Woolundunga is home to this cabin. Homestead Park Pioneer Museum and Argadelles are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Port Augusta Cultural Centre - Yarta Purtli and Pichi Richi Railway.
Homestead Park Pioneer Museum - 29 min drive - 29.3 km
Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden - 30 min drive - 30.0 km
Mount Remarkable National Park - 30 min drive - 41.9 km
Wadlata Outback Centre - 31 min drive - 30.8 km
Port Augusta Golf Course - 34 min drive - 34.4 km
Getting around
Port Augusta Railway Station - 31 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total).
How much does it cost to stay at Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds?
As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds on 29 Jan 2027 start from £59, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
What time is check-in at Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds?
Check-in begins at 2:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Shearer's Quarters (Private Room) - Budget-Friendly, Family Rooms With 1 Double & 2 Single Bunk Beds located?
Situated in Woolundunga, this cabin is within 16 miles (25 km) of Port Augusta Hospital and Regional Health Service, Homestead Park Pioneer Museum and Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden. Wadlata Outback Centre and Port Augusta Cultural Centre - Yarta Purtli are also within 20 miles (32 km).
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Lovely stop over on our road trip to NT would have loved to stay longer but was on time schedule Grandson age 7 lived it and 9 month old puppy did too. Suited 3 generations
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2026
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Alice
3 Sept 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Enjoyed the tranquility and proximity to a walking hike on the property.
Absolutely beautiful location. The room was simple and exactly as described. The owners/staff were really lovely, genuine, people. Which added to make our stay memorable.
Nicely tucked away in a beautiful and peaceful location. School holidays but still very quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely be recommending this place to friends.
The bush walks are an amazing way to get back to nature, the staff are super friendly & helpful, my dog was welcome. My new home away from home, loved it 😍.
We were here just for a 1 night stay as part of our across Australia relocation. It would have been lovely to spend an extra night or two relaxing in the trees and even taking one of the trail walks on offer. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, just want we wanted! Make sure you walk up the driveway and check out the view at sunset.
What a lovely place.
Good facilities.
Friendly staff .
I Liked the fact that it felt like you were in the middle of nowhere but a short walk up the driveway and you can look arcoss and see the most beautiful sunset over Pt Augusta
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
8/10 Good
Vanessa
4 Jul 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
The property is in a excellent location and well set out. Kitchen is good with everything you would need. Air conditioning in the wool shearer’s cabin was not listed on its listing, however we were pleasantly surprised and happy to find it does have air conditioning.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2022
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Anne
13 Nov 2022
Disliked: Amenities
Totally overpriced.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2022
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Brenda
16 May 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Spear Creek camping ground has a great and well deserved reputation in SA and beyond. I believe it is set up quite well for campers of all varieties.
As a single senior I would have liked a room with its own bathroom, a small fridge and a sink. Thats why I ticked the inconvenience box.
But I enjoyed my visit, the bed was comfy, the peace of the bush sounds refreshing and the night stars...words can't describe.
Go and find out for yourself what they look like without light pollution.
Not what I expected from when I booked on line.
Kitchen smelled like sewage, booked for two nights stayed one night because I had no option was getting late.
Communication was very poor, initially had no property address and very little information about the accommodation, history of the place does not make it comfortable very disappointed.
Should get my money back.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Sept 2022
Emmanuel,
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Spear Creek.
As explained at the property, the listing you chose is a very basic room which is extremely popular given its extremely affordable price. Our Shearer’s Quarters have received fantastic reviews over multiple booking platforms since we’ve listed them online already reaching occupancy levels of over 85%! Our listings are all carefully setup, with accurate descriptions and photos both internally and externally to ensure transparency with guests. I am very disappointed to read this review after you admitted to me you hadn’t read the listing description correctly.
I employ 2 full time cleaners at the property that work tirelessly ensuring all rooms and facilities (including the communal kitchen) are in pristine condition. I feel you are clutching at straws with some of your points in this review.
Our first 1 star review in nearly 12 months of ownership at the property. Champagne taste on a beer budget! I hope you manage to find some accommodation that meets your very, very high expectations.
Regards,
Jai
We stayed for 5 nights in one of the four rooms in the Woolshed bunkhouse with our 2 children. The kids loved the bonfire pits, sunset bench and hike up to Spear Creek. We loved all these plus the camp kitchen, bunkhouse room and basic facilities. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and recommended some great day trips. The coffee cart was a bonus as was ordering the delicious lamb souvlaki (from the Dorper sheep farmed onsite). We will definitely be back again :)
The park has basic facilities but is quiet, well spaced and offers a range of accommodations. The trees and trails mean you don’t need to leave the property to get a taste of the Southern Flinders. Most sites have a private fire pit should you not wish to gather in the communal areas and there are plenty of onsite bbqs. The wet areas although outdated had good water pressure and consistently hot water. The shared camp kitchen and laundry again offered basic but all you would need if you didn’t pack the kitchen sink. The morning coffee van was an unexpected bonus.
We stayed in a pet friendly Shearer's room which was comfortable but very basic, beds only. The camp kitchen and amenities are a short walk away. A table and a couple of chairs would have made it a bit more comfortable.
Stayed in the Shearers quarters, basic but clean and dogs thoroughly enjoyed it. Handy little park , away from the hustle and bustle , but still close enough to everything you wish to see in the area.