The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms

Photo gallery for The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms

A balcony with a table and chairs, a large umbrella, and a view of the ocean.
Exterior
A coastal pier with a building, docked boats, and a walkway.
A modern kitchen with white cabinetry, a central island, stainless steel appliances, and a dining area with a table and chairs.
A cozy room with wicker chairs and a wooden bench, a small wooden table, and a view of the sea through large windows.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Ventnor Beach

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Refrigerator
  • Pet-friendly
  • Washing machine
  • Internet
  • Non-smoking

Explore the area

View in a map
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
  • Place, Oceanblue Sea Charters
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Ventnor Beach
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Place, Ventnor Botanic Garden
    ‪6 min drive‬
  • Airport, Southampton (SOU)
    ‪104 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

2 bathrooms

Bathroom #1

Bathroom #2

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Ventnor

Located in Ventnor, this cottage is by the sea. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Isle of Wight Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Brading Down Local Nature Reserve, while Shanklin Theatre and Glory Art Glass are cultural highlights. Oceanblue Sea Charters and Isle of Wight Owl and Falconry Centre are also worth visiting.
Map
Ventnor, Isle of Wight

What's nearby

  • Oceanblue Sea Charters - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Ventnor Beach - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Ventnor Park - 13 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Ventnor Botanic Garden - 6 min drive - 2.4 km
  • Steephill Cove Beach - 6 min drive - 2.4 km

Getting around

  • Shanklin Station - 18 min drive
  • Southampton (SOU) - 117 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪King Harry's Bar - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪The Blenheim - ‬7 min walk
  • ‪Cantina - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪The Crab Inn - ‬6 min drive
  • ‪The Spyglass Inn - ‬11 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

What time is check-in at The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Salt Pot - a cottage that sleeps 6 guests in 3 bedrooms located?

Situated by the sea, this cottage is within a 10-minute walk of Oceanblue Sea Charters, English Channel and Ventnor Beach. Monks Bay Beach and Ventnor Park are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 13 out of 28 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 13 out of 28 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 28 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 28 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 28 reviews

6.6/10

Cleanliness

8.6/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

8.6/10

Location

7.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Lovely house

My three children and I had a lovely stay at the Salt Pot. We loved the location in short proximity to town and beach, the sea view and the sunny seats in the bay windows.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Lovely house and location

Despite the rain, we had a great long weekend. Great walk along the sea wall to the esplanade, and easy walk into town. The house was clean and warm and very cosy. Parking easy and very quiet area.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Super stay

Very comfy and well equipped. Owner was very obliging re entry time. Generous welcome goodies - thank you very much!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

A comfortable and well equipped cottage

The cottage was lovely; plenty of space for us and a well equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and the house very well cleaned. Despite awful weather, we enjoyed our stay on the IoW and the Salt Pot was a good bolt hole!
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Mar, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Salt Pot

Lovely location.Cottage has everything.Have been here 3 times now .Needs a knew key box which the owner is aware of. Will return. Thank you for the welcome pack much appreciated.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Great location

Great location for a seaside family holiday, everything you need close by, amazing seaside town. House was just right, good size and beautiful views from the roof terrace.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Salt pot

Great house and location ground floor shower slow to drain toaster blew ground floor sockets but power easily restored. Stylish interior with lovely art work. View of the sea was great easy to get around. I would definitely recommend this property and Ventnor is fab!
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Sept, 2023
Thank you for your review of the Salt Pot Ventnor. I am sorry that the toaster caused a problem with the electrical supply. We will replace it in the next few days. I will also look and the drain in the downstairs shower room and make sure it is working properly. Thanks you for bring the above to our attention. Steve Williamson
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Comfortable and well-equipped holiday home

Couldn't have asked for more from a fully-modernised Victorian terraced house. Big kitchen-diner, comfortable lounge with Freeview TV, large master bedroom overlooking the sea, bathroom upstairs and shower wet room downstairs. Parking is away from the house, but there is a 24-hour car park a few steps away. Not so good for anyone with a physical disability, as the gradients to the seafront are very steep. A great experience and highly recommended.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Lovely stay in Ventnor

With this trip booked from the day lockdown restrictions were lifted, we were a little uncertain of what to expect. It was a relief to find a clean, well kept property. The house is perfectly located and was very comfortable for my family of 5 (+ dog!). We were also very impressed by Island Holiday Homes. The 2 members of staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful and all emailed communication was very clear. I wouldn't hesitate to book with them again and would recommend The Salt Pot to anyone looking for a comfortable and centrally located stay in Ventnor.
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Sept, 2023
Thank you for your kind review. we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely property, great location

My family and I had a lovely stay in the Salt Pot, it was very comfortable and well located for local amenities, all the Isle of Wight attractions (although nothing is ever far away on the island) and the sea front. The accommodation was comfortable and reasonably well kept. A little more attention to detail with the cleaning was needed to get rid of the resident spiders in the kitchen cupboard and around the living room but although it would bother some clean freaks it wasn't much of an issue for us.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2020
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Beware the camera lies

The house was grubby and did not comply with the standard we expected especially during the pandemic Sadly the photos did not accurately depict the reality of staying in this property which was damp unclean and shabby. We would never stay again
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2020
From a partner site

8/10 Good

The Salt Pot

Unfortunately The Salt Pot had not been cleaned. We waited until 5pm as requested so the house could have a double clean. No one had been in since the previous people had left. We had to stay in a hotel for the first night which was not a good start to the holiday. The door to the balcony was very difficult to lock, the shower screen broke and the gas hob was difficult to obtain a steady flame. The instructions for the use of the dvd could be improved. The house is well situated within an easy walk of Ventnor.
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Sept, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, all feedback is welcome. We can only apologise again for this very rare error on behalf of the cleaner, we cannot really explain what happened and in 10 years of holiday letting this lovely cottage this is the first time this has ever occurred. The owners have implemented some small changes to ensure it doesn't happen again, although as stated this was a one-off. By way of an apology The owners refunded £100 instantly as they were totally devastated by the events and the cottage was ready to move into within a couple of hours of the call being made. The owners have checked the gas hob and cannot find a fault and the shower door has been fixed. The balcony door did stick due to the unusually hot weather during this holiday, but this is also a one-off situation. The owners will look into the DVD instructions. As part of the service we followed up the following day to check with the guest that everything was ok, to which we were told it was satisfactory. Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to your return visit to the Island in the future. Kind regards Island Holiday Homes & The Salt Pot
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Wonderful location, amenities all close by

A lovely house with everything required for a comfortable stay. Gorgeous location with sea views, and the lovely ventnor near by. The COVID-19 deep clean didn’t seem much different to a normal clean, there was still dust on some surfaces. And the living room smells of damp, although there are no damp patches to be seen.
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Sept, 2023
We are glad that you had a lovely stay, as you say the location is perfect for a holiday. The housekeepers carry out their normal change over clean and then sanitise the property after each guest. A deep clean is carried out at the start of the season and includes wiping down of all surfaces as well as pulling out all the furniture. We hope to welcome you back to the Island again in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great base for exploring the island, lovely comfortable stay.

Great house close to the sea. Ideal for a family of 5. Well equipped kitchen, good facilities making it a good all round holiday house.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2019
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Great place to stay

Lovely place. I made full use of the 2 sun terraces. Parking was good. WiFi worked well. Decent oven.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Salt Pot August 2019

Well equipped property in good location. Convenient free parking in nearby car park.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2019
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Lovely!

A lovely, spacious and comfortable place to stay, boasting excellent views of the sea. Great for a big group or family.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Good base to explore the Isle of Wight

The house was clean and comfortable, well equipped except there were no toilet rolls! Not really a problem, we popped to Tesco express and bought some, but we have never stayed anywhere that didn’t at least have half a roll to start with! Fab view from the roof terrace. It would be a good idea to explain the rules of the 24 hour car park, in the manual as there is no detail on the signs in the car park itself. Also the wheelie bins were full and we missed the collection day because we didn’t notice the details on the wall by the front door until it was too late. We read the manual from cover to cover and there was no mention of the bins in there, which is where I would normally expect to find it. None of this spoiled our stay, and I would definitely stay there again.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Ideal location, trouble-free accommodation

The Salt Pot is convenient for both town and esplanade. I have stayed in Ventnor previously at both a hotel and cottage accommodation and prefer The Salt Pot. It particularly suited us as we needed three bedrooms and two bathrooms and this is often a difficult combination to accommodate. The booking process was simple and instructions clear. Would happily use again.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Fantastic family holiday in a perfect location

The house was fantastic to stay in for 2 adults and 2 children. We had plenty of space, the kitchen was well equipped, the bedrooms were a decent size and the shower in the downstairs shower room is fantastic. There is a few parking spaces in front of the property but 1 of them is a.disabled space and the others are used by the other occupiers. However the car park is only a minutes walk from the house down the hill. We all loved our time over the week in the house. We would happily come back and would recommend for any families or couples wanting to stop in a beautiful location on the Isle of Wight.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Autumn Stay

Had a short stay at the Salt Pot. Initially a little disappointed at the bedroom configuration , the pictures on the web suggest there are two double beds then a room with singles and a bunk. There is only one double bed. The balconies are reached either by a steep external staircase, or through a bedroom, so not easily accessible. There is only a small front garden, not secure, so for those with children or dogs not ideal. The fire you are obviously not encouraged to use (no wood provided, and grate filled with a candle). This sounds all negative and our stay certainly wasn’t .The house was lovely and warm, the facilities good, and the local pub the Volunteer a gem ( no children under 14). The location fantastic , walking distance to shops in Ventnor and to beaches. So as long as you are aware of the points above the Salt Pot is an ideal house to stay in to explore the island.
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Sept, 2023
Thank you for your feedback. The property configuration is as advertised showing double bedroom, twin bedroom and the bunk bedroom. We also note on our description that the balcony is accessible through the bunk bedroom and that due to steps the roof terrace, may be unsuitable for people with limited mobility. The log fire can be used but the landlord does not supply the logs, the candle had just not been removed from the summer when the fire is not in use. We are pleased that you had a lovely stay and you felt that the house was lovely and warm with good facilities. We would like to thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Week with the family.

6 adults and a baby. Second time if visiting. Very well equipped and comfortable. Within walking distance of shops including cashpoint, take aways and Tesco Express. 10 minutes walk to beach but this is down a steep hill. Ideally located for the sand and shingle beach. Lovely kitchen and very nice small roof top terrace with fabulous views.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

A lovely choice for a seaside holiday

We had a wonderful week at The Saltpot. The cottage is very clean and well-equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. The location is excellent being within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the Esplanade and we spent quite a lot of time just pottering around the shops and walking to the pub. We also enjoyed the terrace and balcony with their wonderful sea views as we were lucky enough to have amazing weather. The house is on a very quiet street and, although you can't usually park outside, we parked at the free carpark a few steps away and, even on a sunny weekend, we always found a space. We will definitely be back and I highly recommend The Saltpot.
Archival

6/10 Okay

Nice stay

It was a nice stay und with sunny weather, we had quiet and chilly holidays. The deck at the roof had a spectacular view with comfortable chairs, but we didn´t find the deckchairs. Bus station, restaurants and supermarkets are nearby and the local bus net provides accessibility to all main spots . The coastal path provided spectacular views during our hiking trips Please inform the guests from other other than the UK, that a special charger for the electrical devices is needed. A tutorial for the key access would have been appreciated.
Archival

8/10 Good

Good location, spacious cottage

Very pleased with the location, close to restaurants, shops and lovely walks. Spacious- it easily accommodated 7 of us. Lovely on the roof terrace!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback