Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kibbin | Creekside privacy | Cleaning fee already included in rate total

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8

Please note: Kibbin Cottage has a 3 night minimum stay.

Fall asleep to the music of Mackey Creek and awaken to a natural paradise! New stone cottage lodged in isolated setting between pristine, rushing creek and mountainside, with exquisite beamed interior of white pine, and locally sourced Linville blend stone and granite exterior. Heart pine floors on main level and wool carpet in loft. Marvin windows. Four skylights. Combination mountain cabin and Swedish décor. Architecturally exceptional in an extraordinary setting.

Nestled near the Pisgah National Forest , the owners' property consists of 7 heavily wooded acres on the house side of Mackey Creek. The owners' back property line runs just below the back side of the ridge line hundreds of feet above the house. The front property line runs along the midpoint of the stream . The owners do not own the bridge over the creek. About 3 miles by car from Curtis Creek road leading to US Forest Service's Curtis Creek Campground and about 8 miles by car from a main trailhead for Mackey Mt. and Chesnutwood Mt. on Curtis Creek Road.

A few minutes from the Revolutionary War era and rail town of Old Fort, fifteen minutes from Black Mountain, and a half hour from Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Sheets, towels, Wifi and land phone line provided for convenience.

House layout:

ground level: Corner bedroom with a king bed; a full hall bath (shower only); tiny corner bonus room with a trundle bed

main floor: dining table seats 8 with extender; wood fireplaces (one interior, one on porch); bedroom with a trundle bed; a corner bedroom with a king bed; full hall bath;

upper floor: a loft with a king bed and a full bath (shower only).

Please note: Kibbin Cottage has a 3 night minimum stay.

More Details

Property Manager
Greybeard Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

Amenities

Old Fort Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 King beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Other bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Kibbin | Creekside privacy | Cleaning fee already included in rate total
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
Palmetto, GA
5

Nature Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The home was beautiful! Loved opening the windows (weather permitting) and listening to the sounds of the creek. It was nice to unplug from the normal pressures and relax and enjoy nature.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Great! I'm glad you were happy with your stay at Kibbin and enjoyed the serene setting by the creek. Thank you for your feedback and for staying with Greybeard Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Durham, NC
5

Count yourself among the loyal few if you rent Kibbin

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Look around the Kibbin and be amazed at the effort, the thoughtfulness, the detail of thought put into every aspect of this house. The house history alone is awesome. A true hidden gem in the mountains. Secluded location but still close to everything. Perfect for visiting Linville, Mount Mitchell, Grandfather Mountain, Chimney Rock, Asheville and Brevard. Stream flows right outside the house and you can listen to it all night with the windows open. Only negative, there is *no microwave* in the house. Please owners, get one, put it in the closet just to give us an option. It is a privilege to be a repeat guest here and words and pictures can't do this place justice.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you were pleased with a return visit to the gem that is Kibbin! Sounds like you visited some great spots in the area during your time. Thanks for your feedback about the microwave - while the owner doesn't use microwaves personally, they appreciated the feedback and we will be adding a microwave to the home. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Graham, NC
4

Nice little weekend

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We really enjoyed the cabin and the creek. But the a/c went out in the main floor so it was hot! The woodworking in the cabin was amazing and it was fully stocked except no microwave. The coffee pot was broken too. There was no TV or phone service which was nice. The wifi worked on and off. But we all enjoyed unplugging for awhile. The creek was perfect for cooling off with the kids. We stayed in the middle and watched for snakes though bc the street down the lane was named "Copperhead Cove". Yikes! We couldn't get ahold of anyone in property management for the weekend FYI.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to hear about the trouble during your stay! I recall we had some bad storms in the area during the weekend -- I'm so sorry if that impacted the a/c and TV/Wifi. Regardless, it is our understanding that the TV and Wifi are back up and running and we're getting the a/c checked out. The coffee pot has been replaced. Our rental manager was on call the weekend that you were in town and didn't receive any calls from you. Do you know if you called the emergency line? There is a way to dial over for the emergency line if you call the main line during the weekend. Feel free to send any details to info at greybeardrealty dot com. We'd really like to know if there was a disconnect. I'm glad you had a nice time, but disappointed to hear that we couldn't get connected to resolve these issues during your stay! Update 9/20/17: a microwave is being added to the home. Thanks for the feedback on that!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Havin' a good time, here today!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had an overall great experience. There were only two slight issues that we had with the property. The Wifi connection was spotty at best. We had the reset the power multiple times to get it to work properly. Also it was not clear where the outside trash cans were located after searching the house extensively we were not able to locate. Otherwise, we would happily stay at this beautiful property again! Creek was a plus and the highlight of the vacation with the kids being able to tube in the creek, especially after the rain!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We will relay this feedback to the homeowner. Kibbin is located in such a beautiful, unique for adults and kids, alike! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! -Greybeard Rentals team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mechanicsville, VA
5

Relaxing family trip

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This home is lovely! Nicely situated on the creek with privacy and no neighbors in sight. We enjoyed sitting on the porch, playing in the creek, and visiting the surrounding areas. Highly recommend for families!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback! The setting at Kibbin really is beautiful and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! -Greybeard Rental's team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our family visited the Kibbin, and it was simply amazing. The views and house itself were stunning! Kids played by the stream most of the days (even in the cold). We are already planning our return trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: Greybeard Rentals
Owner's Response: Sounds like an amazing time at Kibbin! Yes, we would love to welcome you back! - Greybeard Rentals team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Please note that the cleaning fee is already included in this advertised rate.