check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sugar Island-Waterfront property with pontoon (May-Sept). Open all year!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more



About the property

3 bedroom, waterfront property - great for fishing! Boat included in stay!

If you are looking for a quiet, waterfront place to stay, than this Sugar Island house, referred to as the 'Sugar Suite', is just what you are looking for! Plus, from the middle of May until the middle of September, there is a small pontoon boat for your use!

The Sugar Suite is a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ranch-style house on the Northeast side of the St. Mary's River (the mouth of Lake George). It is the perfect spot for boating, swimming, fishing (great water depths!) or even duck hunting! It is also close enough to the mainland (about 10.5 miles from the car ferry), that a day trip to the Historic Sault Ste. Marie as a 'fudgie' is always possible! In the Sault, you can visit the shops on Portage Avenue (Or 'Fudgie Lane', which is where tourists get the 'fudgie' name from, because they are known for purchasing a lot of fudge!'), the famous Soo Locks, the Tower of History, Valley Camp, the casino, or one of the few golf courses in town.

The property features 165 ft of waterfront, where you can find a fire pit and a grill for your use! We also have an updated dock (2016) and a few bicycles for your use, but you are welcome to bring your own as well! The most traffic you'll see from this location, is on the water!

As you walk into this house, you will enter through an entry way with a washer and dryer for your use. The kitchen features an electric stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Pots, pans, dishes and utensils provide everything but the food you need to prepare your meals.

The dining room features a dining room table with 6 chairs and a tall top table with 2 stools, views toward the back of the house (where you park) and toward the front of the house (through the large picture window facing the water).

The living room has a couch, an oversized chair with an ottoman, a futon, and the large picture window with water views.

The master bedroom has a Queen bed, with a desk, alarm clock, lamp and a 24' flat screen television with a DVD player included.

The 2nd bedroom 2 queen beds, a full bed, a closet with hanging racks, a night stand, alarm clock, lamp, and a 19' television with a DVD player included and a full size mirror attached to the door.

The 3rd bedroom has a Queen bed, a dresser, a night stand, alarm clock, a lamp, a closet with hanging racks, a 19" TV with DVD player and a full size mirror.

Do you want to bring your boat? You are more than welcome! In fact, there is a DNR boat launch about a mile from this location, so putting it in the water once arrive at the Sugar Suite will not be an issue and we have plenty of room for you park your trailer! OR, per first sentence! Use our Pontoon boat! Again, New for 2016, we have an older Pontoon boat that is available for your use (holds up to 1000 lbs)! If you plan to use the Pontoon boat, please bring life jackets (all children 12 and Under must be wearing their life jackets at all times - US Coast Guard regulation). We make sure the pontoon boat is full of gas for your arrival, and we have additional gas on-site. We will charge you $5/gallon we charge, from your security deposit, based on what you use. It takes mixed gas and we aren't close to any gas stations or marinas, so This is the most convenient method for both parties. If you need more gas than what we have provided, we will work out accordingly.

We'll provide all of the linens, but would appreciate it if you could bring your own beach towels and paper products.

If you possess your Michigan Fishing License, than you can not only use your own boat, or the pontoon boat for fishingC but you also have the option of biking a charter fishing trip just 3 docks down (Blue Heron Sishing Charter). Let us know if you are interested and we'll help you reserve your trip with the captain next door.

Other than that, we welcome your dog(s), but there is an additional $50 fee per animal.

We have a hose for your use, so if you have your own fish cleaning station, bring it and you can hook up to the hose!

Please, let us know if you have any questions! We'll do our best to accomadate special requests!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 6, 2017

About Laurie

My husband and I both grew up in the Eastern Upper Peninsula, but he's the 'life-long' Islander! In fact, we live in the house he was born and raised in, which is only 2 houses down from the Sugar Suite.

Laurie purchased this house in 2010

Why Laurie chose Upper Peninsula

My husband was determined that if the ranch-style home that his granfather built ever became available for sale, he wanted it! Therefore, when the house became available in 2010, we bought it! And now, we call it the Sugar Suite!

We feel that it is our way of letting others experience Island life!

What makes this house unique

We love the Island and the fact that we can have a camp fire every night if we want, or go for a peaceful boat ride anytime we want - as long at the weather cooperates.

Our nieces and nephews love that they can come over and enjoy, water skiing, wake boarding, tubing or jet skiing. Plus, they have the option of staying on the St. Mary's River system, or heading over to Lake George for some larger waves.

The best part of this 'Island Retreat' is that you can be as active or inactive as you want! There are definitely things that can keep you busy. However, if you are looking for a peaceful location, to read a book or lay in the sun without distraction, than this is also the place for you!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for allowing us to stay at the "cottage" as we called it.

Beautiful location and we loved it!

Thanks again!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Sugar Island-Waterfront property with pontoon (May-Sept). Open all year!
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 13 reviews

Weekend getaway & seeing full folage

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. Sleeping accommodations were great. Better than staying on mainland in hotel. With 10 people the accommodations worked very well with socializing in the evening. The kitchen worked well for cooking food. The firepit by the water worked well in the cool evenings. Would recommend staying there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful time and and place

  • 5 of 5

The house was just what we needed - the location is wonderful and the deck, dock and pontoon boat were wonderful additions. We loved the fire pit as well

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you consider the Sugar Suite again! Thank you for the positive feedback! Laurie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Weekend getaway

  • 1 of 5

We seen the property pictures and description online and we were so excited! While we had a good time, we were surprised at the actual condition of the property. The laminate wood floors throughout the house were bulging up and rolling under our feet, we constantly tripped over the numerous humps in the floor. We took the pontoon boat out and made it ten minutes from the dock before it broke down, ruining our eagerly awaited fishing trip on Lake George. There is a number to call for a tow but nobody had cell service. The anchor was not heavy enough to hold us in the stong current. We were drifting and a storm was rolling in. After 3 hours we were able to get the attention of another boat using the S.O.S whistle provided. We were towed back but our only full day on vacation was half gone. The floor and the boat are the major issues, there are a few smaller things I think need to be addressed as well. We had 2 rolls of toilet paper and had 7 people staying the weekend, we ran out Saturday and had to run next door and ask the caretaker for more but no she was not there and we were told she wouldnt be home til midnight. She came by early Sunday morning and said we are only allowed 2 rolls. She did give us 2 more but that was an hour or so before our check out time... the bikes that were available all had flat tires, and the house was not very clean, cobwebs, dust, dirty rugs, unwashed comforters. All 7 people involved agreed we would not rent this property again. I am curious if the owner is aware of these problems?

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! I am so sorry to hear all of this! Yes! With the humidity, our new floors have had issues, so I apologize and please know that we plan to fix them. However, we are waiting until after the summer season. It's amazing, 1 week they will lay flat and be fine and the next, they will have bumps. As far as the toilet paper, there was actually extra toilet paper in each of the bathroom vanity drawers, so I know now I will need to put notes to tell people to look in the drawers for extra toilet paper - it appears you did see the extra roll under each sink. The boat really concerns me because you never let me know there was an issue. In fact, my mother-in-law mentioned that there had been an issue, but when my husband went to check on it, he couldn't find the problem. I left you a message and still haven't heard back from anyone to find out what happened. Were you unable to get onto "Rogers" tower with your cell phone? Because, you should be able to connect your cell phone to that and then if you are charged on your phone bill, you can call and tell them that you never left the United States, b/c you didn't. So they should eliminate any fees. Plus, if your boat is broke down, then that is an emergent, so your cell phone company should allow you to make an emergency call. I am so sorry for the inconvenience. We offer the boat and towing company as a courtesy while staying at the Sugar Suite, so I am very sorry to hear how disappointed you are. As for the cob webs, I will make sure this gets addressed. This was the first time anyone has ever said anything like that. After reading this, it's no surprise to me that you, nor your group would want to come back. However, I do suggest that next time you let the owner know there are issues while they are happening, because I would have made it right. Had you tried to contact me about the toilet paper, I would have told you to look in the drawer and if there wasn't any there, I would have had a neighbor bring you some. However, most of our guests do being their own, because I ask that guests bring their own paper products. Sorry that you had such a horrible stay. :(
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place for our family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Such a beautiful property! Very secluded, and right on the water! It was a great place for our family to gather and share the 4th of July holiday together! The kids loved it as well, lots of space for them to roam around in and a bed for everyone. Wonderful place, wonderful hosts, would definitely rent from again!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It makes it fun to rent our property when we have guests like you and your family! We hope to see you again! Laurie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Memorial Week Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from our Memorial week long vacation at the Sugar Suite and I can't say enough nice things about the cabin, the Morleys and our stay. Any concerns about the dock, the outdoor seating or the screens should be rested. Every window had a new screen, the dock is fully repaired and we spent a ton of time fishing from it (my son caught several muskies from it!) And there is quite a bit of outdoor seating. There are two wooden/log benches and a brand new metal/Rubbermaid picnic table! The cabin itself is beautiful and there is a ton of sleeping, sitting, eating and visiting space. There are tvs with built in DVD players in every room, which is very convenient with little ones (we had 3 with us ) and the futon in the living room can be laid down into a very comfortable additional bed. The mattresses were soft the house itself was well equipped. We loved having the boat included in the rental and it really made our vacation special. We traveled to the Soo for Memorial Day so my Grampa, a WWII Army Air Corp Bombardier could visit his parents, aunts, uncles and grandparents graves and the cabin was easily able to accommodate us, our children rangi mg in age from 17 to 5 months, my mother, my Grampa who is 92 and even my brother's family overnight for this special trip. Aside from that---it accommodated each of our needs in every way. You will definitely want to bring groceries with you before you cross the ferry and take the the fact that you're on an island into account. Also the ferry is cash only. If you do those things, bring bug spray (there is NO way to account for the mosquitoes in the UP lol) and plan to unplu, unwind and really relax, this is the perfect place. Thank you for our beautiful vacation and we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We continue to make improvements every year, so thank you for noticing. Thank you for also letting other viewers know about your great experience! It is guests like you that make the work worth it! It is rewarding knowing that our cottage met the needs of your family while you were visiting the Island for such sentimental reasons! We look forward to your return visit and hope that your next experience is even better! Have a great summer and we hope to see you back, soon! The Morley's
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice cottage but needs improvements

  • 4 of 5


We enjoyed the inside of the cottage very much. Very clean. We met the owners and they were very friendly and brought down bikes in case we wanted to use them. kitchen had plenty of everything we needed. Plenty of room for at least 6 or more guests. Plenty of seating and beds. 1 queen in 1st br 3 full size and a twin in 2nd br and 1 full in 3rd br. Plenty of room for parking.


The dock is in desperate need of repair. Part was broken and VERY uneven. Not very good fishing due to broken dock and brush grown up on the bank. Lots of fishing places near ferry docks.

No toaster and coffee maker didn't get very hot.

No activities on Sugar island and about 15-20 mins from ferry.

Wanted to have bonfires but all the outdoor chairs were broken.

Get groceries and gas before going to ferry. Ed's is best place if you need anything on the island.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed the inside of the cottage. We tried to make it an affordable place for a decent size group. :). Actually, two of the bedrooms have queen beds and then the third bedroom has 2 full beds and 2 twins, plus we upgraded the futon mattress, which is also a comfortable full size bed if guests need it. We will be replacing some of the lawn chairs that have broken and the dock is also on our repair list. :). With the water levels rising this year, the dock is partly under water which makes it difficult to take apart. We have had guests catch fish off of it already this season though. Thank you for staying at the Sugar Suite!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Sault Ste. Marie, MI, US - CIU
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Nearest Ferry
10.5 Miles
Sugar Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
11 Miles
Country Club
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
10.5 Miles
Clydes Drive-In
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Searchmont - across the border
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Sugar Island Township Park
Car: necessary

There is a DNR boat launch about a mile away from this cottage.

Though Sugar Island may not have all of the things featured above, Sault Ste. Marie is only 10.5 miles away - and once you have reached the ferry, you are within a couple miles of downtown Sault Ste. Marie!

This is a great location for fisherman and duck hunters! Plenty of room in the large entryway for all of your gear (a decent amount of shelving and lots of hooks to hang things up).


Rates & Availability

Sault Ste. Marie House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

The grill will be available for your use.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sault Ste. Marie House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both Bathrooms were completely remodeled in 2014 (new shower, new toilets, new fixtures, new flooring, new vanities, and new counters.)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , *We do have play pens available if needed.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , There is a futon in the living room (along with couch).
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , *Play pen available upon request.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , 1 double
  • Each bedroom has a closet, dresser, lamp, alarm clock, and a 22' flat screen TV with built-in DVD player.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • swimming
There is room for additional air mattresses in the house, if you would like to bring more people! There is also room for a camper or tents in the yard. The more the merrier! This is YOUR vacation! In 2016 we are adding a "boat" to the stay! We bought an older pontoon boat to rent with the house. If you are interested in using it, please let us know and we'll make sure it is full of gas for you and ready to go! If you are wondering about something, please ask! Chances are - we can try and accomodate!

Partner Offers