Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Morningstar Lodge at Holiday Valley

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths2
Space 2,250 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

A perfect location for Holiday Valley weddings

Fully furnished. Overlooking the Yodeler and Champaign ski hills. Walk to Yodeler Lift. Walk to Sky High Adventure Park. Walk to Spruce Lake. Close to Double Daimond golf course & pools. Wrap around deck with views of the mountain. Gas fireplace, cable, blu ray, & free Wi-Fi. Weber grill on the back deck. Bike out your front door to connect to the mountain bike trails of Holiday Valley. Sleeps 10

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Vince

Owner and hands on manager of vacation properties in Holiday Valley, NY, and Cook Forest State Park, Pennsylvania.

Vince purchased this chalet in 2006

Why Vince chose Ellicottville

A home away from home. Quiet and comfortable year around. Perfect location for weddings, golf outings, bicycle races and of course skiing at Holiday Valley

What makes this chalet unique

View the ski mountain in the winter thru large glass windows with the slopes lit up at night. Watch the deer from the back deck facing the woods


Ellicottville Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , 2 sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , in bedroom 2
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , in bedroom 4
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    master - 1 queen , sliding doors to uper deck
    Bedroom 4 - 3 bunk bed , sliding doors to lower deck
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
  • sliding door to lower deck patio door from master bedroom to upper deck
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Morningstar Lodge at Holiday Valley
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews

Great place for a family event. We had plenty of space for cooking, relaxing and sleeping!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at Morningstar, the house is well balanced with plenty of room for everyone. The view of the slopes was beautiful and the family room, kitchen and dining area were excellent for our group. Close to Yoedler lodge for skiing! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tim, glad you enjoyed it, Vince
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An enjoyable time

  • 3 of 5

Was disappointed to find mouse droppings in the silverware drawer and else where.

The unit had always been so clean in previous years.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon, I'm so sorry. I use bait consistently to keep the mice out. Haven't had a problem before.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

January Renter

  • 4 of 5

Size of house is perfect for large groups. Everyone slept comfortably in a bed.

Decor is outdated but tasteful. Carpet needs replacing.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephanie, I hope you enjoyed your time at Holiday Valley. But I must point out something about Morningstar Lodge. When you left you left the oven on with a glass baking dish inside. It left quite an odor through out the cabin and I hope we can get it cleared out before the next guests arrive. Thankfully it didn't become a more serious problem . Vince
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canal Winchester, Ohio

The perfect ski chalet for a large group with incredible views

  • 5 of 5

I brought a large group up for a 25 year anniversary celebration and this was the perfect place. It is a little outdated but beyond that there are no negatives. It has ample room, plenty of bathrooms and the large main floor with the open floor plan allowed for a great time.

Vince, thank you so much for everything. It was nice to meet you. See you again next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

IA Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome weekend, thank you Vince! Beautiful home

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Christine. Glad you enjoyed it. It's hard not to have a good time in Ellicottville. Vince
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location misleading

  • 3 of 5

A. Property is closer to Tannenbaum than Yodler. Not walkable to lift as there is not an accessible path.

B. Label lights and provide directions for fireplace.

C. Cupboards and drawers in kitchen need cleaned. As weather cools "critters" seek warmth as do people. Mouse droppings were in nearly every cupboard.

D. Comfortable layout, comfy beds, fun weekend.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Not sure about this review but here goes: A. Property is equidistant from both lodges. I recommend Yodler as there are stairs directly to the lodge and more facilities. There is not a path, there is a ROAD directly to both lodges. I am 68 and walk to Yodler every time I ski. I do not recommend the trip in ski boots. B. This is my house, not a factory with labels for everything. The gas fireplace works off a simple light switch right on the fireplace and very visible. C. I appreciate news of "critters". I keep bait out always as a precaution. However, I just stayed at the Morningstar Sunday to Wednesday and saw no evidence. But I will alert the cleaning staff to be on the lookout. D. I am glad to hear that everyone had a fun weekend and would hope that they return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Ellicottville Brewing Company
Holiday Valley Resort
Seneca Allegany Casino
Allegany State Park
Sky High Adventure Park
The Gin Mill
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Double Diamond
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 219
Nearest Ski
Holiday Valley
Car: recommended

Walking distance to the mountain bike trails of Holiday Valley. Walking distance to Sky High Adventure Park

Walking distance to the Yodler and Tanenbaum Lodges for weddings and events

And very close to the Double Diamond Golf Course at Holiday Valley


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Any damages or additional cleaning will added to tenant's bill

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties