Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

1-5 BR Historic Downtown Charleston Vacation Rental

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Br Rental In The Heart Of The City Close To Everything

We are located on the second floor of a stately antebellum building in the heart of historic downtown Charleston, SC. We offer a private entrance, and five spacious bedrooms with high ceilings and 19th century heart pine floors, accented with paintings and furnishings from our ground floor antiques gallery. We are directly across Meeting Street from the iconic Mills House, and adjacent to award-winning restaurants and bars, King Street shopping and nightlife, art galleries, the city market, bucolic parks and gardens, historic churches, South of Broad mansions, and multiple reception halls. Relax on the spacious 2nd floor veranda, with lovely views of the steeples of both St. Philips and St. Michael's. The deep porch fills with morning sunlight and captures the breeze from the nearby harbor

More Details

Property Manager
Lizzy Millar
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

Why Lizzy Millar chose Historic Old City

We are located on the SE corner of Meeting and Queen Streets, in the historic French Quarter District in downtown Charleston, SC, within what was the old walled city. The land was part of a Colonial land grant in 1695. The present building dates to 1854. It has hosted a colorful array of occupants since then, including a 19th century grocery store, billiards saloon, BBQ restaurant, liquor store, law firm, art gallery, and present-day antiques store with residences above. Free parking on adjacent parking lot during non business hours.

In our family since 1968, we have transformed the second floor as a city-licensed luxury vacation rental, perfect for family reunions, group getaways, small business retreats, or wedding parties (the apartment is within 3 blocks of multiple famous churches and reception halls).

We have enjoyed many years of meals, cocktails, and good conversation on the piazza, admiring the view. Now it is time to share our home as your newfound home-away-from-home

What makes this condo unique

Order your groceries before you arrive! One less thing to worry about during your vacation. Groceries Ahead is a great company who can provide this service to you at an affordable rate in the Charleston area. Check out their website for more information: http://groceriesahead.com/

We do provide a "starter kit" for each renter which includes: 4 toilet paper rolls,, 1 paper towel roll, hotel soaps for sinks, showers, bathtub, a small dish liquid and a sponge beside the kitchen sink, 3 dishwasher tablets, 2 dishtowels, 2 13-gallon kitchen trash can liners, and small 4-gal trash can liners for the small trash cans throughout the home

Amenities

Historic Old City Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellations more than 60 days prior to arrival will incur a $250 penalty. Cancellations less than 60 days prior to arrival will incur 50% penalty.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom: Toilet, sink, shower Hall Bathroom: Toilet, sink, shower Back Bathroom: Toilet, sink
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Hall Bedroom - 1 king
    Hall Bedroom - 1 queen
    Back Bedroom - 1 king
    Back TV Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Sleeping Accommodations: BEDROOMS: 4 Bedrooms Sleeps 12, Beds for 10-12 Master : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 Queen Back Bedroom : 1 King Back TV Room : 1 Sleep Sofa /Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
12. CANCELLATION POLICY: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur a $250 penalty. Cancellations that are made less than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur a 50% penalty.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
1-5 BR Historic Downtown Charleston Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.547619 based on 42 reviews
Maryland
5

Fabulous French Quarter Five Bedroom!

  • 5 of 5

My husband surprised me for my 60th birthday with a stay at this fabulous five bedroom VRBO filled with six of our best friends. Not only is this historic property perfectly located just off a main street in downtown Charleston, where shops and restaurants abound, it was so charming that we prepared a few main meals and dined in, just to savor the comfortable, spacious porch and living room, with those incredible high ceilings and picture windows! Two thumbs up!! Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and in downtown Charleston! We hope you will come back and stay again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Slumlords

  • 1 of 5

What a shame. An absolutely beautiful property in the perfect location. Unfortunately the people running it have no clue. We were emailed after full payment was made and told that the HVAC system was not working correctly. We were called the day after we arrived and told that the part for the fridge would be ready the day after we left. This company charged over $400 per night with no heating and air and no working refrigerator. They refused to offer any compensation. Beware working through this rental or this company. Untrustworthy

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ken, This is not true. The AC was working The email sent regarding the HVAC system was just an FYI about the heat. I don’t think it was cold enough during your stay to use heat and the AC was working great. Both are working, the system just can’t toggle back and forth so we made sure to have it set on what we thought you would use based on the weather conditions during your stay. We are in the process of getting this fixed but unfortunately it is a time consuming repair and we wanted to be proactive by making you aware prior to check in that if you felt you needed heat you would just have to contact me so I could get someone out. Again, both the AC and heat do work and the AC was working well during your stay. As I expressed when I called you, I am very very sorry about the refrigerator issue. This happened to be a same day turn for us so we did not find out about the refrigerator until late Monday afternoon. I got the appliance repair company over there that same day but the part had to be ordered. Regardless, I did and do apologize for this issue. These things come up and we do our best to act as quickly as we can to get it fixed. This is the first time we have had an appliance issue in the rental and it has now been repaired. We do have the number of TV’s listed in our VRBO listing so there is no confusion with that and renters. I am sorry that you were expecting there to be TV’s in the bedrooms. I am so sorry that you were this unhappy with your stay in Charleston and in the home; we do our best to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay and are disappointed when that is not the case. As a courtesy and due to the issues you experienced, we did expedite the return of your security deposit the day you checked out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location!!

  • 3 of 5

Still haven’t figured out how this property sleeps 12?? It is a good short term rental due to its location. It could be a fabulous rental if the kitchen appliances were upgraded! Everything is a bit tired looking inside but we would still rent it again if the owners work a little on the kitchen. Also bring some extra towels! The elevator is a must for luggage. The property management company makes it easy access for moving in! Could be darling with a little TLC!!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy, We are so glad that you enoyed your stay in Charleston and in the rental!!! We advertise the property as 10-12 because that is the occupancy limit and some people will bunk up, sleep on the couch, or bring an air mattress. But we are also very clear about the actual beds in the unit in our listing so there is no confusion. Yes, the kitchen is a little outdated but who wants to cook on vacation : ) I do think the owners have plan to do some upgrades in the future though so that is exciting! We hope you will come back and visit again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful historic setting near everything

  • 5 of 5

Hosted 2 couples and my three children for my wife's 40th birthday. This is a beautiful historic setting in the heart of Charleston and accessible to all of what Charleston is about: history, food, sites and more. The place is spacious, the furniture is comfortable and the bedrooms are decorated well with comfy beds. As it is a historic home, the kitchen is small and though furnished plainly it sufficed as we weren't in Charleston to cook out own food. The porch has a great view of St. Philips Church and was a perfect spot for a morning coffee, and afternoon cocktail and evening gathering after dinner. Be aware, there is no parking on-site, though public parking is close by. Didn't bother us as we weren't there to drive around and the home is located so close to everything. You have to walk down a driveway to a spiral staircase to access the home's entrance as it is on the second floor. There is a small one-person elevator, but it was faster to just muscle the bags up the stairs. Pack smaller bags to make it easier. None of those would deter me from coming to this home again. I loved being a block or two from the best food, sites and more. A very unique and fun experience and hope to do it again.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing Location, Beautiful Bedrooms, Huge Balcony!

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I stayed here for a friend's wedding in downtown Charleston in early January 2018. We had an amazing stay and really enjoyed the location, decoration, balcony, and amenities. Lizzy, the property manager was very responsive and helpful!

The only thing I would say is that the advertisement indicates that 10-12 adults can stay here and really only comfortably I would limit the number of people to 10. There are 4 bedrooms plus a futon room in a living room area. I'm not sure how they came up with 12 adults. We ended up bringing an air mattress last minute as we had 12 adults and put it in the main living room and it worked out great, however, there were not enough towels to accommodate the number of people even though I indicated there would be 12 adults.

I highly recommend this rental to anyone with 10 adults or less. It was beautiful!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mara, I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay in the house and in Charleston!! We put 10-12 because that is the maximum occupancy and sometimes with kids you can get more people. We do however have the number of beds listed in our listing as follows so we try and be as clear as possible.  BEDROOMS: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 10-12 Master : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 Queen Back Bedroom : 1 King Back TV Room : 1 Sleep Sofa /Futon We hope you will come back and stay with us again sometime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

great location

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of friends gathering for a birthday celebration. The location of the house is ideal. We did not have a car available to us and did not need one at all. The house was clean, beds comfortable, plenty of towels, large bedrooms. You do have to bring your own toiletries and extra toilet paper. The spiral staircase would be tricky for elderly guests. I would return and do recommend for a great Charleston stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Eli's Table
American Restaurant
The Barbadoes Room Restaurant
American Restaurant
Gibbes Museum of Art
Café Gibbes
Cafe
Poogan's Porch
Southern Restaurant (US)
Husk
American Restaurant
Circular Congregational Church
Toast
Breakfast Restaurant
Gaulart & Maliclet Fast and French Inc.
French Restaurant
Postal Museum
St. Philip's Church
Brown Dog Deli
Deli
Old Slave Mart Museum
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Seafood Restaurant
Another Broken Egg Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Kitchen 208
American Restaurant
Fulton Five
Italian Restaurant
Confederate Museum
Sweetwater Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
City Lights Coffee
Coffee Shop
Meeting at Market
American Restaurant
The Governor's House Inn
McCrady's Tavern
American Restaurant
Heyward-Washington House
Sushi Blue
Japanese Restaurant
Callie's Hot Little Biscuit
Southern Restaurant (US)
Peninsula Grill
Southern Restaurant (US)
McCrady's Restaurant
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charleston
Steak House
Welkin Coffee Charleston
Coffee Shop
Hunter Brookes - Night Market
Sugar Shack
Minero
Mexican Restaurant
Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist
Market Street Deli & Salads
Deli
The Palmetto Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Lowcountry Bistro
Southern Restaurant (US)
Dixie Soul Cafe
Cafe
Charleston Grill
Fine Dining Restaurant
Magnolias
Southern Restaurant (US)
East Bay Meeting House
European Restaurant
Old Towne Grill and Seafood
Greek Restaurant
O-Bar at Oyster House
Oyster Bar Restaurant
High Cotton Charleston Restaurant
Southern Restaurant (US)
Oyster House
Seafood Restaurant
Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House
Gastropub
Hyman's
Seafood Restaurant
Poogan's Smokehouse
Southern Restaurant (US)
New York City Pizza
Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Charleston International Apriport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Patriots Point
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Sullivans Island

Charleston is a singularly beautiful city, with a wealth of farm-to-table restaurants and plenty to do. 120 Meeting Street sits squarely in the center of it all. Whether you've come here to sight-see, dine, wed, shop, hit the surf or get to work, you'll find that most everything is either within walking distance or a short ride away (pedicabs are a great way to get around downtown).

EAT

Within a few blocks of 120 Meeting Street are award-winning restaurants Sermet's Downtown, Husk, FIG, Cypress, SNOB, and McCrady's, plus laid-back favorites like "Fast & French," Minero, and Poogan's Porch. Also close by are venerable seafood eateries Hank's, Pearlz Oyster Bar, and Fleet Landing. Stock up on artisanal goodies for picnics or cocktail parties by walking to either Bull Street Gourmet or the adorable, well-curated wine and cheese shop Goat Sheep Cow.

DRINK

A handful of some of Charleston's finest bars are within blocks. Head to the Mezz for Charleton's finest live jazz, or to Husk Bar for creative cocktails, regional bar snacks, and a serious bourbon collection. The bars at both Cypress and McCrady's are chic and popular. Nestle into The Gin Joint on East Bay Street and let the talented bartenders surprise you. Or head to rooftop bars at Market Pavilion, the Vendue, or Restoration Hotel for spectacular skylines and sunset sipping. As for Charleston's booming craft beer scene, you don't necessarily need to visit the actual distillery (though it's fun to sign up for a Brews Cruise). Many area bars carry local suds. From 120 Meeting Street, walk over to Craftsmen Tap House for plenty of choices.

PLAY

Take a stroll three blocks down Queen Street to famous Waterfront Park, or head a few blocks south to marvel at palatial historic homes, a few of which are open for tours (we recommend the Nathanial Russell House and the Edmonston-Alston House). Keep your eyes peeled and your ears open for the clucking of free-range guinea fowl on lower Legare Street. Witness the heritage of Gullah sweetgrass basket weaving at the City Market, and just south of our rental (a few vendors set up on Meeting Street). Stroll down Meeting Street past Washington Park to White Point Gardens. Take a walking tour, hop in a horse-drawn carriage, or snag a spot on a sailboat. But mostly, just get out and walk. You can't go wrong.

WEDDINGS

Whether you are planning a Charleston wedding or attending one, 120 Meeting Street is ideally situated. You'll find scores of wedding venues less than 5 blocks away (to name a few: St. Philips, St. Michael's, First Presbyterian, Circular Congregational, First Baptist, Cathedral of St. John, Unitarian Church, St. Johns Lutheran, etc.). Engagement photos along our picturesque streets, parks, and waterfronts, are popular, too. Reception venues abound, such as the nearby Hibernian, Society Hall, Exchange Building, Mills House Ballroom, McCrady's Long Room, and countless others.

FESTIVALS

Charleston hosts year-round happenings, so plan your visit accordingly. 120 Meeting Street is centrally located for downtown festivals such as January's Charleston Restaurant Week, February's Southeastern Wildlife Exposition (SEWE), March's Wine + Food Festival, April's annual Tour of Houses and Gardens and Bridge Run, May's Charleston Food Film Festival, May/June's popular SPOLETO Festival, July's Palette & Palate Stroll, August's BevCon wine and spirits festival, September's Taste of Charleston, October's Annual Fall Tour of Homes & Gardens, and December's holiday decorations, shopping, and Christmas traditions. There honestly isn't a bad season or off-season for visiting the Holy City.

OUTINGS

You don't need a car to enjoy Charleston's downtown offerings (you can walk, rent a bike or a bicycle-built-for-two, take a pedicab, or call a Green Taxi). But if you arrive by car, opportunities await farther afield. Head to the beach (Isle of Palms, Sullivan's Island, and Folly are all roughly twenty minutes away). Visit the ancient Angel Oak on John's Island. Explore beautifully landscaped plantations (Drayton Hall, Boone Hall, Magnolia, Middleton Place). Hike through old rice fields (Caw Caw Interpretive Center) or along walkways above swampy cypress groves (Francis Marion State Forest). Rent kayaks on Shem Creek, or hire private boat companies to take you to barrier islands in search of prehistoric sharks teeth. Take a surf lesson on Folly Beach. Play a round of golf on Kiawah's jaw-dropping Ocean Course. Watch the sun set as you slurp down oysters at the iconic Bowen's Island waterfront restaurant. The possibilities are endless.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $254
Damage Deposit $500

* Our standard requirement is a 3 night minimum stay. However, if you wish to stay only 2 nights we are willing to allow this for an additional fee.
*If paying with a foreign CC; there will be an additional administration fee of $60
* Please no bachelor or bachelorette parties
* You must be 25 years of age to book our property

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties