Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Red Dog Retreat-Cozy, near lake, mountain views, wildlife! 10% off Sept-Oct 2017

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bed + Sofa Sleeper, 1 Full Bath, Sleeps 4, full sized kitchen, fully equipped

Welcome to the Red Dog Retreat! This rental condominium is located in the mountains of Montana just 15 minutes (9mi, 15km) from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park. It is a one-bedroom unit that is roomy and comfortable for 2-4 people, with a queen bed in the bedroom and a queen sofa-sleeper couch in the living room. It's centrally located in an area surrounded by some of the best fly-fishing in the West, and only 15 minutes from the entrance to Yellowstone Park!

Along with spectacular views of Yellowstone Park and the 11'000 foot peaks surrounding West Yellowstone, enjoy a full-size kitchen, laundry facilities, and wireless internet. It also has a nice deck with propane BBQ where you can try your hand at cooking on the grill while watching the sunset. The deck will be screened in for 2015, so nothing will bug you during your reverie!

There is abundant wildlife, much of which travels right past the condo, and hundreds of miles of hiking, biking, skiing and snowmobiling trails right out the door. We also have other units available and can combine one, two, and three bedroom units to accommodate larger groups.

It is accessible by paved road (the last 1/4 mi is gravel), but sits in a secluded, quiet subdivision on the Horse Butte peninsula of Hebgen Lake, 9 miles outside the town of West Yellowstone.

It offers truly awesome views and the subdivision is surrounded by Forest Service Land. Yellowstone Park is 15 minutes away, the Gallatin National Forest is less than one-quarter mile away, and the two main arms of beautiful Hebgen Lake are five minutes either way.

West Yellowstone has its own charms, with both summer and winter time activities, museums, theaters, dining and shopping.

The fishing, skiing, wildlife watching and geyser gazing are world renowned. Come stay in this quiet mountain retreat and spend time exploring this adventurer's wonderland! Be sure to ask about Lava Creek Adventures, your source for Yellowstone guides, kayak tours and rentals, and other information about exploring the area. See the link below!

Please see our website for more info (link below)!

More Details

Property Manager
West Yellowstone Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About West Yellowstone Vacation Rentals

This privately owned home is managed by WEST YELLOWSTONE VACATION RENTALS where we specialize in providing you with your home away from home! Vacation rental homes, cabins, and condominiums to suit any group or budget, only minutes from the entrance to Yellowstone Park… We have the place!

We pride ourselves in working with our homeowners to offer unique, clean, well maintained properties that offer our guests a great value while experiencing Montana living. We are uniquely situated in an area that offers the most central access to all that Yellowstone National Park and the incredibly beautiful surrounding National Forests have to offer.

We have just the place for you, whether it be for a once in a lifetime adventure or a return visit to this truly amazing area. Please have a look at this and our other VRBO and HomeAway listings, and call or email us for more information.

Happy Trails!

David Robinson

Montana licensed property manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had rental accommodations before in New York City, houses at beaches in Florida, but none paid as much attention to small details and nice touches as at your place! they made our week stay very pleasurable. It's like a home away from home!

YNP is a wonderful place to visit. Coming from Florida where the landscape is flat, the scenery is quite different with gorgeous mountains, deep gorges, geysers, fire holes and the autumn foliage at Gran Tetons are splendid.

We saw a lot of wild lives in the Park and a herd of a dozen of bison passed by the house one morning. We could admire them from the living room window.

My husband appreciated the well stocked kitchen since he considers himself a "gourmet" chef. He brought his own spices and knives, but found out he didn't need to.

We totally enjoyed our stay here and it will make a memorable vacation times for us!
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Horse Butte Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Queen bed, lots of closet space
    Living Room Sofa-Sleeper Couch - 1 queen , Queen sofa-sleeper couch in living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
No phone in home, renter is required to have a cell phone for telephone access. WiFi available. However, internet and cellular services are limited here, no matter who the provider or where the location, in town or out. We have frequent outages, poor/slow performance, and many areas where cellular does not work, or works poorly, depending on your provider. Don't plan on doing business via internet or telephone while you're here! It cannot be counted on, no matter who tells you otherwise. We do not provide refunds or discounts for internet or cellular connectivity problems that are beyond our control, but we will do everything we can to help you maximize your uptime!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
10% Complete
20% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Red Dog Retreat-Cozy, near lake, mountain views, wildlife! 10% off Sept-Oct 2017
average rating of 4.15 based on 32 reviews
Melbourne, FL
5

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5

The red dog retreat was perfect for our needs during our stay. It was clean, well stocked in the bathroom with towels and soap. The kitchen included every item needed to cook in our rental. Bonuses included movies, puzzles, and informational books about the area. The location is perfect for visiting West Yellowstone. We will recommend this rental and hope to visit again!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit, hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything was great!

  • 5 of 5

Just about 9 miles from Yellowstone National Park's west entrance makes this an affordable yet convenient location. All the amenities were present, washer, dryer, etc so it made our stay that much better. I will definitely be looking to the Red Dog Retreat the next time I visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was very well stocked to meet any of my family's needs

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Great location.Everything you needed from an apartment.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not cleaned at all before we arrived

  • 2 of 5

This property was NOT cleaned before we checked in. We were informed that we could not check in until 4:00 pm because the cleaning crew would need time to clean the property before we arrived. This is a later check-in time than normal, but being in Yellowstone, we were fine with entertaining ourselves until then. However, upon arriving to the rental, it was clear that it had been untouched since the previous renter left. There was a huge pile of wet towels and blankets on the floor of the bathroom. The bed in the bedroom was not made up with clean sheets or blankets. There were dishes left out in the kitchen area. The dishwasher had not been emptied and there were visible crumbs on the dining room table.

Thankfully there were extra towels in the storage for us to use while we waited for the cleaning crew to arrive (we thought they were just running late). It was not until we notified the property manager the next day that the cleaning crew was sent the day after. When the cleaning crew did come, they ended up throwing away most of our bathroom toiletries and locking our food into the pantry. Again, not a great showing for good service.

And the last issue is that the pullout sofa is probably less comfortable than your average pullout sofa. But we didn't expect too much out of a pullout sofa anyways.

That being said, and all those issues put aside, the condo itself was readily supplied with towels, kitchen tools, spices, paper towels, laundry detergent, blankets, and pillows. Location is about a 10 minute drive from "West Yellowstone" downtown, but otherwise in a great spot.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you had this experience! It would've been fixed immediately had you let us know upon your arrival. We were there the next day as soon as you let us know - our cleaner had misread her calendar and thought the turnover was the day after you arrived. This was a super unfortunate oversight on her part and we corrected it as soon as you let us know, as well as providing a discount. So sorry that there was also confusion with what toiletries were and weren't yours when we did arrive to clean - we're only human, although almost never have a mistake like this! So sorry we weren't able to make it Ok in a way that didn't result in a bad review, but don't know what else we could have done given that you didn't contact us until the next day and from our conversations with you we thought that you were happy with our response. Also, the sofa-sleeper mattress is new as of last year and is a high quality but "firm" mattress. Possibly it was the fact that it's firm that made it seem less than desirable to you? Other guests have told us that they prefer it to a softer mattress, especially for a sofa-sleeper. As you also mentioned, this condo is well equipped and in a fabulous location with lots of great qualities! We certainly hope your stay was otherwise enjoyable!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

The property had a very strong odor

  • 1 of 5

Our experience followed the following timeline: We arrived at the property about 7 PM. When we opened the door, we were about knocked over by a very strong odor. We walked around the interior and tried to come to terms with the smell. My wife described the smell as sour cigarette smoke. We began to bring our things in and both decided that we couldn't deal with the smell. We called the phone numbers that we had for the property owner. One was for a man and one was for a lady named Marta. We left messages at both numbers. Cell coverage was very sketchy. We went for a walk and tried to air out the place. After some time, Marta called us back. I told her of the problem and she said that the cleaners didn't mention the smell. I assured her that the smell was real and asked her to come out to the property. She asserted that she was confident that there was no smell because the cleaners would have mentioned it to her. I again asked her when she could come out to the property and she said she would not be able to come out to the property until 10 am the next day at the earliest. I told her I was not satisfied with the property or her response. After reflecting on our situation and my conversation with Marta, I decided to contact the VRBO folks by telephone.

I was finally connected to a supervisor, explained the situation, and he ended up putting us up in a hotel room nearby. He advised us to keep our 10am meeting with Marta (this was all cutting into our fun/vacation time). When we met Marta at the property, she said she couldn't smell anything but the lysol cleaner. We were both standing in the same room. It was obvious to me at that point, that I was not dealing with an objective person. She did finally acknowledge that there was an odor and said that the prior tenants were Indian and she thought the odor was from their cooking. I disagreed and said that was possible that it was combining with the cigarette smoke smell. We were at an impasse and I told her flatly that the property was not acceptable and I wanted a refund or to be moved to a new property. She said that neither was going to happen. I called the VRBO/Home Away folks again. This time, a new supervisor advised me that the previous supervisor had acted improperly by putting us up in the hotel and, after checking with his superiors, told us that the formal complaint procedure and review process was our only recourse. Not a good place or property agent!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please take a look at the great reviews for this property! This renter claimed there was a smell and that our cleaners and manager weren't objective because they couldn't smell anything. We are fastidious about cleaning! However, one of the reasons this condo is popular is the full-sized and very well equipped kitchen. As anyone who does much cooking knows, sometimes cooking smells will linger for awhile no matter how much cleaning is done. They always dissipate quickly after a thorough cleaning, and that was the case here. We go out of our way to make sure our renters are happy when any reasonable complaint is made, but even after a personal inspection the only thing we could find "smelly" about this situation was the renter's request for a full refund or upgrade! Apparently the good folks at VRBO agreed. Please see the other reviews to get a better sense of this cozy little condo (including the guestbook comments that are posted further down the page below "Location" and "Manager Info"), and please know that we will do everything we can to make sure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
West Yellowstone Airport KWYS
Nearest Barpub
9 Miles
Ernie's on 191, Happy Hour Hwy 287, town bars WY
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Island Park, Idaho (30mi) or Big Sky, MT (45mi)
Nearest Motorway
4.5 Miles
Highway 191
Nearest Restaurant
9 Miles
West Yellowstone and N shore of Hebgen Lk
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
USFS 0.5mi, Rendezvous Nordic 7.5mi, Big Sky 52mi
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Hebgen Lake beaches
Car: recommended

The area offers easy access to Yellowstone Park and the thousands of acres of surrounding Forest service lands. Accessible less than 1 mile from the home, the Gallatin National Forest offers abundant wildlife and hundreds of miles of hiking, biking, snowmobiling, skiing, hunting, and exploring. With spectacular mountain lakes and rivers that create a myriad of fishing and boating opportunities, there's something for every outdoor enthusiast.

The town of West Yellowstone has its own charms, with both summer and wintertime activities, live theater and movie theaters, dining, shopping, outdoor and wildlife educational programs, the Rendezvous ski/bike trails, and a museum.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $59
Damage Insurance $59

No smoking, no pets. Check-in 4:00 PM, Check-out 10:00 AM. Please download and read the Rental Agreement for our refund/cancellation policy and other details, or contact us for for a copy, or see a synopsis of the agreement here: www.westyellowstonerentals.com/reservations

If you wish to avoid purchasing damage protection, you may make your payment through our company. We will hold your credit card number on file as a security deposit, but we will not charge the card until we have contacted you.

We have other VRBO and HomeAway listings - Call or email and we'll get you what you need!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund