Entire home

Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis

Photo gallery for Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis

A spacious living room with leather sofas, a coffee table, and a fireplace.
A covered outdoor seating area with wicker furniture, a small table, and a view of a vineyard.
A two-story yellow house with a large window on the ground floor, surrounded by a grassy area and a vineyard.
A bedroom with a wooden bed, a nightstand with a lamp, and a wall-mounted artwork.
A two-story house with a covered porch, a chimney, and a large lawn.

Reviews

8.4 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Dive into relaxation
    Unwind in the top-rated pool, your perfect spot for relaxation.
  • Outdoor pool
    The outdoor pool is a refreshing retreat under the open sky - a rare gem in this area.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • Outdoor pool
  • Barbecue grill
  • Internet access
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
Fordwich, NSW
  • Place, Margan Family Wines
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Place, Stomp Wine
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Place, Krinklewood Vineyard
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 14)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Queen Bed, 2 Single Beds and 1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom 5

1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed

Living Room 1

1 Single Bunk Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Fordwich

Fordwich is home to this holiday home. Australian Army Infantry Museum and Australian Army Infantry Museum are cultural highlights, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Singleton Square and Singleton Plaza.
Map
Fordwich, NSW

What's nearby

  • Margan Family Wines - 9 min drive - 10.0 km
  • Stomp Wine - 9 min drive - 10.4 km
  • Mount Broke Wines - 13 min drive - 11.1 km
  • Krinklewood Vineyard - 16 min drive - 19.9 km
  • Hunter Valley Gardens - 25 min drive - 34.4 km

Getting around

  • Singleton Station - 26 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Nightingale Bed And Breakfast - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Willows Cafe & Restaurant - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Magoony's Coffee House - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Running Horse Wines - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Motty's Farm Cuisine - ‬12 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis have a pool?

Yes, this property has a pool.

How much does it cost to stay at Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis?

As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis on 16 May 2027 start from £1,151, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

Is Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Soldiers Cottage Picturebook Vineyard Oasis located?

Situated in Fordwich, this holiday home is within 6 miles (10 km) of Mount Broke Wines, Margan Family Wines and Stomp Wine. Wollemi National Park and Krinklewood Vineyard are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

8.4

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 5 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 7 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 14 reviews

7.4/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay!

Great stay with friends!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Hi Aiden, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Soldiers Cottage! Please stay with us again sometime here at Weekenda.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house is full of character which we loved and appreciated! We loved the pool and the beds were comfy.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Jan 2026
We are so glad to know that you are satisfied. Thank you for sharing, Gemma! - Weekenda Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a great stay at this property! The house was very clean, well-equipped, and had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend. The location is fantastic, and we loved the little touches, like being able to pick fresh mandarins straight from the trees.The only small issue was that we weren’t informed in advance that the shed is only available for bookings of 13 guests or more. It would have been helpful to know that before our stay.Other than that, everything was wonderful, and we really enjoyed our time here. We would definitely recommend this place and would be happy to stay again!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jul 2026
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay, found the house clean and comfortable, and enjoyed picking the fresh mandarins.Thank you also for your feedback regarding the shed access. We appreciate you letting us know, and we will update our information so this is clearer for future guests.We would love to welcome you back to Soldiers Cottage anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great space. Enjoyed our time
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect stay

Such a lovely stay, I wish we could have stayed longer. Super easy access & great location
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Thank you for the lovely, review Abbie! We hope to have you return.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect property for a family

The home was so perfect for our trip away. From the swing In the garden to the fire place and horses. We used all the amenities and had no real reason to leave except for the occasional winery trip. So many family dinners were enjoyed in the outdoor dining area. Highly recommend and will be coming back
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Hello Giordana, Thank you for your feedback on Soldiers Cottage. It is great to hear your family enjoyed their stay and enjoyed the property and its facilities. Weekenda Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness

Great place for big group

The place was nice and accomodating for huge group of family and we enjoyed our stay. Only negative is that the house was old and the some areas were not clean and we had a frog that came out of the toilet and the shower pressure was low when all bathrooms were used. But overall great and chill place to stay we saw a lot is stars at night and the pool was great and best thing was the coffee machine
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 12 May 2025
Thank you for sharing your experience at Soldiers Cottage – we’re so pleased to hear your group had an enjoyable and relaxing stay! It’s great to know the pool, coffee machine, and those stunning night skies made a memorable impression. We appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness and water pressure, and we’ll certainly pass it on to our team to help improve the guest experience moving forward. We’d love to welcome you back for another getaway in the Hunter! Kind regards, The Team at Weekenda
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Really loved the place! It’s a well loved country type home. Big enough for all of us and the kids had a ball!Only down sides were the oven didn’t work in the kitchen so had to try use the bbq as an oven and wish I’d known before hand as I planned meals around being able to use the oven. Wish it had a bigger fridge too! As of writing this the tavern and shops mentioned as close by are all permanently closed so we had to drive into singleton. These are all heads up type of things though as the house and whole property is beautiful so as long as you’re prepared you’ll love it!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
We had a lovely stay overall — the location is beautiful, right in the heart of wineries, peaceful, and surrounded by nature, and the pool and spacious, well-equipped house were highlights. We also appreciated the early check-in and late check-out. However, finding the key was difficult, cleanliness could be improved, and there were maintenance issues like a broken room light and a faulty shower head. it would have been better if this had been checked beforehand, especially as we booked a couple of months in advance at a higher price. A few basics like clearer instructions and extra supplies for basics like toilet paper for larger groups would make the experience even better as there are no shops for few kms. Despite these issues, the calmness, fresh air, and natural surroundings, horses, birdies made the stay and experience worthwhile and I would love to book this again.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May 2026
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re really pleased to hear you enjoyed the peaceful location, beautiful surroundings, and that the pool and spacious home were highlights of your stay. It’s also great to know the flexible check-in and check-out helped make your visit more comfortable. We’re sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with access, cleanliness, and a few maintenance concerns. We always aim to ensure everything is in top condition for arrival, and your comments have been shared with our team for review and follow-up, along with your suggestions around clearer instructions and additional supplies for larger groups. We also want to gently note that Weekenda is available 24/7 for guest support and is always here to help during your stay. If we had been made aware at the time, we would have been more than happy to assist and resolve any issues promptly to improve your experience on the spot. Despite the challenges, we’re glad the setting and natural environment made your stay worthwhile, and we truly appreciate your intention to return. We look forward to welcoming you back again for an even smoother experience next time. Kind regards The Team at Weekenda
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful stay in the vines

Perfect place for a larger group, dog friendly, really comfortable beds. Everything you could wish for in a well equipped kitchen. We loved the great wood burning fire ( plenty of wood supplied) Sunday morning saw mist and the big floating balloons overhead. Lovely horses to pat and feed an apple. Very near to Margan Family Wines ( excellent food and wine ) and also try Running Horses vineyard, great experience due to the owner/ winemaker . We all had a wonderful time and the late checkout was a bonus.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 25 May 2021
Thank you for the wonderful review, Mrs Philomena!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
My friends and I had a great time at your property- we loved the house and pool, and the horses was like icing on the cake. Hope we cleaned everything up to a good standard.Please however check amenities are in working order prior to guest arrival, as we purchased ingredients to make pizzas (it was too hot to use the pizza oven, so we planned on using the electric conventional oven) but the oven was damaged (presumably by previous renters), and couldn’t be turned on.When we pushed the ‘on/power’ button the front panel fell off, as it was just loosely sitting there. We have also just placed the panel loosely back where found, but this was quite the disappointing discovery as we had to innovate a new dinner plan late in the evening.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 5 May 2026
Thank you for your lovely feedback - we’re so glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed the house, pool, and the added touch of the horses during your stay. We’re very sorry to hear about the issue with the oven and the inconvenience this caused, especially after your dinner plans were already set. This is certainly not the experience we want for our guests. We can confirm the oven has now been replaced and fully addressed by our team to ensure it is in proper working order for future stays. We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope to welcome you back again in the future for a smoother experience. Kind regards The Team at Weekenda
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Unsatisfactorily presented

Location was awesome, house was old with updated lovely bathrooms but the overall presentation was dirty , no laundry facilities so not a family friendly property over a 7 night stay , bbq really dirty, with food remains, no tea towels, decking really dirty and unkept garden and grass area. Won’t go back.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Apr 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our location and updated bathrooms. We apologize for any cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will address these concerns promptly. While our property may not have laundry facilities, we'll strive to enhance our offerings to better accommodate our guests. We regret that your experience fell short of expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future with improvements made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Weekenda
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Holiday

The house is in a good area. The property is picturesque and away from the crowds over Easter. We thought it would be a bit more hidden away, unfortunately, it is right on the road although not a busy one. We had 10 adults staying and two of the beds were really only suitable for children. The kitchen is well equipped and finally a house with decent wine glasses. Plenty of seating in the dining and lounge rooms. Overall we had a lovely long weekend
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Thank you for the great review, Kerrie! I can certainly appreciate having good wine glasses! Hope to have you stay again
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Ideal surprise birthday getaway

The home was perfect for what we wanted, it was spacious and well stocked it really felt like home.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Aug 2023
Thanks for your review Andrew. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed a home away from home! Hopefully we can host you again soon!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback