- 100% refund if you cancel at least 14 days before check-in.
- 50% refund (minus the service fee) if you cancel at least 7 days before check-in.
- No refund if you cancel less than 7 days before check-in.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
Pets allowed - We charge a $25 pet feeWe charge a $25 pet fee
Max guests: 6
- Noise: We are located in a quiet neighborhood, so absolutely no parties and we ask for quiet hours after 9pm in outdoor spaces
- Home Use: We rely on all of our guests to take care of our home as if it were there own
- Pets: We charge a $25 pet fee as long as guests clean up all traces both inside and outside
Mitchell Oregon home away from home
This house is an amazing place to stay if you are visiting the area. It is set up with every possible detail attended to and is so comfortable you look forward to your day of exploration ending so that you can go back there and relax. THANK YOU Erin and John for sharing your wonderful house! We loved our time there!
Bigger in person
The house and pretty much all of the land such as the painted hills are all so much bigger in person. The kitchen us amazing
Excellent vacation home near the painted hills
Maybe not the cheapest, but probably the best place to stay at Mitchell! Clean, well equipped & good location !
Perfect Painted Hills Getaway
My family of 3, including a 15-month-old, had an absolutely WONDERFUL stay. I 100% recommend this rental and if I could give it more than 5 stars I would!
Here are a few of the things that stood out most:
(1) Communication - the owners reached out ahead of our stay with detailed information about the property, the town of Mitchell, and surrounding activities. This was incredibly helpful! For example, there is limited to no cell service and they made sure we were aware of this so we could prepare. They also sent a packet about the area. I was sitting down to do my own research when this arrived and they covered EVERY base.
I did have one follow-up question and when I sent it to the owners, they responded very promptly. Yes, families, there is a highchair! This was so helpful as I was packing/getting ready.
(2) Quality - the house is incredible. The home is beautifully decorated and very open. The kitchen is very well stocked. We found everything we needed for cooking. The utensils and pots/pans are nicer than I've seen in other rentals. The knives are actually sharp! They had several spices and even a few condiments in the fridge.
(3) Details - Over and over with this rental, I noticed details. There was plenty of pods for the Keurig and they even had a container of Ghirardelli chocolates to welcome us. The bathroom had more than enough towels, and they were so big and cozy. The beds are very comfortable. The owners had extra blankets in the living room and bedrooms as well as extra space heaters in case you need them. There is a good selection of movies. I could go on ... :) All in all, it was obvious the owners love Mitchell and their vacation home. I appreciated in the House Information binder when they said something along the lines of - just treat this as your home. It was obvious to me that they love this place and love being able to share it with others.
I leave honest reviews and try to politely include opportunities for improvement because I think it is helpful to other people in their search - but with this one, I ONLY have positive feedback.
I cannot recommend this rental highly enough and I truly hope we revisit someday.
Thank you for your incredibly kind review! We loved having you and your family stay and would happily welcome you back at any time!
Acceptable comfort, with propper prep
Overall 3.5 stars. Arrived at 4pm. Driveway was completely covered in 8" of snow with no tracks indicating anyone had been there since the snow in Mitchell a week prior. The front door access was via the front chainlink gate...which was blocked by snow. I had to hop the fence in order to gain access to walkway which was covered in ice...nearly fell multiple times. Once I had access to the garage i was able to use a garden rake to clear enough snow for routine access. NO SHOVEL.
Inside the house was nice and open. everything looked clean and orderly. The kitchen was well equipped and furniture was comfy. There were even 2 beanbag chairs which my wife and I spent most of sitting time in bringing back the kid inside!
The TV had a roku, and there was a disk player wity a good selection of family friendly options.
I should note, this appeared to be the nicest and most updated house on the street.
Sleeping accomidations were...mediocre. the first night we slept in what seemed to be thg guest bedroom due to the mattress seeming to be more comfortable. We ended up tossing most of the pillows off of the bed due to the distinct smell of [cat?] urine. What's worse was the obvious smell of febreeze that was used possibly in an attempt to cover said urine smell.
The second night we slept in the "Master" bedroom. No urine smell, but the matress was very firm. This should not affect the rating, however, if you do not like rock hard matresses i suggest using the memory foam topper as mentioned in the ad.
The bathroom was clean and spacious. A hair dryer was provided and the towels were plush and soft. As far as the shower goes...the owners should really scold the contractor who remodeled. While the corner unit offered enough room to shower, the nozzle placement was the WORST we have ever seen...and we own an RV. Good luck showering, you'll be glad they had a dual head.
Overall, its a nice place to crash after a long day of playing in the hills. The fenced yard is great for dogs. The Appliances all worked. Looking around Mitchel, this is probably the BEST option to stay.
We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations. We take great pride in helping to ensure that our guests have a great stay and that is reflected in all of our reviews both on this site and others. We share our personal contact information as well as that of a local contact with all guests and let everyone know that we want them to reach out if there is anything at all we can do to help make their stay better. We wish you had done so in this case.
We would like to address a few issues noted in the review.
Regarding the snow shoveling, we are very sorry about the snow and difficulty accessing the house. We would have addressed that before your check in, however since you booked our house at 9:30 pm the night before your check in, and we do not live in the area as noted in our description and did not have enough time to check with our local team, we were not aware there was still that much snow on the ground or we would have scheduled someone to shovel prior to your stay. We probably should have a shovel in the garage and will add one for next winter, though our goal is never to have guests need to shovel.
For the urine smell on the pillows, we do host pets, which travelers such as yourselves enjoy, though to our knowledge, we’ve never hosted a cat as they just don’t seem to enjoy traveling as much as the rest of us. We had visited between your stay and the prior guest stay and thoroughly checked everything and found no issue, and have never heard this feedback before, but will definitely add a double check step to our cleaning check list to ensure it does not occur. We never use Febreeze in the house, so that may just have been the laundry detergent.
For the shower, it has a pretty strong water flow, and just requires making sure the tab is in the correct position to use either or both of the shower heads. The placement can be adjusted on one of them to ensure comfort when showering. We will make sure and add that information to our house book as it may not be intuitive to figure out.
We appreciate the nice things you shared about our house, and we do think it is the nicest place to stay in Mitchell, we just wish we could have had the opportunity to address some of your concerns while you were still there so you would have enjoyed it more.
Mitchell is the perfect location to explore all that central Oregon has to offer, including the Painted Hills, John Day Fossil Beds and the John Day River for boating and swimming. A car is necessary for all, and a 4 wheel drive recommended for some of the more remote areas
Mitchell is a very small town with a brewery cart, several restaurants, a market with a limited amount of goods and a gas station. The open hours for all can vary depending on the day so you may want to prepare for that and cell phone service can be limited to non existent.
After seeing countless photos of the Painted Hills and the John Day Fossil Beds, we decided to take our first trip to visit and found not only the Hills themselves to be more beautiful than expected, but we fell in love with the entire area and decided to buy a house here after only one visit. While we aren't able to live in Mitchell, Oregon full time, we visit as often as possible and are happy to be able to share our house with others to enjoy as much as we do!
Owner purchased this House in 2016
Why Owner chose Mitchell
We purchased our house because we loved the open layout and spacious yard and it immediately felt like a place we wanted to spend time. We carefully updated and decorated the house with a simple and modern design aesthetic that felt both welcoming and comfortable and had the house ready to go in late 2016.