Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy 4 Bedroom Cottage

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to 1013 Thrasher Court, a Sparrow Pond cottage located on the West Beach in Kiawah Island, SC. This 'Tree House' cottage is a 4 BR/ 3 BA cottage situated at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac.

Enjoy the 30 miles of paved bike or walking trails along all of Kiawah Island's beautiful landscapes. Take the kids to the Sparrow Pond pool and get splashing, just a 3- minute walk away. The 10 miles of private beach is a great spot for a bike ride, leisurely walk, or to simply relax and unwind. You can also enjoy all the different Golf and Tennis facilities the island have to offer. Freshfields is just a short drive or bike ride away for your shopping and dining convenience, and enchanting Charleston is only a 30- minute drive from Kiawah Island.

The spacious living/dining area is open, comfortable and displays a dining table which features seating for eight. The updated kitchen has everything you need to serve family and friends. Its peninsula opens to a second sitting area surrounded by full height windows. From this open and spacious living area, step out onto the screen porch and enjoy the quiet wooded view. This lovely home also features a wrap- around outdoor deck and gas grill.

A kids bedroom is on the left of the entrance displaying a children's bunk bed, with a double sized mattress on the bottom and twin bed on top; a T.V set up with built in DVD and VHS player is provided to view the extensive children's movie collection stored under the bed. A second bedroom holds two twin beds. The shared bathroom has all the amenities, including a hair dryer.

The master suite offers a king sized bed, walk-in closet and private bath. The master bath also provides a tub/whirlpool combination and two separate sinks. The second suite, just right to the living area offers a queen sized bed and private bath. Basic Cable, high speed Internet and Wi- Fi are available.

PLEASE NOTE:

- All 7 day reservations are from Saturday to Saturday.

- You have access to all public Kiawah Island amenities EXCEPT: NIGHT HERON POOL, NEW WEST BEACH POOL, RIVER GOLF COURSE AND CASSIQUE GOLF COURSE.

More Details

Owner
Alina Bartlett
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 26, 2017

About Alina Bartlett

We are Richard and Alina Bartlett, the owners of 1013 Sparrow Pond Cottage. Both of our children learned to ride bikes, roller blade, fishing and crabbing in Kiawah. Every summer we host our extended family from Florida and every Thanksgiving we share the good times with those from Canada. We wish every one of our guests lasting and unforgettable memories.

Alina Bartlett purchased this cottage in 1994

Why Alina Bartlett chose Kiawah Island

During our 10th wedding anniversary we visited Kiawah, a Real Estate Agent and the rest is history. We chose this Barrier Island because of its natural beauty, relaxed atmosphere, miles of bike paths, and shallow safe beach, a must with small children.

What makes this cottage unique

1013 Sparrow Pond is located in the area we like to call “historic Kiawah” or the West End of the island. It is close to the Main Gate and easy access to Freshfields Village. We are a few minutes’ walk to both the neighborhood pool and the beach. A short bike ride on the beach will take you to the West End of the island where the river meets the sea and where you can experience haunting sunsets and plenty of marine life. The tidal pools are great fun for the young ones. We are also a short walking distance from the Cougar Point Golf Course and the West End Tennis Center.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lovely time and found your cottage very comfortable and had everything we needed. The extra queen bedroom was perfect for my mom as she was able to wheel her walker right into the huge shower. We loved the beach and rented bikes and the boys enjoyed the freedom. We saw lots of birds, alligators and even a deer. The kitchen was wonderful and very easy to work in. Much to my husband and my disappointment – our 3 sons loved all the TV channels! It did come in handy on our one very rainy day. We ate the Fat Hen and Rosebank farms Restaurant – great food! We found the Fresh Fields very easy to get to and the grocery there was great. My husband and I and one son walked all the way to the far western tip of the beach where there is an estuary – we saw a dolphin and the seclusion was awesome! Thank you for a wonderful time!!!
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 3

Map

Car: necessary

Amenities

West Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed displays a bottom double and a top twin
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1) Lower bunk is double size, upper is single.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Cozy 4 Bedroom Cottage
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
5

Our Easter holiday was perfect in so many ways.

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was perfect for our family of eight. We spent the Easter holiday biking, swimming, sight seeing, and attending a beautiful Easter Sunday

sunrise service. This home is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach, and close to many restaurants, and historical Charleston. Thank you for this wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Leigh Ann, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Sunrise Service! Best always.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nottingham. UK.
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous accommodation, in superb location, just a couple of minutes to pool and beach. I would recommend this cottage without reservation. It is in exceptional condition, and fitted throughout with all you could need.

Many thanks to the owners.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Should not be listed with your company

  • 1 of 5

I have rented several times with Home Away and have never been disappointed before this experience. Obviously you have not seen the property in person. All baths had serious mold, tub had sand, leak in ceiling with mold, cockroaches, washing machine had mold in the rubber gasket. So bad that I could not wash my clothes, only their towels. It truly was an embarrassment. Reading through their contract again I think they have had similar reviews as they mention - if you don't like it, it was your decision to rent. I hope you remove this property. This is not just a cleaning issue but total neglect. We have pictures showing the above if interested.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Constance, I am very sorry that the conditions of our place were not to your satisfaction. Since we are not able to visit the place between rentals, we are addressing these issues with the management company so they will be resolved in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice place

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our two families. We would definitely return. I would recommend renting bikes because it makes trips to the beach much easier. The house is located on a cul-de-sac, so our kids were able to run around outside without fear of traffic. There is a small pool right down the street that we had access to for those afternoons that we didn't want to make the trip to the beach. I just wish that Cougar Point wasn't under construction because this house would be super convenient to the course.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was lovely and perfect for our family! It had a well stocked kitchen and we loved the

  • 5 of 5

There was one thing to repair and that was the porch sliding door. It would stick and be hard to own/close.

We found that some booking company's /real estate agency's offered a 25% discount to people who rented in East Beach due to the construction noise. Does VBRO off that same discount??

Thank You

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. The door issue will be taken care of and thank you for letting us know. Regarding discounts those happen at the discretion of the owners and booking agencies and not VRBO. We look forward to serve you in the future, Alina Bartlett
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great spring break

  • 4 of 5

Great for 2 small families

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Robin, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Alina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160

During Summer season only full week rentals (7 nights-min) will be accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.