Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Almost Two Famous" Ocean view - WORKING BALCONY - clean - high end mattresses!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 550 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Ocean and bay view, sleeps up to 6, one bedroom

*MUST BE 25 YEARS OF AGE TO RENT- ID REQUIRED BEFORE CHECK IN*

Check in is at 4pm on day of arrival. Check out is at 10am on day of departure.

This unit DOES have a WORKING balcony! Enjoy the ocean view and sea breezes!

Monthly rentals available Sept-March for a flat $1,200/mo. + VRBO service fee - all bills included - no additional fees.

Everything in this ocean and bay view condo is new and it has JUST been remodeled! This condo sleeps 6. There is a new World Class Simmons Contender queen size mattress, a new Lazy Boy memory foam sleeper sofa and built in bunk beds that are adult strength with new pillow top mattresses. The condo has beautiful and unique decor that is local to Galveston. There is everything you need to have a fun and relaxing vacation including hotel toiletries (in case you forgot something!)

New TV, DVD player, cable and free WIFI are available. There are games, books and DVD’s for all ages to enjoy.

Washer and dryer are steps out the front door. The balcony has a beautiful and quiet view of the ocean and bay with an outdoor fan to keep you cool. Table and chairs are located on the balcony to enjoy the days and nights.

Bathtub has a double spa head for a refreshing shower. Maravilla has one of the largest pools in all of Galveston complete with an island and a large gazebo area for personal use. There is a secondary pool (that is heated in the winter), a kiddie pool and a hot tub that is heated year round! There are several BBQ pits and a volleyball net for your enjoyment. A workout room, recreational area and a business center are all available off the lobby to you and your guests. There are also 3 elevators to get you where you need to go.

There is a full size kitchen that is stocked with everything from a blender, toaster, coffee maker and a mixer to dishes, pots/pans, baking utensils, spices, coffee and much more!

Jimmy's on the Pier is within walking distance and has one of the best views in Galveston. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a full bar (call for hours during winter). You can fish on the pier year round, so bring your fishing pole or rent one there.

I personally own and manage this property to ensure everything is just the way it should be for every guest.

Covered parking. Parking pass is $20 per car per 30 day visit and is purchased from Maravilla office at arrival.

Linens, beach and pool towels included.

Pets are welcome for NO additional charge. HOWEVER, there is a 2 pet maximum.

10% discount for active military and veterans.

More Details

Owner
Lara Coursey
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2018

About Lara Coursey

I grew up in the area and always loved spending time in Galveston as a quick getaway with my family and friends. My dad worked as an entertainer in and around Galveston and his logo was 'Almost Famous One Man Band'. Therefore I named my first property in Jamaica Beach after him and now that I have my second rental I carried on his memory... 'Almost TWO Famous'!!!

Lara Coursey purchased this condo in 2014

Why Lara Coursey chose Galveston

I found Maravilla and loved the size of the units which are much larger than most in Galveston. The pool area and amenities are so wonderful I couldn't imagine being in any other complex! The best eateries and things to do are all close but the complex is on the West end of the seawall which makes it quiet and convenient. Schlitterbaun and Moody Gardens just a few miles away and Schlitterbaun is open year round!

What makes this condo unique

I remodeled and furnished this property with the number one priority being comfort and relaxation. Me, my family and friends love staying here and so does my precious dog, Honey!

Amenities

Galveston Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Resort ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is spacious with a bathtub and double shower head to give you a spa like experience.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Master bedroom has a queen size World Class Simmons Contender mattress. I purchased a high end bed so guests could have a comfortable sleep while on vacation.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
25% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
"Almost Two Famous" Ocean view - WORKING BALCONY - clean - high end mattresses!
average rating of 4.5625 based on 48 reviews
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great place! Convenient to everything, well stocked kitchen, comfy beds.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall good stay!

  • 4 of 5

Condo complex had great pool areas though there were lots of little bugs in the water. The unit itself was sufficient and the bed in the master was comfy. We had a great time overall.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner was rude, unprofessional, and unwilling to help us when other renters were in the condo.

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived at the condo, the lock box was already unlocked with no keys in it. We called the owner, Lara, who contacted the housekeeper to see if she had the keys. The housekeeper did not have the keys and told us that she had replaced them in the lockbox but was unsure if she locked it. Meaning, our missing keys may have been stolen. We asked Lara to have the locks replaced so that we and our luggage would be safe in the condo. She argued with us and then screamed at us at one point over the phone. Initially, she wanted us to pay for the locksmith to replace the locks. We reasoned with her until she agreed to pay for the locksmith and hung up on us. Once we got into the condo, someone else's luggage was already in it. We tried to call Lara several times, but she kept sending us to voicemail, ignoring our calls and texts. We called using a different cell phone, and she answered on the first ring. We explained the situation and her response was to put the luggage outside the condo, but otherwise told us repeatedly that she didn't know what she could do. We said that that was not right, and asked her to call the police, to which she responded that WE could call the police. We worked on her until she agreed to call the police. She texted us back that the police would not be coming but said to leave the luggage outside. So we called the Sheriff's office. They sent two officers over who contacted Lara and the other family. Other family had mistakenly booked the same dates in June. When the family arrived back at the condo, they apologized profusely and said Lara had cursed at them after they had agreed to pay $150 charge for the locksmith and was "very hateful" towards them. Shocking and pitiful behavior from an owner. Lara said she would reimburse us half of our payment (we had asked for a full reimbursement), but reimbursed less than two-fifths.

As for the condo itself, we had a few concerns. The floors were so dirty that our bare feet would turn black when we walked across the length of the floor. The owner did not supply the condo with a mop for the housekeeper to use to keep the tile floors properly clean. The inner curtain liner of the shower was originally clear and now a dark orange-brown from age and use and needed to be replaced as it was unsanitary. The toilet tank drain plug broke during our stay, and was mostly disintegrated. We had to manually put it back in place in the tank every time we flushed.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is 100% false. These guests are upset I wouldn't give them a full refund for 3 hours of inconvenience at check in. I NEVER yelled or cursed at anyone. I worked with them the entire time and was on the phone with them and several others to work on a solution. A prior guests had mistakenly checked in on the wrong day and therefore the keys were not available for these guests at check in. I first called the cleaning lady and then a locksmith. I hired the locksmith to open the door and re-key the lock. The guests kept arguing with me that someone stole the keys and could come in. I repeatedly explained that the old keys wouldn't work because the locksmith would be rekeying the door. She then demanded a refund and was very rude the entire time. I said I would give a partial refund and that I was sending a locksmith. I apologized several times and they were continually rude. Once in the unit they saw other people's belongings so I was working to figure out what happened. I did call the police and they said they weren't going to go to the unit and to set the other people's stuff outside. I relayed the message. I made multiple phone calls to figure out the situation which is why I wouldn't answer the multiple calls from the guests, but as soon as I could, I did. Once I got the info of the prior guests I called to hear their side of the story. I NEVER cursed or was rude to them. I just explained the situation and moved on. Once everything was settled I told the guests I would issue them a PARTIAL refund. I never said "half". I immediately refunded them $200 (nightly rent is $139). They were upset that I didn't give them a full refund but they still had the rest of their vacation to enjoy their stay. My cleaning lady brings her own cleaning supplies, including a mop. The floors could have gotten dirty from the incorrect guests being there earlier. As soon as I was notified about the toilet I had it fixed. I work hard to accommodate all of my guests and any issues that may arise. I was sympathetic to these guests for the inconvenience and was generous to refund them for the issues and It's upsetting they are being so rude.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for our family!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location—far enough away from the busy part of Seawall, but still close to everything! Our kids are still talking about the bunk beds in the condo and the three pools at the complex. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall Good with some not so pleasurable nuances

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was good smelling fresh with a lot of febreeze and air wicks which is perhaps standard, location amazing and stay kind of ok. We had some issues because it seems the owner’s cleaning staff kind of quit according to her so it was perhaps just bad timing, the apartment was kind of messy and hardly cleaned. The floors especially were dusty and the bathroom had a few issues (The state the cleaning staff left the apartment In was a bit appaling but as I mentioned just bad timing i guess), there was washed linen in the closets and tissues and other supplies but the main door was open and the key inside the apartment which seemed kind of strange. Since we had been driving for almost 2 days at a stretch we were too exhausted to think of it all though it was appalling. We did a bit of our own cleaning though the owner offered cleaning and even refunded the cleaning fee of 150 $ so kudos to her for at least taking care of that bit. The apartment is actually good if maintained well. No wet walls n stuff no damp odor which is a plus since I’m ashthamatic. The Sea View from the apartment Kind of changed our frowns to smiles soon enough and the fresh sea breeze was amazing theres plenty of Parking. The apartment is in proximity to most attractions on the Island so it’s perfect in terms of where its placed at.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again I apologize for the unit not being ready when you arrived. As I explained before, I switched cleaning companies due to the inadequacies of my previous cleaning lady and she left my unit without cleaning. I now have my new cleaning company that I have used at my other properties so this will not be an issue in the future. All of your complaints are from this one issue which is why I refunded your cleaning fee PLUS an partial refund. I did try to have the unit cleaned after your check in but you refused service and I was in constant communication during your entire stay. I wouldn't want any of my guests not taken care of. Again my apologies and I have corrected the issue so this won't happen in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent location, clean well maintained condo

  • 4 of 5

Condo was clean, everything worked, parking was easy & location was perfect. Will stay here whenever we are back in Galveston for a vaca.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

A VRBO Service fee is calculated on a sliding scale of 4% to 10% of the total booking. The charge applies to the cost of the rental and will not exceed $499. The service fee is for features such as 24/7 customer support etc.
10% discount for active military and veterans.
Monthly rentals available for October through March. Flat fee of $1,200.00 (this rate includes cleaning and insurance fees) Monthly rental does not charge tax.
MUST BE 25 YEARS OF AGE TO RENT.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties