Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!

Welcome to The Roxbury, our secluded 10 acre getaway minutes from the Mad River Valley and Sugarbush Ski Resort. Our mountain home offers 4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, 6 person hot tub to relax after a long hike, a bar for apres ski and a workout room.

Open floor plan with living, dining, kitchen and bar area with a small powder room. This is a contemporary house so we do have a lot of stairs. Three bedrooms on 2nd floor with a 4th kids' room on 3rd! Master bedroom has attached bath w/shower. Guest bedrooms share full bathroom. We have 4 flat screen TVs including the one in our workout room finished basement!

We offer 10 acres of privacy and are centrally located less than 10 minutes to Norwich University, 15-20 minutes from the Warren/Waitsfield/Sugarbush area, 25 minutes to Montpelier, and 40 minutes to Stowe.

Bring your bike, bring your skis/snowboard, bring your family, bring your dog, bring yourself and enjoy our mountain home! Are you ready to spend a night (or two or three) at The Roxbury?

More Details

Owner
Matthew and Rachel Brace
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

About Matthew and Rachel Brace

Matt and Rachel have been living in Vermont full time since 2003. We purchased this home in 2005 and it has been a labor of love to fix it up over the past 10 years. We relocated to Concord, MA and have opened up The Roxbury for rent. We hope that people wishing to have the true Vermont Experience will check it out!

Matthew and Rachel Brace purchased this house in 2005

Why Matthew and Rachel Brace chose Sugarbush, Mad River Glen

The Roxbury is simply a house with character! It is a huge contemporary ski house built in 1972. Great for dinner parties, spending time with friends and family relaxing on the couch in front of a burning fire in the winter or on one of the many decks during the summer. We are located close enough to Sugarbush to make it a steal but far enough away to make it a real getaway. There are many times we both stop and take a moment to look around at this house - we are very lucky to have found this bit of heaven in Vermont.

We are 8 minutes from Norwich University, a 15-20 minute ride over a scenic mountain road to the Mad River Valley/Sugarbush area and 25 minutes from downtown Montpelier. Beautiful scenery surrounds us!

What makes this house unique

Many cozy nooks to spend by yourself or with another. Quiet location with many trees but plenty of sun to relax on the deck too. Central location to the Warren/Waitsfield/Sugarbush /Norwich University area but also only 25 minutes from Montpelier.

Guests have access to all Vermont has to offer from skiing (downhill and cross country), hiking, biking, swimming, sightseeing, eating, relaxing and more!

Map

The Alchemist Brewery -- CLOSED
"Home of the number one beer in America, Heady Topper!"
Three Penny Taproom
"Three Penny Taproom is Vermont’s premiere destination for craft beer and craft food. "
Sugarbush
"Sugarbush is one of the most technical mountains in the North East! It's not just fun in the..."
Mad River Glen Cooperative
"Mad River Glen ski area - home of the last single chair lift in America! This is a skiers pa..."
Stowe
"Stowe Mountain Resort is about 45 minutes from us but worth the drive to check out the town ..."
The Common Man
"The Common Man is a must for anyone traveling to the area. Delicious food and excellent ser..."
Big Picture Theater and Cafe
"Looking for a great place for breakfast or lunch? The Big Picture has great food and a cool ..."
The Warren Store
"The Warren Store has it all! Great breakfast and lunch sandwiches/salads. Cool chotchkies, ..."
Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory
"This is it! Home of Chunky Monkey, The Americone Dream and Cherry Garcia to name a few. The ..."
Mt Abraham
Norwich University
"Norwich is just down the road a bit from The Roxbury! Our house is a great place for famili..."
Windridge At Teela-Wooket
"Camp for kids that boasts tennis, soccer, swimming, horseback riding and all things outdoors..."
Three Mountain Cafe
"Our friends, Julie and Paul, own this great coffee shop in Mad River Green. In addition to ..."
Alpine Limousine
"If you are in town for a show, would love to do a brewery tour, etc. Call Mike at Alpine Li..."
Cornerstone Burger Co.
"Brand new (2016) place in Northfield for excellent cocktails and beers ... plus, burgers, of..."
The Blue Stone
"Awesome pizza and nice atmosphere ... totally renovated place. Used to be Ake's Den and bef..."
American Flatbread
"Best of the in and outdoors - yummy pizza made to order over a huge wood fire. Great for fa..."
Falls General Store
"Great little general store in Northfield - great for finding that last minute bottle of wine..."
Clearwater Sports
"Great place to rent kayaks for a day on the Mad River!"
Roxbury Country Store
"Our local store - great for last minute items or gas!"
City Farmers Market
"The Mad River farmer's market is huge but we prefer this one in Montpelier. More veggies, f..."
East Warren Community Market
"Excellent option that is a bit closer to The Roxbury. Just at the bottom of Roxbury Mountai..."
Warren Falls
"Great place to go swimming!"
Car: necessary

