check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Brand New Pool home with incredible view of the Whales Tail, Uvita Costa Rica

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

Pool Home with 2 Bedroom (Queens), 1 Bath and a Loft (2 twins); Sleeps 6.

9 Degrees North is a newly constructed 2 bedroom, 1 bath house with a large loft with two twin beds. The house boasts a very private setting with all the amenities of home, including a washer and dryer. Relax on the balcony and enjoy amazing views of the Whales Tail, one of the true wonders of the world! The natural beauty of Costa Rica surrounds you with frequently seen wildlife such as Toucans, Iguanas, Monkeys, and Sloths. A 4 x 4 vehicle is required to access the house. We recommend renting a Suzuki Vetara, Diahatsu Terrios, Mitsubishi Montero, Toyota 4Runner or Tacoma. The area offers various activities from lounging at the beach, surfing, exploring local waterfalls, bird watching...the list goes on.

More Details

Property Manager
Leigh and John Kendall
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

Why Leigh and John Kendall chose Puntarenas

After traveling to many areas of Costa Rica over the years we experienced some truly amazing views and towns, however we decided to invest in Uvita when we saw the view from 9 Degrees North.We knew this was our picture perfect escape with the most amazing view and a great little town. Uvita is a great mix of extremely welcoming locals and expats who have discovered the same paradise!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Brand New Pool home with incredible view of the Whales Tail, Uvita Costa Rica
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
San Diego, CA, USA
5

Wonderful stay at 9 degrees north!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable week at 9 Degrees North, over the holidays. The house is beautiful, spacious, and well equipped. The pictures really cannot do justice to the view, which must be seen to be believed. We found everything we needed, including plush towels, comfortable beds, an excellent shower, fans, beach towels, purified water, ample storage space, games, movies, and all needed to prepare meals. The house was large for two people, and would work well for two couples or a family. Everything was spotless on arrival and following a mid-visit-cleaning. We have experience with four-wheel drive roads and did not find the road to be a problem; the 4WD Daihatsu Terios we rented was perfect for us. Trina (the property manager) could not have been more friendly, helpful, or responsive; communication before and during our visit was excellent. We absolutely loved the location, which allowed us to enjoy a new adventure each day, and then return for a swim in the pool, drinks, the sunset, dinner, and a great night’s sleep. Our adventures included trips to Nauyaca Waterfalls (which we hiked), the closer waterfall down the hill, Manuel Antonio, Marina Ballena, Hacienda Baru, Ojachal, and visits to Playas Hermosa, Ventanas, Tortuga, Dominicalito (beautiful, incredibly long, almost empty beach!), and Dominical. We ate lunch out daily - favorites included Roadhouse Deli, Tortilla Flats, and Cafe Mono Congo - and prepared dinner using items purchased from the BM grocery or Mama Toucan’s, in Dominical. (Tips: Purchase paper towels, bar soap for the shower, and any needed spices or condiments before heading to the house. Also, the BM on the far side of town, ~1 mile South of the first, has a larger selection of produce and a chilled wine area). We also had a wonderful dinner at Kura Design Villas, within walking distance. (Tip: Ask Trina for their phone number to make reservations). Every morning we enjoyed coffee and fresh fruit on the deck. (Tip: You can purchase excellent coffee beans at Sibu in town, and they will grind them for you; they also have great breakfasts!) We spent many hours on the deck, just gazing at the incredible views. We honestly cannot recommend this house more. This was one of our favorite vacations, and the house ranks very high among the top rentals we have arranged through Homeaway or similar (many!). If you are interested in this area and the size of the house works for your group, don’t look further, just book!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas
5

I highly recommend, awesome place to vac.

  • 5 of 5

This property is awesome, I chose to stay in the loft so I would have a beautiful view of the ocean in the morning. Great outside deck. Could not ask for anything more, I'll definitely be back. I highly recommend!!!!!👍🤘🌴🏄🏻🐠🍷

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to relax and enjoy the view

  • 5 of 5

I recommend this place for those seeking a view and relaxation. The owners are accommodating and have built a nice clean practical home that gives you everything you need for your stay. For the price this is definitely a great deal. The drive is adventurous and well worth it. This is where we got a view that made our trip worthwhile. The deck is great and gives you a lot of extra space. Once you are there you realize it's all worth it and you won't want to leave. I would go back.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Houston, TX
5

Amazing View, very nice and new house!

  • 5 of 5

Crazy view of all of the coast from Dominical to the Whale's Tale, nice pool, very new place! Would recommend for anybody who needs a brake from the rat race! :)

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Beautiful but too much hassle. ENVISION goers DO NOT stay here

  • 2 of 5

The view from the home is amazing. The deck was great for practicing yoga in the morning. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to make meals without any trouble. It was also great to have a washer and dryer available. HOWEVER…

The swimming pool gave us an electric shock! The first time one person was in the pool and it was quick so they were not 100% sure what had happened. The second time multiple people were in the pool and were quite jarred. This was extremely scary to those who were shocked and just not acceptable.

The drive to the house is extremely steep and quite dangerous. You need to have a very serious manual 4 X 4 vehicle. We had been to Uvita previously and stayed on a mountain so we had no cause for concern but this is not your average road even for Costa Rica. If you want to take multiple trips from your rental a day this is definitely not the place for you. If you are content to sit in one place all week it could be ok.

We were coming to Uvita to attend Envision festival and did not want to camp. Immediately after making the reservation I received a message from Leigh that we would have to pay an extra security deposit for this week. I agreed because I saw no reason that there would be damage. I asked very early on if she had any special expectations for how the property should be left upon check out due to this additional deposit request but received no reply. Leigh was only interested in sending prompt messages when she was trying to get her money. At all other times her responses were quite slow and unfriendly, she seemed very annoyed with my questions. I was very disappointed in her attitude towards us. Upon arrival at the home Trina, the property manager informed us that many homes had been trashed in the past by Envision goers. It seems it was assumed we may do the same. (I can’t believe anyone would drive up there to party!) Leigh never directly stated her concern but it seems implied in the request for the additional security deposit and her attitude. Had we known it was so hard to get to/from we would have happily stayed somewhere else but this information was not disclosed, only that we needed a 4X4 vehicle. The whole interaction and stay at the home was definitely the downfall of our trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please understand that we built this home to enjoy it with our family and friends and have taken every measure to ensure the safety of everyone who visits to the best of our ability. The pool finish was repaired under warranty and it was confirmed that all electrical is working properly with no danger. We had renters prior to and after Sabrina's stay, all of which enjoyed the pool without issue and we also have our own young children in the pool. Rest assured all is fine. This review is the first that Sabrina mentioned an issue with anything related to her stay, and was received shortly after she requested her deposit be returned earlier than contracted, which I accommodated and refunded in full. It's disappointing that after answering a multitude of Sabrina's questions, including my concern surrounding renting to groups attending Envisionfest, the proximity of the house as compared to where Sabrina stayed on a prior vacation to Uvita, additional information about transportation and the drive up the dirt mountain road requiring a 4x4 car, and other questions that are clearly covered in the VRBO posting describing our home, that someone would be surprised. It's also frustrating that this group showed up with an additional person never mentioned in any of the multiple communications with Sabrina. When Sabrina sent an email apologizing for never mentioning the additional guest upon her arrival, the email described the home as beautiful and everything was great. There was no mention of concern over the safety of the road to our home. Admittedly, I had reservations when I realized this rental was planning to attend the Envision Festival. Sabrina's response to my inquiry to ensure they knew of the event and/or if not attending would understand the festival was in town and the response was they "just wanted to be more comfortable than camping". I had intended to block out the dates making them unavailable as I have done for the 2017 festival dates, however the rental confirmation was received within a day of the announcement of the festival dates which I was not aware of yet. Payment reminders are generic and sent automatically from VRBO, not myself, which is noted in the reminders generated by VRBO. I am always happy to answer any questions and appreciate your review and consideration of every other review we received being a 5 Star rating. If you have any concerns or questions, please don't hesitate to ask. Thanks, Leigh and John
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4
5

Beautiful view in sparkling house

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed two weeks at 9 Degrees North in February, 2016. The house is new and fresh with large porcelain tile floors, full size refrigerator, efficient gas stove, dishwasher and beds for six (2 queens and 2 twins in the loft). The large open room has the kitchen at one end, sitting area at the other. The bed was comfortable and each side had a recessed downlight in the ceiling for reading. The bathroom has a nice shower with a stone floor. The deck overlooks a mowed "yard" with new plants that will fill in nicely as they mature. The property is surrounded by tall ceiba and jacaranda trees where the chestnut mandible toucans stop by each morning for a look around. It was a true tropical experience to sit in the rocker and watch the Pacific roll in over the Ballena each day. The horizon disappears in the evaporative mists. The house is equipped with ceiling fans, including the deck, and two portable fans for wherever they're needed. A dip in the pool each day felt so good. In a separate building by the pool, there is a washer and dryer.

We brought DVDs to watch on the television and streamed on our laptop. We didn't have the correct cables to be able to stream to the tv. The road to the house is a classic dirt road with the accompanying large rocks, washboard areas and jarring dips. You must have a 4x4. We had a Terios (they are everywhere and appear to be the 4x4 of choice for tourists) that climbed the hill with a little difficulty at the steepest parts, but it was adequate.

The Uvita area has some very nice restaurants. In Ojochal, we ate at Exotica, Citrus, and Mamma e Papa and enjoyed them all. North of Uvita, there is Porque No at Paraiso resort, about 2 kms south of Dominical. Watch for the small sign which is nearly at the turn off the highway. La Parcel was good also.

The best place to ask for information on the area activities, restaurants and anything else you can think of is the Tourist Office located on the ocean side of the main highway. Sonia and Estela were wonderful resources.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
34 Miles
Quepos Auropuerto La Managua
Nearest Barpub
2.3 Miles
Roadhouse
Nearest Motorway
2.3 Miles
Costaneras Route 34
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
La Catarata Waterfall
Nearest Beach
3.6 Miles
Bahia Ballena
Car: necessary

Do you want the best view of the Whales tale in your own private home? Than this is the property for you. This home has a large covered deck with an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean and Playa Ballena National Marine Park where Pacific Humpback whales winter from December to March.

A four wheel drive vehicle is required for the 10 min drive up a mountain dirt road to arrive at 9° N, a two bedroom one bath home with a loft including two twin beds. The deck has a beautiful natural table that seats 6 and 2 rocking chairs. Uvita, a quaint town at the base of the mountain has all of the conveniences needed. Banks, grocery stores, restaurants, and ATV tours. There is a great waterfall and lunch spot on the mountain road to the home.

The town of Dominical is only a few minutes drive with lots of beaches to explore in between. From the bottom of the mountain it is only a few minutes to the famous Whales Tale Marine Park and some of the most beautiful beaches you have ever seen. Enjoy the wildlife of Costa Rica to include Monkeys, Sloths, Coatis, Red and Green Parrots, Toucans, white tailed Deer and all kinds of Butterflies. 9° N has an elevation of 1000+ feet which means that cool Pacific breezes blow all day long keeping you cool while being able to enjoy the full experience of this natural setting.

Getting to Uvita:

Uvita is located on the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. It’s about a 3.5 hour drive from the San Jose airport. There are 2 local runways that service this area of the Coast. One in Quepos about a 1 hour drive away and the other in Palmar Sur about 45 minutes away. Both are a 20 minute flight from San Jose and have 2 local airlines that fly into them, Sansa and Nature Air. Both airstrips have car rentals available.

An Abundance of Activities

The area offers an endless amount of activities for every type of adventure traveler, ranging from mellow chill-out activities to extreme sports. Whale watching, rain forest trail walking, zip lining, sightseeing, surfing, horseback riding, white water rafting, deep sea fishing, wild life observation, snorkeling / scuba diving and bird watching.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Uvita House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017 High Season
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 
 
Spring
Feb 23 2017 - Mar 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 
 
2016 High Season
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

If your reservation is over the Easter weekend or the Envision Fest weekend, the deposit required will be $1,000.00.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Uvita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1152 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , additional shower by the pool deck
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft above two private bedrooms - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Check in time is 3pm, if you need to arrange an alternate time please contact us to arrange.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties