Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Mountain Cabin, Private Hot Tub - Elk Horn Cabin by SkyRun

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,610 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR 2 Bath Home - sleeps up to 10

Elk Horn Cabin - a SkyRun Breckenridge Property

Private outdoor hot tub

Updated bathrooms and kitchen

Open concept living room, dining room and kitchen

This charming mountain home is equipped with everything you need for a lovely stay. Cozy and updated kitchen with slab granite, stainless appliances opens to the living room with wood stove and dining room. Enjoy peek-a-boo views of the slopes from the main living area! Soak in a private hot tub after a day on the slopes or hiking.

This home has a king master suite. The second bedroom features two queen beds. The third bedroom features a queen bed. There is additional accommodations for 2 with a queen sleeper sofa in the lower level living room.

PROPERTY FEATURES:

-- 3 bedroom/2 bath

-- Sleeps: 10

-- Lifts: A 3 minute drive to the Breckenridge gondola

-- Town: A 2 minute drive to town or 10 minute walk

-- Views: Mountain and forest views

-- Hot Tub: Outdoor private hot tub

-- Outdoor Space: Outdoor fire pit and propane grill

-- Living Room: Wood burning stove, flat screen TV, an additional lower level area with a queen sleeper sofa and flat screen TV

-- Dining: Seating for 6 and 3 at the bar

-- Laundry: Private in-home washer/dryer

-- Parking: 3 cars allowed (1 in garage, 2 to 3 in driveway)

-- Standard Amenities: High speed Internet, linens provided

-- No Pets/No Smoking

-- Must be 25 Years of Age

-- Air Conditioning: NO. Due to the mild high alpine climate, many properties are not equipped with air conditioning.

GETTING AROUND:

This beautiful property is just outside the town limits of Breckenridge - about a 3 minute drive to downtown OR guests may walk about 1 mile to the Purple Line to catch the Breck Free Ride at the corner of Wellington and Royal Tiger.

What to be aware of:

- The kitchen is a bit small, but well-equipped and upgraded with granite and stainless steel

- Garage is very short and not wide enough for two cars (may only fit 1 compact car)

- The shuttle stop is about a 1 mile walk from the property, but only a 2-minute drive to downtown if you decide to take a car

What You'll Love:

- Soak in the private outdoor hot tub

- Enjoy the evening in front of the outdoor fire pit

- Warm-up by the indoor wood stove

SUMMER SKYCARD PROGRAM: The Summer SkyCard program offers FREE activities and services during your stay. Our Summer program runs from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We offer actives all provided by local companies including:

- 1 FREE Bike Rental (for each night you stay)

- 1 FREE Whitewater Rafting Trip (for each night you stay)

PARKING: Parking in Breckenridge is strictly enforced. To avoid towing or a ticket adhere to posted signs and parking allocations at all times. If you need additional parking for more cars, paid overnight parking is provided by the Town of Breckenridge in two areas of town, 1) south of town at the Stephen West Ice Arena and 2) north of town (also accepts RVs and trailers) at the Airport Road satellite parking lot.

Breckenridge Business License No: 46832

What to be aware of:

- The kitchen is a bit small, but well-equipped and upgraded with granite and stainless steel 

- Garage is very short and not wide enough for two cars (may only fit 1 compact car)

- The shuttle stop is about a 1 mile walk from the property, but only a 2-minute drive to downtown if you decide to take a car

What You'll Love:

- Soak in the private outdoor hot tub

- Enjoy the evening in front of the outdoor fire pit

- Warm-up by the indoor wood stove

More Details

Property Manager
SkyRun
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

What makes this house unique

- Soak in the private outdoor hot tub

- Enjoy the evening in front of the outdoor fire pit

- Warm-up by the indoor wood stove

Amenities

Breckenridge Heights House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2610 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Guests must be at least 25 years old to rent.
  • No Smoking.
  • No Pets.
Location Type:
  • Monument View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom #1 (Main Level) - toilet , shower , Main Level bathroom 1 sink.
    Bathroom #2 (Lower Level) - toilet , tub , Lower level bathroom 1 sink.
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom #1 (Main Level) - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Main Level Queen bedroom .
    Bedroom #2 (Lower Level) - 2 queen , Lower Level Queen bedroom .
    Bedroom #3 (Lower Level) - 1 king , King Lower Level Bedroom .
    Sofa Sleeper #1 (Lower Level) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Lower Level Living Room - sofa sleeper .
  • 3 Bedrooms with 1 King Beds, 3 Queen Beds, 1 Sleeper Sofas
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cozy Mountain Cabin, Private Hot Tub - Elk Horn Cabin by SkyRun
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
5

Super cool

  • 5 of 5

Very pretty and charming place but u need for winter 4#4 car 100%

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peter, Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at Elk Horn Cabin by SkyRun Breckenridge. We're glad you were able to enjoy this charming cabin. We agree with you and recommend 4x4 vehicle for all winter use. SkyRun Breckenridge Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York
5

Spacious and modern with great amenities

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 6 really enjoyed our stay. The management at SkyRun provided a lot of information and even checked in to make sure we got everything. We really appreciated that, as well as the free passes to activities in the area! The location of the house was great, the views are beautiful, and the house was spacious yet cozy. The only thing we would complain about is the stove - it was hard to operate sometimes, since the touch pads weren't so sensitive. I love how bright the common area was during the day, and of course the hot tub was amazing. We would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Elk Horn Cabin by SkyRun Breckenridge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! The common area is a beautiful open design that allows full enjoyment our Colorado bluebird days. We are looking into what we can do about the stove switches - thanks for your input. SkyRun Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is one if the best vacation homes I have ever stayed in! The house has a lot of charm and history, is well furnished and beautifully equipped. What blew us away were the modern appliances - quiet dish washer, super smart microwave, and great stove and oven. Huge TV with cable and streaming possibilities and great instructions how to use all of it. Perfect! There is also a hot tub!

The gondola is only 8 car minutes away and parking is free during the week if you have four or more passengers in the car (weekends it's a $5 discount for that which brings the price down to $7). Super convenient!

When they say four wheel drive recommended or chains - they really mean it. We came after a snow dump and made it up the street ok but always worrying about it - especially when it kept snowing for another two days. Their advice is spot on.

Skirun provided perfect service - quick, friendly, and efficient!

We had a great time!!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Elk Horn Cabin by SkyRun Breckenridge. We're happy to hear that you think this is one of the best vacation homes you've ever stayed in! We think this is a beautiful property that has a great combination of desirable features for a vacation in Breckenridge. SkyRun Breckenridge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Average/Okay

  • 3 of 5

The house wasn't awful but it wasn't great compared to others we have stayed at in Breck. We were always either hot or cold and couldn't really get the temperature comfortable despite having 3 separate thermostats. The king sized bed needs to be in the upstairs room to make it a master suite up there. Although the Sky Run office staff was very friendly and responsive when we called with issues (no crib sheet, dirty hot tub, several burnt out lightbulbs, etc.) the issues took several days to get resolved. (The hot tub never got cleaned during our week-long stay). The kitchen is TINY which is okay if you plan to eat out most of the time but for cooking it was difficult although it was pretty well stocked with tools/utensils. The house is in a nice location, very close to town and in a good neighborhood. It was nice to have so many toys and a crib in the house for our toddler but the house is NOT baby friendly. It is kid friendly, but definitely not safe for babies/young toddlers. We were constantly chasing him around and thankfully we rented gates for the top and bottom of the stairs as well as the entry/foyer. You need 3 gates for sure if you have a young baby. Overall it was okay, not absolutely horrible, but just not great.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a great house and agree that the location is very convenient. As the guest stated, the SkyRun Breckenridge staff is friendly and responsive and we addressed each guest issue during their stay as we do for all our guests. The private hot tub was serviced the day prior to guest arrival and was clear and functioning and was serviced again during the guest stay, at their request. The guest reported that the hot tub was cloudy on the evening of 2/19 and we serviced it on 2/20. Although it was serviced prior to guest arrival, we serviced it again at no charge. Although we typically do not provide crib sheets, the guest called and we provided one on the same day that they called. The guest reported that there were a couple of light bulbs burnt out and we did provide new lightbulbs on request. The guest also requested space heater to be delivered prior to their arrival, which were there for their use. This is a nicely updated and furnished cabin and is a very popular home with strong reviews. It is also a great location for families and the owner has small children. Homes in the SkyRun Breckenridge inventory are accurately represented in quality and price. While the guest may not have believed this was the nicest house in Breckenridge, we made no claims that it was. If you looking for a very nice home in a great location at a reasonable price, this is a great property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely home, but lack of cleanliness

  • 3 of 5

I have debated about reviewing our stay, however, I really take them into consideration when booking our annual ski trip. I believe all of the photos accurately represent the property, and was pleased with the layout. My main issue with the property is the cleanliness. As I was unpacking, I noticed hairs all over the sheets (not only dog hair, but long brunette hairs as well). I checked all of the bedding that was on the beds, as well as the extra sheets provided, and they were all covered in hair. I sent an email stating my issue and was told housekeeping would be by the next day. I assume they came while we were gone as the beds were made, however, there was still hair on the sheets of the bed and extra sheets. I washed our bedding and went out to buy a lint roller and went through the entire roll during our stay. The baseboards were dirty and the pots and pans had leftover residue. There are marks on the walls of 2/3 bedrooms, and a hole patched with duct tape on one of the bedroom doors. The couch was stained and there were balls of dust/hair throughout the house. My clothes that were washed never felt clean, as they came out of the dryer covered in hair. Putting those issues aside, the house had anything we could have needed-including a toddler. In my opinion, you can definitely tell it is someone's home. Upon reading reviews of this listing elsewhere, it was stated the owner has dogs. I do not have an allergy to pet hair, as I have an inside dog of my own, but would suggest avoiding this listing if you do. I just don't believe it was as clean as my home would be-especially if I expected guests. If the cleanliness issue were addressed, I would have given it 5 stars. Note: The reason I debated to post was due to the fact that I could have complained to management for a second time, but I did not want to waste my time complaining about an issue that obviously wasn't addressed the first time. I felt I would be further ahead just spending a day of my once yearly vacation cleaning a house I paid to stay in.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ashir, Firstly, we wanted to thank you for taking the time to write us a review that informs us of issues you had when you stayed with us. We’re sorry you didn’t think that the cleanliness issue was addressed after we returned immediately to the property the morning after your after-hours call, per your request (and subsequent confirmation via email afterwards) we replaced the sheets in the lower level for all bedrooms and re-vacuumed the home. We certainly would have sent our housekeeping team back a second time if you were not pleased, had we known. The door was unfortunately broken by the guests who departed earlier in the day you arrived and we were not able to source a new door that before you arrived later the afternoon when you checked in. We strive to provide a high level of service for all of our guests and really wish you’d given us the opportunity to fix the problem when you experienced it, instead of hearing about it after the fact. SkyRun Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice, quiet location and convenient to downtown.

  • 5 of 5

We took a 4 day ski week with 7 adults and the house was great. Sitting in hot tub in the snow is so cool. Great place will do it again for sure

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ben, Elk Horn Cabin is so cozy and charming! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with SkyRun Breckenridge at Elk Horn Cabin and look forward to a future stay with us! ~Anna, SkyRun Breckenridge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • DEPOSIT: Major Credit Cards Accepted - 1/3 of rental required upon confirmation of all reservations as down payment (min $300). Remainder due 30 days prior to arrival.

    PRICING: Prices vary throughout the seasons. Please visit our website for the most up to date pricing or call us. Nightly rates above do not include required taxes and fees.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund