TV gets only 3 random cable channels--including the weather and a religious channel. When we called the management, they did replace the stairs to the dog lot and said that they had a punch list of things to repair at the property. Our considered opinion is that they should have completed the repairs on the punch list before renting to us or anyone else. It was our impression that the owner either doesn't visit very often or doesn't care to do the necessary repairs to make the property safe. The management company also doesn't seem to audit the condition of the property (replace burned out light bulbs before renting it to the next occupant) and/or cannot persuade the owners to do what needs to be done. Stay away from this property and, frankly the management company, until they demonstrate a good faith effort to maintain this and other properties.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest. We are very sorry that you had some issues at the property. You are correct in that we do not live nearby, however we do visit the property usually twice a year to handle any needs. Once before the summer rush and another time in the fall or around the holidays to replace anything that was damaged or broke during the summer season. We do depend on the management company, and our guests, to be our eyes and ears and let us know of any items or repairs that need to be made. We do care about our property, and our guests, and take great pride in our home and are constantly maintaining. Once something is noted by our guests, the management company will strive to have it repaired as quickly as possible. We will have a discussion with the rental company and make sure that they are auditing the property weekly upon check out of guests to note any lights being out or other items that need repairing or attention. We are actually on property this week (the week following you). We had booked this week to handle some of the bigger ticket items before the summer season and our property is booked solid for the remainder of the summer. We have only had good reviews for our home, and it is troubling that we have had someone that has not had a positive experience as we do care. I will address each item you stated so that those who are reading the reviews can understand what we have done, or are doing. Washer/Dryer: We purchased a new washer/dryer on Memorial weekend (during the sales)but it was being installed during our stay this week as not to bother current guests and we could inspect the cords and venting during the process. The current washer and dryer were working great and I used them the first two days of our stay to wash all the slip covers in the home. We were replacing anyway as they were an older set and I wanted something for our guests that was more energy efficient, but still cleaned well. I am sorry the lint liner was torn on the old dryer. Light out on Porch: I apologize there was a light bulb burnt out on the porch. That is something that is maintained by our management company and sometimes outside lights are not caught unless our guests report it. Because of this, I have a clear container that is on the shelf above the washer and dryer that contains back up batteries for the remotes as well as light bulbs for the lamps and other lights should they burn out during a guest’s stay. There were still two 60 watt bulbs left on the shel
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Island Hide-a-way! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful rustic beach home that was just perfect for our month long vacation. Home is nestled back in the oak trees and pines, with lots of wildlife that will entertain you while sitting on the porch. We had everything there that was needed for a great time and the home was very comfortable and clean. We were very pleased overall and so were the dogs who enjoyed the privacy fenced in backyard. The location of this home is great as well. It's within a few minutes of everything needed. Can't wait for a return visit!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Winston-Salem, NC
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay here. The house was lovely. The decorations and furniture were charming and comfortable, and the open layout was great. We truly had everything we needed. If I could decorate a beach house, it would look just like this one! Our little boy had a great first visit to the beach, and we plan to stay here again next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Concord, NC
5

Great beach get-a-way with the family!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four (2 adults with 6yr & 4yr old) enjoyed the week we stayed. We will definitely be back. It was cozy and comfortable. The home is nicely decorated and very kid friendly. The kitchen is fully stocked with all that you need. The kids had a blast with the chalk wall and bunk beds. Plenty of space for the family to relax with a very open layout. It was an easy walk to the beach. There was a wagon there to help load up our chairs and cooler. Great beach get-a-way with the family!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Quick trip to the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Great location! Great place for families with kids. The beach is at the end of the street just a quick stroll or you can drive down and park. The house has all the essentials for the beach, laundry, full kitchen and great sleeping accommodations. The house is not fussy and very comfortable which allows for ultimate relaxation. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Pilot Mountain, NC
3

Get Away

  • 3 of 5

Home was in great location. Numerous bugs in the home. Needed minor repairs, sink in guest bathroom, front door stormdoor.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
2.9 Miles
Cape Fear Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Chaser's Beach Club, Rumors at the Beach
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Southport - Fort Fisher Ferry
Nearest Golf
1.8 Miles
Oak Island Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
43 Miles
Highway 72, to Highway 211, to Oak Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
Jones' Seafood House, Turtle Island Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Long Beach/Yaupon Beach
Car: necessary

This property is located in the heart of Oak Island. Shops, grocery store, ice cream, putt putt, arcade, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. The Youpon Pier is just a longer walk or short drive away for fishing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tranquil Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Resort
May 13 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$890
 
 
Prime
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,175
 
 
High Prime - 4th of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,475
 
 
Prime
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,175
 
 
Resort
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$890
 
 
Value
Sep 16 2017 - Jan 5 2018
2 night minimum stay
$795
$1,295
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 12.75%

Travel Insurance Optional at an approximate 7.9% of Base Rental amount
Wifi Rental is $75 A week.
Pet fee is $150 first pet and $50 each additional pet
Tax is approximate

Monthly Rates available for non-peak months
Check in: 3:00pm
Check out: 10:00am
Home rents Saturday - Saturday in the Summer Months

Rental is will be forwarded to Coastal Vacation Resorts. They will give total rate due.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties