Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Looking across the Bay and Lake Superior! 4 Bedrooms SPECIAL RATE OCT 23-NOV 17

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 1,055 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms (incl loft), 1 bathroom, downtown with stunning views

SPECIAL DISCOUNTED RATE FROM OCT 23 TO NOV 13, 2017. Summer weekly booking schedule SUNDAY to SUNDAY only from June 24, 2018 to September 9, 2018. At all other times it is a 2 night minimum.

Anchor House is a 4 bedroom (including a loft bedroom), 1 bath, house with a wood stove fireplace and a deck with a fantastic view of West Bay and Lake Superior. It is located downtown along the bay, with an easy walk to all the restaurants and bars.

Anchor House opens in May and closes late October. Summer bookings: between the last week of June to early September bookings are weekly only running from Saturday to Saturday. At other times there is a 2 night minimum and bookings may start on any day of the week.

Anchor House, built in the 1880s, has been kept in traditional style so you can have that feeling of stepping back into the past. It has a wood parlor stove and soft bed linen for warmth and comfort Some modern amenities have been added to Anchor House for your comfort including a 42" LED flat screen TV, cable TV, and a stainless steel range. It also has a large yard for relaxing or playing.

Anchor House is one lot from the water with nothing but a couple of trees, grass and some sand between it and the water. (As a courtesy an owner of the lot situated directly behind and on West Bay and behind Anchor House currently allows renters of Anchor House recreational use of the lot and beach and to access the water. Just take the steps down the back of Anchor House, cross the foot bridge, and follow the path.*)

Anchor House's living room has a 3 seat sofa, a rocking chair, flat screen TV, cable, a DVD player, and a small collection of movies for when you are stuck indoors. Next to the living room is a sitting/parlor room, with two reading chairs, side table and the wood parlor stove - a perfect spot for reading in front of a fire. North of the sitting room is an eat-in kitchen with an extendable dining table, stainless electric range, full size refrigerator, coffee maker, pots, pans, crockery, glassware and utensils.

On the first floor of Anchor House are three of the four bedrooms. The master bedroom has a queen size bed, while the second bedroom has a water view and a full size bed. The remaining first floor bedroom has twin bunk beds. On the second floor is the loft bedroom which has two twin beds and access is by way of loft stairs. All the beds are well appointed with soft bed linen and the queen and full bed have white comforters.

The standard, seasonal and event accommodation rates include 6 people and use of the 3 bedrooms on the 1st floor (1xqueen, 1xfull, and one set of bunk beds). The loft bedroom is secured from entry unless prior arranged at an additional cost of $10 per night. Each additional person, above 6 people, attracts an additional nightly rate of $5 per person (this includes the use of the loft) to a maximum occupation of 9 people. The 9th person would be accommodated on a fold out small twin bed or the sofa bed.

The Anchor House bathroom is bright and fresh and contains a shower, toilet, sink and vanity cabinet. Your bathroom linen is all there waiting for you to use it.

Outside, on two sides of Anchor House, is an undercover porch with some comfortable seating including an old school pew. At the back of the House is a deck with a patio table and seating for dining.

The Anchor House also has a park charcoal grill for your family BBQ. There is also a small firepit in front of the deck so you can look at the fire and the view from the deck.

Please come and enjoy a relaxing stay at Anchor House in traditional style!

* The courtesy recreational land use access over the vacant waterfront lot is not a renter's right or condition of your rental and it is subject to change at any time. You do not pay for this recreational use access and it is not part of any rental of renting Anchor House. If you decide to take advantage of this currently allowed recreational land use while staying at Anchor House just take the steps down the back, across the suspended walkway over the pond, and follow the trail to the beach, and please kindly respect the land and keep it clean so future renters of Anchor House receive the same courtesy recreational use access.

CHANGE OVER DAY: From late June to early September weekly (7 nights) bookings from Saturday to Saturday. All other times 2 night minimum with change over day open.

OPEN: Anchor House is open from May to late October. Closed November to April.

INTERNET: None in Anchor House. Available at various places around town, including (subject to change without notice) at the Diner a short distance away, at the Grand Marais Tavern, and at the Grand Marais Outfitters in town.

Directions:

FROM M-77 - Travel on M-77 toward Grand Marais, go down the hill into town, turn right on Randolph St and continue on veering to the right onto Grand Marais Avenue. Follow Grand Marais Avenue for about 500 feet, and the cabin is on the left about 100 feet after the Catholic Church.

FROM H-58: Travel into town along H-58 (turns into to Carlson Street when you enter Grand Marais. Cross M-77/Lake Avenue and head toward the bay and then swing to the right and follow Grand Marais Avenue for about 600 feet, and the cabin is on the left about 100 feet after the Catholic Church.

Occupancy guide:

2 renters: perfect romantic getaway - enjoy the deck, enjoy the fireplace, enjoy the relaxation.

4 renters: perfect size and everyone can have a bedroom if they wish, bathroom sharing.

6 renters: good size with enough room to find privacy, sharing one bathroom.

8 renters: beds will all be full, tight on the bathroom usage.

9 renters: you will need a fold out bed made up and bathroom sharing will be very tight.

10 renters: can't do it.

Ten things to do around Grand Marais:

1. Visit the local restaurants: The West Bay Diner (you will wait for your food, but it is good), The Sportsmans (a real U.P. feel to it), The Dunes Saloon (the local watering hole with some really good pizza), the Breakwall Bakery and Cafe (the newest restaurant in town).

2. Swim at East Bay or West Bay beaches. Take advantage of the permitted recreational land use on the lot between Anchor House and West Bay to use the beach and swim.

3. Walk Agate Beach from the lighthouse to Sable Falls. Or walk along the road to Sable Falls west along Carlson Street and H-58, then down the side of the falls, and back to the Lake Street in town.

4. Walk the trails both east and west of Grand Marais.

5. Visit the Agate Museum and other antique and gift shops in town.

6. Thursday night is farmers' market in the town park - locals sell their homegrown and homemade goods - there are some excellent cooks living in Grand Marais.

7. See Dennis/Kim at the Grand Marais Outfitters to organize or rent a kayak, bicycles, a four wheeler, or a charter boat tour/fishing expedition.

8. Visit the log slide lookout about 13 miles west of Grand Marais off H-58.

9. Visit Pictured Rocks that is about 40 minutes west of Grand Marais off H-58.

10. Use the grill on the grass area, cook your steaks, sit on your deck and enjoy your steak with a cocktail or soda while looking out at the lighthouse and water.

(If Anchor House is unavailable for you please check out the Bay Cabin #421494, the Ridge Road Cabin #294031, or the Bay Watch Cabin #596236)

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

The owners' family have had ties to Grand Marais for more than 40 years and have been renting on VRBO since 2010.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this house in 2015

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Grand Marais

What a great view! Anchor House is a piece of Grand Marais' history.

What makes this house unique

The unique fireplace and traditional aspects of Anchor House is what makes it so special. Let's not forget the magnificent view and location though!

Amenities

Grand Marais House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1055 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Shower (no bath tub), vanity sink, toilet and towel racks.
  • Small bathroom with a shower, toilet, sink vanity and towel racks.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen , Bed linen supplied - soft linen and white comforters
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Bed linen supplied - soft linen and white comforters
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Twin - Bed linen supplied - soft linen and white comforters.
    Optional roll-away bed - 1 twin/ single , One single foldable roll away bed available - $5/night
    Loft bedroom (additional cost $5pp/night) - 2 twin/ single , Bed linen supplied - soft linen and white comforters
  • Standard and seasonal rate includes up to 6 people and use of 3 bedrooms on 1st floor. Each additional person is $10 per night up to a maximum occupancy of 9 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Looking across the Bay and Lake Superior! 4 Bedrooms SPECIAL RATE OCT 23-NOV 17
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
5

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I enjoyed staying at the Anchor House very much. It could not have been cleaner and we had everything we needed for cooking. We loved that it was walking distance to town, and a short walk to the beach. The only thing I could say that would have made our stay any better is a bigger coffee maker. We are all big coffee drinkers so the four cupper was a little inconvenient but we made do.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

The property is clean and located close to town and the beach. Check in was easy and our group of eight (four adults and four kids) was very comfortable in the space. The only struggles we had were that the coffee maker was too small and that we didn't want to leave!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect stay in Grand Marais

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I knew when we saw the photos that we wanted to stay at Anchor House, and the real thing didn't disappoint us. It was a charming and comfortable place for us, my brother, and his wife to stay while touring the area. For two retired couples it was ideal! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cottage was perfect. Location lovely.

  • 5 of 5

Only suggestion is to replace the cafe rod holding the shower curtain up with heavier shower rod. It was a comedy act every night with the rod falling down.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you kindly for your nice review. Thanks also for letting us know about the curtain rod. We had a glass door until very recently and we will be replacing it with another glass door in November, but I will try to find something stronger in the meantime so what happened to you doesn't continue to happen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
We live in Green Bay Wisconsin.
5

Very Charming and super clean!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our family. Helen is very prompt with helping out if need be. The cabin is clean down to the most hidden spaces. By far the cleanest place I have ever stayed. It is charming and bright and very centrally located. Has all the amenities a family needs for a relaxing beach getaway.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cute and quite.

  • 5 of 5

Loved it.

Clean and well decorated with all the amenities needed. Beds were very comfortable and we loved the pot belly stove in the middle of the room. It was like walking back in time.

The walk to the beach wasn't to far and you are only a couple blocks from downtown.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
105 Miles
Marquette
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Dune Saloon
Nearest Golf
40 Miles
H-58 near Munising
Nearest Motorway
H-58
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
West Bay Diner
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Cross country skiing
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
West Bay

Anchor House is downtown, a short walk to all the restaurants and bars. Behind Anchor House has a great view of Lake Superior and West Bay.

As a courtesy, an owner of the lot between Anchor House and West Bay allows people who are renting Anchor House to have recreational use access through the lot to the beach and water - renters do not pay any consideration for this access and it is subject to change at any time.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Prop damage coverage fee $39
Tax Rate 6.0%

CANCELLATION POLICY: 100% refund if you cancel more than 60 days prior to arrival; Any cancellation within 60 days of arrival will attract a minimum of 10% of total booking; Cancellation 7-21 days from date of arrival and you will forfeit your deposit; Cancellation between 0-6 days from date of arrival and you will forfeit your deposit and the balance of any night not re-booked by a third party. (Please note that VRBO will retain 100% of your service fee amount if you cancel within 60 days of arrival.)

LOFT USE: Use of the loft is $10 per night - 2 x twin beds available in loft (additional 2 persons over 6 persons include loft usage).

Important note: RV/CAMPER VANS ARE NOT PERMITTED ON THE PROPERTY OR IN THE YARD BECAUSE OF SEPTIC LOCATION. RVs and CAMPERS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO HOOK UP TO ELECTRICAL SUPPLY IN ANCHOR HOUSE. Any overloading of the electrical system while an RV/Camper is parked in front of Anchor House will be presumed to be a result of hooking it into the electrical system and guest is responsible for repair as excluded from accidental property damage coverage as a "willful act."

Property damage insurance premium of $39 for coverage up to $1,000 is non-refundable (except if booking is cancelled more than 24 hours prior to check in date). Guests have the alternate option of paying a refundable security deposit of $500 that is subject to any loss, damage or exceptional cleaning circumstances occurring during guest's stay.

Pet fee: your pet fee is non-refundable and covers the additional cost of cleaning, spraying and deodorizing the cabin associated with pets staying in the cabin. Owners of pets are kindly asked to pick up pet deposits around the yard and dispose of them into the trash for the convenience of renters who stay after you.

Tents are not permitted 50' east of bathroom and north because of the septic and drain field in that area. Tents are upon prior arrangement but maximum number of people permitted on property is 10 persons.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.