Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shamrock House:Historic Log Cabin, Servant's Quarters, Cottage with trout stream

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms4
Space 3,500 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Rustic Cabins, Total 8 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 24+)

Please watch the video! It's a beautiful introduction to this property!

4+ night rentals are preferred (weekend rentals allowed if booking date is within 30 days of arrival)

The creek is that borders the property is approx. 10-15ft across, constantly flowing, good for fishing, wading, or just cooling off!)

The cabin is part of the South Carolina Heritage Corridor!

Former family compound built circa 1925 consisting of 3 cabins:

Standard Booking - Includes The Shamrock House (main cabin), Bunk House, & Trout House - Sleeps up to 24 (2 additional if using mattresses provided under beds in Bunk House and Trout House)

Standard Pricing as shown on VRBO is for ALL 3 cabins! Contact me for questions on sleeping arrangements for your group.

We allow short duration rentals (weekends), but peek season rentals during the summer, fall, and holidays are typically 1 week in duration.

Main Cabin - Sleeps 6 adults comfortably (1 additional child could sleep in loft area)

The Bunk House - Sleeps 7

The Trout Stream House - sleeps up to 10

The property has an interesting history. We believe it was the first home in the area to have electricity (powered by a water-wheel at the back of the property, some remnants of that structure remain). The home was used as a place for travelers passing thru the area to stop and get a good night's rest. Of course, every old home has a ghost story. The weeping sound of Nancy the Ghost is claimed to be heard on occasion, we can’t confirm or deny her presence...but we are pretty sure Nancy is a friendly gal and her "weeping" is just the sounds of the old house creaking.

We can confirm that former US President LBJ was a guest. He liked it and we believe you will as well. For details, contact Nathan.

Location: Yes...it is in the mountains, not rolling foothills. Ceasar's Head and Table Rock are just a few miles down the road from The Shamrock House, as well as many, many waterfalls, hiking, biking, tubing, whitewater rafting...you name it!

For recreation on the property, we have a basketball goal, a game of horseshoes, and several open meadows where the kids can play whatever sport they enjoy (just bring your gear)...or just relax in a hammock!

The property is located in the Rocky Bottom area of Sunset, Upcountry, South Carolina, approximately halfway between Pickens, South Carolina and Brevard, North Carolina on Highway 178 (an easy 30 minute drive to Brevard). The cabin is approximately seven miles north of Highway 11, the Cherokee Foothills Scenic Highway.

Drive time from Atlanta or Charlotte ~ 2.5 hrs

from Asheville ~ 1 hr

Special Features: Equipped kitchens, outdoor (park style) grills, basketball goal, horseshoe pits, picnic tables, Sat TV & Wifi in main cabin, trout stream, wildlife (beavers, turkey, deer, bear and other critters).

Dates Available: Year round.

Disclaimer: This property is "in the sticks." Although there are convenience stores a short drive down the road, and small towns within a 20-25 minute drive, please be aware that this area is remote. The main cabin is almost 100 yrs old and all 3 cabins are rustic. We work hard to keep everything dust-free and clean, but the nature of the property (and mother nature around the property) can change things overnight.

Keywords: Log Cabin /Bunk house / Trout stream house / mountains / hiking / fishing / lakes

More Details

Owner
Nathan McGowan Owner / Manager
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2018

About Nathan McGowan Owner / Manager

My wife and I are the proud parents of the most precious gift from God, our son Nolan. We love to travel when our schedules allow. Sharon is a dental hygienist and I work as an engineer. We both grew up in Augusta, GA and love the outdoors!

Nathan McGowan Owner / Manager purchased this cabin in 2017

Why Nathan McGowan Owner / Manager chose Sunset

My life-long dream has always been to own a cabin in the mountains. I literally searched for years, and never could find a place that "checked all of the boxes"...until I found The Shamrock House. We fell in love with the charm and history of the property, and look forward to creating memories at this wonderful place. We are forever indebted to the previous owner, who renovated the buildings and grounds to bring the property back to its former glory, and now you have an opportunity to enjoy the results.

What makes this cabin unique

It is truly unique. The grounds cover 10 acres bordered by Rocky Bottom Creek and the Jocassee Gorges Heritage Preserve. There are extensive stone walls and walks laid down in the 1920's and many specimen sized trees. Many different wild flowers can be seen throughout out the growing season including rare Oconee Bells and Trillium's. The main cabin is constructed of cedar logs with American Chestnut paneling and floors. The extra large porch of the main cabin has hand made tables, chairs and swings by local artisan Bob McCall. The Trout Stream House has great views of the Bear Meadow and Rocky Bottom Creek. Locals tell tales of Nancy the Ghost who makes herself known from time to time in the main cabin (seems to be only when the adults have had a drink or two!). Maybe yes, maybe no. And, President Lyndon Johnson liked the place well enough to spend some time at The Shamrock House himself. The location is such that one can be on the Foothills Trail in less than five minutes and at Lake Keowee or Jocassee in 30 minutes, and also Brevard or Pickens in about the same time.

Amenities

Sunset Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Charcoal grills are provided on the property

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Shamrock House:Historic Log Cabin, Servant's Quarters, Cottage with trout stream
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
5

We had a wonderful time. Plenty of room for our family get together.

  • 5 of 5

Property was wonderful- had a good time playing in the creek. Lots of wilderness adventures nearby too- waterfalls & hiking.

Nathan was easy to deal with . Highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5

We couldnt have stayed at a better place for our 2018 family reunion. We had 12 adults and 5 children. The bunk house was perfect for the kids. The main house was our "party house" where we had dessert and played games. All the cooking was at the Trouthouse. The surrounding area is incredible! We explored and found something new every day. The kids loved walking in the creek. We did that for hours and found nice swimming holes. We visited twin falls, walked the closest we could to the falls and slid down some rocks. There was someone to catch us a little way down to make sure we didnt fall. Great location. Comfortable beds. Friendly and pleasant ambiance/spirit. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect cabins for our large family!

  • 5 of 5

We rented all 3 cabins for our large family gathering. Everyone had a great time from the young to the old. Hanging out on the porch and splashing in the stream. We only left the property once in our 5 day stay to go see some waterfalls but other than that we just really enjoyed the property. Everyone is excited to come back again next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mary K. Review of The Shamrock House in Sunset, SC.

  • 3 of 5

Cabins were as expected given their age. Property was beautiful. No cell service at all though, and Internet service was spotty at best in the main cabin. No Internet service in the other two. Sheets on the beds were dirty in the Trout House. The Trout House lacks privacy for more than 4 guests. Sofa beds are in open areas and there's only one bathroom in that building. There is a washer/dryer, so we washed the sheels the first day. Could use better backup sheet sets rather than what was in the drawers. We enjoyed our stay overall.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, this occurred while our normal house cleaning team was away and we had a substitute (who was quickly terminated). The tenants were reimbursed their cleaning fee. The lack of cell service is not a fault of our property. The cabins are located in a rural area. I’m posting my response on WiFi from the lower cabins without a problem. Sometimes service is not as strong as others, just like at home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had so much fun

  • 5 of 5

Stunning

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So relaxing here in the cabin.

  • 5 of 5

Would love to make this a tradition with my friends.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Greenville-Spartanburg
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Bob's Place
Nearest Golf
7.5 Miles
The Rock
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Red Lion Inn

Rocky Bottom Creek forms property border, trout fishing, Sassafras Mountain, Bob's Place, Twin Falls, Dining, Brevard, Blue Ridge Parkway, Waterfalls

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Pet Fee $55
Property Damage Insurance $99

The rates quoted above are for the main cabin (Shamrock House), Bunk House and the Trout House. All three cabins are clustered together as the property was originally a family compound.
Cancellations received 60 or more days prior to booking date will receive a full refund of booking fees less a $75.00 cancellation fee. Bookings canceled between 59 and 30 days of a booking date will result in a 50% refund of booking fees less a $75.00 cancellation fee. No refunds of booking fees inside of 30 days of the booking date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties