check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

Description

Big Bear Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom cottage across from lake. Hot Tub, WiFi, 2 High Def TV's, Cable.

Enjoy lake views from our recently renovated cabin, just steps from the lake, one mile from the village, and three miles from Snow Summit.

The cabin combines the comfort of a high-end home with the charm of a mountain retreat.

Ask about military, honeymoon, and fall discounts.

----- COMFORT -----

*Hot Tub

*Master bedroom with King bed and high-definition television.

*Fully fenced backyard.

*High speed WiFi.

*Central heat.

*Keurig Coffee Maker (please remember to bring K-Cups!)

*Propane BBQ.

*Linens and towels.

*Hairdryer

----- CHARM -----

*Lake Views from the living room and front bedroom.

*Original wood floors, freshly sanded and refinished.

*Tongue and groove plank ceilings.

*Professionally decorated, with new couches and beds and arts and crafts era handmade wood furnishings.

----- ENTERTAINMENT -----

*40" wall mounted, flat screen, high definition television in the living room with Premium Cable (no movie packages) and TiVo DVR recorder.

*32' wall mounted, high definition, flat screen, television in the master bedroom. Bedroom television does not have cable but does have Amazon Prime and Netflix.

*Netflix and Pandora stream to both televisions.

----- COZY BEDROOMS -----

The cabin comfortably sleeps four adults.

The master bedroom (in the rear) has a King bed, high definition television, and overlooks the back yard.

The front bedroom has a Queen bed and partial lake view.

The living room has a double sleeper sofa.

To ensure the comfort of all guests, 4 person maximum occupancy.

Cleanliness is important to us! Mattresses and pillows are encased in protective/hypoallergenic covering that gets bleached regularly, then covered with sheets and pillow cases that are also bleached between each visit.

If you need extra sheets for any reason, please let me know. There are extra sheets stored throughout the house and we are happy to point you to them.

----- FULLY STOCKED KITCHEN -----

The kitchen has been fully upgraded, with new appliances, granite counter tops, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. The cabinets are stocked with pots, pans, plates and bowls, flatware, and baking tools. The dining table seats four with the leaf extended (extra chairs are stored under the bed in the front bedroom or can be brought in from the backyard).

----- PETS WELCOME -----

We warmly welcome your friendly pets at no additional cost. The back and side yards are fully fenced. The cabin is just steps from the lake.

We apologize, but for liability reasons we require that all dogs stay in the house, in the yard, or on leash. Aggressive dogs are prohibited.

*** For larger parties, we are pleased to offer the adjacent property, the Bears' Lair!!! ****

VRBO Listing # 892145

Discounts available if you book both properties.

If you have any concern about whether the Snow Den is large enough for your party, then we strongly recommend the Bear's Lair!

----

If you are interested in using a boat for all or part of your stay, please inquire about our 2016 Malibu Wakesetter VLX with surfgate and extra ballast (awesome for wakesurfing).

Boat rental is $300/hour (2 hour minimum) and subject to the availability of our captain (boat cannot be rented without captain on board). Rental price includes driver, use of equipment (wakeboard, wakesurf board, inner tube, life jackets, ropes, etc.), and gas. Full release of liability is required.

----GENERAL----

Open flames of any sort- including but not limited to bonfires or fire pits- are illegal and strictly prohibited. We will cooperate with local police and fire departments in prosecuting any guest who violates this. We want to keep our home, and our neighbors' homes, safe.

We do not warranty that household electronics, including the hot tub, will work. We have many guests and some are not as careful as you would be with these items. If something is not working we will try to replace it as soon as possible, but we are not able to offer further refunds. If something major breaks (hot tub, stove, refrigerator, wifi, living room television) we will also give you 20% off your next visit or allow you to cancel the remainder of your stay at no charge.

We do not have full time staff. If the cabin is out of toilet paper, please buy some and we will happily reimburse you. If the BBQ is out of propane, please take the tank to the 711, have it refilled, and we will reimburse you. If we are out of salt . . .well, you get the idea. We try to keep the cabin well stocked, but we cannot promise it will be restocked on a regular basis. What we can promise is we will reimburse for anything you buy for the house and will respond quickly to any issues.

---BARTER---

If you are a licensed contractor or other licensed building professional, we are looking for someone to install a fence at our neighboring property and would be happy to trade a week at the cabin for the work (we pay for material).

If you have a vacation rental in Santa Barbara, Las Vegas, Park City, Hawaii, London, Paris, or any other awesome destination, please inquire about housing swaps! We are open to adding additional payment to make the swap work.

----DISCOUNTS ----

10% discount for active military.

Third night free (subject to availability) for a pre- or post deployment visit; if you let us know when booking, we are happy to offer a free night when available as a thank you for your service. If we don't have availability, or you don't have time, let us know anyway and we will figure something out.

----COMMUNICATION---

To prevent fraud and eliminate any ambiguity about the content of discussions, we require that all communication be in writing through the VRBO messaging application and/or by text message (if by text message, please specify the property about which you are messaging us). If you have an emergency that requires immediate communication with us, please text us. Please do not contact us using the number posted on the house as that number does not receive texts and phone calls go to our local contact, not the owners. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Christina
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016

About Christina

Alex and Christina live on the beach in Los Angeles with their three Siberian Huskies. They met in law school, got engaged 9 months later, and have been married since 2004. Alex enjoys snow boarding and surfing and is passionate about conservation. He is actively involved with several animal rescue organizations, with a particular focus on elephants. Christina grew up in the Tahoe foothills, but, at 36, is still learning to ski. She loves reading and going to the spa, and completed her first marathon in 2014.

Christina purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Christina chose Big Bear

No one wants to vacation in a grubby or dated house. The Snow Den has been newly renovated, with all new appliances, high end furnishings, resort-style amenities, and up-to-date technology. The cabin's rustic charm was preserved by restoring the original wood floors, adding tongue and grove ceilings, and furnishing the house with locally made wood furnishings.

A special note for families with pets:

We are pet-friendly people and this is a pet-friendly house.

The backyard is fully fenced. We do not charge a pet fee. The house is close to the lake, which is a real treat for dogs who enjoy chasing birds and splashing (we recommend an extendable leash to keep everyone safe; it's all fun and games until a bird gets hurt). We do NOT recommend this house for families with allergies to dog fur, since it is a dog friendly home. The cabin is also less than a mile from a snowy hill and park that is great for hiking.

What makes this cottage unique

Dog friendly with fully fenced back yard

Available for rent with neighboring property for large groups!

Walking distance to the lake, with lake views.

One mile from the village.

Three miles from Snow Summit.

Fully modernized, with new appliances and furnishings; high definition, wall mounted televisions; Tivo; Wii; and high speed WiFi.

Optional boat rental, at almost half the price charged by local marinas in a newer and faster ski and wakeboard boat.

PACKAGES:

Honeymoon package: $1,250 for one week, includes champagne and couples massage (fall and spring rate).

Lake Package: $1,500 for one week, includes use of Malibu VLX for half day (subject to availability of captain).

***Prices subject to availability and do not include tax. Offers not available on peak weekends or holidays***

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 48 reviews
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time renting a cabin and what a great experience overall. Nice and slightly rustic but with modern amenities. Decent sized backyard with a solid privacy fence, our larger dog (55 lb husky/shepherd mix) loved it! The cabin was well-stocked with utensils, a keurig and separate coffee maker, glasses, plates, etc. Bed was very comfortable, Netflix streaming and wi-fi, also just a couple minutes walk and you are at the lake. The village is only a 5 minute ride away. We walked there as well, a nice stroll with the dog admiring all the houses.... topped off our evenings relaxing in the hot tub. It was hard for us to leave but looking forward to a return trip in the future!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

I loved this property. Big comfy bed, fenced back yard for the dog, a hot tub (go in there at night and just look at the stars). This cabin was a perfect size for us (Two plus a pup) and we could've easily brought two more people and still had plenty of room! Thanks again for a great place to stay during our week in Big Bear! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Little Cabin!!

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at the Snow Den, we had a great time! The cabin is really nice, really clean and well taken care of. The larger bed is crazy comfortable, and we slept amazing every night.

A few minor downsides we noticed were that the ad must a be dated. In the ad it says that the Snow Den is equipped with a Nespresso machine, it isn't, it has a Keurig and a regular multi cup coffee maker. The reason I point this out is because at home we have a Keurig too and would have brought our favorite coffee instead of buying Folgers (meh). We also noticed that the ad said that dog bowls were provided, they weren't. It wasn't a big deal, we just had to refill our dogs water dish a LOT. And finally, the small couch in the living room is really hard for two people to get comfortable on.

These are all things that wouldn't deter me from staying at the Snow Den again, just things I think the owner needs to update in the listing. All in all we had a great time, and look forward to going back! :)

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The dog bowls are definitely still there - did you check the cupboard on top of the refrigerator? As for the Keurig, it never occurred to us that people would be upset that we provided one without advertising it! K-cups are generally kept above the sink, but we don't advertise the Keurig because we don't want guests disappointed if for some reason we run out of k-cups. We do provide a traditional coffee maker as well if you have a preferred coffee. As always, we invite guests to contact us with any questions during their stay so we can clear up any confusion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Beach, CA
5

Cozy Pet-Friendly Cottage-Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5

This is a cozy little cabin, just a short walk to the lake. We stayed two days with our 70 lb dog and both she and we loved it! The back yard is completely fenced in and pet-friendly. She (the dog) enjoyed lounging in the living room and looking out the large windows overlooking the lake. For us, the mattress on the larger bed in the back bedroom (the only one we tried) was incredibly comfortable and we really enjoyed streaming movies at the end of both adventure-filled days! The kitchen has all the supplies you need! Just pick up some K-cups (coffee), some groceries and make yourself a nice meal to eat while taking in the view of the lake. We did a lot of exploring on foot and the village/grocery/ski area is only a short drive away. Alex and Christina (the owners) are very friendly and responsive to questions; they got right back to us and were very accommodating. I do recommend bringing a roll of toilet paper just incase the previous renters didn't leave any, but as explained in the 'house rules," just let Alex and Christina know and they'll happily reimburse you. We are coming back for sure! I would recommend this cabin for couples, even two couples or a small family. My hubby travels for work and is in hotels 2-4 nights a week, so it was nice to enjoy a get-away in a comfortable homey atmosphere, rather than a sterile hotel room/suite, though I must say this place had everything we needed to make it a great home-away-from-home! Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Love the coziness

  • 5 of 5

This is my second time using this cabin. We love getting away and having our own comfort zone and this bacon has it! The cabin is gated, you have the privacy to enjoy the jacuzzi. Our two year old can play all day out side no real worries of him running out to the street. We literally spend all weekend doing nothing and we loved it. We are going back in August to enjoy the water this time. Best part is that it's carros the lake but you don't pay the expensive prices. Cabin is clean! Not old like you see a lot of other places. Super comfy and relaxing. Alex and Cristina are really friendly and will accommodate you. Highly recommend this place. It's our favorite get out of the city destination.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Escape!

  • 5 of 5

We chose this home after searching for a place close to where my family owned a cabin during the '70's through the '90's. My sister and I wanted to treat my parents to a weekend getaway in Big Bear - the place my father, in particular, had loved for so many years. We simply could not have been happier with our choice. A perfect layout for 4 people. Pride of ownership definitely comes through in this cabin. The home is super clean, and easy to navigate. It provided all of the modern amenities we desired, yet maintained the quaint and rustic mountain-cabin feel we wanted for our escape from the city. The owners (Christina and Alex) were fantastic - warm, friendly, and on-the-spot responsive. We had one issue when we first arrived and they were in direct contact with us almost immediately to resolve it satisfactorily. I highly recommend this place, and hope someday will be able to return myself.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
58 Miles
Ontario Airport
Nearest Golf
5.6 Miles
Big Bear Mountain Golf
Nearest Ski
3.1 Miles
Snow Summit
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter Break (Christmas)
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,250
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

*Saturday night visits must be accompanied by another night (either Friday or Sunday) at the weekend rate. The third night is priced at the standard weekly rate. If you want to make a Saturday and Sunday night reservation, we add an additional charge (normally $100 or $149) to the room rate for Sunday night to convert it into a weekend night. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Friday and Saturday night visits are, by default, priced properly.

*Please notify us if you are a repeat visitor; we are happy to waive the deposit for return guests.

*$400 deposit required for guests under 26; contact us for exceptions.

*Reservations not secured until first payment is made.

*Minimum Stay:
3 Night - MLK, President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day & July 4
4 Night - Thanksgiving
5 Night- Christmas, New Year's

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Big Bear Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Rear bedroom with King memory foam bed and high definition television. Front bedroom with Queen bed and partial lake view.
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
In home massages can be arranged for an extra fee- just ask! Wakeboard/water ski boat available for rental. Larger parties, please inquire about our neighboring rental, the Bears' Lair!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties