check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Expansive View Of The Blue Ridge Mountains, The Valley And The Shenandoah River

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
20
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

43 Acres, 77 Windows To Witness The Breathtaking Views, Gunite Pool And Hot Tub

Our home sits on 43 acres and has 77 windows for you to witness the breathtaking views of the Shenandoah Valley, enjoy the expansive view of Massanutten, the Shenandoah River and the Blue Ridge Mountains! The yard is equipped with a gunite pool and hot tub, plus horses and cows grazing in the pasture. There are four levels of living space - the main floor, 2nd floor, walk out finished basement and a beautiful open staircase that leads to the huge attic that can sleep extra! Our home has 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 bath, Large Kitchen with 48” Viking stove and griddle, Dining area, Large Den w/ Gorgeous Stone Fire Place, Parlor with a Piano & 5 porches! The first floor and basement have 10' ceilings and the 2nd floor has 9' ceilings.

We moved to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and built this home to raise our children. We designed it so that all of our family and friends could come and visit any time and stay with us.

It's such a peaceful, private place to take in the beautiful scenery and spend time with your family & friends. The spacious living areas give you space to gather all together or find a quiet room to read a book and relax. The outdoors come to life here while walking down the country road behind our home along the Shenandoah River or the country road in front of our home viewing the mountains and pastures. You can relax by the pool and hot tub or sit out on one of our 5 porches/decks. Wherever you sit or look there is an abundance of beauty. We love to watch the moon come over the mountains or the sun set behind them. Every day is a different picture to see - the foliage in the fall, the clouds against the mountains, the stars like you've never seen them before but best of all the laughter and joy when family and friends are gathered!

Anyone who visits or stays can't wait to come back. We have been told it's like a slice of heaven, a retreat, a place you never want to leave.

It is conveniently located to everything! We are 1 mile from Massanutten Resort (water park, golfing, horseback riding, miniature golf, skiing, tubing, snowboarding, ice skating), 10 minutes from James Madison University, 10 minutes from Harrisonburg, 15 minutes from The Shenandoah National Park (great hiking trails) , 40 minutes from Charlottesville (UVA), 25 minutes from Luray caverns & 35 minutes from Stuanton (Black Friar Theater). Along with all those wonderful options there is canoeing, river tubing, winery's, antiquing, Fishing, hunting (depending on the season), biking, etc...

More Details

Owner
Mary Beth
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2017

About Mary Beth

We moved from Long Island to the beautiful Shenandoah Valley and built this home to raise our children. We designed it so that all of our family and friends could come and visit any time and stay with us. The home is so inviting and special to us and we hope you enjoy it as well.

Why Mary Beth chose Shenandoah Valley

The second we drove up to this piece of property we were blown away by the views and the peacefulness that surrounds the area! It's a great place for a family reunion. Anyone who visits or stays can't wait to come back. We have been told it's like a slice of heaven, a retreat, a place you never want to leave.

What makes this house unique

We fell in love with this piece of property the second we stepped foot on it. It's such a peaceful, private place to take in the beautiful scenery and spend time with your family & friends. The spacious living areas give you space to gather all together or find a quiet room to read a book and relax. The outdoors come to life here while walking down the country road behind our home along the Shenandoah River or the country road in front of our home viewing the mountains and pastures. You can relax by the pool and hot tub or sit out on one of our 5 porches/decks. Wherever you sit or look there is an abundance of beauty. We love to watch the moon come over the mountains or the sun set behind them. Every day is a different picture to see - the foliage in the fall, the clouds against the mountains, the stars like you've never seen them before but best of all the laughter and joy when family and friends are gathered!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Expansive View Of The Blue Ridge Mountains, The Valley And The Shenandoah River
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
Richmond, Virginia, USA
5

Couldn't Ask For More

  • 5 of 5

This home and scenery was artwork. You walk in the door to such beautiful detail in architecture and one room is nicer than the next. There is so much beauty you don't know where to look first. I found myself looking outside all the beautiful windows at the landscape and mountains as the back drop and then back to inside looking at the trim, cabinets, fireplace and more. We sat out on the top deck one evening and completely unwound and relaxed. On top of all this Mary Beth was a delight to work with. I also now know why they came up with the phrase, "salt of the earth" because that is exactly what their project manager, Debbie was like. My kids want to go back to visit Debbie! She took the time to walk the kids out by the horses, showed us around the house and was very helpful with any questions we had.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Greenport, NY
5

