Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

6 Miles to Downtown Hayward! Full Recreation 500+ Acre Lake; Private, Wooded Lot

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Magical wonder 35 feet from mystical Windigo Lake.

Picture perfect, panoramic views of this beautiful 500 acre lake from the south facing family room and wrap around deck. Cozy, Northwood’s cabin on over 1.6 acres with charming wood interior on main level and large 3 season room.

The newly renovated lower level features a generous master bedroom with gas fireplace, sizeable bathroom with soaking tub and dual sinks, stackable washer/dryer and adorable bunk room.

Enjoy 200’ of lakeshore with low elevation and sandy bottom swimming area. Relax amidst the charming landscaping while lounging in the Adirondack chairs on the fish-shaped stone patio.

More Details

John and Chris Knapek
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About John and Chris Knapek

John and Chris -

We live in Lakeville, MN with our 6 (yes, 6!!) kids!

John and Chris Knapek purchased this cabin in 2013

Why John and Chris Knapek chose Hayward

Chris's parents also have a lake home in the area. We have been coming up here for many years and have completely fallen in love with the area and the community. We even honeymooned up here!

When it came time to find our own place, the location choice was the easy part. We knew we wanted to be close to downtown and everything that Hayward has to offer. When we saw the charm and character of this cabin with the potential to expand the living area, the massive garage with loft space and the absolute stunning lake views just 35 feet from the waters edge, we knew it had to be ours! Plus, we are located only 6 miles away from downtown Hayward!!

We continue to put our personal stamp on the property, and we know it will be a long process to get everything exactly the way that we want it. It is a labor of love and legacy for our family and we look forward to sharing our special little piece of heaven with you and yours!!


Hayward Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Lower level bathroom features a soaking tub.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed
  • Also available: sofa bed, futon, 2 pack-n-play cribs
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
6 Miles to Downtown Hayward! Full Recreation 500+ Acre Lake; Private, Wooded Lot
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at this north woods cabin for a week. It was not only the perfect location (10 minutes from Hayward) but it was the perfect family cabin. It had more space than we would ever need for our family of 5 and the dog! The many rooms were all full of comfy and quality furniture which made it very easy to rest and relax. The best part of it all was how close the cabin is to the lake. One of the family rooms walls were all windows so the lake was always in view! The sunsets and sunrises were unbelievable thanks to the incredible view from the house as well as the fact that the cabin was so close to the lake. The water was clear and clean around the shore. Boating and tubing was a ton of fun. The cabin has a nice dock that allows you to jump off the end as the water is roughly 6ft deep from the edge. Overall, our family loved this cabin, the location couldn’t be better, views were jaw dropping and the quiet lake made it a fun family experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great guest review! We always enjoy knowing that our guest find -- what my wife and I, and many, many other guests find our cabin to be advertised as! Private, great location, and stunning!! --- especially the views! We love our location and love that almost all guests see what we see when we first laid eyes upon it! Thanks Randy Satterfield for enjoying it during your week! We hope to see you and your family back again and again....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The lake is beautiful and the home is nice. Please know the property you are renting is not private, as the owners created living space for themselves above the garage, and vacation/stay on the premises, at their discretion, during your rental period. The 200' of lakeshore advertised in listing is also inaccurate. Rental property lakeshore is shared with owners. The owners built a separate pier and keep their boat on rented property. It feels like a classic 'have your cake and eat it too' scenario.

We have enjoyed vacations homes via VRBO and have never had such a disappointment. The owners, and I'm now quoting VRBO customer service, "did not care about our rental experience". We intended to accommodate this non-private rental, simply because the lake is beautiful, however after purchasing groceries the evening of our arrival, only to wake the next morning to a non-functioning refrigerator and a trash bag full of spoiled food, we sadly felt we had no choice but to leave. Despite the owners being right next door, they proudly proclaimed their response was within "12 hours"... Obviously communication failed, and the owner response "we're sorry you feel that way", did very little to make us feel welcome.

In addition (it would be irresponsible not to mention) the owners did not have the respect nor the courtesy to inform us the lot adjacent to the house was sold and construction underway, prior to our arrival. I understand this is beyond their control, but it certainly impacts the rental/vacation experience. During our initial tour of the property, and noticing the homesite right outside the kitchen window, it was casually mentioned by owner, "construction crews start 7am Monday morning."

I have never submitted a negative review, but sincerely want to save another family from a horrible experience. Perhaps the owners will change their attitude toward those renting their property, or perhaps a family compound living arrangement appeals to you, regardless, please go into this vacation rental with eyes wide open.

Note the one star given is for Windigo Lake. It deserves 5. The overall experience with rental, 0 stars.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests were upset that we were offering a discount for the week following their stay. We couldn’t use it ourselves given our daughter’s scheduled kidney transplant surgery. They asserted that we were advertising that week for “half-off” and wanted appeasement. We stated that it was being offered for $400 off, not 50%. We’d already given them a $300 discount for their 3 dogs and we offered another $100 to make the total discount $400 to match the following week. That wasn’t good enough for them. Upon arrival, the wife became upset that the neighbors had kids. She stated that she already raised her kids and didn’t want to deal with them on her vacation. John went to the neighbors, asking them to make sure the kids stayed off our property. At that time, they informed John that construction was taking place a couple of days that week. John asked for a delay, but it couldn’t be rescheduled. We hadn’t been there for 3 weeks and weren’t aware that construction was occurring that week. John informed the guests as soon as he found out. We couldn’t have informed the guests any sooner. Our neighbor’s project is mostly complete and will be a moot point for future guests. Although our refrigerator works fine, we responded within 90 minutes of being notified of a possible temperature issue, asking if we could enter the cabin that morning to repair/replace it if necessary. We also have a smaller fridge downstairs that they could’ve used. We respond to questions immediately and resolve concerns within 12 hours of being informed. Our past guests have raved about how welcoming we’ve been, and we didn't do anything differently with these guests. We never stated to VRBO that we didn’t care about our guest’s rental experience. We defended ourselves against threats by these guests. These guests knew we lived in MN, not on property, and John was leaving to prepare for his daughter’s surgery. They knew Chris was staying at her parent’s cabin 20 minutes away until the surgery if they needed anything. We try to remain nearby during the first 24 hours of a rental week in case anything arises. Our past guests have appreciated our efforts to make sure they have a wonderful and memorable stay. While we have a dock at the other end of the property, there is still 200’ of lakeshore to use. We’d put our lake up against any other full-recreational lake in Hayward, WI regarding beauty and privacy. We are happy to share testimonials and video that prove how peaceful our property is.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property with a wonderful view.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the property. Very nice.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Family Get-together Site

  • 4 of 5

John and Chris are extremely nice hosts, showed genuine concern for our group's well-being! We really enjoyed the lakeside and generous upper deck seating ... spent hours out there observing families of loons, ducks, turtles, etc. Hummingbirds are frequent visitors as well. The kitchen is very well-equipped, even for large group meal preparation. Previous reviewers mentioned how clean the lake was on their visits, but the lake was disappointingly green and thick with algae this year, evidently an aberration. The downstairs remodel is gorgeous! The two upstairs bedrooms were pretty tight on space for two adults each, but two kids would be fine in those rooms for sure. We really had a nice, relaxing week in this large cabin. Downtown Hayward is a short drive away and we took advantage of those amenities as well. Thanks, John and Chris!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our beautiful cabin. Our cabin does offer what we have advertised. An awesome location, great view and many ways to enjoy 'quintessential' NW Wisc! :) While we are happy our cabin was met with appreciation -- the lake is disappointing to me, my wife and all others who own on this lake -- it must be stated that my wife and I (and other owners here) on Windigo Lake are still able to swim in this lake. We have two young 6 yr old boys and we've all not been stopped from swimming in the water this summer despite the color. Although we lament the color, the description of "thick" and "algae" is absolutely not accurate. Cloudy would be more accurate... The resulting green color is apparently from all the nutrients that have been 'flooded' into this lake from some or all adjacent bogs that surround Windigo Lake. The flooding of nutrients are from the over abundance of rain the NW part of Wisconsin, and moreover -- the Upper Midwest in general has been receiving this year. Residents who have lived on this lake over 60 years have never seen the lake this way before.... The rain and resulting nutrients have placed the lake into an "Atrophic" or 'shocked' state. Hoping in the next few weeks to months, the lake will return itself to it's usual welcoming, crystal and clear condition that past guests have found it to be. Thank you again for your stay in Hayward, WI. John and Christina Knapek
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful peaceful cabin over looking the lake!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is beautiful! Has everything we wanted and much more! John and Chris were on top of everything and made sure our stay was amazing! I will definitely come back and stay here in the future!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Harley & guests, You and all of your 'crew' are very welcome to come-back to visit us! Wife and I love to have a young group of people enjoy our cabin like you all seemed to do, over Memorial weekend 2017. Feeling bad that the weather didn't seem to cooperate, but that didn't seem to stop you guys from enjoying your time at our "little slice of heaven"! John and Chris Knapek
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our annual family northwoods getaway

  • 5 of 5

John and Chris' cabin and property was the perfect setting for a memorable family vacation with three generations. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back! Greeted warmly by John, who gave us a mini-tour of the cabin when we arrived, we instantly were drawn lakeside. The property truly is special - a cabin with tons of character, built close to the water on a beautiful bay with neighboring cabins, yet with a feeling of real seclusion and privacy. Between the dock, hammock, deck (great for morning coffee!) and *fabulous* family room with floor-to-ceiling screened windows, there are several options to enjoy the view, rain or shine. The fishing was rewarding - tons of nice-sized pan fish right off the dock - and we enjoyed kayaking and canoeing as well. (Plenty to explore on the lake if you're up for it!) We also enjoyed the loon couple that visited daily and serenaded us with that hauntingly beautiful call every night - the quintessential northwoods experience! Biking and hiking were a big part of our week - plenty of places to do both - and the town of Hayward is worth visiting. The cabin itself has a super layout with great common areas (did I mention the family room?) and plenty of private spaces, an open kitchen that's fun to work in and offers a nice view of the lake, and a thoughtfully and beautifully remodeled walk-out. We've stayed in many VRBOs and this layout was definitely one of our favorites. Finally, Chris and John couldn't have been more attentive. They happened to be staying above the garage on the property the week we rented, and were available anytime to answer questions, etc. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne.... Thank you for your positive review after your stay with us at our lake cabin during the Fourth of July 2016. Chris and I both are so happy you all loved our place and hope we continue to see you and your group as the years come. Glad to have had the opportunity to meet your "quintessential Hayward Northern Wisc getaway" needs --- at our 'li'l slice of heaven' on Windigo Lake... John and Chris Knapek
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


6 miles from downtown Hayward - home of the world famous Lumberjack Championship, Fat Tire, and Birkebeiner ski race. Nearby wineries, brew pub, homemade candy shop, go cart track, atv trails, Fishing Hall of Fame and LCO Casino. Also close to Stone Lake - home of the famous Cranberry Festival.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $200 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax

Fees: Refundable Damage Deposit: $500 / Cleaning: $150 + tax / Pet Fee: $200 + tax / Taxes: 5.5%
Please mention dates, quantity/approximate ages of guests (children 3 years of age and younger are free) and any pets. Event rates are a flat fee for up to 6 Guests with a 7 night maximum. There will be an additional charge for extra Guests and nights. Responses are usually within 12-24 hours. Rates are subject to change until the reservation is confirmed. Reservation must be cancelled 60 days prior to the arrival date to receive a full refund of the $500 deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.