Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

No Deposits Required! Walk to the Beach, Island View Casino! Pets Stay for Free!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom bungalow near the beach and casinos.

This cozy bungalow has two bedrooms with queen beds as well as a small futon. A large front porch, and small back porch for relaxing and catching the breeze. There is a couch in the living room with two large comfortable chairs. There is also a t.v. in the living room that has basic cable and can access Netflix via the Roku that is provided as well. The dinning room seats 6 comfortably, but there is a bench seat and a few extra chairs if you need to squeeze in a few more. There is a fenced in back yard with a nice porch, that has a small gas grill, a bistro table that seats two for dinner al fresco! As well as a dog house for your furry friends. The kitchen has most of what you would need to whip up a vacation meal. It is equipped with an electric oven/stove, microwave, wine cooler, fridge, blender, and all the utensils you will need. There is one bathroom in the home that has a large double shower, and a vintage claw-foot tub for those nights you need to kick back and read a book. Lastly there is a washer and dryer that tenants are more than welcome to use.


Owner
Liz Sekul
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Liz Sekul

I am a local business owner with a love for the outdoors, and social gatherings. I love nothing more than cold drink on a front porch!

Liz Sekul purchased this bungalow in 2007

Why Liz Sekul chose Gulfport

I purchased this lovely home from my grandmother. When she told me she was going to sell it, I knew I had to have this charming bungalow. It has always been a very happy home, and I am happy to share that with visitors from all around.

What makes this bungalow unique

This house is conveniently centrally located. It is walking distance from casinos, the beach and a fun splash pad play ground for the kids. There is also a homemade candy store within walking distance for the kids to visit. The downtown restaurants that offer local seafood, steaks, pizza, and Cajun cuisine are a two minute drive. Come stay at Casa Verde, hit the town for some amazing food, then take a stroll down to the beach to catch the sunset! We accept payments in PayPal, cash or check; Call and book your relaxing vacation today!

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful home! We truly enjoyed our stay, and so did our dogs. The front porch was a favorite place to relax with our morning coffee. Thank you for providing such beautiful accommodations!
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Gulfport Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • This bathroom is state of the art without losing the integrity of this wonderful vintage bungalow. There is a double headed shower, a claw-foot tub. The bathroom is environmentally conscious with its low flow water (with out the low pressure).
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 1 has a queen Bed, hard wood floors and a tongue and groove ceiling to look up and admire as you drift away. This room also has a ceiling fan, dressers and closet. Bedroom 2 has a queen bed, and a futon for additional sleeping. It also has a small dresser and a closet for storing your things.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a large television in the living room that has basic cable and access to Roku, a device that allows internet access to Netflix. There are tons of movies and T.V. shows at your finger tips.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
13% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
No Deposits Required! Walk to the Beach, Island View Casino! Pets Stay for Free!
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 64 reviews
5

Cozy, clean home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

My family, 2 dogs and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Your family and your furry friends are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Gulf Coast getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had wonderful stay here! The house is even cuter in person- very stylish and comfortable with everything we needed for a fun weekend. We loved the front porch and kitchen- we had coffee on the porch in the mornings and made dinner at the house the second night. Great location- easy walk to the beach and close to downtown restaurants and bars. Liz was very helpful and easygoing- we look forward to staying here again! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The pleasure was mine. I'm so glad you had a great stay and took advantage of the areas walk ability! You, Robby, and Birdie are welcome back to Casa Verde any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, Comfy, & Quaint!

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home is a dream! I love the modern decor- it's not too often you'll find a rental in a beach town that strays away from the typical coastal decor. The home is beautiful and clean and pet friendly which is always something I look for when traveling. Parking is a breeze and the entire place is so comfortable!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mallisa, So glad I got to meet you and your precious family. It is so nice to rent to people who appreciate the decor that I put so much time and thought into. I hope that you will come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Rundown neighborhood,backyard unkempt with junk in neighbor’s yard and Walk to beach depressing

  • 2 of 5

Very questionable neighborhood with frequent trains never mentioned as part of ambience but plenty of ear plugs strategically placed! Back yard looked like no one did anything in preparation for our arrival!Neighbors with visible junk in back yard!Walk to beach was by vacant lots. Overriding feel was sad and depressing!

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, Felix.The neighborhood Casa Verde is located in has many vacation rentals. All have a great deal of success with staying booked because of the location, and the charm of the area. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. We prepare the back yard for each stay by having a landscaping company perform weekly maintenance on the yard. They has been working for me for 5 years. In regards to my neighbor's yard, He is in the process of remodeling his home in order to vacation rent it, I will request that he try to be more tidy. The walk to the beach was depressing to you because of the empty lots that were left by our nations worst natural disaster, Hurricane Katrina. Sorry that depressed you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

More than expected

  • 5 of 5

This is a very charming older home with a modern vibe that works so well! It was very comfortable, clean, completely safe in our book, and having our 2 dogs with us made it an excellent experience. They loved the adventure of a new (to them) backyard.

We like to do our own cooking and are not typically hotel folks, so this was a perfect solution for us.

I read previous reviews and the trains coming and going to the seaport was a negative for some, but we had no problem with it at all. The owners have thoughtfully provided earplugs for those who don't love the sound. Our dogs have never experienced it, but after a few went by, even they were not paying it any attention.

It is a quaint, friendly neighborhood and the one and only thing I would suggest to the owners (and am reluctant to even mention) is that the windows needed cleaning outside to better enjoy the view.

Thanks for a lovely place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I am also very glad that your furry friends did too! Thank you so much for taking such great care of the place. I will plan to head over this weekend to spiffy up the widows on the outside. I hope y'all come back and stay again soon. You were a pleasure to host!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A bit disappointed this stay

  • 3 of 5

We have stayed with Liz multiple times in the past and her house has been great. Unfortunately, this time around the house was not as clean as we would have liked it. The outside chairs on the porch were broken which was disappointing considering we feel that is one of the best features of her house. Nothing like sitting outside on her porch. Good thing we had our own beach chairs! There was garlic bread left in oven and the fridge was left sticky from a previous stay. The main living area floor was left so dirty that I had to wash it on my hands and knees so my 1 year old could play in that area. There were also maggots all over and in the outside garbage can which was less than appealing. The backyard could really also use some upkeep. I truly hate to leave a review like this because in past years we have really enjoyed Liz's house but my family and I were definitely disappointed. I will say that we were forced out a day early because of Hurricane Nate and Liz was kind enough to give us a credit for that night.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Rose, I sincerely apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as it has been the over your last 4 years. I also apologize that someone booked during the dates you normally book before you could reserve it, i know that was upsetting to you. When I called to check on you upon your arrival, you mentioned the bread in the oven and the stickiness in the refrigerator drawer, my attempt to come take care of it was denied, You said it was not a big deal and that you simply wanted to make me aware of the situation. In regards to the living room floor, if you had mentioned this, I would have immediately insisted that I come and re-mop the floor if it was not up to your standards. You were always one of our favorite guests, and we hope to redeem ourselves. Hopefully on your next visit, we can earn another 5 star review from you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Lynn Meadows Discovery Center, The
The Quarter
"Great little bar with live music nearly every nite. This bar is less than a 3 minute drive f..."
P J's Coffee
"Pj's is a locally owned coffee shop that has great coffee, free wi-fi and a selection of del..."
Tony's Brick Oven Pizzeria
Half Shell Oyster House
"One of the Gulfport's best places to eat! Half Shell has the best oysters around, hands down!"
Great Southern Golf Club
Nearest Airport
5.9 Miles
Gulfport, Biloxi International
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Island View Casino
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Great Southern Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.4 Miles
Highway 90
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Gulfport Beach
Car: recommended

This darling southern bungalow, rests between a Live Oak and a Mississippi Magnolia. It is located within 4 blocks of Gulfport’s beautiful white sandy beaches, and a mere 250 feet from the Island View Casino. Not to mention the other 12 casinos within a 30 minute drive! Downtown is 1.5 miles from this rental, and offers lots of unique dining options. If its shopping you are after Gulfport’s Prime Outlets are 5.7 miles away. Although this is the perfect location for adults to relax, and play, it also has some pretty fun things for the kids. There is a splash pad water playground, free of charge, about 4 blocks from the house, the Gulf Islands Water Park is 7 miles away, and the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center, Children’s Museum (voted top 10 children’s museum in the country) is less than 5 miles from your vacation home. For family fun head to the Ship Island Excursion boat for a day of fun on the beautiful beaches of our most popular barrier island! Casa Verde is proud to boast a 5 star rating on VRBO due to the combination of amenities, location, and service provided. We except payments with PayPal, cash or check. Call to book your relaxing vacation today!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties