Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Garden Apartment in a Beautiful Brooklyn Brownstone

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Experience the charm of “New York's Left Bank” in this elegant home, selected to represent Brownstone Brooklyn weekly in Disney’s Girl Meets World. This stunning 1,100 square foot apartment offers turn-of the-century details like parquet floors, intricate woodwork and pocket doors, along with a sunny living room, separate office with wireless internet, and eat-in kitchen -- complete with gas stove.

The Renaissance Revival home is situated in Prospect Heights, which offers easy access to nine subway lines, and a nine-minute subway stop to Manhattan. While the apartment boasts unique proximity to arts, culture and sports -- within a ten-minute walk in different directions is Prospect Park, the Brooklyn Museum, the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) and Barclays Center in addition to dozens of restaurants that offer everything from Brooklyn-style wood oven pizza to Michel-starred cuisine.

The garden apartment comfortably sleeps four people and features a queen-sized bed in the master bedroom, as well as a pull-out couch in the living area. There is more than enough room to set up an additional bed, should your party require it.

The newly renovated bathroom has a combination bathtub/shower, the kitchen is comprehensively outfitted and the private garden is perfect for late night dinners under little white lights. A separate entrance, flat-screen television, laundry room with washer and dryer, luxury bedding, and plush towels are just a few of the additional amenities included in your vacation rental.

Subway access: 2, 3, 4, 5, N, Q, R, B, D to Atlantic Avenue/Bergen Street/Seventh Avenue

More Details

Property Manager
Kate Lucas
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2018


Prospect Heights Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Garden Apartment in a Beautiful Brooklyn Brownstone
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews

Stunning Brownstone in Brooklyn

  • 5 of 5

You can do the typical tourist thing and stay in sterile hotel rooms in Manhattan, or you can enjoy being a "local" and experience the real New York. Stay in a traditional brownstone, eat and drink coffee at the local bagel store then catch the subway across the Brooklyn Bridge to see the sites. This comfortable, fashionable well presented apartment was perfect to recharge for another day of seeing all those famous New York City sites. Very highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A nice place to stay, it felt like home.

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was nice and in a good location for walking to restaurants and other attractions. The only complaint is that it was noisy which made it difficult to sleep. Lots of construction noise outside and noise from the family that lives upstairs.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you found the apartment nice and convenient, and that it felt like home! However, I am sorry to hear that you found it to be noisy, that is a first for us. The homeowner has asked for me to extend a sincere apology. The family that lives upstairs spends a lot of time travelling, but happened to be home this past weekend celebrating a birthday. I wish that you would have contacted me directly because I would have been able to reach out to them to keep the noise down, they would have happily obliged! As for the outside noise: there is construction going on around the block from our rental but I have not noticed the noise level to be loud enough to impact our guests. New York is known for being "the city that never sleeps"! We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you would consider staying with us again for any of your future NY travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean and great location

  • 5 of 5

The property was well-maintained and clean. It is close to the subway and we visited several of the restaurants nearby while we were there. It was also nice to have the washer and dryer during our stay. The property manager was very helpful and met us after our late night flight to show us the house. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your five star review. I was happy to accommodate your arrival time. I am thrilled to hear you would stay with us again, we would be happy to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic Brooklyn rental

  • 5 of 5

I have just returned from a 7 day visit to NYC and stayed in this brownstone apartment. It was lovely, clean, well appointed and exactly as advertised. Close to the subway, coffee shop, a great bagel place and other amenities including a decent wine store. The property manager, Erin, could not have been nicer and was available for any questions we had. I would absolutely love to come back and stay here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you had a 'five star' experience. It was a pleasure hosting you and I look forward to having you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment was close to our daughter, husband and grandson which made the location perfect. Also close to transit and shops. We found the one air conditioner to be inadequate for the space with the NY heat & humidity. In spite of the owner's prompt response with 2 additional fans, our family of 5 (3 adults and 2 children) found that the air did not circulate sufficiently. The leather sofa bed in the front room was uncomfortable in spite of the extra mattress cover provided.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you were not completely satisifed with your stay. Since your departure we have put a large, brand new, air conditioner in the apartment. It more then adequately cools down the space (as one of our more recent reviewers mentioned). Also, I am sorry to hear that you found the sofa bed uncomfortable even with the addition of a mattress topper. If I would have known about your discomfort I would've advised you to use the extra blankets and pillows provided in the linen closet, or to have used the blow up mattress left for guests in the master bedroom closet. That being said, I will take a look at our mattress cover immediately and purchase a new one if I find it to be unsatisfactory. I appreciate your comment about the promptness of my response in bringing you several fans. Unfortunately, sometimes matters do come up that we need to address during a guests stay, but I try my best to have them resolved within a few hours. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed here while babysitting for our granddaughter who lives two blocks away. Prospect Heights is a great neighborhood! So this apartment was wonderfully convenient. Beautiful and comfortable bed linens. Modern kitchen, sparkling new bathroom, and laundry room. Office was tucked away and convenient for us to use our computers. Was good to be able to tape things on the tv. Will stay here again if the dates work. A bit expensive, but for us the convenience is important.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We would be happy to host you again, anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Barclays Center
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $250

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties