3 bedroom, 3.5 bathroom close to beach/boardwalk with community pool
About C Hancock
We are a family of 5 with 3 kids age 10, 8, and 6. We purchased this home as our family beach house which we rent out to share with other families. We enjoy the laid back feeling of Bethany Beach and the laid back neighborhood our house is in. We do not rent to party goers.
C Hancock purchased this Townhome in 2016
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
A wonderful stay!
Christina and Bobby were friendly and accommodating during our visit.
Their place is lovely! Clean, comfortable and spacious- a perfect place for our party of 8. I especially loved the decor of the entire house. Their beach theme was very fitting and gave a homey feeling. The bedrooms were spacious and the place was equipped with a lot of entertainments A great DVD collection, tennis rackets (there is a tennis court right next to the community pool), bicycles of all sizes for the family. The kitchen was equipped with sufficient cutlery, pots and pans for cooking, and utensils.
Location is perfect! In a quiet and clean private community that didn't have a lot of traffic so our children had a great time riding the bikes and walking around. It was a quick 7 mins drive to the nearest beach, which is Bethany. It's not a large beach but we loved the quaint shops and restaurants! For a larger, more activities beach, Rehoboth is just 25 mins drive away.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and I found Christina and Bobby to be very kind and helpful. Christina responded to my texts almost immediately when I had questions. We would recommend this place and will be returning next summer!
Oh wow, July just flew by!!
Planned rental: 07/26-07/31/2019.
Initial booking : 2/24/2019.
Final payment: 06/16/2019
Arrived in town, shortly after 9 am. Drove to property to inspect overall location and condition. Noticed trash and recycle cans OVERFLOWING with cardboard boxes stacked nearby. Drove to beach area. Settled in on beach chair. Receive text from owner at 10:14am. Stated she just realized she never received copy of contract or driver's license... STRANGE when the final payment was received over a month ago, wouldn't it have been nice to receive a "reminder" then, not on THE DAY OF arrival?? So we worked out things via text and email on my phone. Planned on heading back to rental for 3 pm check-in. One place on the listing shows 3 pm check-in, while another shows 4 pm. Check out is shown as 10 am AND 11 am also. Which one am I supposed to believe? So we tried the door code that was requested, but no luck. At 3:09 tried to call owner. Again at 3:18. She finally answered at 3:32. By this time, my husband was also on the phone with HomeAway support. Her response on the door code: "Oh I guess the painter changed it" . No way, nothing was freshly painted inside. So she provided the correct door code to me on the phone, I wonder how she "retrieved" this from the "painter"?? So her first question once I was inside was "So did the cleaners finish?" How would you NOT know this as the owner?? So there was no hair or other in the tubs and showers, there was no residue in the toilets from the previous tenants, so you could technically call it clean, but overall this place was FAR from clean. My husband took the time to take the debris out of the suction tube on the vacuum cleaner and go over the carpets so we could walk around in comfort. We used the broom on the vinyl floors, and emptied the FULL dishwasher. I sure hope the "cleaners" have their own vacuum, there was no way the house vacuum was usable in the state it WAS in. By the time the trash collector rolled in on Tuesday morning, we had to "borrow" another trash bin from a neighbor's unit. How could this much trash have accumulated and the "cleaner" didn't contact the owner for resolution before the next tenant arrives? There was NO cleaner on site on our check in day. There was no sign of a painter being there recently. There was plenty of trash remaining to give a poor presentation on out first day. And the owner's response was "Wow, July slipped by, and I just realized I didn't get the contract." Incredible.
Contract sent to your email: 5/25 which you did not return. Yes July did fly by, besides being a mom and working a full time job, I did forget to REMIND you that you did not return the contract. I thought I was very flexible allowing you to respond to the contract via text since you were already on the beach. Sorry if sending a text message to agree to a rental contract that was supposed to be signed and returned was such a inconvenience. Check in time was always 4 pm. When you called at 3:30 I said the CLEANERS not painters may have forgotten to set your code. I was able to give you a new code right away because we have a backup code. When you went in earlier than checkin time, I just asked if the cleaners were done because they technically have until 4pm to finish. You then hung up on me and did not respond to any of my text messages or emails for the rest of your stay. I checked in to ask how things were going via text and email and nothing. You texted me once to ask when the trash was picked up. I apologized if it was piled up, this is unusual because we pay for weekly service. The trash cans are on the side of the house behind a big bush so nothing was really an eye sore. I emailed you Tuesday morning (since you did not respond to my texts) to let you know that I called the trash company to make sure they were in route. Trash was picked up Tuesday. You did not respond. Sorry if my July flew by, I am not perfect but I was able to get you in earlier than your checkin time even without a signed agreement. Maybe your May, June and July flew by because you were not able to return your contract in time. Also, when I asked you on the phone where you saw the 3 pm checkin time, you did not answer me and hung up. I again asked you in the email where you saw the 3 pm time so I could fix it for future renters you did not respond. I was very accommodating with the contract, very polite with my emails and texts so I am not sure why you are so upset. For future renters who are reading this, please look at all of our previous positive reviews.
Not as clean as we expected upon arrival. Carpet is soiled and walls had marks. Large enough for a family and the pool was nice.
After receiving this two star review I called the renter to see why. When I texted her during her stay she said everything was great and did not let me know of any issues so this was taken as a surprise. When we talked on the phone she agreed that she shouldn't have given it a 2 star review, said she isn't savy with the internet and wasn't sure what she was doing. She did say that there were some crumbs under the couch and we agreed that summer rental cleaning companies are not as diligent as a hotel cleaning staff. There were some minor stains on the carpet but it was clean. We have since switched cleaning companies and the carpets have been steam cleaned. Renter said she could have written much nicer things about the house, location and pool but said she "normally doesn't do these type of things and wasn't computer savy". She felt bad for leaving this review and said if she could change it she would.
We decided on Bethany Beach for our family vacation and we were not disappointed.
The property at Amaganst was very convenient to Bethany Beach, shopping and restaurants. The listing of the property on VRBO that describes available features and amenities was accurate and comprehensive. It was a great place to have a family vacation and so much more comfortable than a hotel stay.
It's a well-suited property very well located. Beach, shopping, restaurants are a short drive away, clean neighborhood pool is a short walk away. The house is set-up very user-friendly, well-appointed kitchen, A/C works perfectly, there was a BBQ we used one night, and the beach toys/tennis rack, bikes. All in all it provides everything you'd want for a lovely stay. Thank you!
We loved our Bethany Beach vacay!! Christina and Bobby’s townhouse was beautiful, spacious and clean! We enjoyed our time with our family who visited all the way from Colombia. It was our first time at Bethany Beach and we really liked relaxing on the beach, grilling at night, taking a walk on the short boardwalk, and playing games at home. The kids also enjoyed the community pool in the afternoons right behind the house.
Ocean City’s boardwalk wasn't very far away, so one evening we headed there for dinner and rides!
Overall, we had a great experience! The area has a lot to offer and Christina was very helpful when giving tips for restaurants and places to go!
Will definitely consider coming back! :)
Thank you for the review! We are so glad you had such a nice time and would love to have you back again in the future!