Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kauai - Top Floor/Beach Front Condo at Pono Kai Resort in Kapaa

Bedrooms 1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

1BR/1BA, next to the beach, sleeps 2-4, very private, outstanding view

LOCATION, LOCATION – the best way to enjoy your stay is in a 3rd (top) floor beachfront condo like Building B at the Pono Kai Resort. Leave the lanai curtains open and enjoy the sound of waves on the beach, feel the trade wind breeze, and watch the sun rise each morning. Our condo faces east and outsiders cannot observe the occupants. Unit is accessible by stairs or elevator. The Pono Kai Resort is located in the town of Kapaa on 13 tropical acres. This family oriented resort has many daily activities and complimentary equipment for all, including: outdoor Jacuzzi, large pool, indoor sauna, multiple propane barbecues, picnic tables, tennis courts, volleyball court, shuffleboard, putting green, bocce ball, ping pong, and croquet court. Feed the fish in the Japanese Koi pond. Take a short walk to 'Baby Beach', a protected ocean pool for toddlers to enjoy the ocean. Our condo features free WiFi internet access, free phone within Kauai, cable TV, CD & DVD players, music & video library. Parking is free.

A new popular 8-mile oceanfront path is a wonderful place to walk, jog or bike. The Pono Kai Resort is close to supermarkets, drug stores, banks and a variety of restaurants.

More Details

Anna Daddazio and Harley Gee
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 14, 2018

About Anna Daddazio and Harley Gee

We're a retired San Francisco couple who enjoy traveling, sailing, and golfing.

Anna Daddazio and Harley Gee purchased this condo in 2014

Why Anna Daddazio and Harley Gee chose Kapaa

We've rented this condo from the prior owners for over 15 years. It's the best condo in the best location. We like the people of Kapaa and always feel right at home. Kapaa is only 7.6 miles from the Lihue Airport and is located mid way between Poipu and Princeville, which are on opposite ends of the main highway.

What makes this condo unique

Our east facing condo is only a stone's throw from the beach. Because it's on the 3rd floor, the unobstructed view from the living room is of the ocean and the tops of a few palm trees. We never close the curtains because we're too high for anyone to see in. We enjoy watching the sunrise and feeling the trade winds. We're away from the general foot traffic. Few people use the 2 mile bike path or beach near the condo. If you don't like crowds, this is the place.


Kapaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Safety grab rails near toilet and in shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sofa bed in living room sleeps 2
  • dresser and large closet. TV and alarm clock.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
One time housekeeping charge of $110


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Kauai - Top Floor/Beach Front Condo at Pono Kai Resort in Kapaa
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

Needs a little work

  • 2 of 5

Review #16449894 “Kauai - Top Floor/Beach Front Condo at Pono Kai Resort in Kapaa”

Needs a little work

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Perfect location and beautiful view!! cleaning staff need to do a little better work.

We had no kitchen linens and coffee maker was missing. We did get the coffee maker but never received any kitchen linens. It should be made more clear in the advertisement that there is NO air conditioning. Unfortunately with the unit being so warm it attracted cockroaches. (we have pictures)

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1. Regarding kitchen linens. The condo has dish towels for the kitchen. A few should have been set out and some are stored in the kitchen drawer. We do not provide napkins and table cloths. Our VRBO site says linens and towels are provided, meaning sheets and bath towels. 2. Coffee maker. The unit does come with a coffee maker. It may have been removed or broken by a previous guest. Our on site manager replaced it when requested. 3. We do not have air conditioning. Our VRBO site description states, "Air Conditioning: No A/C as condo receives good trade winds and each room has ceiling fans." 4. You state "Unfortunately with the unit being so warm it attracted cockroaches." The Pono Kai resort sprays the unit each quarter and in early November we had an exterminator make a special trip to inspect and spray. Kauai has cockroaches and many times they are attracted by guests' failures to dispose of garbage regularly. Roaches are in rental cars and transportation of luggage brings cockroaches to a unit. We have been letting this unit for over 2 years and have never heard the above complaints. We wish our all our guests an enjoyable stay and address all issues raised.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time coming to Kauai. We (my husband and I) stayed 9 days. Great for 2 people-- maybe 3 people if the couch was used but we didn't need to try it out. We loved the location of this resort as it was central for many of the places we were going to go visit. We walked to a few good restaurants within a mile. The condo was in very nice condition when we arrived. We loved that each room had large ceiling fans to help keep the rooms cool, especially if the winds were low. There are also small oscillating fans as well. There was only one night we were a little warm, but it was doable without ac (at least for the time we came). The condo is equipped with great items that we used throughout our trip-- beach chairs, boogie boards, small cooler with ice packs, beach towels & umbrella. We loved being able to use the blender or frying pan and fix our own breakfast in the morning and then pack a lunch for our adventures for the day. We came to do lots of hiking, kayaking, boat rides , beach hopping, running- very active things. We loved having the running/walking path just outside our door. Loved the key paid entrance instead of a key. Great to sit our for a meal or just relax on the chairs. Anna & Harley (owners) were great about answering questions we had and with paperwork sent to us ahead of time to know what to expect. We would add hiking poles to the list to bring since the trails we were on were so muddy. Luckily we brought ours. They were also very kind to accommodate us a little longer on the check out date since we had a late flight that night and they didn't have anyone coming in. We are able to have one more full day of fun in Kauai! The only problem we had a little trouble with was getting a good connection always with the internet but hey, we were on vacation so not a huge deal. We just wanted to use it to download some the pictures we had taken. We are hoping to be back some day!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Grangeville, Idaho USA

Nice place with great view

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 12 days in December. It was her dream come true and the view was fantastic. The perfect place for two people who share the same bed. Everything you need to play or stay is here. The exception in our experience was lack of paper products, trash bags, and towels. But we were here for 12 days and that was brought to the attention of the owners so others on extended stays will be better outfitted.

I was up by daylight every day and out on the walking path or walking around town. The view is fabulous. I was able to take wonderful Sunrise and moon rise photos nearly every day. Absolutely a great place to stay.

The resort offers recommended activities with some discounts available. I did their recommended helicopter tour and it was fantastic. We rode the shuttle to the Luau they sign you up for and it was great. My wife and I did the island airplane tour with the company the resort recommends and I would not recommend it to anyone. Good pilot but the seating was horrible. Folks getting out of the back seats before us could not walk, as my wife was unable to walk either after the flight. Her knees were in her chest and no where for her feet as the rear window seat was up against the one in front. Frayed seatbelts, improper steps, etc. Find another company. That has nothing to do with the owners of this Condo, just what the resort recommends.

We hope to go back again and would stay in this same unit next time. It was fabulous.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Marty from Washington State

  • 3 of 5

Walking into the condo was open to such a beautiful view of the ocean and beach of Kapaa. The condo was very clean and comfortable. We loved the grounds of Pono Kai including the gardens, pool, hot tub and friendly lobby. WiFi worked well in the Lobby area if you need to keep in contact with family.

The condo was well equipped for 2 people who wish to sleep in a queen bed. I don't feel this unit will work otherwise as I tried to sleep on the advertised sofa bed and it never extended out completely. That was a complaint by two other parties in 2013. I slept on the floor using the cushions from the sofa by wrapping sheets around them. This unit is advertised on VRBO for four people but the unit will not even be comfortable for two people who don't wish to sleep together. There aren't enough towels for four. The owners argue with me about this problem rather than fix it so I won't be staying there again.

I do think the Pono Kai is a very nice condo complex with gorgeous ocean views. The location is very central for excursions.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all guest comments. Soon after our on-site property manager was made aware of problems with the sofa bed, it was inspected and returned to full function. To ensure your full enjoyment, all issues affecting your use of the condo should be brought to our attention as soon as possible. Our one bedroom condo with sofa bed can provide sleeping accommodations for up to four people. It is ideal for shorter stays, individuals on a budget or accompanied by children. However, if you need the privacy of another bedroom, convenience of a real bed, or more closet and dresser space; a two bedroom unit may be more appropriate. Mahalo, Anna & Harley
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Auburn, California

Perfect location when staying in Kapaa!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay at this condo. Last year, we stayed in a different condo place in Kapaa which required driving to town, so we were looking forward to trying this one, which is closer to town. For months before we even arrived, the owners were great about communicating with us by email or phone. The detailed information sheets they sent were certainly appreciated. When we arrived, our room was ready. We enjoyed the one-bedroom versus a hotel room because we were able to have our bags out of the main living area. The location could not have been better. We loved being able to enjoy the ocean from the lanai. We walked the path along the ocean and walked into town several times, which was very convenient and enjoyable. (You can absorb a place much more when walking rather than driving.) We loved the convenience of the coded lock key on the front door. We never had to worry about remembering a door key or a card key. We have found the place we will stay each year we visit Kauai, and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
7.6 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Wailua Municipal Golf Course - long & inexpensive
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

end of stay cleanup $110

Note that $145/night INCLUDES Hawaiian taxes of 14.25%. Rate is only $127/night before taxes are added. The owner only receives $145/night and one time cleaning fee of $110. Booking through VRBO are charged a fee by VRBO. Guests who book directly with us are not charged this feel. Hawaii Tax ID#179-550-8224-01.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties