Entire home

Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time

Photo gallery for Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time

Living area
Living area
Private kitchen
Exterior
Property grounds

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Lake Michigan

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
New Buffalo, MI
  • Place, Michiana Beach
    ‪13 min walk‬
  • Place, Lyon Oaks Golf Course
    ‪19 min walk‬
  • Place, Duneland Beach
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Airport, South Bend, IN (SBN-South Bend Intl.)
    ‪38 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Single Bed and 1 Double Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 5

2 Single Beds

2 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathroom 2

Bathroom 3

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

New Buffalo

Located in New Buffalo, this holiday home is in the city centre and on a lake. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Lake Michigan and Indiana Dunes National Park. Friendship Botanic Gardens and New Buffalo Railroad Museum are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and kayaking nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling and horse riding.
Map
New Buffalo, MI

What's nearby

  • Michiana Beach - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
  • Lyon Oaks Golf Course - 19 min walk - 1.6 km
  • Duneland Beach - 3 min drive - 2.2 km
  • New Buffalo Public Beach - 7 min drive - 8.4 km
  • Four Winds Casino New Buffalo - 9 min drive - 13.8 km

Getting around

  • New Buffalo Station - 7 min drive
  • Michigan City-11th Street Tram Stop - 17 min drive
  • South Bend, IN (SBN-South Bend Intl.) - 49 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪The Stray Dog Bar & Grill - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Timbers at Four Winds Casino - ‬16 min drive
  • ‪Redamak's Tavern - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪PostBoy - ‬6 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time?

As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time on 6 Nov 2026 start from £1,076, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Private Beach Access, Fire Pit & Near New Buffalo | Weekend Lost in Time located?

Located in the heart of New Buffalo, this holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Michiana Beach and Lake Michigan. Lyon Oaks Golf Course and Duneland Beach are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 22 out of 36 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 12 out of 36 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 36 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 36 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 36 reviews

9.4/10

Cleanliness

9.6/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was as advertised! Great house and enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Sept 2026
Micah, I just wanted to say thanks! Glad you guys had a great stay. We look forward to your next visit. Ron(Waya Rentals)
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Lots of space for games and meals. The firepit was nice for evenings.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Aug 2026
Emily, Thank you!! We hope to see you again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location and awesome house! We had a great time!
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nice location. The host was very nice. A few things needed to be repaired and some replaced. The house was pretty clean for the most part. We did have a wonderful time.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2026
Kelli, I am so glad to hear you guys had a nice time. As we discussed, the items you mentioned to us have been replaced so we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Ron (Waya Rentals)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was lovely - the interior was decorated very nicely and was comfortable. The screen porch with the double sided fireplace was beautiful. There is a nice walk through the neighborhood to get to the beach - the house is in a sub which very quickly turns more rustic as you get nearer the beach. The beach is gorgeous! There were a couple issues early in but our host was so responsive and helpful. We had a great stay with our adult children and a couple of their friends. Would definitely return to stay again.
Stayed 8 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2026
Kathy, I just wanted to say thank you from all of us here at Waya Rentals. Glad to be of help, and we look forward toy our next visit with us. Ron
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great stay. Plenty of space, and very comfortable.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Jul 2025
Theresa, I just wanted to say thank you from all of us at Waya Rentals Vacation Rental Company. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Thanks, Ron
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
amazing amenities and just a wonderful house. Fantastic owner.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Aug 2025
Jeremiah, I just wanted to say thank you from all of us at Waya Rentals Vacation Rental Company. You guy were great to work with and took very good care of the home, so thank you. Ron(Waya Rentals)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Spacious house, plenty of room to stretch out
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Sept 2025
Bryan, I just wanted to say thank you!! It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Ron (Waya Rentals)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect for Families

Our family stayed at this property July 25th-29th 2022. For 7 adults and a 2 year old it was a wonderful stay..Nice and quiet, plenty of room to sleep,friendly neighbors. We would stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
I just wanted to say thank you from all of us at Waya Rentals. We really hope to see you again in the near future. Have a great rest of the summer. Waya Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

B review

Great time and beautiful property
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Jul 2024
Michael, So glad you guys had an awesome stay !!! That property is a favorite of many. Next time your in Southwest Mi. please consider us again. Waya Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Spacious house in Michiana

The property is well kept and comfortably furnished. We enjoyed our Thanksgiving weekend on the property.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Nov 2023
Brian, I just wanted to thank you for being such a great guest. We look forward to hosting you and your family again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Friends Weekend

The house was beautiful and just perfect for our friends weekend. The screened porch, large living room and fire pit were great gathering places.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Aug 2023
Mary Beth, I just wanted to say we loved having you guys as our guests. Thank you for the great review, and we hope to see you guys again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet relaxing vacation

The house was clean & welcoming. The beach and play ground were close by but directions and recommendations would have been helpful. Found the private beach access the last day.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Sept 2024
Della, I just wanted to say it was a pleasure hosting you and your family, and we are so glad you found the home clean and welcoming. Please remember next time you stay with us that we are here to help, so if you need anything or want recommendations just shoot us an email. Thanks, Ron
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful home in New Buffalo

We had an excellent time in New Buffalo. The property was clean and spacious. We had 10 people (including 4 children) and had plenty of space for activities. The property was exactly as described. The location was private and relaxing. The property manager responded promptly to questions throughout our stay. We would recommend this location to anyone looking to come for a weekend getaway in New Buffalo.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jun 2025
Brendan, Thank you !!! You guys were great to work with as well. So glad to hear you loved the stay, and hopefully we will see you again real soon. Ron (Waya Rentals)
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful home

Beautifully remolded home. It was great having the bedrooms away from the other areas of the house. We loved the back porch, actually saw two deer while having dinner one night.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Aug 2023
Roy Ann, I just wanted to say thank you for a great review. We hope to see you and your family again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect house

What a perfect house for our family. Spacious living room and sun porch, lots of comfy places to sleep (my nephews loved the bunk/trundle bed). Great layout for gatherings and also if you want some time away from the group. House had everything we needed. Ron/Waya Rentals was great. Only a 10 minute drive to town made the location great.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
Bonnie, I just wanted to say it was a pleasure working with you guys. We are so glad you had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lost in time and missing TLC

Overall good, many remotes needed batteries, many light bulbs burned out, no propane for grill which was filthy. Basement bedrooms need dehumidifier and bunk room bedroom needs new ceiling fan! Nice open space for 10. Could use local/house guide manual.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you had a great time. We have already addressed this issues, but appreciate you bringing this to our attention!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice place, well stocked, not cool

There was plenty of information pertaining to house rules, but we did not find any guidance for the HVAC system or the gas fireplace. The latter was no big deal -- the house was chilly for the first 12 hours and a fire would have been nice but was by no means essential. The former, however, was unfortunate. The three bedrooms on the main/upper level were hot and stuffy in mid-80 temperatures. Did our best to figure out the thermostat, and certainly the lower level bedrooms were cool, but upstairs was uncomfortable. No, we did not call for guidance. We were gone all day every day, returning at 10 p.m. or later--too late to call. Otherwise, it was all great.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2026
We just wanted to say thank you for the feedback. It sounds like some of the vents upstairs may have been closed. Please do not hesitate in the future to call us if anything needed as we are here to help. Thanks, Ron
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, communication

Lost in time

The landscaping for the property was non existent. I had to personally cut back poison ivy and oak that were growing from unkempt bushes that hung over the driveway. Weeds were growing uncontrollably throughout what should have been lawn. It did not appear that the grass was cut in several weeks. The trees needed to be cut back. The outside of the house stood out from the rest of the block which was clean, clear and well maintained. When guests asked for directions I gave them the address and told them to look for the scary house with the gray siding. There was a propane grill though it was disgusting. I spend a significant amount of time cleaning it before I even considered using it. The description of the back yard and the fire pit was misleading as again it was not maintained, the fire pit was small and rusted out and several of the chairs were broken. The good is that the house is well stocked with towels linens and appliances. The beds were comfortable. Expressed my concerns directly to the Waya rental agency and still have not heard back. While I was reluctant to post such a review, I am not satisfied that they would make any changes without posting my thoughts. I paid a lot of money for a two week rental and expected a much more positive experience.
Stayed 14 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great time and the house was perfect for what we needed. Could really use a new washing machine, it was a pain in the butt to get going every day. Could use a new grill too, it’s just about ready to completely fall apart from all the rust. WiFi extender to the rest of the house would help too, basically no internet in the basement of the house. Just a few suggestions to help with future guests.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

21st Annual Thanksgiving Family Get-together

So, every year my family gets to spend 3-4 days together in one vacation home. Lost in Time was a very nice rental. It was quaint, clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again except for one flaw. The website is somewhat misleading about the Deck/Patio and fireplaces. The idea of a fireplace in the patio room suggests a cozy spot to sit and enjoy the fire during the colder months. However, the flimsy window coverings make it just a notch above a screened-in porch. It was just as cold inside as it was outside (35-40 degrees during our stay). There was a fresh cord of wood in the grill area, but the house rules stated that renters needed to buy their own wood at the local gas station. At $7.00 for a 4–5-piece bundle of kindling, in a ventilated, 40 degree, 15x30 foot room, you will not find it very feasible to spend any time there. We didn’t. Otherwise, I’m sure the home would be great for a summer stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
John, I just wanted to thank you for your positive feedback, as we look forward to have you staying with us again in the near future. Sorry we were a little unclear on the a patio space as it is a great place to sit and relax but when you get into the freezing temps it is to cold to enjoy. Thanks, Waya
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy

Great potential, but needs work to live up to the listing

Our family wanted to love this as-advertised "Exceptionally well maintained" property, but there were just too many problems encountered: (1) only two full baths instead of 3 full baths as advertised (Property Management has since revised the listing to indicate 2.5 baths - too late for us); (2) large French Door refrigerator pictured in the listing replaced with a much smaller refrigerator; (3) no screens on any of the 5 bedroom windows, making fresh air in the sleeping areas unachievable; (4) inoperable ceiling fan and broken upper-bunk ladder in bunk bedroom; (5) window shade in master BR not retractable; (6) TP holder in upstairs bathroom broken, requiring repair; (7) mildewed shower lining in upper full bath requiring replacement; (8) toilet seat in lower full bath broken requiring replacement; (9) air conditioning and thermostat unable to provide comfortable conditions (upper story too hot, lower level too cold). To the Property Manager's credit, several of these repairs as indicated were addressed the same-day as reported. In sum we found this to be an average property renting for a premium price. Despite these hindrances we thoroughly enjoyed the Grand Beach neighborhood and ambiance. Easy access to golf, Lake Michigan beaches (if you know where to go), restaurants, etc. We may well return for another family vacation in Grand Beach/New Buffalo but likely not this property.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
Grayson, I an very sorry your stay did not start off as planned. I am glad you brought these items to our attention during your stay, and as you mentioned we were able to get almost everyone addressed as soon as you made us aware. This was the first time we had heard of any issues. Just an FYI the fridge that you mentioned was just a temporally, as the storm that came through knocked out the one the owners had so we had to find a quick replacement or you guys would not have had a fridge at all. As of Sept. 1st. the new fridge went in so all is good. Everything is on backorder at this time. Hopefully you will consider us again in the future.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Family Vacation Home

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation home. The house was beautiful, very clean & had ample space. We did have a hard time with the air conditioner. Upstairs didn’t cool down as we’d like & down stairs was very cold, there was no real balance. But it wasn’t something that ruined our trip. The house had ample provisions, a quick drive to the beach, tourist shops, & great places to eat. We would most definitely choose this home again in the future.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
Wendy, I just wanted to thank you for all of your positive feedback. We really loved having you as a guest. We hope to see you again real soon. Waya Rentals
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful home

This is a beautiful home with many nice amenities. The walk to the beach was longer than expected and there was no map to indicate where the beach was located. The public beach in New Buffalo was very crowded and there was no parking in the lot. We had to walk a long way from the far side of town with all of our beach accesories So this is not a great place to be if you are going for the beach. The air conditioning was very uneven and there were no instructions to inform us how to adjust it. The upper bedrooms were hot and the lower bedrooms were freezing. The flooring in the porch was dirty so we didn't spend much time there. There were not many hooks for bath towels or clothing. The information for area activities was old so be sure to pick up your own on the way. We were given only 1 key to the home and therefore had to make sure we coordinated well with all the adults staying with us. Overall, it was a nice place to stay but we would have appreciated a bit more attention to detail in information given and amenities in the home.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
Dave, Thank you for all the feedback, and it is great to hear overall you had a very nice stay with us. Sorry to hear New Buffalo was so busy. Please remember next time you stay with us that if you need help figuring something out we are just a phone call away.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great

Great
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2023
Melissa, Just wanted to thank you from all of us at Waya Rentals, as we really enjoyed having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Waya
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback