Apartment

Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington

Photo gallery for Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington

A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a microwave, a coffee maker, and a refrigerator.
A living room with a TV, a dining table, and chairs. There is a bookshelf and a kitchen area in the background.
A two-story house with a front porch, a garage door, and a small garden area.
A covered porch with a wooden deck, a chair, and a view of a green landscape.
A swimming pool with lounge chairs and a building in the background.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Lake Whatcom

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Kitchenette
  • Shared communal pool
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Bellingham, WA
  • Place, Lake Whatcom
    ‪4 min walk‬
  • Place, Western Washington University
    ‪25 min drive‬
  • Place, Bellis Fair Mall
    ‪30 min drive‬
  • Airport, Bellingham, WA (BLI-Bellingham Intl.)
    ‪37 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom

1 Double Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchenette

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Bellingham

Located in Bellingham, this apartment is on a lake. Mount Baker Theatre and Whatcom Museum are local landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Depot Market Square and Bellis Fair Mall. Mindport and Spark Museum of Electrical Invention are also worth visiting.
Map
Bellingham, WA

What's nearby

  • Lake Whatcom - 4 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Mount Baker Theatre - 24 min drive - 16.2 km
  • Western Washington University - 25 min drive - 15.9 km
  • Fairhaven Park - 30 min drive - 20.0 km
  • Bellis Fair Mall - 30 min drive - 21.3 km

Getting around

  • Bellingham, WA (BLI-Bellingham Intl.) - 26 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Fork At Agate Bay - ‬23 min drive
  • ‪Kulshan K2 - ‬17 min drive
  • ‪Acme Diner - ‬27 min drive
  • ‪Da Vinci's Classic Subs - ‬13 min drive
  • ‪Tino's Pizza & Pasta Company - ‬16 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Deer Haven Basement Suite - Sudden Valley, Washington located?

Situated on a lake, this apartment building is within a 10-minute walk of Lake Whatcom and Sudden Valley Dog Park. Cain Lake and Whatcom Falls Park are also within 9 miles (15 km).

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 3 out of 4 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 4 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 4 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 4 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 4 reviews

8.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet and peaceful

We had originally planned to stay in downtown Bellingham, but we found this place, which was more affordable and had more amenities than the other and decided on it instead. We loved the proximity to several trails nearby that we could walk and run. There is a small shopping center with a well-stocked store and a couple of restaurants within a mile and the marina and lake are just a short walk away. We did have to drive into Bellingham when we wanted to go to town, but it's a pretty drive and not far away. The place is quiet and peaceful and we slept really well. You can sometimes hear footsteps, but that's normal when you are staying in an attached apartment! The kitchen has everything except an oven and we found it easy to cook our meals there. We had more tv options than we are used to so we watched too much haha! We were also happy to have a washer and dryer in such a rainy period. We loved staying here and would recommend it to anyone looking for something out of town. I would stay here again!
Stayed 9 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Nov 2021
We enjoyed hosting you Courtney! You are so positive, so appreciateive of the comfort of the apartment and the natural beauty of the surroundings. You will be welcome back anytime! Scott & Pari
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Loved it

This is such a lovely little place. Great for exploring the cascades and northern Washington. Host was very friendly and the place was clean. Extra bonus with the washer and dryer. Please note that this is a basement apartment and when the hosts are in residence, you can hear every step they take. Luckily they are not home often. My largest complaint is the internet and phone. I could not make or receive a phone call inside the apartment. Had to go to may car in the driveway. Hard since I was there for 3 + weeks. Internet was very slow and my ip was taken consistently while the hosts were in residence. If you need phone access or fast internet, this is not the place for you. Overall, it was perfect for me and I loved it. Bellingham is a very sweet little town full of interesting breweries and wonderful people.
Stayed 26 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Sept 2022
Thank you for staying with us Teresa! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. Bellingham is indeed a vibrant and beautiful community! I’m sorry the WiFi was not strong & consistent. We have subscribed to 900 mbps service, but will have the field tech out ti see what’s causing the speed issues. Rest assured we’ll have this fixed when you come back! Scott
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy

NOT UP TO PAR

I stayed for one month. It was 75 to 78 degrees in apt most of the time. No air condit, no fan, and no thermostat. Patio was dirty and only 2 metal, rusted folding chairs. No TV, other than Netflix. No oven. Internet consistently had to be reconnected. Owners could improve by spending $100 for some basic items: No can opener, no ice cube trays, no hangars, only 3 towels for a 1 month stay, no shampoo, 2 tiny bars of soap from a hotel, linens look like they came from a garage sale, no night stands, only 2 tablespoons of dish soap left 1/4 roll of toilet paper. Maybe enough supplies for overnight stay, but not longer. I ended up purchasing all of these supplies for myself and the closest store is about 8 miles away. Owners were not on site to provide more. Two comfortable patio chairs would make the deck usable. The front door could easily be opened with a credit card. Owner did have a deadbolt installed after 2 weeks. I felt unsafe in this apt, but owners would not issue refund for remainder of stay. Key could be duplicated by previous owners. 2 days before leaving, owner provided a floor fan, but that does not change the temperature of 78 degrees. Owners were in residence for 2 days and I could actually hear their voices and stomping across the floors. I would not recommend this place.
Stayed 31 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Nov 2021
We tried everything possible to make our guest feel comfortable: 1) This basement apartment is always warm in the winter and cool in the summer, but this summer experienced extreme hot weather, as did most of the Pacific Northwest. Our apartment does not have AC, and has never needed it before. We offered a fan to ease our guest's discomfort for the few days the apartment stayed over 70 degrees. 2) Our guest complained about noise, though she had the entire house to herself for 28 days of her 30-day stay. She decided to focus on the 2-days my wife and I were upstairs, simply walking and talking. 3) When our guest was locked out of her apartment she called us first; we called a locksmith to let her back in, within minutes. When she saw how easily he got into the apartment, she said she felt unsafe. We had a dead bold installed 2-days later, as soon as possible. 4) Our guest complained about the lack of cable programming, but in our initial communication we offered extended cable programming if wanted. I explained that 80% of our guests are happy streaming programming from the internet. She never told us she was unhappy with limited cable programming. A 1-star review as our first VRBO review is unfortunate and embarrassing, but we have been sharing this apartment with many guests for over 3 years, with only rave feedback! Please read our other reviews to set your expectations for what your experience would be. We can ensure your comfort in a super nice and clean apartment if you give us a try! Scott
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peaceful retreat

The drive to the apt is beautiful! You drive by the water, it's so green and peaceful. Coming from Arizona it was a bit of a change. The area is quiet, safe, many places to walk and hike. The marina is just down the street and its a great walk. I saw many deer walking by and even came into the yard one day. It was so amazing, they were right there!! There is a market not far from the apt, you can walk or drive there. They sell many things. Fresh brewed, made to order coffees. They made sandwiches and had a vast selection of hot breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is also a Mexican restaurant close by. The apt was perfect, exactly what I needed. It has a living area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Plus a washer and dryer, and a few fans if needed. The windows were in a great spot. The cross breeze made curling up on the reclining couch to watch TV or read a book so relaxing. The bed and comforter were, I believe my favorite part of the day, so comfortable and cozy. Everything was clean and kept up. Scott and Pari were great hosts! She met with me when I arrived and Scott checked on me numerous times either in person or by text. If I had a question it was answered and taken care of quickly. They are both very nice and approachable and make your stay a great one! Sudden Valley has a great little gem, it's quiet, peaceful, beautiful and it was really great for my soul! Thank you Scott and Pari for a helping with making my Bellingham experience such a positive one!!!
Stayed 56 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Oct 2021
Janice, thank you for staying with us, and taking such good care of our little apartment. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Honestly, it's heartwarming to host such wonderful guests as you! Scott
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback