Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Hot Tub and Ocean View, 2 Blocks from the Water and Sunset Cliffs

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, Two blocks from the Ocean with a hot tub

This three-bedroom, two-bath home has amazing views of the Sunset Cliffs coastline and Ocean Beach. Just two blocks from the water and surf, it is the perfect spot to relax in a quiet family neighborhood and enjoy sunny San Diego. The house has large decks, ideal for watching the sunset over the Pacific Ocean year round. A large hot tub in a private garden setting will help you wind down after a day at the beach, along with an amazing stone fire pit to warm up by.

The house is just a 10 minute drive to the San Diego Airport, 10 minutes from Sea World and Mission Bay, 15 minutes from Downtown and the Convention enter, 10 minutes from Pacific Beach, and 15 minutes from La Jolla and UCSD.

This historic home built in 1935 has a remodeled kitchen, with hand crafted cabinets and granite counter-tops, along with travertine floors throughout the home. The living room has hardwood floors and a custom designed marble fireplace.The spacious master bedroom has amazing views of the ocean and a beautiful stone fireplace.

Please take a look at our other properties!

Lake Havasu City, AZ:

VRBO #404361

VRBO #762945

VRBO #216572

Keywords: House, Beach House, Ocean View

More Details

Teresa A Sousa
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

About Teresa A Sousa

My name is Teresa A. Sousa and I joined VRBO in 2005 to invite vacationers to rent my San Diego summer home. I had a blast doing it! I have since taken the opportunity to join my Lake Havasu City properties to my vacation rental business, and now enjoy travelers year-round.

Every traveler brings a new adventure and it has been a unique and rewarding experience meeting the families and friends from around the world who have enjoyed my homes.

Whether you are a seasoned vacation renter, or this is your first time testing the waters, I invite you to come to my home and see for yourself what a relaxing and thrilling experience your next trip can be. I look forward to having you!

See my other VRBO Listings:

Lake Havasu City VRBO #216572, #404361, and #762945

Teresa A Sousa purchased this house in 2004

Why Teresa A Sousa chose Ocean Beach

My father was a commercial fisherman and taxi driver in San Diego in the 1940's, and when the time was right I found the perfect summer home in San Diego.

What makes this house unique

The ocean view from the front porch and upper balcony is breathtaking. Being only two blocks from the coast and the magnificent Sunset Cliffs of Point Loma/Ocean Beach I spend as much time as possible taking walks at the waters edge. The covered hot tub is the best end to a long day. The cliffs offer some of the best surf spots in all of San Diego.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Teresa,

I just wanted to again say thanks, and let you know what a wonderful

time we had at the house. It had been several years since the family got

together and meant a great deal to us.

We'd definitely like to come back.

Thank you again,


- Doug; Clinton , MI
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 1


Ocean Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No Bachelor/Bachelorette Groups
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
King/Queen/Full Beds In Bedrooms, 2 Fireplaces w/Gas, Satellite Direct TV, Granite Countertops, Gas Stove/Double Oven, New Stainless Steel Appliances, Wine Refrigerator, NEW FIRE PIT, No Smoking inside the house please!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Private Hot Tub and Ocean View, 2 Blocks from the Water and Sunset Cliffs
average rating of 4.730769 based on 27 reviews

Spacious house in quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I were in town for a wedding and this place was perfect. We all had plenty of room and our own beds. There were awesome front and back balconies to relax and have coffee on and a great fire pit area to lounge around. The hot tub was a nice relaxing bonus. The kitchen was big enough for us to gather around and chat and was where we ended up most often at night followed by some lounge time on the comfy living room sofa in the mornings. The neighborhood was awesome. You could see the water from most streets and it was easy to walk into the little main street area to go shopping and eat at the cool restaurants. Everything we needed was walking distance, shops, restaurants, bars, grocery stores, nail salons, liquor stores, and beach and the rideshares into town and other areas around San Diego were about $10. Teresa was also so responsive and amazing. She was very accommodating and made sure to give us a walk through via phone since she wasn't in town. Love this place!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rising Sun MD

Enjoyable stay with ocean views

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for a family vacation when we came out to San Diego for my son’s graduation from boot camp. This house is roomy with enough space to sleep all 16 of us. (The kids squeezed in together) The location ended up being perfect for all we wanted to do. It wasn’t too chilly for us while we were there but we did use the cozy gas fireplace which was perfect. The washer/dryer and hot tub were especially nice to have access to. It is an older house with lots of character and the views of the ocean from the balcony were spectacular!!! The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I assumed the beach was 2 blocks away from the description but it’s actully further because it’s all cliffs down to the water 2 blocks away. It’s not super far to walk to the beach but not 2 blocks away. Also the beach that was closest to walk to ended up not being very suitable for the children as there was a lot of drugs and shady people. The kids weren’t able to walk there on their own. Lastly, the house is a bit dark inside. Overall, we had a splendid stay and would return again. The only reason I explained some of the downside is because I appreciate honest reviews of properties as well. Thank you Teresa for letting us stay at your home:)

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

When my friends and I booked this property we were thrilled. It looked so beautiful and clean in the photos. The owner seemed to be really nice. When we arrived at the house the entire place smelled really bad like mildew. I called the owner right away and she called me a liar and said that she's never had a complaint. She sounded very intoxicated. As my friends and I begun to explore deeper into the house we noticed that the smell was getting worse, not only that but the sheets in all beds had hair and partials that lead us to believe it was not washed. I called the owner again and by this time it was late. She told me she was sending a worker to the house. The worker turned out to be her son. Her son proceeded to call us liars and yell at us. He said we planted the hairs their and that he didn't smell anything. He was yelling and becoming so disrespectful we had to ask him to leave. I tried to call the owner and talk calmly to her and she called me and my friends crazy and said we just didn't want to stay in the home. This was so far from the truth considering we flew there for my best friends bachelorette weekend. She then let me know she did not want us to stay in the house and said she would give us a full refund. The mold smell was so bad we slept in our cars hoping to get accommodations from VRBO the next morning. We sent VRBO pictures of the mold and stuff on the sheets. Unfortunately VRBO refuse to do anything for us. The owner lied to them and told them that she did not tell us she was giving us a refund. We were forced to try and find hotels for 9 people last minute. We still haven't received a full refund for the property. I had to say this is one of the worst experiences I have ever had with any property. My friends and I are in the process of legal action to get our money back. I would not recommend this house to anyone. Yes the pictures look nice in the house on the outside is amazing but it's not what it seems. Not only is it terrible but the owner and her son are even worse. I will definitely never be using VRBO again.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First I want to thank you for choosing my home and we always welcome feedback! We did everything in our power to try to satisfy these guests. Unfortunately, after the first night we could not satisfy the travelers, so we did offer to refund their second night if they wanted to depart early. They accepted and they were refunded. Though the guest Tabetha (whom the property was rented to) to my knowledge never arrived at the property, we did everything we could to address her friends' complaints. I've never had a complaint of smell before or since these guests, but the home is two blocks from the water and to those unfamiliar there can be a scent to the ocean breeze. The home is always prepared with two sets of fresh sheets for every bed, and we even offered these guests an additional set of fresh linens, which they declined. I am happy to report that new guests arrived the following day, and had a great stay with zero complaints. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and I believe our reviews show that we work hard to provide our travelers with a wonderful stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had everything we needed! The host followed through in any little thing we were needing.

  • 5 of 5

Clean, great location, well equipped!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
san Jose, CA

Great trip!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful stay here with my family! Plenty of room for all 8 of us! Baby friendly with a highchair and pack and play so nice to not have to travel with that! Hot tub was a bonus too! Definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Vegas, Nevada

Great Place to Stay!

  • 4 of 5

Our family fell in love with this little home in San Diego. The owner was more than accommodating with our crazy arrival schedule. We loved the hot tub and the close location to the beach. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


It's Raw Poke Shop
Best poke in San Diego! And amazing service in this small take out poke shop
Liberty Public Market
Variety of food and shops in this family friendly indoor marketplace!
BBQ House
Best BBQ in San Diego! Longtime local secret that's out of the bag!
Pomas Italian Deli
Top sandwich shop. Locally owned for decades. Try the homemade meatball sub!
Wonderland Ocean Pub
Some of the best views in Ocean Beach at this beachfront restaurant and bar
Sunset Cliffs
Known for its sunset views, this stretch of cliffs lives up to its name!
Point Loma Seafoods
The best seafood sandwiches in all of San Diego!
Ocean Beach Municipal Pier
The longest fishing pier on the west coast! Enjoy the ocean air and the cozy cafe at the end...
Tender Greens
Incredible farm to table restaurant chain in southern california.
Dog Beach (Ocean Beach)
Big stretch of beach where dogs can roam without a leash. Fun for families and pets!
Famous local burger joint. "Under 99 billion sold!"
Newport Pizza & Ale House
Great handmade pizza's and a big selection of local beers. "No crap on tap!"
Nearest Airport
4.3 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Newport Bars
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
I-8 & I-5
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Newport Ave
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
OB Beaches
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $140
Pet Fee $50
Damage Insurance $79

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties