About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay7 nights
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Enjoy Some Of The Best Sunsets Mexico Has To Offer At Casa Del Mar Y Sol. Barra de Navidad On The West Coast Of Mexico Is The Perfect Get Away For Those Who Want To Experience The Real Mexico And It's Wonderful Flavours, Beaches And People.
Casa Del Mar Y Sol - Literally, 'house By The Sea & Sun'. Our House Has Three Apartments, Las Margaritas, Dos Cervezas, And Tequila, Which Can Be Rented Separately Or The House Can Be Rented As A Whole. We Are A Block And A Half From The Beach And Less Than Five Minutes By Foot From Restaurants, Groceries And Shopping.
Las Margaritas & Dos Cervezas Are Two Bedroom Apartments And Tequila Is A One Bedroom Studio.
Less Than A Block And A Half From The Main Beach In Barra De Navidad And Less Than 5 Minutes By Foot From The Heart Of Town,
Casa Del Mar Y Sol - Or House By The Sea & Sun Is Our Mexican Casa In A Quiet Neighbourhood On The Edge Of The Downtown Area. The Property Is Securely Gated And In A Well Lit Residential Neighbourhood, Steps From The Edge Of Town And The Beach.
The Apartments Share A Gated Courtyard With A Covered Sitting Area, A Second Floor Back Deck And A Beautiful Backyard Garden, Complete With Pool. All Apartments Have Wifi, Satellite Television, Coffee Makers, Fridge, Towels, And Maid Service*. Las Margaritas And Dos Cervezas Have Full Kitchens, While Tequila - As A Studio Room - Has A Bar Fridge And Coffee Maker.
Dos Cervezas Apartment Is The Perfect Space For 2 - 4People.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- english, spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 17, 2018
What makes this Apartment unique
Property is fully gated with 12 ft. high walls
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Great property, great location
I stayed here 2 years ago and will come back again. There were many upgrades that we noticed since our last stay. It's a short walk to everything in Barra and Melaque is a cheap cab ride.
So glad you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure having you as guests. Thank you for your kind comments – we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the updates, service and accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Great vacation in Barra
We stayed at Casa Mar Y Sol for one month and we have no complaints. It was perfect for the two of us. It was clean with ample room and hangers in both bedrooms to hang our clothes and dressers for folded clothes. The bathroom is large with a wonderful large shower with lots of pressure. Although there is no table inside the suite, there is a perfect dining area just outside the main door and if you to prefer to dine while overlooking the beautiful pool area there is a table and chairs there.
The maid service was every three days and in our opinion just right. Also, if we had any requests they were promptly attended to by the maid.
Having bikes was an added bonus. The bike with a basket was perfect for a cerveza or laundry run. There is a beautiful biking path that is easily accessible from the Casa.
We found the walk downtown a very easy one. There are several restaurants and the food is excellent. The Mexican people are very friendly and accommodating. The music is phenomenal with great diversity. There is something to satisfy everyones music taste!
This is not a resort area and that is what the attraction is in our opinion. You are not confined to just Barra but can hop on a bus and go to either the next town or beach.
It was a pleasure having you as guests and knowing you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind comments – we have passed on your compliments to Rosa, who was very happy to hear that you were pleased with her service and the accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again.
One month in Barra
My husband and I stayed at this apartment (on 2nd floor with 2 bedrooms) in February 2015.
First the good:
—This is a quiet relaxing location, if you have quiet neighbors in the other two apartments.
—The pool is wonderful, clean and refreshing. Reading a book on a pool float was one of my favorite activities.
—You can walk to everything in Barra, and it is only 1/2 block to the bus stop to go to Melaque.
—The garden areas are beautiful and maintained daily.
—The apartment was very clean, with no bugs inside. (We heard of problems with bugs in other properties.)
—Ample hot water.
—We felt very safe at the property and throughout the town.
—Unless you have a car, you will walk a lot. The write up says it is 1.5 blocks to the beach. That is true as the crow flies, but it is 1/3 mile to public beach access, and about 1/2 mile to downtown. We walked an average of 3 miles a day, just going to town and back. Great as long as you’re in good shape. And it is flat, which is nice.
—There are beach chairs, bicycles and snorkel gear available. You may need to ask the housekeeper to get these for you.
--The owner helped us arrange a cab from PV. It would be easier to fly toManzanilla.
And the not so good:
—Beds are listed as queens but are really full beds and quite hard. With small beds and hot rooms (fans but no A/C), my husband and I decided to sleep in separate rooms for the first time in our 30+ year marriage.
—Kitchen is minimal, similar to camping gear. Silverware, knives are corroded. Pans were also corroded. We planned to do some cooking, but decided against it and ate all our meals out, given the quality of kitchen ware. Also there is no table in the 2 bedroom apartment.
—The furniture is not very comfortable, except for the shared table and chairs outside the 2nd floor apartments.
—Maid service is approximately weekly.
—There are no working safes in the apartment.
Bring (or plan to buy) sunscreen, bug repellent (lots of “no see-ums”), beach towels (instructions say you cannot take their towels to the beach), all your own personal products (no soap, shampoo, tissues etc. are provided).
Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not stay in that apartment again. We thought it was too expensive for the value. The downstairs two bedroom apartment is much nicer and we would prefer that if we visited again.
Many people (mostly Canadians) have been going to Barra for many years. We found plenty to do and enjoyed ourselves.
Thank you for your review. When booking, you said you always stayed in all-inclusives. On balance, I would say that this is a reasonable review based on your experience in Mexico.
The beds in the other apartments are queen. This one has “Matrimonials”, not queen, you are correct: our sincere apologies.
Mexico is warm. If you are used to hotels with AC, your comment is understandable, however, our previous guests have all been fine with the overhead fans and high ceilings - typical of a Mexican house.
You rented a house in Mexico, you did not stay in a hotel - sunscreen and personal products are not included in home rentals. We supply house towels - NOT beach towels.
“Worse than camping gear” is unfair. While our utensils are not the “silverware” resorts have, it is certainly not worse than camping gear, and having just been there, I am sure it is not “corroded” – Our housekeeper, Rosa, would not allow this, but we will be sure to check it again. Had you told her, she would have replaced it - we leave her money for this type of thing.
You are correct – there is no dining table inside this apartment – there are tables on both upstairs decks as mentioned in our listing – one covered, one not.
Having a car in Barra to avoid walking downtown from our house and
needing to be in good shape is not a reflection of our location - If you are used to resorts with shuttles, it may seem like a lot of walking, but it is 280 metres from our door to the closest beach access. Half that to the first big restaurant (much less if you count the corner taco stands); 450 metres to the Hotel Alondra (middle of downtown). And it is 1.1 km to the end of the Malecon, which is as far as you can walk in Barra – so round trip from our place to the opposite end of town is less than 3 kilometers – or 1-1/2 miles. A Google Earth search will show this to anyone who has never been to Barra. You could walk farther in a medium sized resort.
Rosa cleaned your apartment 10 times in the 32 days you were there – every few days, rather than weekly – we do not offer daily maid service. Most vacation homes do not offer it at all.
You or your guests (you told us there was only the two of you) damaged a bicycle (torn seat, broken trip computer, etc) Normally this would come out of the damage deposit. We would like to return the entire deposit as a gesture of good faith for the bed mistake - the hotel issues we can't do much about: we rent a house in a little town in Mexico we do not run hotel.
Excellent and secure destination in Barra de Navidad
We loved the tranquility of the place, yet close to everything. Street is well lit at night,for those evening walks when you return home after sharing a wonderful dinner and drinks with friends old and new and right beside the main strip. We felt very
secure, even at night.
Everything was exactly as we saw in the pictures clean and secure. The garden is a great place for your morning coffee observing the humming birds and butterflies. Pool was lovely with just the right water temperature. We would definitely recommend this location and look forward to our next return to Barra.
Until next time
Thank you, Glad that you enjoyed yourself. Hasta la proxima.
Additional information about rental rates
NOISE RESTRICTIONS - Casa Mar y Sol is in a residential neighbourhood. Please be courteous to our neighbours. They understand that you are on vacation - please understand that they may not appreciate excessive noise late at night. Complaints will result in cancelation of rental agreement. SUBLETTING - There is no subletting of the apartment, bedroom, couch or lounger. If you do this could result in cancelation of rental agreement. ADDITIONAL GUEST - Any additional guest not accounted for in contract must pay additional fee. If you do not comply with any of these it could result in cancelation of rental agreement and you will leave the premises immediately.