Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cool Water Retreat on the White River

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cool Water Retreat is a dedicated vacation rental with good wifi that sleeps 10 people located directly on the banks of the famous White River. It...

We donate $5 from each booking to stock our LITTLE FREE PANTRY in an effort to help locals in need.

Cool Water Retreat is a dedicated vacation rental with good wifi that sleeps 10 people located directly on the banks of the famous White River. It is located on a paved road approximately 15 minutes from most area attractions and shopping.

Guests have access to cabin and all amenities including stocked kitchen and W/D, wifi and 2 internet streaming TVs + cable, new stereo system for you to bluetooth, river frontage with step access (from Kay's next door), bonfire area, grill and starlight that will melt you. On main level there is 1 king, 1 full and 1 twin bed (each in separate rooms); upstairs - also in separate rooms- 1 queen, 1 queen, 3 twins. The cool breezes the river lets off around dusk comes standard. There is no dishwasher or ice maker as of this posting 9/11/16.

This is the cabin of my long time friends, The Garlands. I've been living in this area for 10 years. My hospitality hobby is now my profession. I will manage the booking of your stay and insure you have all questions answered and are a satisfied and returning guest! I'm in touch by text, phone and email before during and after your stay. There is a kindly neighbor, Kay, who handles the cleaning and such. She might welcome you with a hug if your paths cross. I can help make intros to local musicians, outdoors folks and artisans if you ask. Most likely you'll never see me.

Cool Water is a fantastic enclave - end of road and saddled along the river with almost no development on opposite side of bank. You may see folks touring about on their 'buggies' at dusk waving and just being neighborly. There are full time residents and part-timers. About a mile away are several public boat launches. Also you are within arms reach of Angler's White River Resort (the only restaurant in the county with an alcohol permit -accompanied by great scenic dining. It'll be hopping on the weekends)

Upon booking confirmation you will receive an area guide and recommendations from myself and some pals. This will also include more details about the immediate environs. Directions. keyed access. trash. etc.

*cell signals iffy depending on carrier and location at the cabin . Wifi calling and texting now available on newer model smart phones. Needs to be activated in advance. Also plenty of apps on the market that can keep you connected via wifi. There is a landline for local calls.

*there is a short line railroad a couple of hundred yards from the cabin. Its lonesome whistle will indeed blow on occasion. Not usually overnight though.

*steep steps to access the second level.

More Details

Property Manager
Ivy Vacations LLC
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Ivy Vacations LLC

Emily Conley — An outdoors enthusiast and small town girl at heart, Emily Conley was first introduced to Mountain View when she signed up to run the Sylamore 25k trail race in 2009 with a group of friends. She came back every year for the event and eventually purchased a small cabin in 2014, which we now call Studio at the Creek. She and her three kids have made many wonderful memories in Mountain View and come from their home in Memphis as often as possible to fish, hike, swim, and enjoy the simplicity and beauty of the area. Emily has continued to invest in this remarkable area which she says feels like home.

If the conditions are right, Virginia Ivy is in a canoe on the creek with a growler from Gravity Brew Works. For the past 10 years she was a business analyst with a corporate travel agency in NYC. She is from Mississippi and has lived in Memphis, TN, Gold Hill, CO, and Mokuleia, HI. She visited Mountain View on a long weekend in 2007 and essentially never left. Prior to that she owned and operated a café and live music venue in Memphis called The Map Room. She is a licensed realtor with Garland Company Real Estate.

Amenities

Mountain View Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 3 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Cool Water Retreat on the White River
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
2

Beautiful property, disappointed by the unprofessional management team.

  • 2 of 5

First, I'd like to say that the property itself is amazing. The view from the porch looking at the river is beautiful. I went for Christmas vacation with my family and my dog. An unusually strong cold snap came through a couple days into our trip. We had the wood stove blazing and the central heat on and could not get the living area any warmer than 69 degrees unless you sat 6 inches from the wood stove. This might not sound terrible to some but one person in our party is sensitive to cold due to medical reasons and she could not get warm, especially the first few hours of the morning when the wood stove was being rekindled. When we let the mgmt team know, they told us that we would have additional space heaters delivered to the house to assist with keeping the heat up. The heaters never came and we never received a notification that plans had changed. The day we left, my sister and I cleaned up the house, cleaned all dirty dishes, took out all garbage, started a load of dirty towels in the washing machine as instructed, swept the floor, and cleaned out the fridge. We left that place in great shape. I got an email from HomeAway saying I would not be receiving my damage deposit. The mgmt team said I never listed a dog on the reservation. This was not true. I originally had 2 dogs going. A week before the trip one them passed away. I emailed the mgmt team and let them know only one dog would be going. They responded in the affirmative and said they would refund the fee for one pet. They also said they were keeping my damage deposit b/c of the "most hair from a dog they had ever seen". Apparently so much hair was on one bedspread they had to put a new one on. Call me crazy but I would think they should change all bedding to include top quilt after each guest leaves. I have a 12 year old 35 pound border collie mix. She stayed in one bedroom in the house the whole trip so the "excessive hair" was centralized to one room. If you allow pets, expect hair and additional clean up. If you don't want to deal with it, don't allow pets. During email exchanges with the mgmt team, I was snidely told the temperature we had was a "luxury" b/c we had a wood stove when others did not. They agreed to refund half the amount of the deposit after I showed proof of the dog reservation. It was better than nothing, but it still left a sour taste in my mouth for my first experience with HomeAway. To be fair, we did appreciate the veteran discount.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was more than a cold snap. We were in the single digits for several nights. As I explained to Larry, the pipes were frozen and gas gone in countless area cabins. They reported the uncomfortable conditions at 68. They also had a wood stove. We were in rare dire circumstances in the area as I explained to him on several occasions. We were busy delivering actual water jugs and portable propane heaters to those with nothing). The story made our front page news for all the calamity it caused. Forced heat to 68, a wood stove and running water would have been a luxury this week. ( Relative to what others were happy campers about). In regards to the pet hair, he did not follow our rules. There was an incredible amount of dander and hair to deal with on furnishings and several had to help to make ready for next guests in short time. I sent him photos explaining why we needed to retain the deposit. He disagreed and I negotiated by returning half. We are exceedingly proud of our property and management reviews. In this instance we feel like it was not a good fit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Debra Bowers

  • 5 of 5

Nice big house. Plenty of space to spread out and the view of the river was great. We always really like staying next to the river.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Ivy Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin right on the river with awesome views! We had a great time- so relaxing and peaceful. Just what we were wanting. The 7 of us enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cool Water Retreat

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time at thus cabin! Virginia and Ashley made sure we wanted for nothing !

The cabin is very beautiful The pictures don't do it justice !

We had a great time enjoying family and playing Phase10 at the kitchen table ! We enjoyed dinner just down the road

at Angler's ! The food and atmosphere were very good and like I said , just down the road from this beautiful home!

We will always return whenever we can get away and go back to Mountain View!

Thank you Virginia and Ashley for the wonderful cabin and all the extras you have left at the cabin for us and

Your other guest will be amazed also !

Thanks again! Karen Hill and family !

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Ivy Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Right on the river.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful spot on the river, with a fire pit for smores, ranges chickens for watching and a great neighborhood dog that strolls by in the evening. There is plenty of sleeping space and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. Great host that were more than helpful, easy to contact, and did awesome follow-up. We had a great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Ivy Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful time had by all!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a terrific time here! The cabin was supplied amply and then some!! It was decorated very nicely and comfortably. And although there were only four of us, it would have easily accommodated more.

The river was too high for our kind of fishing, but we had a blast anyway.

We enjoyed the evenings on the porch with the fog rising off the river. We went to nearby Blanchard Springs and Gunner Pool to swim and cool off in the 90+ temps. We cooked fabulous meals in the well stocked kitchen and had a nice meal at nearby Anglers Resort.

We saw lots of wildlife, does with spotted baby deers, wild turkeys, butterflies, hummingbirds. Had a running bet on the bunnies we would see (never did see the white one with the top hat!).

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

You might like these similar properties