Located in Ruthven, this holiday home is in a rural area. Victorian Museum on Main and Palo Alto County Historical Museum are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Spencer Municipal Golf Course and Five Island Golf Course. Clay County Fairgrounds and Iowa Great Lakes Maritime Museum are also worth visiting.
Iowa Lakes Community College - Emmetsburg Campus - 19 min drive - 28.8 km
Clay County Fairgrounds - 23 min drive - 32.3 km
East Okoboji Lake - 32 min drive - 48.1 km
'Boji Splash Indoor Waterpark Okoboji - 33 min drive - 49.2 km
West Okoboji Lake - 34 min drive - 49.3 km
Restaurants
Bully's Bar And Grill - 7 min drive
Joans Cafe - 7 min drive
Ruthven Cafe - 7 min drive
Lost Island Corner Store and Cafe - 3 min walk
Hiway Cafe - 7 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Lost Island Getaway pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).
How much does it cost to stay at Lost Island Getaway?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lost Island Getaway on 21 Jun 2027 start from £214, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Lost Island Getaway?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lost Island Getaway?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lost Island Getaway?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Lost Island Getaway located?
Situated in a rural location, this holiday home is within 16 miles (25 km) of Bluestem Meadow Wildlife Area, Riverview Park and Oneota Park. Iowa Lakes Community College - Emmetsburg Campus and Palo Alto County Hospital are also within 16 miles (25 km).
Reviews
8.4
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Peace at its finest. Great location for water sports. Room for everyone...and that's the sturdiest table I have ever seen!! You'll enjoy the sunsets and sunrises...the home is fully stocked..I will be back.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Jul 2026
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the farm fresh eggs! Come again!!
This property was ideal for us and was exactly what we needed. We were first time visitors to the area and were traveling for pheasant hunting. The location and property was perfect!
We had a great time here. It was exactly what we wanted, a nice place, that we could have a fire at night, and sit out under the stars! We didn't enjoy the lake, that is literally right across the street, but the access to it was perfect. There's always next time!
Melissa was a great host, and great with communication. No surprised for us! Will definitely be back!
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Sept 2022
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed the best part of being here. The outdoors! Can’t wait to host you again!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Tracy M.
27 Aug 2022
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Disappointed stay
Pulled up and there was dogs barking behind the house, didn’t think we were in the right place. House had a bad smell, bathroom was not very clean, obviously they live there when not rented, pretty uncomfortable situation, couldn’t figure out the tv, 2nd fire pit not sure where it was. Basically nothing to do there, will not return!
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Aug 2022
Sorry you were disappointed. I now see one of the kids stole the HDMI cord from TV. The other fire place was in the patio table, it is a propane fire place. A refund has been sent.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Verified traveller
4 Jul 2023
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Not Clean
The location and communication with the host was good, but unfortunately that was overshadowed by the overall cleanliness of the property. The floor had dog hair and cobwebs, old food in the couch cushions, the outdoor refrigerator where we were given space to put our groceries had to be scoured before we could use it, front yard had dog poop in it that smelled. The list goes on, but the host did agree to give us a partial refund.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Jul 2023
Unfortunately guest did not read description of property that it was dog friendly and still chose to stay even though they had allergies. We had a 5 star review immediately before and after their stay on our other booking site. Typically we don’t allow guests to use the outside fridge but they complained there was not enough room inside so just gave it as an option. Also offered to set up air bed if needed. Then guests called wanting air bed. I accommodated their needs the best I could but don’t feel anything I would of done would of been to their satisfaction.
Sorry to that you had issues with the water while you were there. We were able to get it fixed the day you checked out. Next time let us know right away if there was an issue instead of at check out. Thanks.