Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

On The water, away from the noise. Wheelchair ramp. Minutes from Galveston.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Space 1,150 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

One master bedroom, Another bedroom for the adult guests , 3 full baths additional bath down stairs if needed. sleeps 8-10 people ( depends on how well you like who your vacationing with) open living room area. 2 full size beds, 2 queen size beds, 1 single size bed and two comfortable couches. Full kitchen with all pot & pans and silverware. Dining area inside home and two tables out on 200 square foot deck outside ,40" flat screen HD cable TV with Internet and Wi-Fi . Large fishing pier with boat ramp, bay and bayou back up to this property, great for jet skis small boats and excellent for Kayak fishing A paddle boat can be rented for twenty five dollars extra. Fish out the back door. Galveston's Moody Gardens , Schlitterbahn and the Galveston Strand district only 15 minuets away. NASA is 15 miles away along with Tangiers outlet mall, Bay fishing 1/2 mile away with access to the Gulf of Mexico. This Bayou house is great for couples that like the quite and beautiful sunsets. The home is on the water and miles from traffic yet you can be at Kemah Boardwalk or Galveston beaches in 15-20 minutes. The Bistro cafe down the street offer some of the best seafood and Italian food in the area . If you want a cold beer The Palms offers the coldest beer in Texas only 3 blocks away. Here's the good news if your looking for a place to relax, have your favorite drink, Bar-B- Que (2 pits on premises) and just watch the sunset, this is a great place to be. This coastal cabin backs up to miles of saltwater grass with some fishing right off the deck however the fishing is not the best due to fresh water flowing downstream. Bring your own Kayak or small boat and you can enjoy some laid back R&R I want to let boating folks know that even though we are on the water the bayou is land locked and there is no access to Galveston Bay from this location. Louis Bait camp one mile down the road is the closest place to put your boat in the cost is $5.


Owner
Gary Blackmor
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Gary Blackmor

Born and raised on the Gulf coast and Houston area love the water and the sunsets.

Gary Blackmor purchased this house in 1998

Why Gary Blackmor chose Hitchcock

location to the water

What makes this house unique

Right on the water, great place to bring my kids, very safe and plenty of room for them to jet ski while I watch them from my sun deck.

Amenities

Hitchcock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Completly New Bathroom 2016!
    Bathroom 2.5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , Down Stairs We do have a extra shower on the fishing pier.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private full bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , New Addition, just completed 2016
  • master with full bath, beautifully appointed curtains with flat screen television in room .wide 42 ' door 36 '
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Home has full sized washer and dryer. freezer in unit .Full bath down stairs and shower head on pier to cool yourself off when the temperature gets to hot. Great for bring your jet ski with you to enjoy the bayou all by yourself. Wi -fi and cable tv Something that is fun for all ages is feeding local tamed ducks about 20 live two doors down and are the neighbors pets. Its fun to feed them and the when you do watch the sea gull seamingly come out of nowhere for a quick meal.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
On The water, away from the noise. Wheelchair ramp. Minutes from Galveston.
average rating of 4.409091 based on 22 reviews
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house! Our family had a wonderful vacation. We loved the kayaks and paddle boat. We had such a beautiful view of the sunset. Gary was very kind he communicated with me prior to arrival and communicated with me when we were leaving to see how our stay was. We would definitely recommend staying here !

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty

  • 1 of 5

The day we got there had to text the owner about the roaches. Heard nothing from him until the day after we left. The linens on the bed were dirty. Toilets,stove, refrigerator was dirty. I was charged for a paddle boat you could not use the steering doesn't work. Out of my deposit he is charged me 50 for kayaks that was not used and 50 for cleaning how stupid is that.I left it a lot cleaner than I found it. I stay in a lot of places but this was the worst. We had to put our groceries in trash bags and tie them up to keep roaches out. Really nasty place.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Gary and family have a lovely home. The kids were able to play by the doc and enjoy the peace and quiet. We enjoyed crabbing and bbq. We have already recommended to our friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Laid Back

  • 5 of 5

The environment here is very laid back making it easy to relax. There is plenty of space to move around inside and outside which made it easier to keep the kids happy. The beach was about a 20 minute drive with the island traffic, but not too bad. We definitely look forward to staying here again!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Red Bay, AL
1

Bugs...wouldn't recommend to anyone

  • 1 of 5

This is the only time that I have left a place that I rented. The roaches were terrible. I had to turn on my phone flashlight to find the key and roaches were running around everywhere outside. Once inside there was a huge roach on the kitchen floor and one on the Chik Fil A stuffed cow. I contacted the owner that night and let him know that I couldn't stay there and asked for a refund. He texted me back and wanted me to meet him the next day and I couldn't because this trip was to see my nephew graduate from high school and we had plans with family and graduation. I never heard back again from Gary after that. I had to rent a hotel room. If you want a nice place to stay that is bug free go elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes it's true, there where roaches from a previous renter that left 7 bags of trash, crabs & fish mess in the garage. The home has been exterminated twice and all is well. In the 16 years of owning the home we had never encountered a roach problem. The home is now roach free. I did try and call the renter but no answer and drove down there to talk with them but to no luck. The roach probelm was very minor and the issue has been addressed. Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Our Vacation 2017

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Gary's Place for 5 nights and we had a great time.

Tried fishing but didn't have a lot of luck but sure did catch Blue Crabs!

The place is Not a 5 star but it is clean, relaxing and furnished with everything you need and above all a great price. We recommend it for a family vacation and when you just need to get away and enjoy time to yourself. Thank you Gary for your hospitality, we hope to come back very soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Galveston and Hobbie airports
Nearest Barpub
Palms
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Boliver Free and lots of fun Go dolphin watchin!!
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Galveston
Nearest Train
4 Miles
train musem 15 miles in galveston strand musem
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 45
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bistro
Nearest Ski
backyard
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Galveston
Car: necessary

Galveston Beach, Moody Gardens, Kemah Boardwalk, Tangers Outlets Shopping mall, Gulf Greyhound Race Track, The Strand just 10-20 minute drive away . Great fishing with Louis's bait camp 1/2 mile away and access to the Gulf of Mexico.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $150
Kayak Rental optional $0
minimum restock fee $20

A completed rental agreement with a copy of drivers license and payment in full are required to secure your reservation. Parties,weddings receptions, or company festivities are not allowed. We rent only to family groups and responsible adults older than 25. Adults cannot rent on behalf of underage guests. Any use of property other than personal use must be approved by owner. Located At Interstate !-45 and Hwy 6. one mile north. The home is located about 3 miles north of the island of Galveston on the mainland. We have a two man Kayak and 2 single person Children Kayaks rental is $75 per stay. Please purchase your groceries prior tp arriving. Bring your own fishing and crabbing equipment. I have some very rough crab traps that can be used however bring tie straps to close holes in wire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties