Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ringtail Cabin - Low on cost but high on Comfort

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Small solar cabin with a full kitchen, full bath with Full size bed and futon.

Ringtail Cabin is an ideal vacation rental for budget minded visitors, anyone wanting to conserve fossil fuels, or anyone needing access for a low clearance vehicle of motorcycle. But don't be fooled by the low price, solar panels, or easy access. This cozy cabin is very well appointed with a full kitchen and comfortable furnishings, the solar system is backed-up by a propane generator, and the nearest neighbor is over a quarter mile away.

Enjoy the mountain views, amazing sunrises, spectacular sunsets, and stunning starry skies from the Ringtail property, or drive into the nearby parks, Terlingua, or the Ghost-Town for all the adventure and entertainment that the Big Bend has to offer.

More Details

Property Manager
Janet Eby
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2017

Amenities

Terlingua Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Full size bathroom with huge shower stall.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Ringtail Cabin - Low on cost but high on Comfort
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews
5

Great springboard to adventures in Big Bend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Ringtail Cabin while taking day hike excursions into Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park. The Cabin is about 28 miles from Big Bend, but in the scheme of how far things are apart in the Big Bend Region, that isn't all that far. The cabin is exactly as advertised. The "swamp cooler" actually worked fairly well to cool the place after a hot day in the sun (It was close to 100 degrees some of the days we were there). We had a small problem with ants coming in through a small hole under the kitchen windowsill the second day we were there. The owners promptly addressed the problem when we emailed them. The ant problem did not recur. The cabin does not have a TV or microwave, but I actually found it refreshing to be away from modern conveniences for a week. We thoroughly enjoyed both our sightseeing/hiking in the area and staying at Ringtail Cabin.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

This ended up being perfect for our Big Bend adventure. It takes a little bit to get out to the cabin from the park, but the privacy is worth it. Everything worked great and watching the sun rise over the mountains in the morning was so relaxing. I even saw a jackrabbit come within 20 feet of the kitchen window. Would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute but remote.

  • 4 of 5

All amenities were provided and all systems to battle the desert heat and shortage of water worked! Beautiful sunsets and very quiet. The only concern is the distance from Terlingua and Big Bend Nat'l park.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Katy, Texas
5

It was the perfect little home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed April 29-May 4, 2016. For the price, we got way more then we bargained for. The place was clean and well supplied. Waking up to the Volcano out the front and Mountains out the back ... took my breath away. Thank god for your wifi, as we had little phone reception ANYWHERE! It was nice to come back after a long day and reconnect with family and friends at home.

We brought our lounge chairs and sat under the stars and OMG ... there is NOTHING like it!!

The cabin was a welcome sight at the end of the day and both bed and ottoman were comfortable.

Terlingua has plenty of places to get good food! The ghost town and cemetery are a must see.

Our favorite adventure? I recommend you make the drive in the direction to Presidio, Texas. I'd not EVER experienced this kind of beauty and rugged terrain. Big Bend is magnificent! We saw a bear, a coyote, lots and lots of rabbits and saw a hawk sweep down and catch a red snake and carry it off.... we also ran over about 5 of them. Sorry, not sorry.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Ringtail Cabin in March

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was itself basic (as expected ) but we did not expect a bed only 15 inches off the ground and a hard mattress (no box springs). Described was a full bed so our expectations were a normal bed. I only mention the bed because this was the only real problem Sleeping well so you can hike 6 - 8 hours is so important and this did not happen on this bed ( sleep well) All the owner needs to do is put in a nice bed. People expect the bed to be nice and comfortable when pay the nightly amount asked.. Having to turn the shower on with a wrench did not even bother me because I know this is temporary,for the next guest it will be fixed.

The cabin itself was very clean which is also an essential. People leaving supplies was so nice because it made you feel like a family (even though we brought all our own). The kitchen stove, oven and refrigerator were very nice. Basic cooking supplies were provided as were the cleaning supplies.

Suggestions I have that would not cost more than 100 ( less than a nights rent) are to add one box or standing fan, 2 more forks ( had 3) so can cook and not have to clean to use them to eat with and a small microwave ( just to rewarm/cook ) like baked potatoes. Having to cook potatoes in the oven for an hour wastes your propane and heats up the house considerably. Breeze was nice but once house heated it was hard to cool naturally. Having the fan would have helped considerably .

The fun of being away from the city is to cook and not eat out!

I would have rated the cabin a 5 if the bed had been comfortable. I love a firm bed but this one was like sleeping on the floor .

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and for the comments and suggestions. We try our best to anticipate and accommodate all our guests’ preferences and needs. We wish you had mentioned your concerns during your stay. If you had, we could have resolved all of your concerns within an hour or two. • Bed: You mentioned the bed is too hard and low for your comfort. The bed is indeed a little firm and low to the ground. Some people like hard, some like soft, some like tall, some like low. You mentioned that our description of the bed as “full” led you to expect it to be “normal”. “Full” is a bed size that is slightly smaller than a queen. Sorry if you were not familiar with the term. This bed is designed to be low. This is a common and trendy design that is preferred by many. We are sorry that it was not what you would have preferred. Had you mentioned your concern with the bed’s firmness, we would have brought out a mattress topper. We’ve used one there in the past, but about half of our guests would remove it because many prefer a firmer bed. • Shower handle: We’re sorry you had to deal with the broken shower handle. It was fixed after your visit. The guest before you broke the old one. It took a few days to have a replacement shipped out. • Clean and well stocked: We take pride keeping the cabin clean and well stocked. Glad you noticed these positive points. Sorry you only found three forks. There should be six. We will look for the others and replace them. If you had mentioned this concern during your stay, we’d have brought you more forks. • Fan: We’d like to provide one or more fans. Unfortunately, this is a solar powered cabin with limited power. When we provided fans in the past it resulted in power outages from draining the batteries. That said, we’ve recently upgraded the battery bank. We’ll go ahead and bring in a fan or two. The new system can handle it. If you had mentioned this concern during your stay, we’d have definitely brought you out a fan. • Microwave: Due to the limited power and counter space we do not have a microwave. This is a solar power home. A microwave is a major energy hog. We hope you will stay with us again. If you do, please do not hesitate to call regarding any concerns. We can and will happily and quickly resolve them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Thanksgiving 2016 Hiking Vacation

  • 4 of 5

After coming to grips with the fact that the cabin was 20 miles from Terlingua, we found it to be quiet, well-equipped and a great comfort after a day of hiking. All in all, the place was well-appointed, in great shape and we would stay again on a future trip.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
240 Miles
Midland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
29 Miles
Starlight
Nearest Golf
39 Miles
Black Jack's Crossing in Lajitas
Nearest Train
75 Miles
Alpine
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 118
Nearest Restaurant
22 Miles
Chili Pepper

Enjoy the mountain views, amazing sunrises, spectacular sunsets, and stunning starry skies from the Ringtail property, or drive into the nearby parks, Terlingua, or the Ghost Town for all the adventure and entertainment that the Big Bend has to offer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Terlingua Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial 2017
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular Season
May 30 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$109
 
 
Summer Season
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$99
$599
 
 
July 4 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Summer Season
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$99
$599
 
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular Season
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$109
$659
 
 
Chili Cook-Off 2017
Nov 2 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular Season
Nov 6 2017 - Nov 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$109
$659
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
$779
 
 
Regular Season
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$109
$659
 
 
Christmas 2017 & NY 2018
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$129
$779
 
 
Regular 2018
Jan 4 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Race 2018
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular 2018
Jan 15 2018 - Feb 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Bike Fest 2018
Feb 15 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular 2018
Feb 19 2018 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Spring Break 2018
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
$839
 
 
Spring 2018
Mar 19 2018 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$129
$779
 
 
Regular 2018
May 1 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Memorial 2018
May 25 2018 - May 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
Regular 2018
May 29 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$109
$599
 
 
4th of July 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 5 2018
3 night minimum stay
$119
 
 
Summer 2018
Jul 6 2018 - Aug 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$109
$599
 
 
Labor Day 2018
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
Regular 2018
Sep 4 2018 - Oct 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Chili Cook-off 2018
Nov 1 2018 - Nov 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
Regular 2018
Nov 5 2018 - Nov 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Thanksgiving 2018
Nov 16 2018 - Nov 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
$839
 
 
Regular 2018
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
$119
$719
 
 
Christmas '18 NY '19
Dec 21 2018 - Jan 6 2019
3 night minimum stay
$139
$839
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$109
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $55 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Our cancellation policy is if you cancel before 30 days of your stay, then we will refund 100% minus a $50 cancellation fee and any Processing fees. If you cancel within 30 days of your stay then a refund will depend on us being able to re-rent that time. Rates are subject to change until payment has been received.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties