Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close to the Ocean - Last Summer weeks take $50.00 off!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

SENIOR & INFANT FRIENDLY...WIRELESS INTERNET...PET FRIENDLY!!

Relax and enjoy your vacation time in well equipped, close to the beach, three bedroom, one and a half bath cottage in a private cul de sac on Jacana. Enjoy morning coffee or afternoon cocktails on the screened in front porch as you enjoy the breezy setting for this cozy home. Supplied with all the conveniences including staple items like paper towels, trash bags and TP for a family, the home can handle everything from a barbecued steak, a blender of Pina Coladas, a bag of microwave popcorn or a batch of homemade cookies. With one level living, and the open floor plan, the home is great for seniors and families with youngsters.

In addition, guests get linen and towel use, or simply bring your own and use the full-size washer and dryer when needed. Amuse the young ones with the new 42' flat screen or the other cable TV. HDMI connections allow streaming of Netflix or other computer video files right on the TV. Select a DVD/blueray for quiet times or family viewing. With just a 5 minute walk to the beach, enjoy the use of either of the 2 bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, fishing poles, skim boards, snorkeling flippers, sand toys and other beach equipment there for use. The open air outdoor shower is a treat for sandy beach goers, and the golf cart offers convenient parking at the beach with a lot less clean up when sand makes it's way to the family vehicle. Others may simply enjoy either of the two village pools, and not to mention the Tupelo Bay golf center just across the street. If your sharing your vacation time with others, the home has accommodations for two vehicles for off street parking, so more than one couple can enjoy this great vacation site.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Owner
Michael & Mary Jo Merriam
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2017

About Michael & Mary Jo Merriam

We are transplanted New Yorkers here at the beach since 2007. As a married couple since 1987, we still have another 10 or so years until we reach retirement age. Our work as a USPS employee and a Physical Therapist keep us pretty busy as we prepare our teenage daughter in graduating High school and then off to college. We found Oceanside Village the best place to vacation when we wanted to come to the beach from up in the mountains of NY, and have felt blessed that we were able to offer a place for others to enjoy now that we live here. We wanted to express our many thanks to the scores of guests that have stayed with us since we opened the beach house to families back in 2006. Our number of repeat guests has increased steadily as the experience of hosting families over this time has made us better hosts. Since we had vacationed here at the beach for many years, we understand each guest's desire to have an enjoyable, incident free, visit when they stay with us. Since we live here too, have put our guest's accommodations our highest priority to earn the repeat visitors that have made this rental so successful. We have made mistakes, had to offer refunds, and nights out on us that have popped up when we had to step for our guests. We've had an occasion guest not able to follow through with their reservations and have been able to offer discounts on other visits when a full refund was not able to be returned. Our policy is and has always been, 'Is this the way I would want to be treated if I was a guest here?' Someday we hope to call our cozy beach house our permanent residence and enjoy the village and the ocean full time.

Michael & Mary Jo Merriam purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Michael & Mary Jo Merriam chose Grand Strand - Myrtle Beach

We bought this vacation home after renting it for 4 straight years. It is only 5 minutes to the ocean on foot, a neat place, and in a great neighboorhood spot. Oceanside village is right across the street from the market, a great golf center and, and a one stop convenience store. The community with the pools, fields, and activities plus the gated security made it the perfect community for us to vacation in. We like the one level living, the open floor plan, and the great site the house sits on. As guests we had stayed at many different homes in the village, and did have issues with some. After the many repeat visits to the house on Jacana, we never bothered to look for any place else to stay. There are some places bigger and more expensive to rent in the village, and we've had to look out for large groups, (8-10 or more) to advise them that we may not have the ideal accommodation. We apologize to those guests expecting a 'white glove'/5 star hotel room type of accommodation, and have always put value and comfort over luxury and the red carpet impressions only the most demanding guests are expecting. Luckily, our guests have confirmed that we have been successful as some are already in contact with us about future visits before leaving the one they are currently enjoying. Every spring we attempt to tackle the next project that we feel makes the house a better place to stay, and take great pride as hosts for those new to us, or returning for another visit.

What makes this cottage unique

Early morning sun warms the front porch where we begin our day with newpapers or magazines and coffee. A huge live oak tree provides enough shade so as we plan our day, the yard stays protected from the typical summer sun. After a day at the beach the outdoor shower could not be more inviting and convenient for us to plan our night after the sand. For nights at home, the outdoor grilling patio, along with the breeze on the front porch make relaxing around the house as inviting as a small community neighboorhood can get. It doesn't get much better. Pets can be corralled in the semi fenced in yard, and if you've had the experience of staying in a home where you felt like you were in a parking space at a local Walmart, this home site will be an experience you'll appreciate unlike any other.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the feedback and the tip on the early bird specials
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 1

Map

Amenities

Surfside Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , Half bath with toilet & sink in Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Great for sand removal before heading in the house
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower/tub with assist handles for safe entry & exit.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , A nice sofa sleeper gives us another queen bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Double size Fouton bunked under a twin
  • Queen size Beds (3) New Mattresses ; Box springs 2012., Double Beds (1), twin bed (1) infant bed (1) A Pack & Play can be a great for sleeping, or containing the little ones., Sleep Sofa in the living room couch converts into the third queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Close to the Ocean - Last Summer weeks take $50.00 off!
average rating of 4.428571 based on 15 reviews
5

Very nice and quiet

  • 5 of 5

Located very close to the beach, the house was fully supplied with everything you can think of and even allowing the use of their personal golf cart is awesome. I have not one bad thing to say about our stay the pools and hot tub were nice and the small water park would be great if you have children. The dog park and ponds around the area are nice as well. We will definitely try to stay the same week again next year. The only thing I would recommend to the owner is to have a gate card key available upon check in and have the fee included in the house, and refunded upon departure.The fee is not much at all we just arrived on a holiday and the main office was closed so no one would likely have this issue, also my car is extremely low to the ground and the speed bumps are not friendly, but we used the golf cart that day till the office opened. All in all a great place to get away if your not looking for a monsterous beach house 5/5 in my book!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Myrtle Beach
5

Coming back again next year

  • 5 of 5

We've kind of adopted this wonderful beach cottage as our traditional late summer destination.

The house is always clean, well stocked and with it's location, ideal for us going to the beach. The owners are courteous, attentive and available and you can't have better hosts than Michael & Mary Jo. They treated us to movie tickets one night when the cable went out. Their rates are excellent, our pooch is welcome and we appreciate the little things they provided. Love, Love, Love, the front porch, the golf cart and the short walk to the beach. As we are looking to relocate there, we will plan another visit in the spring and possibly move to the village next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you let us know if we can help on your next visit
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

We loved the location, golf cart, washer(squeaks)/dryer, beach chairs & towels!

  • 2 of 5

Upon arrival, the area to retrieve the keys from lock box-covered in spider webs.It was very apparent that the house hadn't been hosed off in quite a while. Upon entering the porch, your front door definitely needs to be wiped down & repainted if possible. Would truly make guests feel more welcomed with a clean door. I was a little relieved with the way the kitchen looked but then I entered the bathrooms.Both bathrooms were so dirty(main bathroom had crap stains in toilet)& clearly neither was cleaned before we arrived.Your place was vacant the week before we arrived so I was quite surprised that you hadn't been over to see what the place looked like before we arrived.Both bathroom mirrors & sinks clearly were not touched since they had toothpaste splatters all over both.Toilets had hair on top and back of seat area & again, the main bathroom literally had crap stains.I removed the 3 throw rugs &shook those, & the sand & dog food that I swept up was ridiculous. I washed all three and didn't use again. I just placed down clean rugs before we left. All mattress are so old. The top bunk bed mattress sinks in so much that I can't believe my daughter slept on it.That bed also needs tightening of screws or WD40. Although I don't ever expect perfection,I don't ever expect to have to clean bathrooms at a strange place before we even start our vacation. I also suggest painting the paneling in all three bedrooms. Its cheaper than replacing and it will definitely brighten the place up some. I also suggest changing the bed skirts (or at least wash them). Making a bed and noticing dog hair all over the skirting just makes for a very uncomfortable feeling when you get into an already uncomfortable bed. Attached is a picture of your AC filter. I noticed you had a case of filters in your storage area but the filter in the house looked like it hasn't been changed in years. I was going to change it for you because I know your AC would've run better with a clean filter but I didn't want to be responsible in case anything happened while changing it. As you can see, clearly your annual cleaning that you stated was done after a recent review was posted hadn't been done.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly we did drop the ball for our guest this time. We've been struggling to put in place a better system for inspections and cleaning between visits. We thought we had it figured out, but without a back up plan, and us away for the weekend, this guest walked into a filthy house. No one had done a cleaning before this guest arrived, and my arranged cleaner never informed me of the oversight. (Funny how she still collected her payment). As anyone should expect, we immediately sent out a refund. In addition I had forgotten a promise I had made a month before arrival to return a collected pet fee as the family revealed they were going to leave the pets behind. (I had forgotten the note and forgot to refund the fee). I can only surmise that this must have been a real point of displeasure as nothing from the guest would have led me to believe that the house was not dirty enough to call to our attention on arrival, but only worth mentioning now. Honestly, I felt I was getting more of a real estate appraisal from a buyer's agent rather than an honest review. It's true that the exterior door could be prettier, and the bedroom paneling repainted, (more of a cosmetic observation), but they stand alone in critiquing quality of mattresses (5 years old) and a show confused understanding (through no fault of their own), of specific laundry equipment (3 & 1 year old machines). Down here in the south you'd be surprised of what insects can do in the humid summer months. We will stand on the reputation we've earned over our first 10 years, and use experiences from each guest to earn the new and repeat visitors that make hosting beach vacationers a success.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Needed updates and repairs.

  • 1 of 5

The closeness to the beach is nice. The home itself needed updates. The owner while responsive during stay as a few issues arose, in the end tried to charge me for them. Golf cart key was bent and cracked, no spare keys as stated, after departure owner tried to charge me for the missing keys. Strong smell of mildew in bathroom. I spent first evening drying laundry left in washer and dryer to have sheets for beds and cleaning the home as cobwebs and floors dirty after arriving later in evening. No paper goods as stated in the ad. Many air freshners through house but all empty oil plug ins and no refills. Outside shower door hanging on one hinge. The multiple cats next door pooping in yard was a nuisance. The outdoor grill was filthy and had to be cleaned. Blender broken top. In all it needs a deep cleaning, repairs, and the owner to be a bit more attentive. There were charges for the. And card being used taken out of damage deposit instead of upfront as well. While having stayed in several rental homes as easier with dogs, this was not a good experience at all. Especially when you receive a third of deposit back and a letter stating you left trash about. Even golf cart and yard had to be cleaned up when we arrived.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'd always been hesitant in turning over between guest visits to a third party service provider. I had been fortunate that despite working Saturdays, I always got out before noon, and since the house is only minutes away, got there in plenty of time to check things over and clean up if needed. Because I was asking people to clean up before they left, I could attend to things because most was already done. I never had to charge for cleaning, we could do it if you wanted, but most didn’t mind picking up before they left to save the fee. It worked so well over our first 10 years hosting guests. Then my work schedule changed and I opted for a pay per visit service. I'm embarrassed that so much on your visit went wrong. Most folks understand things can break, go missing or get overlooked with a second home like this, and they've forgiven us for them because of it mostly being the only thing. Way, way too many things went wrong in your week. Sadly, we were just weeks away from our annual week at the house and had been planning our “to do list” during our stay like the other years. We already knew our main bathroom fan has been on the fritz for a second year, and despite my contractor’s evaluation of me getting a few more years if I needed to, finalizing a fall schedule to update our main bath is already underway. I've realized that I should only expect a mop and glow cleaning from a crew that are probably off to another house next, and without better detailed instructions should not have expected anything more. How should I go forward? I could switch my check in time to 7:00pm instead of 4:00 and with check in so late in the afternoon, folks could stay until around 3pm on departure day if they wanted to. Sunday would be an option, but that's tough of folks that have to work on Monday. It's pretty clear the best option is to review and clarify a detailed check list if I'm not able to inspect the house myself and take the medicine I deserve for not doing enough follow ups. I'll have to modify my expectations of what the new service is required to look after besides the cleaning and make future decisions from there. I appreciate the feedback and hope we might be able to make it up to your family at sometime in the future. Michael & Mary Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, fantastic owners, perfect house, fabulous stay!!

  • 5 of 5

This was an absolutely perfect stay from start to finish! It was a last minute booking, but the entire process was flawless! Michael and Mary Jo responded to every email, every question, every concern, almost as quickly as I expressed them. The location in Surfside was absolutely perfect- even in the off season, as the weather turns cooler, Oceanside village is right in the heart of everything! This was our first time staying in this development, and all of our interactions with residents, security, and people in the main office was pleasant. The house itself was perfect for our group of 5- with 3 bedrooms, and a sleeper sofa, there was more than enough room for everybody! The screened in front porch was perfect for sitting around and talking and playing board games (we brought our own, but there are several already at the house as well!!). They also had a back sitting area including a gas grill. The rental included the use of 2 beautiful bikes we enjoyed riding around the village, a golf cart we enjoyed riding around on even more, and lots of beach chairs and equipment that we actually didn't get a chance to use. The house was clean, the beds were comfortable, everything was perfect!! We travel to the beach often as a group, and I hope to add this to our list of repeat places to stay!! You can book this rental with no trepidation or misgivings- you're going to love it!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robyn, It has been a pleasure to host you for your visit, and we look forward to having you again as our guest
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Dresher, PA
5

Great relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Merriam's were great to work with answered all questions. The house was very close to the beach and included a grill and beach chairs etc. We were able to bring our dogs which was awesome. The golf cart was fun to get around the community - Grocery store was very close. We would highly recommend this home!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 11.0%

Add 3% for credit card/debit card payment options
Nightly reservation not available unless within 30 days of requested date
Parties over 4 adults add $100.00 to weekly rate
Ask about discounts for multiple weeks

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties