Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Budget by the Beach 3 Bedroom!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

3-bed 1-bath full kitchen footsteps to the beach! Great place to come home to!

Time goes fast! Slow it down island-style in this apartment by the beach. With three bedrooms, one bathroom and a full kitchen, this is the perfect home base for your family vacation. Beach is 2 minutes (or less) walk from the front door. Literally just across the street. All linens and towels provided, free wi-fi and tv. Some beach toys and boogie boards available to borrow. This place has everything you need and will leave plenty of budget for island exploration!

Laie is a great neighborhood to live or vacation in. The spirit of Aloha is alive and well here and you will feel more like a local than a tourist in this small town.

Attractions in or near Laie include:

HIKING

A variety of hiking trails of all difficulty levels lead you into the lush tropical forest, some winding along stream beds, and others climbing all the way to the ridge of the Ko'olau mountain range. Many trails end at breathtaking, secluded waterfalls that will make you feel like you're the only person on earth.

POLYNESIAN CULTURAL CENTER

Spend a day (or two) exploring and learning about the many different cultures of Polynesia. The center is made up of seven different authentic "villages," each representing a different island culture. The dancing, music, cultural presentations and activities will keep you (and your kids) entertained for hours. They also put on fantastic and delicious nightly luaus. Their evening show is spectacular, not something to miss out on.

BEACHES

The beaches in Laie are dreamy and crowdless. The sandy Hukilau Beach is literally footsteps from your front door, and you could easily spend an entire vacation swimming in the cool blue water, lazing on the sand, and walking/jogging miles along the coast. East-facing for fantastic sunrises over the water. It’s a great beach for kids as well, with provided beach toys and boogie boards to help keep them busy.

Within 15 minutes drive, you will encounter world-famous surfing beaches including Pipeline and Sunset, and impressive snorkeling at the Shark’s Cove marine preserve, with an endless variety of other beaches in between. All shoreline in Hawaii is public property and there are public access points all along the coast.

HORSEBACK RIDING

Gunstock Ranch, about half a mile away, has horseback riding tours that will take your breath away and show you the country side of this small town.

ZIPLINE TOURS

At the recently-opened Keana Farms Zipline Adventure, see the tropical rainforest from an entirely different perspective.

RESTAURANTS

A surprising array of restaurants are located in Laie. Everything from your average chain places (Subway, Taco Bell, etc) to truly unique food experiences like Hukilau Cafe, Seven Brothers Backyard Burgers, Pounders at the Hukilau Marketplace, and Papa Ole’s Kitchen. Something for everyone.

This apartment is part of our home that serves as housing for students of the nearby BYU-Hawaii most of the year. It has its own separate entrance from the rest of the house, and there are no shared common areas. The only time you might cross paths with another tenant will be in the laundry room, located at the back of the house.

Please note, to keep our prices rock bottom we do not provide A/C. There are ceiling fans and stand fans in every bedroom and the living area to help keep you cool.

More Details

Owner
Jenne Paddock
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Jenne Paddock

Originally from opposite coasts of the US, my husband and I met, fell in love and had our two babies in the idyllic island town of Laie. We love the outdoor lifestyle and are passionate about traveling. One of the best things about going on a trip is knowing we will come home to our own little slice of paradise!

Jenne Paddock purchased this apartment in 2007

Amenities

Laie Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Natural stone shower with custom ocean scene mosaic.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Budget by the Beach 3 Bedroom!
average rating of 4.2272725 based on 22 reviews
Tacoma, Washington
5

Just what it says budget by the beach loved it thank you so much for helping us make wonderful memo

  • 5 of 5

This location was perfect!! The house was just what we were looking for. The beach was minutes away, and the owners were very hospitable thank you again.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, and so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City Ut
4

As described.budget friendly. Great area and proximity to the beach and other attractions

  • 4 of 5

The beds were very firm. the place was clean and orderly. There is no A/C, but plenty of fans to move the air, we left the front door open to let the trade winds flow through the home which made it comfortable. This is a great place to base out of.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

No better way to feel at home with the beach at your doorstep!

  • 5 of 5

Despite the tricky access with the road being so close by, the location to the beach was outstanding. The Beachpark was great for the kids, and the Hukilau café is a great breakfast joint. Both were so close, just around the corner from the property. The apartment itself was your typical Beachhouse, nothing fancy. But I wasn't looking for anything fancy, just something comfortable. And that is what we found with this place. All the necessities needed and plenty of beach toys like boogie boards and snorkeling masks, I even left some behind myself. The property is shared with tenants, and you will hear them come and go, but noisy? Not by any means. During the brief interactions we did have, they were very friendly, and the landlord is blessed to have such great tenants. I hear of concerns about not having air-conditioning, however it was never needed during our stay and was quite comfortable the entire time. If you're on the go and spend more time at the beach than ordering room service, than this would be a great fit. Save your money and spend it on what counts, that's what we did and it paid off.

Thank you for opening your home to us,

Derek Wengeler

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Location was great. Owners were very helpful and great to work worth.

  • 4 of 5

It was certainly a budget by the bay. Everything was as described.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Budget By the Beach

  • 3 of 5

This property is in a great location on the North Shore in Oahu. It is close to some really nice beaches. Hukilau Beach is just across the street and we spent a few hours every morning there, swimming and boogie boarding. We loved Laie and the North Shore. I have been to Honolulu and Waikiki before, so wanted to try the North Shore of Oahu this time and I was definitely not disappointed. The Polynesian Cultural Center is a "must see" and it is about a mile or so south of the property. Kawela Bay, a secluded beach is a great place for families and it is just a short drive from the property.

The house definitely is a low budget accommodation as the name implies. As long as you understand it is just a place to sleep after a long day outdoors, you will be fine. I believe a few renters have mentioned that the beds are hard, but we were able to sleep well with no issues. All the conveniences are there, like an electric range, microwave oven and refrigerator. There is also a washer and a coin operated dryer in the rear of the building, but the house itself needs some TLC. The ceiling fans, window shades and window screens need to be replaced since they are very obviously showing their age.

However, all these do not detract from the fact that you get a reasonably priced rental in a convenient location. Jenne, the owner was very easy to work with and we did have a good time.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, glad you had a great stay. As you mentioned the ceiling fans and window screens were in need of replacement. We got that done this week, in addition to a brand new microwave, and even added some new decorative touches. Will post updated photos soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
4

Two thumbs up

  • 4 of 5

If your looking for a getaway and your on a budget, this is the place to get...A couple friends and i were looking for a weekend getaway and thats exactly what we got...With a shopping center down the road and the beach a minute stroll away; this 3 bedroom budget by the beach is perfect...Hats off to Jene for helping us find a place to kick back for the weekend...

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Hukilau Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Hukilau Beach Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Laie Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$120
$805
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.96%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties