Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Floor of Fabulous Mansion W/ Private Porch Overlooking Forsyth Park!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,750 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 8

You will know you have arrived for a true Savannah experience when you enter the home via the deep front porch. The stairs to your private top floor suite, are wide and beautiful. The staircase has a landing with built in seating under a stained glass window. Photo opportunities everywhere you look!

The front suite Queen bedroom has French doors to what may be the best porch in town for listening to concerts and relaxing as you read, people watching. This expansive top floor porch is totally private for this rental! The front suite King bedroom has a sitting area and bay windows overlooking Forsyth Park.

Important note to consider before you book: In Savannah's Historic District the homes are very close together. In order to respect all neighbors, the city asks for 'Quiet Hours' at this property from 9pm to 8am. This is particularly important for the porches and outdoor space. We want you to have a fantastic time while you are here but the quiet hours are vital for many reasons. Do not book this home if you cannot abide by the quiet hours.

IMPORTANT-At least 2 renters have to be over the age of 30, or leave a totally refundable insurance deposit of $1500.

There are 2 off street parking spots dedicated to your rental party behind the home. Additional cars can easily park on street. This area is not metered.

No Grills, barbecues, candles, etc. are allowed on the premises.

The photos on this listing are the rooms you will get. They are recent photos and we do not interchange units/photos instead we show you exactly what you are getting. Your eyes do not deceive you, this is actually 2 apartments that can be rented together, so there are indeed 2 living rooms and 2 separate fully equipped kitchens! Your suite is totally private. While there are other apartments in the house, the units do not share any rooms or bathrooms.. You have your own keys and no other guest has access to your spacious 4 bedroom & 2 bathroom quarters. We have added another antique dressing table and the larger kitchen now has a side by side stainless refrigerator with filtered water and ice.

IMPORTANT! We are totally NONREFUNDABLE - Please think about taking out trip cancellation insurance.

PLEASE NOTE - WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARDS AND E CHECKS.

YOU MUST LEAVE A CREDIT CARD ON FILE!

City Of Savannah STVR License Numbers # SVR-00016 & SVR-00017

More Details

Owner
jackie k
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About jackie k

My husband and I moved here 5 years ago from NYC. We simply fell in love with the city and saw great business opportunity and a future. We love watching the changes and growth that have taken place and look forward to more positive advances in the future. This is a welcoming and vibrant city with an eye toward the future.

I have since learned that my grandparents lived here during WWI and that my mother was born here....as odd as that seems I knew immediately upon entering the city years ago, that this was the place I wanted to live. I never believed in ghosts but after this story, who knows!

jackie k purchased this apartment in 2012

Why jackie k chose Historic District - South

We loved the grandeur of this house overlooking Forsyth Park and thought that others might fall in love with it as well. We have been working constantly to upgrade and restore this mansion of historic value. The house was built for a family in 1888 and at the end of WWI converted into apartment housing for returning soldiers.

What makes this apartment unique

Located in the landmark historic district, it is within walking distance to all that visitors want to see and experience in our wonderful city. This house is close to everything, historically relevant, and grand in appearance. It is a romantic step back into history.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a wonderful weekend here! Absolutely love this home! Will definitely be back. We ate B. Matthews and Circa 1875, they were amazing! Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful home.
May 2017
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Historic District - South Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • toilet, combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Huge master bedroom with bay windows overlooking Forsyth
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Direct access to covered porch and balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lovely queen bedroom with ensuite bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Maid service comes in at the beginning . You are charged. If you are a long term renter, our housekeeping staff must have access to clean once a month. Please feel free to have Mariah come in to clean more often if you wish. She is terrific. We urge you to book certain activities far in advance......highly recommend............. Savannah Slowride.....pedal your way on a pub tour...day or night...books a month in advance for weekends,912-414-5634. Savannah Haunted Pub Crawl...912-604-3007 Savannah Pedicab...912-232-7900 (less expensive and started in Savannah. Please take out trip cancellation insurance, we do NOT give refunds. We are, under extraordinary circumstances, happy to rebook you, but there are no cash refunds for any reason.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Top Floor of Fabulous Mansion W/ Private Porch Overlooking Forsyth Park!
average rating of 4.6410255 based on 44 reviews
3

Great location, cool building, beautiful master bedroom

  • 3 of 5

Overall- this is a great rental and I'd rent here again with a large group in Savannah since hotels are crazy expensive. The historic charm was awesome, especially the master bedroom. The location across from Forsyth park was perfect and also accessible to riverfront ($7 uber).

I gave only three stars for a few reasons. The first being that we had to wait 45 minutes to get checked in despite communicating our arrival time. I just didn't understand why we couldn't get the code and move on with the day, but we had to wait around to get the keys. Never had to do that with vrbo before. Plus the owner was like "you're not here" in her voicemail and we had been waiting for 45 minutes on the porch!!! Didn't have to say it in a rude tone. Secondly, the lockbox was unnecessarily tricky to use although with two spare keys we were able to avoid that. Lastly, we were promised two parking spots, but I guess this meant double parking with our family's car because that was all that was available in the lot. Luckily we didn't have to go anywhere via car since the location is so great. Kind of misleading though.

Overall, would overlook these issues and rent here again given the scarcity of rentals of this size, especially that are also pet friendly.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly, my husband and I stay home whenever we have arrivals for this apartment, we are approx. 7-10 mins away, depending on traffic. As soon as we are called my husband drives over to the building..have no idea what the problem was that you could not connect. I believe we were waiting for you., or we could not find you. I am sorry you do not understand that a 4 bedroom apartment draws all kinds of guests...some with huge dogs, some with groups larger than anticipated, etc. etc. The rules in Savannah are very strict governing vacation rentals, so, yes, we screen groups coming into that apartment. It saves us and our guests headaches later on. As it states in the contract, you certainly had two parking spaces (there are 5 in total for 4 apartments). Had you notified us we would have been happy to rectify any problems you were having. We go out of our way to never be misleading. Also sorry you had problems with the lock box, again, you never told us and it has not been a problem in the past. I in no way meant to sound rude, we just could not find you and it was frustration you heard.. Please do not overlook anything, as you will not be staying with us again. My husband and I go out of our way for all our guests and respond to any problem immediately. We never knew you had any until this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Loved having so much space very clean

  • 5 of 5

Love the history and the location by park was perfect

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, wonderful porch with park view!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay! Throughly enjoyed the location and the porch overlooking the park.

The place was very clean and stocked with coffee and full kitchen. We had 7 people and all slept very comfortably on the large top floor.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

My family, friends and I had a wonderful time!! Great location. We had everything we needed. The hosts were wonderful communicators. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Extremely nice place in an incredibly lovely city

  • 5 of 5

We spent Christmas at Jackie and Barry's house, which is facing Forsyth Park. We had eight adults and one three year old all staying in this four-bedroom house on the second floor. There are two ample family room/living rooms, a nice-sized dining room, and two kitchens. We used every single inch of the house. Our daughter arrived first, and Barry took her on a tour of the house and told her the in's and out's of visiting Savannah -- instructions that were very helpful for our stay there.

The house was in a very clean and stocked condition, with ample kitchen utensils and appliances, and the best beds we have ever used in a rental. ALL of us slept very well. The house is beautiful inside and out, and very convenient to everything in Savannah. We walked everywhere except the grocery store, and we probably could have walked there as well. I highly recommend this house to anyone who can handle stairs (there are stairs up to the front door, then another set of stairs up to the apartment). We were very happy with the amount of space we could use for a nine-person family.

Savannah is GORGEOUS. We spent most of our time walking around, but we did go on a trolley tour in the beginning of our stay, and a ghost tour at the end of our stay. Many photos were taken of the most beautiful street in America (Jones Street) and the architecture. One of my sons is an urban designer, and he REALLY enjoyed his visit, and enjoyed researching the area. Everyone we came into contact with was so friendly. We had good interactions with a number of people when we spent some time playing/relaxing in Forsyth Park on Christmas day. The weather could not be beat -- every day was in the 70's, so if you come in the winter, bring your summer clothes! Everyone was incredibly nice, and I'm sure we will return someday. If so, I can see us renting this place again!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We are always happy to hear that our guests had a good time and were able to enjoy all aspects of our wonderful city. We look forward to seeing you again. Best, Jackie and Barry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and accommodating property

  • 5 of 5

Came for a bachelorette party and was desperately seeking a property that would hold up to 10 people. This property hit the nail on the head space wise and location. It was a gorgeous home and really embodied the historical aspects of Savannah. The girls I brought along with me were floored by the property and said that I probably found the best place to stay. Jackie and Barry were extremely attentive to every email I sent them and they also responded within an hour time frame, which was a huge bonus as I had many questions. I will always recommend this property and them for anyone who is traveling to Savannah. It made our stay that much more amazing. Also you can't beat the view of Forsyth Park being right across from your balcony can you.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had such a wonderful experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Forsyth Park
"Fabulous park and fountain. Wonderful entertainment, tennis courts, snack bar, etc. Our ot..."
River Street
"The photo provided me is of Broughton Street and pictures Bistro 45, a really good restauran..."
The Olde Pink House
"Our most popular restaurant for visitors, fish is good, but Olympia Cafe on River Street is ..."
Mrs Wilkes
"Worth the wait in line. This family style eatery is wonderful! Go one hour before the last..."
Lady & Sons
"Paula Deen's throne of FAT! Not a favorite. Long lines and not worth the wait. "
Broughton Street
"Ever changing and growing, our main street is becoming a shoppers' paradise. Many locals an..."
Crystal Beer Parlor
"great fun, close but can get loud and crowded. I believe one of our oldest restaurants."
Leopold's Ice Cream
"A must for any traveler to Savannah. The best flavors!! Those long lines are because they..."
Green Truck Pub
"Everybody loves it, but if you like your hamburgers rare, forget it! It was okay."
Local 11 Ten Food & Wine
"great rooftop bar..next to american legion on bull street. a really strange use of SUGAR..to..."
Tybee Island
"Great fun...really good restaurants...AJ's, Crab Shack, Social "
SOHO South Cafe
"good food, long waits, lousy bloody marys"
Elizabeth On Thirty Seventh
"musty..relies on old reputation"
Foxy Loxy Cafe
"good coffee, second location now on Broughton"
Vic's On the River
"a little pricey but good, steak is great."
Savannah Bee Company Flagship Store
"Broughton Street...wonderful store and products. Broughton street also has a salt store, sp..."
Owens-Thomas House
"one of our more interesting historic homes."
The Firefly
"Lovely quiet spot for lunch or dinner. Food is excellent, can get a little overwhelmed for ..."
Kayak Kafe
"great for lunch"
Brighter Day Natural Foods & Deli
" good, great hard to find products, organic products..a little in need of brightening(not ki..."
Colonial Park Cemetery
"interesting, a nice walk"
Old Town Trolley Tours
"Good sightseeing, get off and on at your leisure."
B Matthews Eatery
"good and getting better. Great burger!"
17 Hundred 90 Restaurant
"Our local watering hole. Merges the old timers with the new residents and tourists..Good fo..."
Alligator Soul
"Unique menu"
Clary's Cafe
"Wonderful old time breakfasts and lunches..nothing sophisticated, but a throwback to days go..."
Cha Bella
"Good food, using fresh local produce and fish. Quiet location, eat inside or out! "
Zunzi's Take Out
"Very popular! Great sauces"
American Legion
"Bull street at the bottom of the Forsyth park. Ladies night on Thursdays, and Men's on Frid..."
Tubby's Seafood
"River Street, touristy, fun. Hit or miss on the food"
Vinnie Van Go-Go's
"Very popular~ can get very crowded, but the pies are okay."
Bull Street
"Divides East and West. Wonderful Squares to explore."
Rocks on the River
"Great views. Food improved. Very comfortable"
The Salt Table
"great fun, a new shop in town."
Carriage Tours of Savannah
"Don't know if still in business...Wet Willies demanded that all the horses be relocated out ..."
Gallery Espresso
"Best coffee,,,try a breve for a special treat! Okay muffins, cake"
The Cotton Exchange Tavern & Restaurant
"Great views and drinks!"
The Florence
"New, mixed reviews, service okay. Great salads and pizza. "
Savannah Day Spa
Desposito's Seafood Restaurant
"Hidden away, a little rundown, but the old timers love it. More fun at Crab Shack"
Davenport House Museum
"Owned by Historic Savannah Foundation, the Davenport House is a beautifully restored home bu..."
Waving Girl Statue
"Sweet story but not worth the trip if you're not in the neighborhood."
Sweet Melissa's Pizza
"Really good, late at night, when you are starving and nothing is open. On Whitaker and Cong..."
700 Drayton Restaurant
"Part of the Mansion on Forsyth, food and service is just okay. The hotel bar and art galler..."
River Street Market Place
"First Friday of every month, fireworks, boat rides at night. Saturday and Sunday open market..."
The Melting Pot
"Been there forever, so must be something to it....One of these days I will have an urge for ..."
The Grey
"Excellent food. Pricey! One of the group of new restaurants in Savannah aimed at raising o..."
Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub & Grill
"Wonderful bar food, great prices and the best selection of single malts outside of NYC. Nic..."
The Crab Shack
"Great fun Great fun! The sampler platter is great..order for 1 less (platter for 2 go..."
Chocolat By Adam Turoni
"Wonderful Chocolates. Beautifully made and the taste is terrific. A must for visitors."
Flying Monk Noodle Bar
"Wonderful! Representing s.e. Asia cuisine and doing a hell of a job. Try the Vietnamese co..."
Boomys
"Passing by Boomys' window last week, we noticed an intriguing Asian menu..ever adventurous, ..."
Treylor Park
"Laid back. Some interesting bar food. Very good for lunch. Reasonable prices."
Jazz'd Tapas Bar
"good snack size bites, live music, owner has an attitude and overpriced. No matter the size..."
Lulu's Chocolate Bar
"the desserts are just okay and not a place to venture at night, unless by car."
Olympia Cafe
"Great fresh fish for 2, wonderful, warm, efficient staff. People we were eating with loved t..."
B&D Burgers
"A few locations-but the best is on Congress Street..very good burgers and a high definition ..."
The Collins Quarter
"Voted best hamburger in Savannah..good food, innovative. Wait is sometimes too long, especi..."
Liberty Street Grill -- CLOSED
" Convenient location, easy parking, good food, laid back but sophisticated atmosphere...all ..."
Sly's Sliders and Fries
"Wonderful flavors..great fun..even the mini hot dogs are delish! Perfect if you are on a bu..."
Car: not necessary

Please go to the insider's guide. I have tried to list something for everyone and certainly our wonderful growing list of restaurants.

ENJOY!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

All noise complaints may be met with immediate dismissal from the property.
No use of outside spaces after 9pm or before 8am.
This is a nonrefundable property
Trip cancellation is advised to protect your payments.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties