Located in Toivola, this holiday home is in a rural area. Old Victoria and Ontonagon Lighthouse are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Twin Lakes State Park and Lake Roland.
Michigan Technological University - 40 min drive - 57.4 km
Getting around
Hancock, MI (CMX-Houghton County Memorial) - 49 min drive
Restaurants
Parkview lodge and grill - 7 min drive
Omers - 8 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way?
As of 29 Oct, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way on 2 Nov, 2026 start from S$1,064, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Twin Lakes Recreation Get-a-way located?
Located in a rural location, this family-friendly holiday home is 3.7 mi (5.9 km) from Twin Lakes State Park and 3.7 mi (6 km) from Lake Roland. Lake Superior and Ottawa National Forest are also within 25 miles (40 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We really enjoyed the sauna. Location was great for the the places we wanted to go. Enough space both inside and outside for our group of 11 plus 2 dogs. Nice large kitchen. Host was responsive with the minor issue we had with one of the door locks. We would stay here again.
Exceptionally clean. House is large with lots of beds, three well stocked bathrooms and lots of counter space in the kitchen. New appliances. Large table for everyone to gather around. Very secluded. Host was very responsive when we noted the propane tanks for the grill were empty. Thanks for an enjoyable weekend!
The property is just as shown in the photos! Lots of space, great for our 3 generation family and having the option to bring dogs is MUCH appreciated! It's a little off the beaten-path, but within just a few minutes, you have Twin Lakes for a picnic & swim, Krupp's Mini-Mart for last-minute essentials and the Boondock Inn for good bar/grill food and live music!
Wished closer to a snowmobile trail but thats just me. The place showed me that people do care to make the accommodations good for peoples less worry..
Beautiful spacious home about a mile from the snowmobile trail. Room to park trailers, and a nice mud room to change in and out of snowmobile gear. The owner seemed like a great person who answered all my questions quickly and kindly.
They had good instructions in how to find the place, as well as good check in instructions. Nice big private back yard, house was nice size too!! So we all had personal space. Kitchen was nice with a stove that has 2 temperature setting which was helpful, along with all the utensils we needed. House was well stocked too with extra blankets, pillows and soaps for showering!! Had a great stay and would definitely recommend this house!!
Wonder property with a lot of beds, plenty of room, and beautiful back yard. Just wish it had WiFi because there is very little cellular reception in the area.
The sauna gets super hot so that's a bonus if you like it. There's also a whirlpool tub but I didn't try it.
I imagine this is a pretty nice place for a family getaway
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Marie S.
13 Aug, 2026
Liked: Location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
I’m disappointed to have to leave a poor review, however, I don’t want another large group with children being caught off-guard. We looked for a “home away from home” for a week and were greeted on the first evening with rotting garbage bags that had been full and left in the garage for what was clearly a long time. The smell permeated throughout the home. When I reached out to the host his response was to “put it outside” and someone would come by in the morning. It was two days before it was discarded. This home is inaccurately described and pictured online. It shows 5 bedrooms. There are really only 3 “bedrooms.” The bunk”room” is a hallway between a mud room and the kitchen with no door or enclosure. The beds are old and squeaky. After one night we stopped the use of one altogether. We pulled mattresses off the beds and had children sleep on floors in other rooms. The two twin bedroom was fine however there are no windows and zero chance for airflow. The twin bedroom as described is a dilapidated cot in a hallway. It is unusable. The home is in need of someone to come and give it some attention. Half of the windows don’t have screens; there are needs for repair everywhere.The amount we paid for this home is laughable. I asked for a partial refund; the host responded and asked what I thought was fair-that tells me he is aware of the issues. I have not, however, received any money back. I appreciate integrity and good service. I received neither in this case.
Spacious house and everything we needed for our trip. I was hoping for biking right from the property but I was not sure which trails were open to the public and which ones were private, additional instructions or markings could help to enjoy the large property. We didn't have cell phone service so couldn't communicate easily.
The house was clean and stocked with the necessities you need for the week. Andrew and Shannon are wonderful host and was quick to respond with concerns and questions we had. And plenty of room for the dogs and kids to run around and explore outside. We will be visiting again soon.
This place is great! Still within driving distance of bigger towns like Houghton but offers the rural aspect as well. Perfect if you want some quiet and spacious time away from everyday life. Our dogs loved having all the land to run and explore with us, definitely doggo friendly area and home. We had no issues the entire time, and plan to return when we can!
We had a very large family staying. The refrigerator did not work upon arrival when we reached out to owner he advised us to go out and buy coolers. He offered to refund partial monies to us & never followed through on the refund he offered after several communications. Outside of that it was spacious and unique. Plenty of room indoors and outdoors. The sauna was a great feature and surprise as well.
Location is rural, But the home was very nice, clean and well taken care of. Close to the trail system, Plenty of parking for our trucks and trailers. I would highly recommend this property to those riding the trails in the Keweena of Michigan