Amenities

Roxbury House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Bathroom attached to Master Bedroom
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Guest Bathroom for guest bedrooms
    Powder Room - toilet , Powder room on main level
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!
average rating of 4.5666666 based on 30 reviews
5

great escape, wonderful place and beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

We just loved our time at the Roxbury. It is a very pretty yet comfortable house with all the amenities you could ask for. So quiet and peaceful. I recommend it 100%. Would love to go back some time.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests! Welcome anytime! Always happy to meet and accommodate good people that really get The Roxbury vibe!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Roxbury ski house

  • 3 of 5

property was nice, unfortunately not there much just to sleep. I had some concerns - never could figured out all the different switches and what turned off what. as evidence that the driveway entrance lights were left on. Also, The rug leading upstairs I found dangerous as I slipped on it and was very concerned as I had my 87 year old aunt with me. From your picture of upstairs bedroom I did not realize it was better suited for kids as it is difficult to stand straight up; fortunately did not need to use it.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent experience!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful time at the Roxbury! The house was clean, the beds comfortable and the hot tub was so relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we already booked for the fall.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious, comfortable ski house perfect for our group of adults and kids!

  • 5 of 5

Our two families with kids ages one to 15 had a wonderful time at The Roxbury. The open floor plan made it easy to keep an eye on the littlest ones and the nook and basement provided a place for the older kids to get away. The parents loved the comfortable living room, bedrooms (super comfortable beds) and hot tub. The dog loved the house too! We were here to ski, but I imagine it would also be a great spot in the spring, summer or fall with the multiple decks and ample outdoor space. Matt was super nice and helpful when we booked and before we arrived, giving us some local tips and making sure to answer any questions. The house had all of the amenities we needed including lots of towels, pots and pans, etc. It was a short and scenic drive over the pass to Sugarbush and town (make sure you have four wheel drive in the winter). We've stayed at a lot of VRBO rentals and this place is definitely tops.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These renters were wonderful. We agree about the four wheel drive comments as we do have that on our site. The mountain road can become quite a mess during the winter but is definitely doable with patience and the right tires. We hope you do come back to enjoy Vermont's other seasons. The Roxbury is great no matter what time of year. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Good stay. House was well equiped. Enjoyed the hot tub!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to oblige and happy you enjoyed!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, Ma
5

We loved it!!! Everything was exactly as advertised 😀 Can't wait to come back in the summer!

  • 5 of 5

The house was spacious, tons of natural light and well stocked with everything we needed...from firewood to linens and sheets. The hot tub is an added bonus after a long day of skiing. Matt and Rachel also left a list of local attractions and nearby restaurants, we were not disappointed!! Montpelier and Stowe were a short drive away and we spent an entire day exploring cool shops and a few maple sugar houses. We loved our stay, thank you again and we can't wait to book again this summer!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This group was great - house, hot tub, grill .... everything, was left in perfect condition. We hope you come back in the summer to do some kayaking as you mentioned. The Mad River is a lot of fun. Thank you for choosing us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $99
Damage Deposit $500

We allow dogs because we are dog owners ourselves. However, we ask that you pick after your pet!! Unless your pet goes into the woods - we expect ALL waste to be picked up. It is not acceptable to allow your pet to go all over the lawn and/or driveway. You will not receive all of your deposit back if you do not clean up after your pet!

Please tell us a bit about yourself and your party when you do a request for booking. We like to know who our potential guests are ... where they are coming from, how many people, ages, etc. We allow a maximum capacity of 8 adults. If there are additional guests (i.e. children), we are happy to discuss. However, we are very reluctant to agree to 10+ adults as we do not want people sleeping on floors or our furniture. If you are looking to have 20 of your closest friends come for a weekend slumber party - this is not the place for you.

We do have security cameras OUTSIDE only. This is to maintain the security of our property (i.e to see who is entering and leaving while the house is unoccupied, etc.) and is also for the protection of our guests. However, please be advised that if any unauthorized additional guests or animals occur (for example, 6 renters are due to arrive and 12 cars show up), you will be charged an additional $100/per night per guest and/or animal and be at risk for removal from our house as this constitutes breaking our rental agreement. So, please, just don't do it. We ask that you respect our house and our rules and we will respect your privacy and your time away in Vermont.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties