Located in Chesterton, this apartment is in the city centre and on a lake. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Indiana Dunes National Park and Indiana Dunes State Park. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Brown Field or Athletics-Recreation Center. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing, and don't miss out on the sledging.
Indiana Dunes National Park - 5 min drive - 3.6 km
Indiana Dunes Visitor Center - 6 min drive - 5.3 km
Indiana Dunes State Park - 6 min drive - 4.9 km
Getting around
Portage - Ogden Dunes Train to Chicago - 15 min drive
Chicago Midway Airport (MDW) - 74 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 3 min drive
Starbucks - 19 min walk
Dairy Queen - 3 min drive
Taco Bell - 3 min drive
Wendy's - 4 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes on 3 Nov 2026 start from £120, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Private Downtown Apt, King Bed, Jet Bath, Fireplace, Grill, near Indiana Dunes located?
Located in the heart of Chesterton, this apartment building is 0.2 mi (0.3 km) from Chesterton Art Center and 2 mi (3.3 km) from Indiana Dunes National Park. Lustron House and Bailly Homestead - American Indians and Fur Traders are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Apartment was as expected. Great communication, cute little spot directly downtown in the historic Chesterton. Tons of eateries and farmer market within walking distance. I would stay here again, it was excellent.
This property had a terrible smell of mold and mildew. There were air purifiers to help but they didn't completely cover the smell. The property was clean but had several cosmetic and safety issues (no egress beyond the front door in case of a fire). The town is cute but due to safety concerns I don't believe this property should be rentable.
It was a wonderful place! Very clean and close to a lot of stuff for walking! 219 Taproom was great! Don the host communicated very well! We enjoyed the the parking options. We would book again!!
My husband and I stayed one night on our way to Kentucky for our anniversary trip. While it’s centrally located to the Indiana Sand Dunes state and NP visitor center and beach access points, those traveling with smaller children should take note that it is on a busier street with a small concrete pad area with a grill right on the street. No yard and not fenced. Great food options, Check out Peggy Sue’s diner if you want to snag a great breakfast before heading to the beach for the day(it’s only 4 blocks so you could walk if that’s your thing)
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2026
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Melissa V.
28 Apr 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication
Parking is fine.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Marielle
12 Nov 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
The room was great and easy access. Its a short walk from the downtown district and has a full stocked kitchen and parking right outside the door. The drive to Portage beach is less then 10 minutes and there's a great old fashioned drive in Root Beer stand with great food nearby. The only issue was we seemed to run out of hot water when filling the tub ans needed to wait. Other then that. It was a great experience!
The apartment looked nice but the mold/mildew smell was unbearable. There were signs of some water damage in the small foyer and on the bathroom ceiling. It is an okay location and off the road parking was available . There are 2 air purifiers in the apartment. I was very disappointed. Do not recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Aug 2026
This guest did not stay and we authorized a full refund even though they were booked for 3 days. Upon arriving she apparently did not appreciate our air freshener scent. There is no mold/mildew in the apartment nor any mold/mildew odor. If you don't like air fresheners, let us know before you arrive and we will remove them for your stay.
We enjoyed our stay but I feel like the description was a little inaccurate. It shows an outdoor seating area that turned out to be a glider on the sidewalk of a fairly busy street. And there was a very active train track across from the front of the property. Reminded us of My Cousin Vinnie! The place was clean, but smelled a little musty. The positives were convenience to the national park and a fun little cafe down the street and a comfortable bed.
The Property was clean for the most part. The biggest problem was the smell. The building is old and there is a fairly strong mildew smell throughout the apartment. I'm not sure what the host could do to remedy this but that was my only downside. Its well priced and in a good location. The tub was a nice bonus.