Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

FAMILY FRIENDLY TOWNHOME! 3 bdrm/2 bath! Rent from Jan. 2nd-Feb. 2nd only $1250

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,056 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3BD/2BTH beds for 8! Family friendly, small quiet complex! *Must be 25 or older*

This beautiful townhome is in the ideal location for experiencing the FABULOUS Gulf Shores! We are right across the street from the sugar white sand & sparkling blue-green waters of the gulf of mexico.

The Sands has an authentic beach town feel in this quaint private complex of only 16 units!

Private entrance with KEY-LESS ENTRY so you don't have to worry about losing your keys! This is a 2 story town home with no one above or below it.

SUPER PRACTICAL LAY OUT!!! This condo is perfect for the multi-generational vacation w/3 nice sized bedrooms & 2 full baths.

MAIN FLOOR:

On the main floor you will find the beach themed Living Room furnished w/a comfortable leather sectional large enough to seat 6-7 and a leather rocker/recliner. A huge flat panel SMART tv along w/a blu-ray dvd player and satellite for fun movie nights. Under the TV is a cabinet full of board games. Also off of the living room is a small balcony overlooking the pool & with a view of the lagoon. The balcony is furnished w/a table and 2 chairs. We love to have a quiet breakfast out here before all the kids are up :)

The living room is open to the Kitchen and only separated by a beautiful granite breakfast bar with seating for 6-8. The fully equipped kitchen has granite counter tops through-out and an extra deep sink w/dish soap dispenser full of dish soap & a high end spray faucet. The Kitchen is equipped with an ice maker, blender, toaster, coffee maker, crock pot, large electric griddle, baby chair that hooks to the counter, oils & spices all for your use! We also provide some dishwasher, & hand soap to get you started :) We've rented different condos for over 20 years before buying our own unit and I remember spending tons of $$$ on all the kitchen stuff!!! For this reason we have designated a drawer for sandwich bags, aluminum foil, garbage bags, coffee filters, etc...we encourage our guests to help themselves but if you notice we are running low on something please be kind and replace it for the next guest. In the end it's much cheaper than each guest having to buy several boxes of all these different items they won't be able to use up :)

There is also a shell themed Bedroom located on the main floor and it is ideal for the grandparents or could also be used as a smaller master bedroom because it has it's own full bathroom. It also has a comfortable queen sized bed, flat panel SMART TV! In this bedroom's closet you will find a few extra stools, tv trays, mop, & vacuum.

We have amazing housekeepers that do a wonderful job cleaning our unit before each guest arrives but during your stay, just in case things are getting a little sandy, In the hallway you will find a broom closet w/a few cleaning supplies just in case they are needed. You will also see a cubby full of beach towels and a few beach sheets (please wash and replace before you leave).

UPSTAIRS:

Walk up the stairs and you will find the tropical themed large Master bedroom with a private balcony furnished w/two rocking chairs and accent table. This is our favorite place to drink our morning coffee in the springtime and to enjoy the afternoon sunshine in the winter months! This balcony also overlooks the pool and has a great view of the lagoon. The Master bedroom also has a private entrance to the bathroom and it's own large flat panel TV w/satellite. Under the comfortable king sized bed you will find 2 pull out beds suitable for children. Sheets/blankets for these are located in the closet along w/a pack-n-play and nursery monitor. (if you use the pack-n-play please wash the sheet before you leave).

Also upstairs is a nautical themed Bunk Room. This room can comfortably sleep 4 and is furnished with a set of twin bunk-beds and a queen sized bed.. It also has it's own flat panel tv w/satellite and cubbies for easy storage of clothes.

The Upstairs Bathroom has a unique design of being two separate rooms. One for the tub and stool and the other the sink/mirror. So practical that it's almost like having another half bath!!

In the upstairs Hallway you will also find a full sized washer and dryer w/enough laundry soap to get you started :)

Under the unit there is parking for 2-3 vehicles, a gas grill, shower (cold water only) for rinsing off beach sand, and a small storage shed filled w/beach chairs, boogie boards, baby tent, sand toys, and beach umbrellas....PLEASE rinse them off and return them for our next guest to enjoy!

Wanting to come for one of our world famous festivals? Then this unit is BY FAR THE BEST LOCATION because you can reach it by taking Windmill Ridge Rd. & bypassing all the traffic on West Beach Blvd! We are about a 10 minute walk from famous Gulf Shores HOT SPOTS including, The Hangout, Bahama Bobs, Pink Pony, & Pier 33 as well as fun souvenir shops!

The pristine white sandy beach is about 80 steps away from our stairs & an easy walk w/in the safety crossing zone to cross the street. Clean & convenient showers & restrooms are also located beach side. Just the PERFECT place for a FAMILY VACATION :)

Come make some memories at The Sands!!!

More Details

Owner
RACHEL SAUDER
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

About RACHEL SAUDER

My husband and I have been married since 1989 and have come to Gulf Shores almost every single one of those years! Our 5 children have grown up spending almost every spring break here! We feel so blessed to have the dream of owning our own condo finally come true!

RACHEL SAUDER purchased this townhome in 2014

Why RACHEL SAUDER chose Gulf Shores

We love the location of Central Gulf Shores! Enough happening that the kids don't get bored, lots of things w/in walking distance, but yet not over-crowded like so many vacation places have become and very family friendly!

We loved the lay-out of this unit, the fact that it has and upstairs and downstairs just gives everyone more room to spread out! We love the fact that it has a bedroom on the main floor w/it's own full bathroom. So nice when we brought our elderly parents down w/us for a week!

We have never been a fan of the high-rise big, too crowded, less security & safety! Too much time waiting for elevators!

We love not having to be worried about security in this small 16 unit complex! It just has a 'safe' feeling to it and most of the units here are owner occupied. It's a great place for kids! It's a very comfortable, quiet complex! We just absolutely fell in love with this place!!!

What makes this townhome unique

The Sands is a tiny PEARL of a complex w/only 16 units! The perfect place to experience the authentic "beach town" feel of Gulf Shores!! We love that this is NOT a high rise complex! Very small complex, each unit w/a private entrance. No waiting on slow, smelly elevators :)

The beautiful beach across the street has conveniently located outdoor showers and restrooms. This area is also very family friendly and safe!

Amenities

Gulf Shores Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1056 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please be respectful of the other occupants at The Sands regarding noise levels, especially after 10 p.m.
  • Please do not hang towels/swim suits over balcony railings.
  • Please obey posted rules while using the pool.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , also has separate sink area
    outdoor shower - outdoor shower , this is located under the unit and is cold water only
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1st floor bedroom: The 'Shell' room - 1 queen , Has it's own flat panel TV & private entrance to bathroom!
    Upstairs bedrm: The 'Bunk' rm. - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed , NEW 32" flat panel TV!! Nautical themed, sleeps 4!
    Upstairs Master Bedroom w/private balcony & entrance to bath - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Large flat panel TV, 2 flip out chairs, pack n play crib!
  • For the comfort of our guests, we only use high thread count quality sheets. All beds are covered with a 100% cotton quilt. Extra blankets and pillows are located in each closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check in time is 4:00 p.m. Check out time is 11:00 a.m. Maximum occupancy for our unit is 8 adults. We do have 2 pull out beds located in the master bedroom that would be suitable for children and also a pack n play crib if there is a need. Please respect our occupancy limit. For the convenience of our guests dish soap is provided in dispenser next to the sink, starter packs of Dishwasher detergent and Laundry detergent are also provided. We also have designated a couple of "Beach sheets" next to the beach towels. Please wash and replace them before you go :) Please note that we are unable to provide bikes for our guests. Ikes Beach Services does have beach bikes for rent.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
FAMILY FRIENDLY TOWNHOME! 3 bdrm/2 bath! Rent from Jan. 2nd-Feb. 2nd only $1250
average rating of 4.714286 based on 35 reviews
5

Far surpassed expectations

  • 5 of 5

We started by arriving in Gulf Shores about 2 hours early. I called the property owner and she allowed us to enter the property a little before check in time. When I walked into the front door I was speechless. I had been looking at the pictures online everyday for the month prior to our trip and was still shocked when I actually walked in. The property was very clean and exactly as presented on the internet. There was so much more included that I ever expected from coffee pot towels and extra blankets. I expected to have to eat from paper plates and plastic forks all week but everything we needed was there. The only thing we needed was food. The layout of the property was perfect for my family and the family we stayed with. The beds were very comfortable and it felt like home throughout. There was a light in the kitchen that was not working properly but the owner called me prior to checking in and advised me she knew of the problem and had someone come and fix it right away. We stayed here for a week and I can tell you it was very hard to leave. This was my first visit to the beach as well as my children and it could not have been more perfect. The beach was beautiful and very relaxing to sit by and enjoy the view. We were able to swim in the ocean on the first day but the rest of the week it gradually got worse as there was a rip tide warning and several jellyfish in the area which from what I heard from the locals is not a normal event it just happened to be our luck. We did not let that stop us though after my wife was stung by a jellyfish we decided to stick to the pool for our swimming adventure. The pool was very clean and relaxing, it was never crowded and we were able to leave our inflatable toys for the kids at the pool without fear of them being taken. The neighbors were very friendly and offered assistance with anything or advise on where to visit. We did most of our shopping at the Dollar General which was just up the road and the largest Dollar General we have ever seen. We visited several local stores and restaurants with which we were very satisfied with all of. If you are going to visit this location especially with children I would recommend going to The Hangout. The owner of this property is an amazing person and very friendly and easy to work with. This is a place that I will definitely visit again and recommend to EVERYONE!!! We had the time of our lives and will never forget or week in Gulf Shores or at this beautiful property.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time! Reading this review made us remember how fun our first time in Gulf Shores was, and honestly we enjoy it every time :) Please come back soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
powell,tn
5

Everything you need

  • 5 of 5

I have to say with hurricane Nate starting off our Saturday arrival and much anticipation of what is to come of our family vacation Rachel was fantastic to work with and to let us know what to expect on the local end!! Thank you so much for your patience! This actually wound up being one of our favorite vacations. Your condo is very well stocked. Loved all of the places to hang things underneath the condo and you can leave all of your beach stuff down there and no one will mess with it. It is very accommodating for babies (accessories). It makes it so nice not to have to lug all of that stuff in the car.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that inspite of a hurricane you guys managed to have a great vacation! We hope you come back and stay with us again next year without the exciting weather ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location, cute decor, enough beds for all.

  • 4 of 5

It is a good location and had lots of amenities. Some problems with internet, but overall it was a good time.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to hear your family had a good time Julie! I believe the complex finally has the wifi issue straightened out! Thanks for being so patient while we worked to get you decent wifi! Glad we were able to get it up and running for you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property was very nice.

  • 4 of 5

Although we enjoyed our time there and the property is very nice. The steps were an issue for my grandchildren. My 3yr old tumbled down them 2 times. They are wooden so there is no give or protection, luckily no injury. We were very close to the beach and all the shopping we could do, also restaurants of every kind. The teenagers also loved all of the ice cream shops to choose from. Anything that you could need is available in the house as far as cooking and supplies. I would recommend this location. Everything you would need for the beach is also there, chairs, toys, towels, a grill for cooking....that was nice!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your vacation! Our kids love all the ice cream shops in the area too!! So yummy 😊? Toddlers and stairs can be an issue so we have a picture in our ad of the steps in the unit so guests with small children would know before they come that they are wooden and we also provide a baby gate for the Littles who are not safe with stairs. We are so happy to hear that everyone's ok and that you had a good time! **as an extra precaution we have applied anti-slip strips to steps**
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenwood, MS.
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to stay while in Gulf Shores for our vacation--everything we needed was right there--easy access to the beach--swimming pool is a great amenity especially with children--eating establishments were close by--we had a wonderful time--Thank you Rachel!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review! We look forward to having you as guests again soon :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5

Everything about this place was perfect for us! Location, space, pool available for evening swims. It was our first "big" vacation as a family and everything went smooth as can be. Already talking about our next visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great! We can't wait for you to visit again :) Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Hangout
Waterville USA
Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo
Gulf State Park
Sea-N-Suds Restaurant
Original Oyster House
Pirates Island Adventure Golf
Gulf State Park Pier
Walmart Supercenter - Cypress Circle
Gulf Adventure Center at Gulf State Park
Hope's Cheesecake Incorporated
LongHorn Steakhouse
Ike's Beach Services
Bahama Bobs Beach Side Cafe
"FAMILY FAVORITE! about a 3 minute walk from us RIGHT ON THE BEACH, just a block away! Awes..."
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Pensacola
Nearest Restaurant
block and a half
Nearest Beach
across the street!
Car: recommended

Our unit is located directly across the street from the beach w/safety cross walk zone. With in walking distance is a small grocery store (pier 33) and restaurants such as Bahama Bobs & The Hangout, and several souvenir shops. This is an ideal location for families w/teens or small children, or a couples retreat. More than anything we want you to be comfortable and feel 'right at home'. We hope you enjoy your stay w/us :)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Check in time is 4:00, Check out time is 11:00. Please follow the instructions on the Refrigerator when checking out.

Please respect our complex rules while staying at The Sands. Guests not willing to follow rules will be asked to vacate the unit.

Guests are 100% responsible for any damage or missing items reported by our housekeepers.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties