Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful 5 Bedroom Log Cabin On Lake Gaston

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3,00 sq. ft., 3 levels, 5 BR, 3 baths, sleeper chair in loft, toddler bed

SUNDAY TO SUNDAY RENTALS ONLY DURING PEAK SEASON. Log cabin offers three levels, all with spectacular views of Main Lake. The main level offers an open floor plan with high ceilings. Lots of windows and hardwood floors throughout. The main level has an open floor plan with kitchen/dining/living room with granite gas fireplace, large flat screen TV, Blu-Ray Smart DVD player, full bath with tub and two bedrooms ,one bedroom w/queen bed, the second bedroom has a set of bunk beds, a daybed w/pop-up trundle and a full size futon. The main level has a large wrap-around deck with two patio dining tables, wrap around sofa & ottoman, two swivel rocking chairs, and gas grill. Upper level has loft area w/sleeper chair, master bedroom with king size bed & youth bed, and full bath with shower. The lower level has a large game room with professional pool table, custom granite bar, sectional sofa, flat screen TV, full size refrigerator, commercial ice maker, two bedrooms w/queen beds and full bath w/tub. All bedrooms have televisions with Direct TV. The basement level has slate floors throughout. The walk-out basement has a patio ample seating, a swinging rope chair and rope hammock. The rental price is based for a maximum of fifteen (15) persons. An ADDITIONAL CHARGE of one hundred dollars ($100.00) PER PERSON per week (or $25 per person per day) . The boathouse/dock has rope lighting, ladder, storage closet with beach chairs and floats. THREE KAYAKS AND ONE CANOE INCLUDED FOR YOUR FUN AND RECREATION. The property is located on deep water for boating, swimming and diving from pier. The semi-private sandy beach features a graduated sandy bottom which is excellent for small children to swim and play. SUNDAY TO SUNDAY rentals are WEEKLY ONLY during PEAK SEASON. Pricing for THANKSGIVING, CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS is $2,000 wk & $350/night with a 4 night minimum stay. Memorial Day and Labor DayADDITIONAL FEE FOR LARGE FAMILY REUNIONS, WEDDINGS OR FILM LOCATIONS, please call for pricing. Pet fee is $100 PER PET.


Owner
Rose Marie Lee
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Rose Marie Lee

My family and I purchased the property in 1970. Because of abundance of crows in the area and the dam is visible from the property, hence the name "The Dam Crows Nest". Until 2012 there was a 60' house trailer located on the adjacent property. I was originally from Virginia Beach, but moved to Wilmington, DE for seventeen years and moved back to Virginia Beach in 2014. My grown kids and I decided to build the cabin in 2011. My oldest son did all the tile, slate and stonework in the house and my other son built the deck. My forte is decorating. I hope you will enjoy our "Little Piece of Heaven" and will come back year after year.

Rose Marie Lee purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Rose Marie Lee chose Lake Gaston

We were invited to a friend's cabin just around the corner. We fell in love with the lake. Before the weekend was over we we knew we wanted our own place. We were shown this 1-1/2 acre property and fell in love with it. The property is located on a large point on Main Lake which wraps around to a private sandy cove beach. The log cabin main floor has two bedrooms, one with a queen bed, the other has a set of bunk beds and a daybed with pop-up trundle (total 4 twins) and a futon (double bed size). Washer and drier located on main level. The master bedroom on the third level has a king bed and a low youth bed, and a sofa chair in the loft. The walk-out basement floor has a built-in granite bar, regulation pool table, televisions, sectional sofa, extra full size frig., full bath, two bedrooms, both with queens. The entire basement has slate floors. The basement level patio has a picnic table and seating. Cook out on the propane grill while enjoying the beautiful view off the large deck on the main level. Pet friendly! Sunday to Sunday In Season. 1 King, 3 Queens, 5 Twins, Futon (double) and a Youth Bed (sheet provided) & a full size inflatable mattress. Pillows and blankets provided. Storage cabinet with additional pillows and blankets. Four bedrooms have flat screen televisions. The bunkbed room has a standard television that has cable and plays VHS and DVD's. Main floor living area has a Blu-Ray Smart DVD player.

What makes this cabin unique

The boat house and pier has a view beautiful view of Main Lake and the dam and is located on deep water. The perimeter of the boat house has led rope lightening. The boat house also has one-of-a- kind special led colored lighting. There is nothing like it on the lake. A tall led light on the boat house roof lights the cove and surrounding water for evening swimming or fishing. There are also two fire pits where you can chat and roast marshmallows. There is also a regulation horseshoe pit. Rope hammock and rope chair for lounging on the bottom floor patio.

Amenities

Henrico Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Ceramic tile tub inclosure, vanity top & floor.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Basement bath has granite tub area & vanity, slate floor.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master bath has ceramic tile vanity, shower, & floor.
  • All bathrooms have custom tile or granite
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Basement level
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , Basement level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Loft area has a sleeper chair. Not for small child.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed , daybed with pop-up trundle, double bed size futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 child bed , low youth bed has crib size mattress & sheet provided
  • Bedrooms on main level and third floor level have hardwood floors. The bedrooms on basement level have slate floors. The loft area has a sleeper chair, but is not suitable for small children because it is very close to the railing when open. Will sleep 15 people in beds plus a small child's bed in the master bedroom. There is also a inflatable bed in the living room cabinet. ADDITION PER PERSON CHARGE OVER 15 PEOPLE.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Additional charge for Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, 4th of July weeks/weekends. Additional charge WEDDINGS, FAMILY REUNIONS , or LARGE PARTIES. Beautiful LOCATION for the FILM INDUSTRY. CALL FOR SPECIAL PRICING!!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Beautiful 5 Bedroom Log Cabin On Lake Gaston
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay ay your place! The house was clean and the bedrooms and bathrooms were all updated and well kept. The kids LOVED the beach area. Even though the weather was a little on the chilly side, it did not stop them from playing in the water all day! The deck was incredible! The views were amazing and we loved sitting out there all the time. Your neighbors were extremely friendly as well and we were happy to meet them. We will definitely be returning in the future! Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Thanksgiving to remember

  • 5 of 5

The house looks exactly like the pictures. When my extended family and I decided to spend Thanksgiving at a lake house; we all had images of what we thought it would be. This house met every single one of our expectations. It was warm, cozy, and picturesque. As the planner for this trip, I took great joy in knowing this will be an experience that will last a lifetime. Thank you Rose Marie, for a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yorktown, VA USA
2

Renters beware

  • 2 of 5

I want to first start off being fare with my review in that the house is very nice and in a good location. However, the owner is extremely hard to work with. First off she gives you a 4 page list of rules, does not show up to greet you and answer any questions. Then she makes crazy accusations that you broke her rules in an attemp to keep the deposit. The place has 1 garbage can for the week, which for the occupant limit is not enough. She tells you that you then have to haul any excess garbage to the dump or you will be fined. Good luck if you leave on a day the dump is closed. After you pay her alot, she chains up her kayaks and asks you if you want to rent them for nearly the cost of a new one. Really, can't she through the use of them into the high cost already paid? Great place if you want to give her your deposit as well as a cleaning fee for which she still makes you clean the house and will complain and try to keep part of the deposit if a bed is left unmade. She will also make accusations that you didn't put the keys in the lock box in order to keep the deposit and then send you a letter 2 weeks later stating she was going to keep half the deposit. No attempt to contact me regarding this issue once she noticed it. Rent at your own risk. We have rented every year at Gaston and by far this property owner has been the most difficult.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have always had a wonderful working relationship with all my customers because I have always gone out of my way to accommodate their needs. That is why everyone to whom I have rented thus far has had nothing but praises. When you called to say the air conditioner wasn't working I made sure I had someone there that same day to fix it. The first person I called said he could get to it until the next day, so I called someone else. As for the four pages of rules, most of the pages are giving the wifi access codes, the house phone number, how to use the dvd player, where to find extra blankets, pillows, and where to locate the pan lids. The list of rules does state the renter may not jump off the boathouse roof or trespass on the neighbors property, dock or boathouse without the neighbor's permission or the renters would forfeit their deposit. It is also states in the contract, which you signed and initialed, that there is to be no trespassing and that the keys are to be returned to the lockbox upon your departure. My neighbor's complained that people in your group entered their property, unstacked the lawn chairs and left bottles and cans on their deck. The sign on entrance of their dock states NO TRESPASSING. If you were to get hurt on my neighbor's property, they would be held libel. In order to keep my neighbor's happy, I have to strictly enforce the no trespassing rule. As for the keys, I was twenty-five miles away on my way home when I got a call from next renters that the keys were missing. I went back to let them in the house and had to get new keys made. Your deposit money was not kept for unmade beds or the trash that was left in the house. It was due to trespassing and the time and gas it took for the keys. If I followed the contract I could have kept the entire deposit, but I sent you half because of the air conditioning problem. I sent you another $125 to try and make you happy which means you received 3/4 of your deposit. As for kayaks, they were new this year and were never a part of the rental agreement. People have the option to rent them if they wish. Many homeowners at the lake have the same rental option for their kayaks. I have had such wonderful reviews from all my former guests because they understand the rules and their full deposit was promptly returned. I do not nickel and dime my guests. I want them to enjoy themselves and come back year after year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful lakefront home for fun in the sun

  • 5 of 5

My family of nine (including grown kids and grandkids) along with our good friends (family of four) stayed at this lakefront property for a week. We had a great week of vacation! This house is loaded with everything you need. The kitchen is fully equipped with pots and pans of all sizes. We have been going to the lake the past five years together and I must say this is the best equipped kitchen we have seen thus far. The two full size refrigerators came in very handy as we had them stocked with drinks and food for the week. All appliances in the house are very modern and worked wonderfully. The furniture on the large deck was comfortable so we spent evenings sitting on the deck looking over the main lake. The water at the dock is deep enough for diving which was a plus for the grandkids and the sandy beach area was wonderful for the small kids. When we were not out on the lake wake surfing we were hanging out at the dock, swimming and fishing.

The location of this house is great. it's about five minutes from the boat ramp if you bring a boat with you. Washburn's Marina is about five minutes by boat or car. The grill at Washburn's is hard to beat for lunch when you are on the water. Some of the best burgers and dogs around. Food Lion is about a 10 minute ride. And if you want to eat out, there are several places with in 10 to 15 minutes. We did most of our cooking on the gas grill. We had a great week with family and friends at The Dam Crows Nest!

Would totally recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is Lake Gaston, Done Perfectly

  • 5 of 5

The house is true to the photos and the description. Everything worked out exactly as advertised, and we will certainly be back. The property is private but not secluded, while providing a top-notch lake house experience.

This house is a great find at any time of year. A special thanks to Rose Marie for being especially easy to contact in preparation for our trip. Look no further...

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Log cabin paradise

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful inside and out. Everything was very organized, neat and spotless. Loved the sand area to park the boat and jetski until it was time to get back on the water. My family really enjoyed staying at this home for a week it felt like home. We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When I decorated the house I wanted my guest to feel like they were in their home rather than a hotel. Every year I try to add new things and update the old. I hope you will make The Dam Crows Nest you "go to" vacation get away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Halifax Regional
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Lakehouse Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Country Club Shores
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Rt. 46 is approx. 4 mi. it takes you to I-95
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
The Lakehouse Bar & Grill
Car: necessary

Bingo at the Fire Station, Local Flea Market, Food Lion, Pharmacy, Boat Ramp nearby, Churches nearby, Washburn's Marina, Dollar General, putt-putt golf, winery.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Henrico Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Peak
May 26 2017 - Jun 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,300
 
 
Peak
Jun 11 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 15 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Peak
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,300
 
 
Off-Peak
Sep 12 2017 - Oct 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,600
 
 
Fall
Oct 2 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.5%

Labor Day Week Rate is $3,500 A pet fee of $100 PER PET applies. ALL PETS MUST BE APPROVED BY THE OWNER BEFORE BOOKING. Dogs must be 50 lbs. or less in weight and must be treated with flea/tick treatment (3) days before arrival. Pets are NOT ALLOWED ON THE FURNITURE OR BEDS AT ANY TIME or an extra cleaning fee will be charged. Excess pet hair must be cleaned by guest or an extra cleaning fee will be charged. Dog waste must be cleaned from the property. Cats must be declawed.Towels are not provided. You may rent them for $75.00 RENTAL/laundry fee. Sheets are provided. Washer and dryer is provided. Paper towels, toilet paper, trash bags, and laundry detergent are not supplied. House comes fully stocked with dishes, pots and pans, crock pot, silverware, griddle, Keurig, 2 coffee pots, mixer, 2 blenders, kitchen utensils, and much more. Use of propane grill is authorized, but you must turn propane handle off when not in use and CLEANED before departure. No reservations will be confirmed or held until we receive the signed/initialed/dated contract by mail with enclosed refundable security/damage deposit check in the amount of $500.00. All checks are to be made out to Rose Marie Lee and mailed to Rose Marie Lee, 701 Nottingham Dr., VA Beach, VA 23452. The security deposit and signed/initialed/dated contract must be received within five (5) days to secure your dates. The 50% advance rental payment is due 90 days prior to your arrival date. The balance in full is due 60 days prior to arrival date. Before departure the house must be left in the SAME CLEAN condition it was found at check-in. Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Memorial Day and Labor Day require a 4 night minimum stay. Weddings and large family reunions have an additional cost of $500 to the listed rate(s). Please call for film location availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable