Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Hideout up in the Trees...

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

This home is nestled on one acre of hillside property overlooking a small canyon

Our home in the hills above Pomona boasts incredible sunrise views & hundreds of square feet of outdoor decks and patios surrounding the house. Minutes from Fairplex at Pomona, parks, golf courses & the Claremont Colleges, it's nestled above it all in a quiet canyon. The house has two large living and family rooms complete with leather couches, large fireplaces and televisions, and two spacious bedrooms with Cal King beds. Decks and patios surround the house, as do the countless trees lining the hillside. The house features a fully stocked kitchen, laundry, 8-person spa and all the comforts of home. A dining room, breakfast nook and several outdoor decks provide plenty of table seating both indoors and out, affording you a perfectly relaxing getaway. And the Treehouse is great for hosting larger events!*

Optional: A separate two bed/one bath apartment with two private outdoor patios, a living room, a dining area, and full-sized kitchen with bar seating is available on the ground level for an additional charge. To rent this property by itself, please see VRBO property ID# 704608. When renting both properties, up to 12 overnight guests can be accommodated with four to six beds plus queen-sized air mattresses upon request.

*Renters who would like to host a group of non-overnight guests beyond twelve people are welcome to do so for an additional fee.

More Details

Peggy Underwood
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About Peggy Underwood

My husband and I both grew up at a mile above sea level, but in different states. We miss the snow but we love the seclusion of our home up in the trees (and the convenience of having civilization just a three minute drive away). We' re new to the Claremont/Pomona community but still have friends and family throughout LA and Orange Counties. Most nights you can find us up in our spectacular 'treehouse'...

Peggy Underwood purchased this house in 2015

Why Peggy Underwood chose Westmont

We purchased this beautiful house with immaculate custom craftsmanship in order to enjoy a home where trees are plentiful and neighbors are scarce, and we can't wait to share it with others!

What makes this house unique

Peaceful isolation and unrivaled comfort. We love the open floor plan and spacious rooms, as well as the comfy couches and enormous spa. Enjoy a roaring fire on a cold night or a gentle breeze on a warm afternoon. Sprawling decks, patios and verandas on three sides of our home don't hurt either...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Full disclosure, this guest gave us a 1-star review which can be read on our property page. We're thrilled about it, frankly, because he admits to knowing our rules regarding noise and smoking, and just ignoring them anyway, which doesn't exactly drive away business for us. In essence, he didn't like getting noise complaints from neighbors or having a portion of his damage deposit taken to pay for a complete deep clean of our 500-gallon hot tub, which resulted from his group's disgusting misuse (again, he admits to as much in his review). Scott's group left trash on our property and dishes in the sink (I mean how hard is it to load--just LOAD--a dishwasher...?) but most importantly, his group drank and smoked heavily on our redwood deck and ashed all over it. We found butts left on the ground in a canyon surrounded on all sides by dry brush. Then Scott had the audacity to tell us that he's "30 years old and he knows how to put out a cigarette without starting a wildfire..." Somehow I doubt our neighbors would sleep better knowing that, especially since smoking is a violation of city ordinance and signs to that effect line the road he took to our property. He put our dream home at risk, as well as our neighbors', and had a cavalier attitude. Don't bother with this one... he'll ignore your rental agreement, and if you call him on that, he'll ding you with a 1-star review. You're better off passing on him...

Actual verbatim quotes from his correspondence with us:

"I also want to leave [her] a good review because she seemed like a nice person when I met her."

"I hope we can find a middle ground here because i don't think either of us want to leave a poor review for the other party. All in all, we had an enjoyable time at the house and I appreciate the way you've been communicating with me about these issues."

I've actually never left a negative guest review, but after this whole mess, I'm absolutely happy to oblige.
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 1


Westmont House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Apartment (Optional) - toilet , shower
  • The master bath is a full bath complete with vanity and ample counter space. The guest bath is a three quarter and is across the hall from the guest bedroom.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 1 king
    Lower Apartment Master (Optional) - 1 queen
    Lower Apt. Studio (Optional) - 1 queen
    Family Room - 1 queen , Pullout Couch or Air Mattress
  • The Master Suite has a Cal King as well as its own bathroom and two private entrances. This room has access to the East Portico and the deck and hot tub out back. The guest bedroom has a king bed and large closet, with a shared guest bathroom. A pullout couch or large air mattresses can be provided for parties over four people. If more than two bedrooms are required, the lower level boasts a full apartment with two additional queen bedrooms, a bathroom, full kitchen and two separate patios.
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Most guests come to our home to relax indoors and out. Our decks are surrounded by trees which allow for nicely shaded outdoor dining or lounging in the sun. And our home permits a cool westward breeze on warm afternoons and offers blazing fires on cold nights (we also have central AC and heat, if you're into that sorta thing...) We do however, ask that guests enjoy our enormous rear deck during daylight hours. Guests are welcome to use the spa or seating after dark, but we ask that you respect our neighbors and keep all noise and voices to an absolute minimum after sunset. Sound really carries in our canyon!


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Secluded Hideout up in the Trees...
average rating of 4.25 based on 13 reviews

Not the house for a fun time

  • 1 of 5

If you're planning on enjoying some time at this house, i would recommend staying somewhere else. This place is made for families who plan on being quiet during their stay. The owners are very uptight and even have 2 cameras on the front and back porch to keep an eye on things. They claim it's completely legal to have the cameras, but it seemed a bit extreme and uncomfortable to us. On top of that, the owners stay in a tiny home that's half way down the driveway while you're in their house.

You will get a noise complaint at night even if you're only enjoying conversation and laughter on the back porch. They advertise having an outdoor hot tub, but after having some beers and cigarettes in the tub they decided to not refund my entire deposit and claimed they would have to clean the tub after our stay. In my opinion a hot tub should be cleaned after every guest no matter what. Their other reasons for not refunding the deposit was that we left a few uncleaned dishes, forgot to take out a little trash and smoked cigarettes outside (which is against their policy because of starting fires).

I understand the concern of starting fires, but we are 30 years old and are fully capable of smoking a cigarette without starting a wild fire. This is the first time i've ever not received my full deposit back. Only after writing the owner multiple times did she refund me a very small portion of the deposit, meaning she kept most of it to clean the tub, take out a bag of trash and wash a few dishes. This left me wondering what the cleaning fee was for??

To add insult to injury, we came in August and the house was extremely hot. The air conditioning did not work at all, making sleeping very uncomfortable. The owner told us to try and leave the doors open to get some air flow which only ended up letting bugs in the house.

It's a beautiful house and Peggy seemed like a very nice lady, but if you are trying to come here to enjoy some time at the house i would recommend finding another place.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Scott, Thanks so much for the handful of kind words and for taking the time to write this review! We really appreciate ANY review because they all benefit us one way or another. We think you're a nice guy too. You see, we initially enjoyed having your group here and as you mentioned, the noise complaints came from neighbors (250yds away) who really don't mind our guests unless they're unusually loud late at night. Since we both know that's exactly what happened during your stay, and since you and I both know the extent to which your group totally abused the spa & rear deck until the wee hours of the morning (while making tons of noise, drinking and smoking heavily, and inexplicably admitting to as much in your very useful review) I'd say you should be grateful we sent you $150 back. We did that because we like you despite the filthy state of the spa when you were done, the ash & butts left all over the redwood deck that we built ourselves, your delightfully charming review, and the fact that your group endangered our entire canyon by ashing on our deck and putting your cigarettes out on the ground while surrounded by dry brush. So you're welcome--but just FYI, I doubt our neighbors are terribly impressed by how responsible a smoker you think you are. We do, however, appreciate you admitting you understood our smoking policy and the reasoning behind it, but just thought it was too stupid for you to follow. Honestly, negative reviews like this keep people who ACT like you act and expect what you expect, from renting our home, which is just fantastic. And in our experience, a 1-star review just leads people who wouldn't DREAM of ignoring our policy, city ordinance and basic common sense, to believe that we're reasonable folks who ask very little of our guests, but do expect them to respect our home, our neighbors (especially at 3am) and to refrain from lighting paper on fire and throwing it on the ground. As I'm sure you noticed (because it was sparkling at your check-in) we ALWAYS clean our spa between guests—unfortunately, after you guys we had to drain, deep-clean, scrub, sanitize and chemically treat the 500-gallon spa... and since you were responsible for all of that, we had to cut into your damage deposit, something we've only done 3 times in 3 years after hundreds of guests. To say we charged you for dishes or trash is not true, but no worries. Let's just chalk this up to a lesson learned... for both of us. Respectfullyish, The Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Property worked perfectly for our family and Peggy went out of her way to help us with airline snafus and changing schedules! We hope to stay again.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ross, thanks for your kind words. We were happy to help out however we could. Thank you for leaving the place so neat and clean. You are definitely welcome any time. Hope to see you again soon! Peggy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely hideaway

  • 4 of 5

Peggy was a great host and the home was a perfect place for us to nest while we moved our daughter into one of the Claremont colleges. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Beautiful Gem!

  • 5 of 5

Peggy & Phil were SO easy to work with and very accommodating. The house was the perfect balance of peace and serenity and fun! We enjoyed the quiet nights, beautiful wood deck and cozy beds! Thank you for making our stay wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very pleasant stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our son and daughter-in-law were married in Claremont, and Peggy and Phil's house was very nice for our extended family. It wasn't too far from the Claremont Colleges-about a 10 minute drive. The house had very nice touches put out just for us; coffee, chocolates, and cookies were both upstairs snd downstairs (we rented both units). We had a large group of people, and the owners made sure the picnic tables and chairs were set up before we got there. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch drinking our coffee and watching the beautiful sunrises. We also enjoyed that it was removed from the city in the hills.

Peggy and Phil were easy to work with and we would recommend this VRBO to anyone staying in the area. In fact, I wish we would've known about it while our son had been attending Pomona College, since it can be very difficult to find a hotel there.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Gabriel

renter beware

  • 1 of 5

Vague renters agreement is bait for your security deposit

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stanley, I'm sorry you and your friends found our rental agreement vague. However, here are three violations of that agreement that were not in any way vague. For starters, "the cost of any unreasonable damage caused by the renter will be deducted from the damage deposit" and since you permanently damaged three pieces of antique furniture (including my grandmother's cedar chest from before WWII), you forfeited your deposit. Second, there was to be "no smoking whatsoever" (per our rental agreement—and, ya know, city ordinance...) and yet we found multiple butts in our driveway. Finally, "Only guests listed on this agreement may occupy the property at any time without prior approval." Unfortunately, we had several noise complaints from neighbors and we also found enough alcohol containers and empty cases of liquor for a platoon. Incidentally, you should also let your father know he's unwittingly committing credit card fraud by attempting to reclaim his money for your entire stay, based on your claim that you canceled in advance of that particular weekend and never showed up. This delightfully articulate 1-star review seems to suggest otherwise. Thankfully, we have text messages from you regarding questions you had during your stay, your signature on the rental contract and screenshots of your agreement to abide by our terms of use on VRBO. I don't think your credit card company is going to be thrilled with you guys. The one instance of vagueness I will concede is that I failed to stipulate in our agreement that my children's handmade baby blankets from 30 years ago should NOT be included with the rest of the perfectly sufficient bedding we provided. That's our bad. We should have known that people without the requisite common sense to avoid committing credit card fraud simply out of protest, might very well find it ironic and hilarious to use crocheted baby blankets in addition to our many comforters, especially with so much alcohol in the mix. We've since rectified that unfortunate "vagueness" as it were, by adding a lock to our now damaged cedar chest, and you can rest assured that your deposit—the only one we've ever cut into, let alone kept in its entirety—was kept to repair furniture damage only. Honestly Stanley, you promised us you would take good care of our home, and then you trashed it. Trashing our reputation on top of that is an indignity we just won't suffer. Please don't come back (but still, have a nice day.) Respectfullyish, The Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
23 1


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
John Wayne Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Fox Sports Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mountain Meadows Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Foothill Metro
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
10 FWY and 57 FWY
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Pomona Valley Mining Co.
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Lake Arrowhead
Car: recommended

Nestled on its own acre in the heart of Ganesha Hills, this home offers great views and peaceful solitude with just a thirty minute drive to Downtown LA or Disneyland, and just 45 minutes to Long Beach or Newport Beach. Locally, the house is within walking distance of the Fairplex, NHRA Museum, several parks, and the beautiful Mountain Meadows Golf Course. It's also just a 5-10 minute drive from all of the Claremont Colleges and less than an hour from multiple ski resorts.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500

Rates are subject to change until Reservation is confirmed. Rates based on 6 guests--please inquire about arrangements to accommodate more than 8 guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties