Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property



This recently renovated condo (renovated Kitchen in 2016) has one of the best Gulf/Beach views on the Destin coast, or on any coast. Watching schools of fish and porpoises swim by is a common daily event, it is amazing! Also, I noticed how difficult it was to find a 2 bedroom Corner Apartment for rent at Holiday Surf & Racquet Club during the summer season (other seasons as well). Only Corner Units do not have "View Limiting Walls" towards the beach nor do Corner Units have connected balconies to neighbors - balconies are totally private - and the view is a double wide one over that of non-corner units. Unit #601R is on the 6th floor and located practically right over the beach. Some of these corner units have only 1 bedroom, some are not high enough to enjoy this spectacular view and some are not up for rent. There are a set of stairs right outside the condo for quick access to the beach, tennis courts or swimming pool (although it is the 6th floor). You can also access the elevators in the center of the complex. Having a glass mirror living room wall allows one in the kitchen or living room to see right down the length of the beach. Staying on the 6th floor assures the optimum height for the perfect view of all the beach, fishing boats, party boats and parasailing.

The kitchen has just been renovated (May 2016) with a large quartz stone countertop (cleaner than Granite), new built in Microwave and Dishwasher and under the countertop sink with garbage disposal. The small dining room table has been replaced with a large 6 seat Ashley tile-top table. The previous bulky drapes were replaced with new vertical blinds which can be stored completely off of the glass door and window to maximize the view from inside the apartment.


This unit has newly painted walls throughout the apartment and all of the existing furniture was replaced. Three new flat screen TVs are wall-mounted. A 55” HDTV is installed on the living room wall with all the channels including sports and movie channels. The master bedroom has a wall mounted 42” HDTV and the second bedroom has a wall mounted 32” HDTV which includes a DVD unit for watching movies. High Speed WiFi is included.

All floors are tile with a new Sea Grass rug in the living room. Relax in one of the big arm chairs or grab a nap on the big leather couch.

The kitchen is equipped with everything required by even the most discerning family chef. Two types of coffee makers are provided, a drip style percolator and a Keurig K cup style as well as a new 4 slice toaster & a blender. Three bar style chairs line up behind the new kitchen counter

The Master Bedroom has a private bathroom & is very roomy with direct access to the balcony and a window with a lovely view. The queen bed and firm pillow mattress are very high quality and very comfortable. All bedding in the condo is high quality and brand new. The Second bedroom has 1 queen and 1 single bed.

More Details

Property Manager
Donna Shepherd CAM
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Donna Shepherd CAM

I live on the bay close to Santa Rosa Beach but I am looking to move closer to my condo at HSRC because all of the activities I like are there at Holiday Isle. The fishing, the night life, the beach and the access to the stores and restaurants. I moved here from Atlanta about 8 years ago and I do not plan on moving from the area ever!

Donna Shepherd CAM purchased this condo in 2014

Why Donna Shepherd CAM chose Destin

The Holiday Surf & Racquet Club complex has all of the facilities I want when I stay here, the view from a 2 bd/ 2ba corner apartment is one of only three or four in the whole complex and only two of them rent their condos. Holiday Surf & Racquet Club is on the beach (right over the dunes!) and in close proximity to the jetties, water sports, water park, bars and restaurants, grocery stores, Target, Walmart ..on & on.. which makes it ideal for total convenience and allows one to maximize their beach & play time.

What makes this condo unique

My name is Michael Bulger, I am the owner & bought this unit because of the view, it is spectacular in calm and rough weather & I can see right down the beach from the dining room and kitchen (directly and off of the mirror wall). The boats can be seen entering and leaving the channel at the end of the jetties from the front door (also the fireworks show every Thursday evening from the front door balcony). The area is beautiful.


Destin Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 6
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Primary Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The primary Bathroom has access from the dining room area and the Second Bedroom. The Master Bathroom is only accessed through the Master Bedroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , 42' Wall-Mounted HDTV, big arm chair and Private Bathroom.
    Second Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Has 32' new HDTV with DVD player. Adjoining bathroom.
  • The Master Bedroom has a Queen Bed with a high quality pillow top mattress & a private bathroom. One door exits to the balcony & the room has one window with blinds. There is a chest of drawers and two Knight tables and a wall-mounted 42' HDTV.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The beautiful jetties are just 5 minutes down the beach and make an ideal place for a walk (yachts & boats are coming and going), for Fishing or Snorkeling.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
46% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews

Great location

  • 4 of 5

So convent to it all...and the beach crowdo was small for june. Unit had everything we needed plus a wonder view of the beach

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Monroe, GA

Great week at the beach!

  • 4 of 5

The overall property is very nice and functional. The beach crew is wonderful and provides valuable insights into the water changes and safety. Our unit was adequate but did not have a sleeper sofa as described! The kitchen utensils were somewhat lacking.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The client is incorrect about the promised sleeper sofa fold out. Copied from the main description is: "The three bedroom condo sleeps 6 adults and possible 1 child on the leather living room couch (not a fold- out bed)". The previous couch was torn by someones dog (no dogs allowed) and I changed from microfiber to leather. A mention of the previous sleeper sofa was in the amenities section but I removed it. I did an inventory on the kitchen at the beginning of March but will do it again - no help given on what is missing?
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Warriors Mark, PA - USA

Great property; terrible VRBO management

  • 2 of 5

Holiday Isle is a beautiful location for a vacation and we liked the Holiday Surf unit. Onsite mgmt was great in every way. HOWEVER, the VRBO property mgr and/or cleaning co seemingly have a scam going on. We are meticulous housekeepers; our home has been featured in a log home magazine. We were accused of everything from "urine on the bathroom cabinets, walls and floors; hair all over the wall; food thrown all over, crackers and popcorn in the furniture", just to mention a few, and all lies. We suspect that the cleaning co has stock photos that are provided to the mgrs/owners since the pics that were shared with us did not show any furniture that could identify the unit as the one in which we stayed-they were all generic. The property mgr told us she inspected the property after we left; the owner told us that both he and the property mgr were out of town and therefore relied on the pics provided by the cleaning co. On two occasions we had hard rains that filled the balcony and, due to old sliding glass door, water flowed into the living rm and to a lesser degree into the master bedrm. We reported water issues with video/pics to property mgr as it was occurring, with no response (even as of today). We subsequently reported to onsite prop mgmt who quickly responded and brought a dehumidifier to dry out the rug. We soaked up all the water and pd to have towels laundered. The property mgr/owner told us that onsite mgmt had never been contacted by us nor came to our rescue; the onsite mgmt tells us that the owner has never talked with them about any of these problems nor asked whether they provided assistance to us. Obviously, someone connected with the VRBO mgmt is not telling the truth. In addition, we were provided with the wrong entry code upon arrival, and the onsite mgmt was surprised to see us as the property mgr had not let them know we were coming! As we do with every property we use, we vacuumed, windexed all glass surfaces, cleaned the stove, microwave, frig, etc. We left the unit in better condition than when we arrived and found broken glass on the kitchen floor and filthy potholders that were immediately laundered. At our expense, we replaced numerous burned out light bulbs throughout the condo. When we called the property mgr about our security deposit upon return home, she hung up on us. After using VRBO both domestically and internationally for 15 yrs, this is a first for us. LESSON LEARNED: always have property inspected before you leave.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is an old complaint that was filed with VRBO in April. I answered with pictures then and the owner followed up with his answer also. We held $75 of their deposit which was only the second time, maybe third in six years of my managing several properties that a partial deposit was held. The owner verified everything. It has to be very bad for us to hold anything back. The owner did find additional damage which we did not file because we had given them the balance of their deposit back. Please refer back to their original complaint in March or April. Thank you Donna Shepherd, CAM 850 543 2216
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

Spacious condo with gorgeous view!! Everything was clean and welcoming. Both bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and neat. The kitchen had everything needed for cooking. Two coffee makers for a pot or a single cup. This was our first time in Destin and this rental really added to the pleasure and fun we had. Great time, Great place!! Thanks Donna for all your help.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Shelbyville, KY

Holiday Surf Veteran Guests & LOVED this VRBO experience

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have been coming to Holiday Surf & Racquet since 1993 and this was perfect! We have tried VRBO before and been happy but this time was perfect! We received excellent communication before our stay and on arrival! The Unit is beautiful and had everything we needed and more! There was a closet filled with extra chairs, umbrella, floats, boogie boards etc! Donna made our stay feel so comfortable from the kitchen extras to luxurious towels! The view was wonderful! We have never stayed in a corner unit and the view is amazing! The corner unit also gives you the bonus of the side view as you enter and exit! You are surrounded by the beautiful Gulf view! Can't say enough good things but that this is why VRBO is a great way to vacation! Great Unit, Great Care & Management and Great Rates!!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Can't even get in!!!

  • 1 of 5

Standing outside the unit and can't even get in!! I have called manager for hours and goes straight to voicemail! I have texted, sent emails etc. This is absolutely crazy. My family and I have hauled all our luggage all the way to this unit. Will never rent again

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 1


Nearest Beach
Holiday Isle
Car: necessary

Fun on the Beach is obviously the main attraction but the Complex's tennis courts, fitness gym, shuffleboard, swimming pool and sauna all add to that fun.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%


Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties