Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Floor of Fabulous Mansion W/ Private Porch Overlooking Forsyth Park!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

You will know you have arrived for a true Savannah experience when you enter the home via the deep front porch. The stairs to your private top floor suite, are wide and beautiful. The staircase has a landing with built in seating under a stained glass window. Photo opportunities everywhere you look!

The front suite Queen bedroom has French doors to what may be the best porch in town for listening to concerts and relaxing as you read, people watching. This expansive top floor porch is totally private for this rental! The front suite King bedroom has a sitting area and bay windows overlooking Forsyth Park.

Important note to consider before you book: In Savannah's Historic District the homes are very close together. In order to respect all neighbors, the city asks for 'Quiet Hours' at this property from 9pm to 8am. This is particularly important for the porches and outdoor space. We want you to have a fantastic time while you are here but the quiet hours are vital for many reasons. Do not book this home if you cannot abide by the quiet hours.

IMPORTANT-At least 2 renters have to be over the age of 30, or leave a totally refundable insurance deposit of $1500.

There are 2 off street parking spots dedicated to your rental party behind the home. Additional cars can easily park on street. This area is not metered.

No Grills, barbecues, candles, etc. are allowed on the premises.

The photos on this listing are the rooms you will get. They are recent photos and we do not interchange units/photos instead we show you exactly what you are getting. Your eyes do not deceive you, this is actually 2 apartments that can be rented together, so there are indeed 2 living rooms and 2 separate fully equipped kitchens! Your suite is totally private. While there are other apartments in the house, the units do not share any rooms or bathrooms.. You have your own keys and no other guest has access to your spacious 4 bedroom & 2 bathroom quarters. We have added another antique dressing table and the larger kitchen now has a side by side stainless refrigerator with filtered water and ice.

IMPORTANT! We are totally NONREFUNDABLE - Please think about taking out trip cancellation insurance.

PLEASE NOTE - WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS AND E CHECKS.

YOU MUST LEAVE A CREDIT CARD ON FILE!

City Of Savannah STVR License Numbers # SVR-00016 & SVR-00017

More Details

Owner
jackie k
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2018

About jackie k

My husband and I moved here 5 years ago from NYC. We simply fell in love with the city and saw great business opportunity and a future. We love watching the changes and growth that have taken place and look forward to more positive advances in the future. This is a welcoming and vibrant city with an eye toward the future.

I have since learned that my grandparents lived here during WWI and that my mother was born here....as odd as that seems I knew immediately upon entering the city years ago, that this was the place I wanted to live. I never believed in ghosts but after this story, who knows!

jackie k purchased this apartment in 2012

Why jackie k chose Historic District - South

We loved the grandeur of this house overlooking Forsyth Park and thought that others might fall in love with it as well. We have been working constantly to upgrade and restore this mansion of historic value. The house was built for a family in 1888 and at the end of WWI converted into apartment housing for returning soldiers.

What makes this apartment unique

Located in the landmark historic district, it is within walking distance to all that visitors want to see and experience in our wonderful city. This house is close to everything, historically relevant, and grand in appearance. It is a romantic step back into history.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a wonderful weekend here! Absolutely love this home! Will definitely be back. We ate B. Matthews and Circa 1875, they were amazing! Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful home.
May 2017
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Historic District - South Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Check in is between 3pm and 8pm, anything before or after will incur a $100 fee.
  • Smoking will incur a 250 dollar penalty.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • toilet, combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Huge master bedroom with bay windows overlooking Forsyth
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Direct access to covered porch and balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lovely queen bedroom with ensuite bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Maid service comes in at the beginning . You are charged. If you are a long term renter, our housekeeping staff must have access to clean once a month. Please feel free to have Mariah come in to clean more often if you wish. She is terrific. We urge you to book certain activities far in advance......highly recommend............. Savannah Slowride.....pedal your way on a pub tour...day or night...books a month in advance for weekends,912-414-5634. Savannah Haunted Pub Crawl...912-604-3007 Savannah Pedicab...912-232-7900 (less expensive and started in Savannah. Please take out trip cancellation insurance, we do NOT give refunds. We are, under extraordinary circumstances, happy to rebook you, but there are no cash refunds for any reason.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
7% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Top Floor of Fabulous Mansion W/ Private Porch Overlooking Forsyth Park!
average rating of 4.642857 based on 47 reviews
4

Exactly as described.

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable stay. We rented the top floor and enjoyed the privacy.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sean Patrick's Day

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our celebration of the 40th Sean Patrick's day with many friends.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

The home was beautiful and clean when we checked in. It is in a PERFECT location overlooking Forsyth Park. The owners were extremely helpful throughout the entire process and easy to contact when we had issues. I highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for that lovely review. You all seemed to b e having a great time. Welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location, cool building, beautiful master bedroom

  • 3 of 5

Overall- this is a great rental and I'd rent here again with a large group in Savannah since hotels are crazy expensive. The historic charm was awesome, especially the master bedroom. The location across from Forsyth park was perfect and also accessible to riverfront ($7 uber).

I gave only three stars for a few reasons. The first being that we had to wait 45 minutes to get checked in despite communicating our arrival time. I just didn't understand why we couldn't get the code and move on with the day, but we had to wait around to get the keys. Never had to do that with vrbo before. Plus the owner was like "you're not here" in her voicemail and we had been waiting for 45 minutes on the porch!!! Didn't have to say it in a rude tone. Secondly, the lockbox was unnecessarily tricky to use although with two spare keys we were able to avoid that. Lastly, we were promised two parking spots, but I guess this meant double parking with our family's car because that was all that was available in the lot. Luckily we didn't have to go anywhere via car since the location is so great. Kind of misleading though.

Overall, would overlook these issues and rent here again given the scarcity of rentals of this size, especially that are also pet friendly.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly, my husband and I stay home whenever we have arrivals for this apartment, we are approx. 7-10 mins away, depending on traffic. As soon as we are called my husband drives over to the building..have no idea what the problem was that you could not connect. I believe we were waiting for you., or we could not find you. I am sorry you do not understand that a 4 bedroom apartment draws all kinds of guests...some with huge dogs, some with groups larger than anticipated, etc. etc. The rules in Savannah are very strict governing vacation rentals, so, yes, we screen groups coming into that apartment. It saves us and our guests headaches later on. As it states in the contract, you certainly had two parking spaces (there are 5 in total for 4 apartments). Had you notified us we would have been happy to rectify any problems you were having. We go out of our way to never be misleading. Also sorry you had problems with the lock box, again, you never told us and it has not been a problem in the past. I in no way meant to sound rude, we just could not find you and it was frustration you heard.. Please do not overlook anything, as you will not be staying with us again. My husband and I go out of our way for all our guests and respond to any problem immediately. We never knew you had any until this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved having so much space very clean

  • 5 of 5

Love the history and the location by park was perfect

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, wonderful porch with park view!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay! Throughly enjoyed the location and the porch overlooking the park.

The place was very clean and stocked with coffee and full kitchen. We had 7 people and all slept very comfortably on the large top floor.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Please go to the insider's guide. I have tried to list something for everyone and certainly our wonderful growing list of restaurants.

ENJOY!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59

All noise complaints may be met with immediate dismissal from the property.
No use of outside spaces after 9pm or before 8am.
This is a nonrefundable property
Trip cancellation is advised to protect your payments.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties