Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Royal Kuhio Unit with Ocean View, Free Reserved Parking, Free WiFi and Phone USA

Bedrooms 1
Space 614 sq ft
Property type condo


About the property

King size bed in bedroom. Fully equipped kitchen. TVs in bedroom and living room

This is a corner view unit with windows on 2 sides and a furnished lanai facing the ocean with a southwest exposure to the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head. Great for private sunbathing. It will sleep 2 people. It is furnished with a sofa and matching rattan and bamboo accented furniture. King size bed in bedroom.(FYI, other property management companies that rent units in Royal Kuhio often call their units one bedroom units, when they are actually studio units. The only one bedroom units are the corner units such as ours.)

We have seen many other units in the building and we think ours is the most desirable and the best value for a one bedroom rental unit. This unit has the best quality, contemporary furnishings and the most appliances and electronics.

1. The entire kitchen and bathroom were redone with new appliances, counters, cabinets and fixtures few years ago.

2. All new white carpeting has been installed

3. It has free unlimited phone service to North America

4. It has free unlimited high speed internet and wireless access

5. It has ceiling fans in both the living room and bedroom and new air-conditioning units in both rooms

6. The living room has a new flat plan television, the bedroom has a new flat panel television

7. The bathroom is a separate room from the mirrors and sink area.

8. No smoking unit.

More Details

Per and Melody Westerdal
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

The manager of this property consistently provides great experiences for their guests.

Speaks: english, swedish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2019

About Per and Melody Westerdal

Retired living in Seattle Area (Bellevue)

Per and Melody Westerdal purchased this condo in 1978

Why Per and Melody Westerdal chose Waikiki

We choose this condo because we enjoy Hawaii and Waikiki in particular.

What makes this condo unique

We visit our condo at least once a year to make sure it is in excellent condition.


Waikiki Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 21
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 614 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub
  • Has separate area for sink and mirror
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size bed in the bed room and queen size sleeper sofa in livingroom
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
If payment is made by check or electronic check a 2.50% discount is given.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
34% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Royal Kuhio Unit with Ocean View, Free Reserved Parking, Free WiFi and Phone USA
average rating of 4.457143 based on 35 reviews
Simpsonville, SC

Overall comfortable and clean, and great central location.

  • 4 of 5

The building was very secure, which we really liked! The unit was very clean and comfortable and close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach. It is located on one of the main streets in Waikiki, so was somewhat noisy if the windows were open. We didn’t expect to have beach towels provided, but they were available in the hall closet. There were plenty of appliances, dishes, silverware, glassware, and towels. We did have difficulty with one set of mini-blinds by the window air conditioner in the living room and could not lower it using the cord (we were specifically instructed not to pull on the blind itself, so didn’t try that). It was also really nice having a large laundromat available on the 7th floor. Also, there were extra linens for the sleeper sofa, but we couldn’t find any pillowcases, and the pillows looked like they needed to be laundered or replaced.

We were a little disappointed that the pool was closed for renovation, but there are so many other things to do that we didn’t really miss it that much. All in all, a very enjoyable time!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2019
  • Stayed: February 2019
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic location and view

  • 4 of 5

We love the owners! Have stayed here for several years and will continue to come back. A true one bedroom and fully stocked kitchen.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2019
  • Stayed: December 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well equipped unit, nice pool area and laundry facilities.

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and well equipped unit. Secure building, great location.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2018
  • Stayed: October 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Should Be Better...

  • 2 of 5

Good things about unit include being in a great location, comfortable bed and pillows, partial view of ocean, and fairly decent looking carpeting throughout.

The following things should be fixed in the unit before renting it out.

* There is blue tape keeping the window glass slats in place/closed (making whistling noise with wind).

* Very little water coming through the shower head that it was difficult to rinse out shampoo from hair.

* Blinds need replacing (lots of dust on them as well.) Some were crooked and wouldn't go up or down. One in bedroom wouldn't close so couldn't block out light.

* Window a/c units were very noisy as was the ceiling fan in living area.

* There were 6 chairs, 3 bar stools, a dining table, 3 end tables, and a couch in the small living area. Very crowded. Didn't need most of the chairs.

* One of the lamps in living area didn't work.

* Bathroom in major need of upgrade.


  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Strange comments as there is no tape anywhere and we were just there in May. No problem with the shower head, but city required low flow to reduce water waste. Last year we purchased new quiet window mounted a/c units. Will let maid service know about any dust issues. Bathroom has been freshly painted with new cabinetry, shower curtain and towel bars. Sorry you were unhappy in the unit. We have a high percent of renters who request booking our unit again. Sounds like you would be happier staying in a hotel as this unit is better furnished and well maintained compared to others we have seen in the building. Hope you had a good stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I love the unit clean

  • 5 of 5

Property is nice and clean

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Duffys Forest


  • 5 of 5

Best location only minutes to the beach and bus stop outside front door Surrounded by great restaurants and offers full security and free parking

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
8.4 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Golf
1.4 Miles
Ala Wai Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Waikiki beach 3 blocks away
Car: not necessary

The Royal Kuhio is a 38 eight story building with seven floors of covered parking and 24 hour security, located two blocks from Waikiki Beach. Great location for easy access to shops, restaurants and the beach. Enjoy the recreational deck with swimming pool, sun deck, sports court, putting green, shuffle board, sauna, exercise room, barbecue area, game room with pool and Ping-Pong tables.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night

All reservations require a $300.00 REFUNDABLE key/damage deposit. This
deposit will be refunded within 2 weeks after departure in the form of a
check or back to credit card.
A $400.00 advance deposit must be received to guarantee a reservation.
Balance due 30 days prior to arrival.
If a reservation is cancelled, the $400 deposit will be forfeited.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund