About the property
- Cottage800 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)
This adorable beach cottage is located in Emerald Pointe Resort, one of the friendliest gated communities near the beach. Stay in our two bedroom beach-themed cottage surrounded by palm trees as you enjoy all the amenities provided by the resort. Enjoy the large heated pool by the beautiful clubhouse (complete with hot-tub), or the cozier pool near the small fish stocked lake with boardwalk and catch-and-release fishing. Emerald Pointe is family oriented and perfect for bike riding, strolling and skating. There's even a playground by the clubhouse. While the SandCastle welcomes well behaved dogs, owners must follow the resort rules concerning dogs: Pets must be added to the rental agreement and pet fee must be paid. All dogs must be under 25 pounds, leashed while outside and owners must pick up after their dogs. While inside, dogs are not allowed on the furniture.
Enjoy the convenience of covered parking at your front door. The Sand Castle has a fully supplied kitchen complete with everything you'll need for your vacation including a dishwasher and a washer/dryer. Luxurious linens are provided for your bed and bath. In fact all you'll need to bring with you is your suitcase. The master bedroom comes with a Queen sized bed while the second bedroom is perfect for children with it's built in bunks providing a full size bunk on the bottom and a twin sized bunk at the top. The master bedroom has cable TV and DVD player while the Florida room has a new flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player. We've even got a drawer full of family themed DVD's for your entertainment. Bring your laptop too, because the SandCastle has wi-fi.
Relax in the large tiled Florida room and pleasant screened-in back porch. We provide a library of DVD's, board games and books for your visit. We've even got a toybox in the Florida room to keep your little ones occupied. Also provided for your use are some beach essentials, such as sand chairs, sand mats, umbrella, sand toys and a rolling cooler.
Enjoy your morning coffee sitting on the patio and watching the sun come up in this serene resort that reflects Florida's relaxed lifestyle. The cottage is spacious and affordable and just minutes away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, championship golf, tennis, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, fine dining and good family entertainment. There's even a local trolley to help meet your transportation needs. Be sure to check out St. Andrew's State Park and the new Pier Park as featured in the June 2008 Southern Living magazine. Both of them are just minutes away. Perhaps you'd prefer a day of shopping at the Silver Sands Outlet Mall in Destin, less than an hour away. Come enjoy our comfortable climate and friendly atmosphere. You are responsible for the $70.00 cleaning fee which you leave in cash when you check out.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- Calendar last updated:
- May 23, 2018
About Gayle Blake
Brendan and I live in the northern 'burbs of Atlanta with our Jack Russell, Stonewall Jackson. I am a retired high school teacher who keeps busy with my new DUI and driving school and Brendan is a civil engineer.
Gayle Blake purchased this Cottage in 2005
Why Gayle Blake chose Upper Grand Lagoon
We have always loved Panama City Beach since spring breaks in college (a long time ago). We have relatives in the area and love the friendly laid back Florida lifestyle. We're hoping to retire on the beach.
What makes this Cottage unique
You're five minutes away from the world's most beautiful beaches and yet you have the privacy and tranquility of your own place in a gated community with all the amenities you want while at the beach. Float a couple of hours in one of the pools, throw some horseshoes or scoot some shuffleboard while watching the kids frolic in the pool, the playground or the hot tub. For the price of a hotel room you get so much more. Grab the provided cooler, sandchairs, beach umbrella and beach towels and head to St. Andrew's State Park (5 minutes away) for some fun in the sun. Book a scuba diving trip or deep sea fishing and spend the day on (or under) the clear aqua waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Then come back to the SandCastle, park at your own front door and throw some seafood onto the charcoal grill. From the resort you can avoid the beach traffic on the strip, while having dining, shopping and beaches right around the corner. It's paradise, and you might just decide to stay...and stay...and stay.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Great location just poor service
We really enjoyed Emerald Point, quiet, clean community. The unit was clean and cute just a little dated and needed some tlc,. We noticed immediately that the toilet didn't flush in one of the bathrooms and we called the number listed as "housekeeper/manager" to report this, we were told that it was an issue they and the owner were aware of and it would be repaired. The first morning, the air quit working. I called the owner who said the air can't be turned below 78 or it freezes up (no sign, no warning and I wouldn't have agreed to that as an asthmatic) and she told me to turn it off for 8-12 hrs. We had to spend the whole day away in hopes it would work. The owner never called to check or follow up, I finally called her again at 9:30 that night, 85 degrees in the home still. She offered that I could change the filter but said she was in Georgia and couldn't offer any other help. The next day, still no air, no follow up call from owner, so I called the manager who asked why I was calling as they are just the cleaning company. Thankfully they took pity on me and called the owner to offer to send a repair man to at least fix the toilet (now day 3 without it working). The air was finally repaired at about 9 pm, we again were forced out for the entire day due to the temps. The owner texted us to tell us someone would come but never heard from her again after. Really disappointing to lose 2 of the 3 full days we had with no apology or offer of even a partial refund. It seems that if the air was freezing up below 78 then there was a known issue before our vacation was spoiled, just really poor management and customer service.
Requires a thorough cleaning inside and out, checking all lights and items requiring batteries.
This unit is in a very nice community and has a great overall layout. However we had to wash down the front and back of the unit. This does not equal a good power washing. The smoke detector, the TV remote and the thermostat all required new batteries. The heat went off 2 cold nights. The fridge compressor is noisy, and several light bulbs require replacement. They are too high up to change without a ladder. The dining chairs are folding canvas director chairs that are stained and not in good condition. Beautiful cottage that requires some TLC.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit at our SandCastle, although I was concerned to read about some issues that arose during your one month stay. We pride ourselves on all aspects of our cottage and we regret that you were disappointed in the general cleanliness of our unit. I have forwarded your review to our cleaning crew and that issue will continue to be addressed. Unfortunately batteries and light bulbs do have a life span and do need replacing. We keep a pencil box of new batteries in a kitchen drawer for emergencies, and extra light bulbs in the kitchen cabinet next to the microwave. Thank you for choosing our SandCastle for your home away from home for the month of January.
Great quiet neighborhood. Did not get to spend much time in the house. Cute cozy and comfy
The chairs around the table all had stains and could use a good cleaning. The floors in bathrooms tub and shower could have been much cleaner. Sand or other debris on sofa and round chair. Just noticed this morning that the ice maker is leaking causing ice build up in freezer. Also the rack in dishwasher for silverware does not hold the silverware since almost all of them are broken. Inspire of all this we still loved the sandcastle.
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to our SandCastle. We have just completed a fully booked summer season and we're busy preparing for a booked fall/winter season with our favorite "snowbirds". A new dishwasher basket has been ordered and we're excited about the new updates we have planned. Thank you for choosing the SandCastle.
Great place to enjoy Panama City Beach
The place was clean and very nice we loved our stay and are rebooking it for next year already!!!!!!! Thanks for having us
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. We appreciate our guests and realize that reviews definitely play a large part in our rentals. So glad that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you back again in the near future. "We'll leave the light on for you."
The location was perfect
Location and property was perfect! The cottage was beautifully decorated and very peaceful! We will definitely stay there again!
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The SandCastle is our home away from home and we love every minute spent there also. I so much appreciate the peace and quiet, while still being close to all the wonderful things that Panama City Beach offers. Thanks again, and we'd love to have you return.
Love the place and our stay was very pleasant with all the amenities the property provides. Will definitely comeback again
Thanks so much for your lovely review. You were wonderful guests and we would love to have you visit us again.
Small gated resort community with Club House, fitness center, ping pong table, large screen TV and outdoor playground for children. On local trolley route. Dog walk and exercise areas. Three miles from the beach.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates include groups of 4 or less. Additional people can raise the cost. Events/Holidays raise the rates. Check with us for final rate. We also offer discounts. It never hurts to ask. We are pet friendly and we welcome well behaved dogs. Due to HOA requirements we limit to one dog weighing 25 pounds or less. We require minimum age of 25 for our rental.