Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Best Family Vacation Home on Orcas Island!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

BEST FAMILY VACATION HOME ON ORCAS ISLAND

Looking for Orcas Island beachfront, spectacular views, 4+ bedrooms, 3+ baths, and a location within walking distance of town? Not many vacation homes meet this criteria, but North Shore Reef offers all these attributes and more. This spacious and attractive home is simply the perfect choice for family vacations and couples traveling together.

The property is conveniently located only one mile north of Eastsound Village, offering an easy walk to shops and restaurants via a public pathway. When you open the front door, a startling vista of sky, sea, and mountains will greet you through the large picture windows on the waterside of the home. Straight ahead, there is a view of Sucia Island and, in the distance, the snow-capped peaks of the Canadian Cascade range can be seen rising above neighboring islands. When the tide is high you may see whales and dolphins as they pass by in the deep water channel, and when the tide is low, the sandy offshore reef emerges from the sea to attract a variety of marine life, including birds, eagles, and otters.

The 3200 square foot residence is designed for casual and comfortable living. The entry, living room, and dining room are oriented toward the waterfront as is the terrace, where you will lounge, BBQ , dine alfresco, and bask in glorious sunsets. A partially fenced lawn with fire pit is on the western side of the property. From the bluff, a stairway connects to the pebble beach where the elements of nature can be appreciated at the shoreline.

Indoors, there is plenty of space for the entire group to cook, dine, and enjoy their time together. Meal preparation takes place in a large, well-stocked kitchen that features contemporary appliances, a work island, and a breakfast nook. The dining room offers seating around an expandable table and you will find a bedroom with a king bed just down the hall on the main level. Adjacent to this master bedroom is a bathroom with shower as well as an office/den equipped with a convertible sofa that is suitable for a child or extra guest. For flexibility, there is a door that enables you to enclose these three rooms into a private suite. A laundry room with extra toilet and sink are also located just off the kitchen on the main level.

Upstairs, overlooking the living room, is a loft with a sectional sofa and TV for watching television or movies. The loft separates two upper bedroom wings. One wing contains a bathroom with tub/shower and bedroom large enough to contain both a queen sized bed and twin/trundle. The additional two bedrooms are on the opposite side of the loft and share a third bathroom with tub/shower. The larger bedroom also contains both a queen sized bed plus a twin/trundle; the smaller offers a queen size bed.

Please note that when more than 10 guests are accepted, an additional fee of $50 per guest per night will apply. We’re sorry that the fireplace is not available for guest use. A small, well-behaved dog will be considered, subject to additional fees and the owner’s specific approval.

PLEASE BE ADVISED. Parties are not permitted under any circumstances and the guest occupancy limit will be strictly enforced during your stay.

LIMITED AVAILABILITY OF SERVICES (IMPORTANT NOTICE, PLEASE READ)

Vacation Doorways makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacation Doorways
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2017

About Vacation Doorways

Vacation Doorways is the largest LOCAL vacation rental company in the San Juan Islands. We represent more than 70 wonderful vacation homes located on San Juan, Orcas, & Lopez Islands.

When you rent a Vacation Doorway home:

• Our reservation staff will help you find the perfect home.

• The booking process is quick, easy, & secure.

• You’re protected by a Rental Agreement that spells out rates, terms, & conditions.

• Your reservation and payment are rapidly confirmed.

• The home you rent is professionally cleaned before you check-in.

���� A property manager is on call 24/7.

��� You�����re dealing with a highly experienced, reputable company.

�� You can be confident that you’ll have a wonderful vacation rental experience!

Amenities

Eastsound House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 1 King bed, 3 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Notes:
The home is cared for by a local property manager to make sure your stay goes smoothly. They will take care of making your reservation too!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Best Family Vacation Home on Orcas Island!
average rating of 4.885714 based on 35 reviews
Chico, CA
5

Wonderful Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This property in in a beautiful location on the north shore of Orcas Island. The views are stunning, the rooms are very large, our extended family ranging form 8 months to 67 years all loved our stay ansd were able to spread out comfortably. There is a big TV/lounge room on the second floor which allowed for different activities to not conflict. My favorite feature was a big double-ended, open sided couch in front of the big north facing window where one could sit side-by-side or facing to read or chat and enjoy the view of the water and islands. A small complaint I had was handled very fairly and amicably by the rental agency. The restaurant “Roses” in towns is a wonderful and delicious spot that accommodated the 8 of us (2 babies) without fuss. Loved this place!!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to visit the Islands and for staying with us at North Shore Reef. We appreciate your kind comments here as well as the feedback you provided. We do hope you will return to visit us again soon, Fall is here and the Islands are more magical than ever! Best Regards, General Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Long Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

AMAZING view! Quiet neighborhood located within walking distance to Eastsound activity.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sacramento, CA
4

A wonderful week!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A perfect location for a family gathering. Walking distance to kayaking and whale watching adventures. A pretty easy 1.5 mile walk to "downtown" Eastsound for dining and shopping. It was more pricy that what we typically pay for our family gathering at various west coast locations but could not beat the view, there was plenty of room to spread out and the house was well equipped including a yummy welcoming home-made quick bread.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
4

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

IT was a fine spot for a wonderful family vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family reunion and celebration of a landmark birthday

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I had a good sense of Orcas because my daughter and son in law visit often. They directed me to renting on the north part of the island because of the sunsets. The location could not have been better. Having large living spaces was a highlight including the big deck, grassy spaces for the grandkids and proximity to the water. being able to bike or walk to Eastsound was a plus. Only complaints were lack of recycle and garbage containers. I had to call several times and when an extra can was left there was already two bags of garbage in it. Would be nice to have had a pick up when renting for a week. Also there only two kitchen towels. There were several plumbing issues (could not use one tub), dripping sinks. Becky, a local caretaker was able to help us when we called. I would highly recommend this spot and hope to rent it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carlsbad, CA
4

Birthday and family reunion North Shore Reef

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Pro: Beautiful location, spacious layout Deck area is amazing. Cons: had a cat living on the deck furn cushions, are allergic and had dog with us. Place could use a good scrubbing, deferred maintenance issues in master shower, dirty bedspreads, sand in sheets and mattress. Only 1 bath towel pp, no extras for $800/nite seems stingy, but brought more when requested.Neighbors seem to have a lumber yard, chain saw noise.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Doorways
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing to visit the Islands and for staying at one of our properties. We also appreciate the review you have made here and take to heart your comments. I have followed up with our staff with respect to the issues you have mentioned and resolution is being pursued immediately. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to have a chance in the future to meet and exceed your expectations on another visit. Best Regards, General Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees