Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:25
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
rental unit needs tlc and repairs
We enjoyed the location of this unit, but were not happy with many of the aspects of the maintence of the unit. I will list items we found unacceptable: toilet seat in master bath was coming off; carpeting in back bedroom was coming up and a trip hazard; drapes in front bedroom were not sufficient for darkness or privacy; there was no hot water in third floor shower; doors at the front and back of the unit were in need of repair and hard to open; no hot water and hardly any water out of kitchen faucet; very few dishes for a unit that could rent to 8 as well as very little silverware; no dishrag, one drying towel in kitchen; sprayer in kitchen sink did not work; beds are noisy; back deck was nice, but furniture could be upgraded; no ICE MAKER; the inventory checklist is not updated and having values attached was a little demeaning; no check out procedures were made available; no screens in any windows. One of the chairs in the main living area was broken. GOOD THINGS-location of the unit, layout of the unit; washer and dryer; bath towels were nice. It would be helpful to let renters know you do have a few beach towels so those flying did not need to carry large towels. Also, a large damage deposit is required up front with first payment. I don't understand why it is collected so early and takes so long (over two weeks) to be returned.
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you bringing these items to my attention however it would have been more effective to inform me of these issues while your party was staying at my property rather than after the fact in an online review. That way I could have addressed many of these issues while you were still there to improve your satisfaction with this rental. With that said I have made note of your complaints and will be addressing them immediately.
As for some of the specific issues you had with the rental process, I wanted to clarify those items.
-I do not have specific check out instructions because I want to make checking out as simple as possible for my guests. I do not require my guests to do anything when they depart other than returning the keys to the lockbox. My cleaning crew takes care of everything else and all of that is included in the cleaning fee renters pay.
-The security deposit and the process for its return are set up by VRBO/HomeAway and not me personally. This site gives renters the option to purchase rental insurance in lieu of leaving a security deposit, however you choose the deposit option. Again that is out of my control and I never deal with those funds or that process directly.
-Both the security deposit (or insurance option) as well as the inventory list are to protect the owners of these properties. I’ve been fortunate in that most my renters have been decent, respectful folks who just want to enjoy some relaxing time at the beach. However there are an unfortunate few who do not respect the properties they rent and items can go missing or damaged. While I’m sorry if you found the associated cost listed with each item on the inventory insulting, it is a necessary evil to establish the replacement cost of items should they be damaged or missing after a rental.
-This property is listed as having a maximum capacity of 7 people per stay not 8, but to your point, I will reassess, update and replenish our inventory, especially if kitchenwares need replacing.
Despite these complaints, it seems like there was still a lot you enjoyed about this location. With that said, I feel like a two star review is overly negative and pretty harsh, but that’s your prerogative. In the future I would again suggest bringing any maintenance issues to the owner’s attention during your stay so they may be addressed immediately. Thanks again for your feedback and I will certainly be tending to these issues.
We had a fantastic family vacation! The place was Great! Plenty of room for everyone, good size bedrooms, close to the beach & we even walked to dinner a few time!! Will definitely recommend to others!
Location is perfect - peaceful setting yet close to everything. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. We felt right at home. The owner provided a lot of useful information regarding local attractions. We will definitely stay here again.
Very nice townhouse. Plenty of room and great accommodations!
The condo was well appointed and close to everything we needed. The beach was just a short walk out the back door. Very comfortable for our family of 5.
Great place! Great location!
This was an excellent place to stay! The home was clean and very comfortable for 7 of us. The location is great, as it’s only a couple minutes from main area of town and a couple minute walk to the beach! Will definitely see if it’s available when I come back to St Simons!
Vista Soleil Townhouse is located in St. Simon's East Beach community and is a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants like the world famous Crab Trap.