DOUBLE THE PLEASURE

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time renting MB's home. After renting this home with my family and telling my friends about it we all decided it would be a perfect place for our Church retreat this year. It's hard to believe it could have been better than our first stay but it was. We began our days in prayer and the setting couldn't have been a better place to take in the splenda of our Lord's many blessings! There were 14 of us and we each found the home very comfortable and spacious. We all look forward to when we can come back. We are hoping this beautiful home stays available for many years to come!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Be Aware of this Property Owner & Property Photo's

  • 1 of 5

Before the rental, the Owner was extremely nice. As a last minute rental, the Owner asked me to bring cash for 100% of the payment. Upon arrival at 5:30PM, we met & spoke with her Property Manager (PM) for 30 minutes outside & gave her the cash. The PM showed us how to work the pool/spa & apologized that neither were clean. After the PM left, my Fiance' started to get an allergic reaction.

We went to dinner to get out of the house & her allergies lessened so she felt better. When we returned to the house, her allergies kicked up again as she developed itching, hives & a bit of a swollen throat. She was upset & getting scared about her allergic reaction. We then decided to pack up & get to a drug store. I texted the Owner to inform her of what happened after we got back from dinner. After giving the cash to the PM & being in the house only a short time before & after dinner we needed to leave due to a severe allergic reaction.

We immediately went to a drug store to pick up Benedryl & booked a room in nearby Harrisonburg, VA. We paid $234 for one night at a below standard hotel. I texted the Owner in the AM to see if I could stop by & pick up the cash and she replied it was "already deposited." The Owner sent me 17 text messages on Saturday asking us to go back to the home to try it again. I replied that my Fiance' was afraid to go back and that my Fiance' was crying from all of the text messages we received from her as we just wanted to put the whole thing behind us and try to enjoy our Saturday. Our weekend was supposed to be a pleasant & relaxing vacation but turned out to be a complete mess.

The Owner then texted me & asked if I was a scam? How can I be the scam when she had my Cash? She then texted "I hope nothing was stolen from our home." We truly resent these accusations as we are two spiritual, mature, extremely professional & trustworthy adults.

There were inconsistencies between what the PM informed us & what the Owner told us. The PM informed us of dogs/cats being in the home while the Owner denied her own Property Manager's words after she found out about the allergic reaction. We are still trying to get our Cash back with no success to date. What a mess.

The photo's on the site aren't accurate. The home isn't clean on the outside or inside. Dirty windows covered with spider webs, 2 large spiders in the kitchen, no recent cleaning or dusting, junk around, etc. Be aware of this Owner & Property.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is disheartening and untrue. Weekly our home is dusted, vacuumed and cleaned. It is equipped with a whole house fan and the air is changed in our home frequently. We have wood floors throughout the entire first and second floor. The pictures on this site were taken from my cell phone and are an accurate representation of our home. Our Cancellation policy clearly states in our contract: “Tenant shall NOT be entitled to any refund due to early departure.” After the tenant’s early departure and their decision not to come back I responded thru text and email that I would mail their security deposit back via check. In addition we refunded the cleaning fee – which by contract we were not obligated to return. Our bank confirms this check was processed and sent via online banking to the address on the tenant’s license. The tenant began making up stories about what our project manager said which was 100% false but it was an attempt to get a bigger refund. With our home being booked two days prior to arrival the Tenant was given two options to pay - either cashier’s check written out to our company or cash. We also agreed to a reduction in price because there was supposed to be only two occupants. Our pool was closed for the season and the cover had not been placed on it yet. This was also noted in the contract: “Pool/Hot Tub will be open from mid-March through mid-September” The tenant’s reservation was 28 October. The only reason our hot tub was still working was because the pool company rescheduled the closing. Our project manager was kind enough to let them use the hot tub if they wanted and showed them how to use it. The hot tub was crystal clean. All our conversations took place via text and e-mail. I simply replied to the numerous texts the tenant was sending me the following day. I run a very fair and honest business and our Project Manager is the type of woman who would do anything for ya! If you are interested in an accurate depiction of how our property is maintained and presented please take a moment to read some of our reviews. Thank you for taking the time to read my response!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Rented for JMU graduation

  • 5 of 5

What a house. Pictures actually do not do it justice. The home is beautiful and designed for entertaining. We rented this home for my daughter's graduation from JMU. I originally thought it was a bit far but in all actuality, was not. It's about 20 minutes. And you are better off out of the crowds in Harrisonburg. If this home was not so far from Long Island, I would rent it every year for a family/friend get together.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gales Ferry, CT
5

Our home away from home

  • 5 of 5

All we could ask for and more...much more! Perfect spot for our family reunion. Thank you Mary Beth for sharing your beautiful home with us. The house and horses, the sunsets and sunrises, the pool and hot tub, the books and videos, the kitchen...wow, what a kitchen and the warmth of a loved home. There was space to spread out and space to be together. Our family, age 65-5, loved hiking, swimming, ping-pong, biking, feeding horses, tennis (down the road at the HS) and being together under one roof. And did I mention the relaxing decks with amazing views? We found our home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Annapolis, MD, USA
5

When Will I See You Again

  • 5 of 5

It is my pleasure to write a review on this beautiful home. I decided to copy and paste some suggested questions that are on the Home Away website to explain our wonderful trip.

What did you most enjoy about your stay? The pure loveliness of this home and making memories that will never be forgotten!

Would you come back again or recommend this home to a friend? I would recommend this home to many many people. I’d recommend it to families, friends, for birthdays, weddings, reunions, skiing, exploring, etc. You name a gathering and this home would probably be the perfect fit. On our way home we never turned on the radio and we all spoke about this home and the great time we had. Our kids are already asking us when we can go back.

Was the property a good fit for the group you were traveling with? Ha, I pretty much answered this question in my last explanation but the simple answer is DEFINITELY, YES!

What nearby activities, attractions, or restaurants did you enjoy? We enjoyed the home and property so much we didn’t do as much as we thought we would but we did enjoy the waterpark one day with the kids. We also ate at a few of the local restaurants which were very good and we cooked together a lot.

What did the owner or property manager do to provide great customer service? I can’t say enough great things about the owner. It felt as if I was renting from a best friend. She also had a property manager that was great as well!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Hanks
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Massanutten Resort
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Hanks
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Massanutten Resort

A perfect place to enjoy a vacation with your own family or multiple families. Our home sits on 43 acres and has 77 windows for you to enjoy the expansive view of Massanutten, the Shenandoah River and the Blue Ridge Mountains! The yard is equipped with a gunite pool and hot tub, plus horses and cows grazing in the pasture. Convenient location to everything! We are 1 mile from Massanutten Resort (water park, golfing, horseback riding, miniature golf, skiing, tubing, snowboarding, ice skating), 10 minutes from James Madison University, 10 minutes from Harrisonburg, 15 minutes from The Shenandoah National Park (great hiking trails) , 40 minutes from Charlottesville (UVA), 25 minutes from Luray caverns & 35 minutes from Stuanton (Black Friar Theater). Along with all those wonderful options there is canoeing, river tubing, winery's, antiquing, Fishing, hunting (depending on the season), biking, etc...

Photos

Rates & Availability

Elkton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$450
$11,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Linen & Cleaning $270
Refundable damage deposit $400

If the date you are requesting is a holiday weekend, school vacation break, during the summer break (Memorial Day - Labor Day) or a JMU special weekend we require a $300 additional fee for a 3 or 4 night stay. If you are requesting 5 or more night stay during any of those times there will be a $400 additional fee. We also require a 4 night stay during a holiday weekend. Thank you for your interest in our home! :)

The first payment in form of a check is due with signing of contract along with a copy of your drivers license - to verify age as well as authenticity. The balance (security + additional charges) is due 30 days prior to occupancy unless our home is booked within the specified 30 day period then the entire balance is due upon execution.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Elkton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Claw Foot Free Standing Tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , has a step up to another area with an additional double bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Double bed under and a twin on top bunk
    Attic - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Finished attic w/ plenty of room
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Basement- 10' ceilings, dbl french doors & full size windows
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties