Cabin

Romantic Cabin overloking pond

Photo gallery for Romantic Cabin overloking pond

A wooden cabin with a green roof, a deck, and a reflection in a calm body of water.
A wooden interior with a dining table, chairs, a refrigerator, a washing machine, a microwave, and a stove.
A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a microwave, stove, and dishwasher. There are decorative items on the shelves and a fire extinguisher on the wall.
A cozy room with a fireplace, a mounted television, and wooden walls.
A wooden deck with outdoor seating, a ceiling fan, and a view of the surrounding forest.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Soak and unwind
    Relax in the top-rated hot tub, celebrated for ultimate comfort.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Chimney Rock State Park

Popular amenities

  • Hot tub on site
  • Barbecue grill
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Lake Lure, NC
  • Place, Lake Lure
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Place, Chimney Rock State Park
    ‪16 min walk‬
  • Place, Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Airport, Asheville, NC (AVL-Asheville Regional)
    ‪38 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

1 bedroom (sleeps 2)

Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Lake Lure

Located in Lake Lure, this cabin is in the mountains. Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine and Stone Angel are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Chimney Rock Adventure Golf and Lake Lure Adventure Company. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and waterskiing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling and hiking.
Map
Lake Lure, NC

What's nearby

  • Lake Lure - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Chimney Rock State Park - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Lake Lure Washburn Marina - 2 min drive - 1.3 km
  • Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine - 4 min drive - 3.0 km
  • Hickory Nut Gorge Brewery - 4 min drive - 3.0 km

Getting around

  • Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) - 35 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Ingles Market - ‬11 min drive
  • ‪Rumbling Bald on Lake Lure - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪Canoe Kitchen And Bar - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Legends on the Lake - ‬27 min drive
  • ‪Point Lookout Winery - ‬27 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Romantic Cabin overloking pond pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Romantic Cabin overloking pond?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Romantic Cabin overloking pond?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Romantic Cabin overloking pond?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Romantic Cabin overloking pond located?

Situated in the mountains, this cabin is within 1 mile (2 km) of Lake Lure, Chimney Rock State Park and Lake Lure Washburn Marina. Chimney Rock Adventure Golf and Chimney Rock Gemstone Mine are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 26 out of 33 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 33 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 33 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 33 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 33 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.6/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
A relaxing stay with lots to do in the area and around the cabin. The hosts thought of everything! We wished we had time for another night.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very clean comfortable and quiet. Easy access to everything the area has to offer.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This was a fantastic cabin! Very private and exactly what was advertised. The history of Pine Gables was fascinating. We would definitely come back!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
My wife and I had a great time at the cabin. Great location in the middle of everything. Wish we had more time to fish in the pond. Maybe next time.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
It was clean and a perfect stay! We enjoyed it!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Perfect getaway for the wife and I and our little mutt. Hot tub was a plus.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Liked the hot tub and porch and setting with pond.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Cabin was great- clean, pet friendly and provided everything we needed for our stay. Highly recommend
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Everything was great!!! The hot tub was clean and hot!! Everything was perfect
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Cozy cabin in a private setting. Great place for a couples weekend getaway
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
The dirtiest cabin I’ve ever rented. Water was not fit to drink or shower. Dust was thick enough to become a fire hazard and the pond looked like something in a horror movie. Host fixed toilet twice to make it stop running!! Terrible experience.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Oct, 2026
These folks wanted to stay for free or they would give a horrible review. We offered a partial refund just to make them happy. They wanted a full refund. There was some dust behind furniture, but not much and certainly not a fire hazard. I went there twice to fix minor toilet running. When I was at the cabin these folks did not mention the other issues or that they were unhappy with the cabin. We are on town water and it is perfectly good to drink. Please note that the guests before and after these folks gave great reviews. If you ever stay here and have any problem at all, please let us know and we will address them.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had 2 peaceful nights here, was able to catch fish in the pond even being mid-November. The cabin was clean and inviting. This was our second time staying and we plan on coming back to it again
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
Cozy
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Dog friendly quiet cabin with great view and lake access

Wonderful cabin and location with access to lake. Quiet.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very clean. Easy to get to. Private porch and hot tub. A cozy isolated and secluded feel.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing stay

We enjoyed our stay.we got there early and they let us go ahead and check in.battery died on car and owner came down and jump started it for us and was so nice and didn't act like he was put out coming in the rain to help.husband fished and I just enjoyed the peace and quiet and the music from the bullfrogs
Stayed 3 nights in May 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Tranquil

We loved the property. It was so relaxing sitting in the hot tub overlooking the pond.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful getaway

We love the cabin and I believe the fish loved me. They followed me all the way around the pond.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Can't wait to return

This
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

We Loved it!

No problems at all. Loved the location and the privacy and solitude of this little haven. Will definitely return.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Almost heaven but not quite

The property is exactly what you see in the pictures and description. The porch and hot tub were awesome. The cabin was cozy and quaint. The location was nicely located between Lake Lure Beach and Chimney Rock Town. But : We booked for 3 nights and only stayed for one because the bed was so uncomfortable. I have back and hip problems and my wife has a sleep disorder, so the bed was a huge deal breaker for us. If you aren't picky about your bed, this is a great getaway. If you need a good bed to sleep on, this is not for you.
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Apr, 2020
We are sorry to hear these folks did not stay longer with us. All our cabins have medium firm mattresses. The ones we buy are from a local store and they are the same as most of our competitors use. If the mattresses are to firm for you we can add a foam topper. If they are to soft we can put plywood under the mattress. If these folks had contacted us we could have helped them find a solution. Otherwise, we are happy the porch and hot tub were 'awesome' and the cabin was 'cozy'. Update: we replaced the mattress with a Serta 12" Gel Memory Foam Luxury Queen Mattress. As stated above, if it is to firm we can add a foam topper and if not firm enough we can put extra support under the mattress.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

July 2023

We enjoyed the location of the cabin, just wished it had been cleaner inside. Incredible amounts of dust, especially on walls, curtains and top shelfs, months worth of dust accumulation .It's a great little getaway, with lots of nature around. We were even visited by a huge bear. We will return to Pine Gables again. We did not contact the owners to complain about the cleanliness, but, I want to be fair in my review. Maybe the owners could personally visit the cabin and see for themselves and address it with housekeeping. I suggest they lie down on the bed and look up at the curtains for a reference. It was very peaceful, and the grounds are amazing. The canoes that were provided were great. Thank you for letting us stay at the Duck Pond cabin.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was charming and positioned on its own pond. The hot tub was a great addition. The only thing that kind of a set back was the amount of dog hair and lots of dust in particular above the washer and dryer unit. We got there a few hours early and the cleaning lady made us wait until 4 because she hadn't finagle cleaning it. Not sure why we had to wait since she forgot the dog hair and dust bunnies. It was still a wonderful experience.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely place

The property good just the power went out on us n seem like other people too u need a generator for the cabin so when the power keep going out u can use that but overall we loved it n will be back wished it had a folded out couch for kids be great but we loved it ty so much be back soon
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Duck Pond Lake Lure

The location is enchanting your own secret garden However when we arrived found filthy dishes in the cabinets the surfaces were clean but lots of dust on the walls around the curtains, dishwasher did not work correctly the mattress was horrible But the reason we left a day early found brown recluse spiders inside That was deal breaker For such a beautiful location it was disappointing
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Nov, 2020
This is an odd review. We had other customers two days before before AND just after these folks left go out of their way to let us know how much they enjoyed the cabin. In all cases, dishes are cleaned prior to anyone checking in. The dish washer is in fine working condition and and the mattress is less than two months old. To our knowledge, no one has ever seen a brown recluse in our cabins. These customers did not reach out to us and let us know anything was wrong at any time during their stay. We urge our guests to let us know if anything is wrong. We do our best to have the cabin perfect for your vacation, but we do know that occasionally something needs to be addressed.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback