Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gulf Front Fifth Floor 2br/2ba with Absolutely Stunning Views!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

PLEASE NOTE: On August 22 and 23 we will be away from all internet and phone signal and we will NOT be able to respond to messages or requests to book.

If you are planning to request a booking during that time PLEASE WAIT until the morning of friday the 24th to make that request. We will be able to respond first thing the morning of the 24th. Thank you.

Note: VRBO now has a SERVICE FEE that they charge guests, which is not our fee and we see none of that money. Wanted to be clear with guests about that...

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit is on the 5th floor of a low density complex that only has 6 floors, so the view is grand from our balcony! This complex is one of Gulf Shores’ most popular rental complexes, with affordable rates, convenience of walking to restaurants/shopping and DIRECT gulf -front condos.

The living room has a large window showing a stunning view of the sugar sand beach and sparkling blue waves below. From the balcony you will enjoy watching the activities on the beach, the red sunset or taking a nap listening to the methodical rolling of waves against the shore.

The master bedroom has a king size bed and a private bath. The new flat screen tv has been wall mounted for easy viewing from bed. This tv has a built-in DVD player as well as cable.

The second bedroom has a beautiful view of the beach through the double windows! It has a queen bed, a wall mounted flat screen tv with cable.

The living room has a large flat screen TV with cable and an XBOX 360 for the kids enjoyment! The XBOX 360 will allow game play and also plays DVDs (we do not provide video games or dvd's). It has built in WIFI, so connecting to XBOX live with YOUR OWN ACCOUNT is a snap!. It also has a sleeper sofa.

The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could want, the dining area has seating for four.

The sparkling pool is located on the north side of the complex, which keeps sand and debris from blowing into it constantly. It has plenty of seating for laying out in the sun or watching the kids swim.

Please NOTE: Standard security deposit is $200. Also, I answer vrbo inquiries once each day, usually after 9 pm central time. I have a full time job and therefore generally cannot answer inquiries during the day. Thank you for understanding.

We are sometimes asked if we give military discounts. We do not give military discounts, however, we donate 8 full weeks per year to Operation Reconnect. Operation Reconnect is a Non-Profit organization that provides complimentary vacations to combat veterans and their families.

The Island Shores complex is a low density, family oriented facility with only 59 units in a building with 6 floors. It is located in the heart of Gulf Shores, with shopping, Alabama State Fishing Pier, restaurants, fresh seafood markets and much more all within walking distance of the unit. The Sea and Suds is a wonderful restaurant on the beach within a stone’s throw of our complex.

No smoking and no pets inside any of the units at Island Shores!

There is a drink vending machine, a coin operated laundry and of course an elevator and luggage carts for your convenience.

The Complex is within a short drive of several grocery stores (including a Wal -Mart Supercenter), pharmacies, package stores, movie rentals, spas, deep sea fishing charters, movie theaters, golf courses, water parks, mini golf, the Tanger Outlet Mall in Foley, Gulf Shores State Park, the Alabama Birding Trail and Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge.

There is a great local cheesemaker near the condo in Elberta Alabama, about 20 minutes away. Sweet Home Farms has a small herd of Guernsey milk cows that they milk to produce a variety of high quality cheeses. They produce cheeses ranging from incredibly smooth to wonderfully sharp! The blue cheese is unbelievable! They are open friday and saturday only from 10 am til 5 pm.

History buffs can ride out to Fort Morgan State Park, built in 1834 and heavily used during the civil war. For those that want to visit her sister fort across Mobile Bay, Fort Gaines, they can take the interesting ride on the car ferry over to Dauphin Island! Makes a great day trip!

For those that have never experienced the night life on the beach, you are in for a wonderful time. There are many night clubs in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach. The Pink Pony and The Hangout are a half mile from our condo. Live Bait is a popular spot in Orange Beach. All have live music most of the time. One of the best places to experience the Gulf Coast nightlife and meet people ages 18 to 80 is the world famous roadhouse, the Florabama Lounge. Located right on the Alabama/Florida line, the Florabama has beach access, great food and some of the best live music around, but don’t take the kids past 6 pm… unless they are at least 18 years old!

Island Shores is only an hour away from Mobile Alabama, 30 minutes from Pensacola Florida, and 10 minutes from Foley, Alabama. Located directly on the beach at 421 East Beach Blvd, ½ half mile east of where 59 ends at the public beach in Gulf Shores. From I-10, take highway 59 to Gulf Shores and take a left on East Beach Blvd, then go ½ mile and Island Shores is on the right. From the Foley Beach Express, after going through the toll bridge keep going straight until you dead end into Canal Road, then take a right and follow it to 59 and take another left, then when 59 dead ends at the beach take another left and go ½ mile and Island Shores is on your left.

If you happen to be in need of two adjoining units, then please ask because we have friends that own unit 554 right beside our unit and we can get you in touch with them and coordinate rentals during the same time frame.

If you prefer a 2 bedroom unit, we have 3 other condos, all 2 bedroom direct beachfront units, at Island Shores in Gulf Shores. Check out our 5th floor unit at Island Shores at VRBO #555510. We also own a 2nd floor unit at Island Shores, VRBO 555508 and our 4th floor Island Shores unit is listed with VRBO as number 681060. We also have a 2 bedroom that is a less expensive, but it is not direct beach view. It is on the canal behind Papa Rocco's Pizza in Gulf Shores a few blocks from the beach. It is Venetian Isle vrbo #910888. To view any of these other VRBO listings, just type in the VRBO listing number above into the search line in VRBO.

Minimum rental age for this unit is 21, but we might consider renting to responsible 19 or 20 year olds with a higher deposit. We also have 3 other beachfront units that have a minimum rental age of 21. They are vrbo 55508, 681060 and 681059. We do have one other unit (NOT direct beach front) that has a minimum age of 19. It is Venetian Isle Condos behind Papa Rocco's on the canal in Gulf Shores. VRBO #910888.

Enjoy your stay!

More Details

Owner
Jeff & Judy Thurmond
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2018

About Jeff & Judy Thurmond

We purchased our condo to give us a place to get away from the rat race of life. We love the relaxing pace at the beach and break away from work as often as we can to go to our condo.

Jeff & Judy Thurmond

Judy Thurmond is a licensed Realtor in Alabama and Florida

Jeff & Judy Thurmond purchased this condo in 2013

Why Jeff & Judy Thurmond chose Gulf Shores

We bought at Island Shores because it is close to everything!

What makes this condo unique

Island Shores is a low density complex within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and even the Hangout.

Amenities

Gulf Shores Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 5
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Private Bath
    Beach Bedroom - 1 queen , Has XBOX 360
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gulf Front Fifth Floor 2br/2ba with Absolutely Stunning Views!!
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
5

Right on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was great! It is right on the beach and a great view from the living room and balcony. The building was clean and quiet - no issues. Great communication. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5

It was a pleasant and relaxing stay at this condo, so close to the beach. Jeff and Judy were always very quick to respond to any questions. We'll definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This condo unit is great! Perfect view and location!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing trip to Gulf Shores! This unit had everything we needed and the location could not have been more perfect! Close to the elevator and walk right out onto the beach. The beds were comfy and kitchen had the essentials. We watched the dolphins swim by from the unit balcony every morning, it was an amazing sight! Judy went above and beyond for us and we will definitely be visiting again and staying in this unit.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Weather was great, Condo was not

  • 3 of 5

The weather was great and the condo was ok. the den couch and chairs need to be replaced. they are worn out . the table is to high for the chairs. It needs a good cleaning. Several things in kitchen and bath needs replacing. Won't rent it again

  • Submitted: May 7, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If there was a problem with cleaning, then we should have been alerted immediately so we could have had the cleaner come back out to remedy the issue. We have not had one complaint about our cleaner after dozens of stays in 5 different units. Maybe there was another reason guest did not want cleaner on site.. Guest contacted us when he first arrived to say there was no parking pass left for him... we forwarded photo from cleaner showing the parking pass left on counter, which they always take as a part of their quality control efforts. Pass was immediately "found" and then he said he needed to buy a second pass.... interesting to say the least. Couch does not show wear but is scheduled to be replaced this winter anyway because my wife doesn't like the pattern. Recliner is only 2 years old. Sorry for the issues you experienced. Next time please do let us know on the front end of your stay if you have an issue instead of hitting us with a bad review when we cannot correct the issue!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
High Ridge, MO
5

Don't Want to go home!

  • 5 of 5

Very beautiful beach and relaxing.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We have never been to Gulf Shores before but was invited to a beach wedding so destination- here we come! A no-frills condo but had everything we absolutely needed. The owners were always quick to answer if we needed anything and if we ever plan a trip back, will definitely look at this condo before anywhere else. The annual Shrimp Festival was going on, and this town made navigating through it almost painless. My husband and I did walk down to the festival since the center of town is less than half a mile away. Loved sitting on the balcony people watching and realized if you have small kids, this would be the perfect place for a family to be. Thank you Jeff and Judy Thurmond for allowing us to rent your condo for the week!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.