Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Bedrms, 3 Bathrms Charming Ocean-View Getaway, Just A Few Steps From The Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Gentle Winds is located on St. Croix's beautiful and picturesque North Shore. The beach and pool are just a short walk across the lawn from this bright and airy 3 bedroom, 3 bath ocean-view suite, which sleeps 7 comfortably-1 King sized, 1 Queen sized and 3 twin beds. All bedrooms are equipped with ceiling fans and floor-to-ceiling windows which is especially nice to enjoy the Trade Winds and soothing sounds of the surf. This unit also includes central a/c if needed. Take in the view, the sun, or the island breeze on any one of the 2 decks, and 1 screened patio. Stroll along the wide open lawns and majestic palm trees, or explore our very own tide pool. Gentle Winds sports a 4-hole golf course, tennis courts, basketball court and shuffle board. Kids will enjoy exploring the tide pool and catching hermit crabs in the pirate play area. Not the outdoors type? Then relax, put your feet up, and dive into a book from our complimentary library in our newly renovated great room. Hungry? Check out our Beach Shack, or for you grill masters, get access to a complimentary gas grill. All of this and more are yours to enjoy.


Owner
Vanessa
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

Amenities

Estate Salt River Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Toilet has built-in child seat. Combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ocean view
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , Mountain view. Pull out trundle bed.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Ocean view.
  • Ceiling fans in each bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach bar located pool-side, serves cocktails and lunch daily. Complimentary grill available by request at the main office. Restaurant and water activities in walking distance at Salt River Marina. Shuffle board, ping-pong, basketball court, tennis courts, and 4-hole golf. Tide pool exploring and hermit crabs in the pirate play area will delight the kids. Supermarkets located 10-15 minutes away. Shopping center with movie theater also about 15 minutes away. Great scuba diving located about a 5- mile coastal drive at Cane Bay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3 Bedrms, 3 Bathrms Charming Ocean-View Getaway, Just A Few Steps From The Beach
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Great condo in great location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our second stay at Gentle Winds. The condo was clean and well equipped. We couldn't access the condo wifi so we used the pool wifi, which was very slow. Otherwise our stay was very relaxing.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A tranquil experience

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six had a very relaxing and comfortable stay here. We are still missing our "beach house" experience. This unit was very spacious with a wonderful view of the ocean and mountains. It has a north/south exposure, so there was a beautiful breeze to keep the unit cooled. We traveled with a large family group, fourteen of us total, for a week's stay. Other families stayed in different buildings at the complex. It was so enjoyable to explore the beach, sight-see, visit with the family and yet have our own space for downtime. We took a Virgin Kayak Tour of Bioluminescent Bay and sailed out to Buck Island on The Jolly Roger Charter. We all had a blast! The unit was spacious, clean, well stocked with dishes, cookware and towels. Our group used the BBQ grills a few nights and the Beach Shack was our go-to for lunches and drinks. The cooks do a great special each day and were very friendly! Thanks to Vanessa for sharing her piece of paradise with us! We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boise, Idaho USA
4

Nice property in a great location!

  • 4 of 5

The Gentle Winds propery location was perfect and even included a private beach! The condo was well equiped and meet all of our groups needs. Venessa's communications were prompt and helpful.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Holland, OH
5

Very relaxing location on St. Croix

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Gentle Winds. It's a great location, centralized for exploring the island.

Gentle Winds is a very nice condo complex and Vanessa's condo has a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. I loved sitting out on the balcony in the morning, drinking coffee while reading the paper. And then going to the pool or the beach in the afternoon and sipping a rum punch while reading a book. Very relaxing.

I certainly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property and location

  • 5 of 5

My husband two kids and I stayed at Vanessa's beautiful condo for a week for a family get away to completely relax and reconnect with each other -- and it was a wonderful choice. We had been to St. Croix before, but we had not been to Gentle Winds and now we have found the perfect family spot to come back to. The condo is lovely and you literally hear the ocean and gentle winds in the palms all night long. There are many easy trips to make for activities around the island from this location, but you can just as easily stay and relax all day at the property, snorkeling at the on-site beach, swimming at the pool, reading in the shade and enjoying the beach shack offerings for lunch and drinks. The kids had plenty to occupy themselves with -- golf, tennis, the basketball court and bocci and shuffleboard right there. We are very thankful for the lovely stay and kind hospitality from Vanessa who had great tips for shopping and restaurants. Don't miss a stop at La Reine's Chicken Shack for an awesome take-in dinner and the Pickled Greek was also great for lunch!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Taylors, SC
4

St Croix

  • 4 of 5

A nice unit but had several issues that did not make our 2 week vacation very relaxing. The hot water heater was unplugged so we started our vacation with cold showers - this was fixed on Monday by the general manager. The TV had one channel - this was fixed on tuesday with instructions from the owner in email. The refrigerator was a cool 57 degrees - this was fixed Thursday afternoon - almost a week into our 2 week stay. If you've ever been to St Croix, groceries and eating out is very expensive! I have requested a partial refund for the first week - to cover my lost groceries and the extra expense of eating out! We usually eat all breakfast and most lunches in the condo. I have not received a response from the owner. I love St Croix and I love Gentle Winds; however, I do not recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $15 per person per night
Damage Insurance $99
Damage Deposit $250

If your travel dates are available, and less than 30 days prior to arrival, you can reserve those days by making a deposit today. Please contact landlord. Additional housekeeping and special requests are available for an additional fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.