Located in Cadillac, this holiday home is on the waterfront. Adventure Island Family Fun Park and Cadillac Country Club are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore William Mitchell State Park and Waldeck Island Nature Preserve. Little Creek Park and Jennings Community Playground are also worth visiting.
Caberfae Peaks Ski & Golf - 24 min drive - 32.1 km
Crystal Mountain - 43 min drive - 69.7 km
Getting around
Traverse City, MI (TVC-Cherry Capital) - 63 min drive
Restaurants
The Truck Stop - 12 min drive
Burger King - 13 min drive
13th Street Market & Restaurant - 8 min drive
Cheryl's Landing - 13 min drive
Clam Lake Beer Co. - 16 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows pets (limit 5 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell on 9 Dec 2026 start from £355, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell?
Checkout is at 12:00 PM.
Where is Lazy Acorn "The Blue Gill" on Lake Mitchell located?
Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is steps away from Huron-Manistee National Forest and Lake Mitchell. Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center and William Mitchell State Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Nice neighborhood even on the long holiday weekend folks were very quiet. We ended up extending our stay for a couple of days after a complication with our original travel schedule. Dewayne was able to accommodate the change and communication was top notch.
The home was visibly dirty and in disrepair there were earwigs and spider webs and spiders drain in the tub did not work and was reported to the owner who did nothing about it. The property had not been mowed until the day before we left. Dock felt somewhat unsafe. Filters on air conditioner were filled with dust, fan was broken and the house smelled. Overall very disappointedd
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul 2026
Sadly, this review is not really based on the condition of the home. Five days prior to their stay they wanted cancel and get refunded. Policy is refunds occur if cancelled 14 days prior to stay. I knew a poor review was coming before she even stayed at the home. This isn't the first time a renter didn't qualify for a refund then they nit-picked everything in the review.
To address the items noted in the review:
- The exterior of the house is sprayed for insects monthly.
- The yard is mowed every Thursday which was the day prior to them leaving on a 5 day stay.
- The AC filters had been washed 3 days prior to their arrival. The picture isn't even of the A/C.
- She reported the tub drain was slow, but draining. I told her I would look into it to let me know if it was a problem. I did find some hair in the drain after her stay, but it wasn't backing up.
- Yes, a fan wasn't working properly. But she didn't note that there is a A/C unit and three fans in the home. The fan that wasn't working properly they had moved into the bedroom they were not using. It was an easy fix a nut holding the blade on had come loose.
- The home and property including dock are inspected by the fire chief every year for safety.
Had everything we needed. No dishwasher, dated but mostly clean
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2025
I am not sure why they are surprised by no dishwasher. We didn’t advertise one nor is there one in the pictures. I would love to install one but the kitchen isn’t big enough. If a dishwasher is important to you please stay at the Lazy Acorn Yellow Perch just 5 houses down the street. It has a dishwasher. Thanks Dewayne
Everything you need and nothing you don't! Very nice little cottage! Comfortable and cute decor with a well stocked kitchen! Awesome communication! We appreciated the Yellow Perch!
The place was a cute little cottage. It had everything we needed and was clean. It did smell a bit musty. Opening windows helped with that, and air freshener. Contact with host was good as well.
Overall vacation was great. I would go here again. The only thing i would recommend is AC in the bedrooms became
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Aug 2024
Thanks, that is why there is a pedestal fan in each room to help move the cool air from the Air Conditioner around when it is really hot outside. Hope to see you next year!
Cute cabin and very clean. They had everything that we needed. Loved sitting on the deck by the channel and relaxing. It was also very central to places we wanted to visit. Thank you!
Came here to do some ice fishing. Perfect little cabin for us, has all you need for such a trip. Access to the main lake just a few houses down the road, with the canal out back (which I'm sure is awesome in the summer).